We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Generally spot on” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Albergo delle Rose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grande Albergo delle Rose
Ranked #77 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Generally spot on”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

This hotel has a huge amount going for it, although there are one or two slightly rough edges. The location is fantastic, and it is a ten minute walk along the sea front to the Old Town. This walk is beautiful with amazing old structures (but be prepared to walk away from beggars who start with the question "where are you from?"). Alternatively, you can take one of the roads through the new town (e.g. Amerikis) taking you past shops and restaurants. There are a large number of restaurants around the casino, serving a range of Greek and Italian cuisine. You get much better value for money here than closer to or inside the Old Town. The hotel itself is very nice, only 30 rooms and our standard room was decorated to a very good standard. Although there is a smell of smoke in the communal areas, there is none in the bedroom. The air conditioning is quiet and efficient. Tea and coffee was delivered free by the butler and you can borrow DVDs from him as well. The hotel gym is fairly well equipped, and the butler needs about half an hours notice and will meet you with the key. The downsides were the lack of courtesy on arrival...we were given our room key and that was that. We had to ask all the usual questions...where are the rooms, what are the facilities at the hotel etc. There was some renovation work ongoing, and unfortunately it commenced at 8am and the staff thought I wanted to use the gym when I phoned to ask them to postpone the work for an hour. Finally, there was frequently some noise in the corridors around 10pm-11pm. I think this was a mixture of hotel staff and guests. The very late check out on the final day convinced me that the hotel deserves 5 rather than 4 stars but there is definitely some room for improvement in some elements of customer service.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at this hotel, the junior suite we occupied was of a very high standard. The bed was huge & very comfortable, butler service is complimentary & the rooms are superbly clean, with at least 2 changes of towels daily. Room service was good with food delivered as it would be in the restaurant, a table with all the settings laid. Our room overlooked the sea & the view was lovely. We had fruit & roses in the room & the staff were very friendly & professional.
Breakfast was a buffet with fruit, cereal, poached or scrambled eggs or omelettes cooked to order, there were also pastries, salad, cheeses & cold meats. We were more than happy with the options & ate out each evening. This hotel is a city hotel as opposed to the usual touristy types in resorts, so there is not the usual info available on local attractions, events or excursions etc. If you are wanting a base in Rhodes town to explore the old town & visit shops, the harbour & have access to a beach, this hotel is a great choice. The only issue we had, was that the lovely pool was next to the aqua bar which played very,very loud music all day! If you are looking for quiet relaxation or reading a book by the pool then this is probably not the best place. If you don't mind the noise, there are places saved for hotel residents, as it gets very busy with anyone using the pool bar from the public beach. The Aqua bar itself is very good, the food is excellent & if resident, they will do you a take away meal for the beach. The outdoor garden restaurant is also very good. Service & food was better than anything in the old town & not much different in price. Live entertainment in the evening was good quality & pleasant, sitting having a cocktail or coffee was a good end to the evening, even if you did not want a meal. Elli beach which fronts the hotel is very busy, the sea is clear & fairly calm, take footwear as the beach is pebbles & stones. The best sunbeds were in front of the Ronda restaurant, they were the same price & had pillows. The Ronda staff also supply drinks & really varied tasty food or drinks to order. We would certainly recommend this hotel as a place to stay in Rhodes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmagloucestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltaire, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Lovely huge rooms that are frequently tidied, a huge jacuzzi, separate bathroom and great air conditioning. The beds were very comfy and the food at the bar (or delivered free to your room by the butler) was very tasty indeed - cocktails at the bar were also very nice as well.
Breakfast is continental style, so nothing cooked apart from eggs but it was tasty and filled us up for the morning, not to mention the wonderful view out past the bar to the sea.
Complimentary towels for the beach or pool if you ask, as well as free access to the casino if you like that sort of thing.
Complimentary bottle of champaign when we arrived (we were on honeymoon)
Staff were always friendly, polite and very helpful. Wonderful hotel, probably one of the best I've ever stayed at - was very sad to leave!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrRobinL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We stayed at the Grande Albergo delle Rose for our honeymoon, at the beginning of June 2013. We were treated wonderfully and the service was very good. They upgraded our room and we arrived to champagne and flowers, a lovely thing for them to do for our honeymoon.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a continental breakfast, buffet style, but they always asked us if we wanted them to cook us anything or provide any drinks that were not on the buffet.
The butler service is brilliant, they really can't do enough for you, we felt spoilt. One night we had food and cocktails brought to us in our room from the garden cafe downstairs, it cost nothing more than going down to the cafe. The cafe and restaurant prices were similar to the restaurant prices we encountered elsewhere in Rhodes, they were not the hiked up prices that you may expect from a 5 star hotel.
A wonderful place to stay. The rooms and clean and beautiful, the atmosphere timeless and luxurious.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

My wife and I stayed the week before the May half term and the hotel was relatively quiet. The staff are so professional and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. Great food, luxurious suites and beautiful pool area. A big thankyou to Yanni (Pool attendant) who was magnificant!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewportGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

By far the best hotel in Rhodos town.Premium personalized service and breakfast,magnificent rooms with nice views of town and sea.Unique building with character and history well decorated and preserved.In the same place you can find a casino,a beautifull outside pool with an elegant bar and organised beach.If you can afford it don't hesitate to stay at this property.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 831seaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
118 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

This is a lovely hotel - well, its really a casino with a hotel attached, only 30 odd rooms. Our room (classic with a city view) was simply great. Very quiet, spacious, lovely bathroom (separate toilet). Huge, very comfortable, bed. Lovely roses, chocolates, fruit platter gratis.

We seemed to be just about the only guests for most of our 9 nights. Perhaps we were too early in the season, but it as a little like a ghost hotel until the last couple of days (this wasn't a problem for us!). Reception was often unmanned (although a simple trip along the corridor to the casino was helpful!). We had the excellent pool all to ourselves for most of our stay - right opposite the beach.

The location is simply perfect. 15 minutes walk from the old town (via the 'tourist' port with all the boat tours - do the daily Simi tour, simply great), but within 5 minutes of a host of decent restaurants. Rhodes town is lovely.

Breakfasts in the hotel are simply awful - very limited choice, but more than enough to eat - just depends how fussy you are! The only thing we really found to moan about during our entire stay. The staff everywhere are really very friendly and helpful.

If you get a good deal (we paid £80 per night per room B&B) this would be a very difficult hotel to beat. If you look like paying the 'rack rate' its very expensive. In short: excellent rooms, fantastic pool, great location, great, friendly staff, rubbish breakfast (very marginal problem in our view). We are not great breakfast people so we would certainly stay there again (as long as the price was good).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank severus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Bellevue Suites Hotel
Bellevue Suites Hotel
#43 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.1 mi away
smartline Aquamare
smartline Aquamare
#20 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.0 mi away
Astron Hotel
Astron Hotel
#96 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ibiscus Hotel
Ibiscus Hotel
#23 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel International
Hotel International
#49 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Center Hotel
City Center Hotel
#109 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Albergo delle Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Albergo delle Rose

Property: Grande Albergo delle Rose
Address: 4 G Papanikolaou Georgiou, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#36 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grande Albergo delle Rose 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Grande Albergo delle Rose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Albergo Delle Rose Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing