We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SILVIA Hotel, NOT SYLVIA hotel, Rhodos Town, Greece.”
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #63 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“SILVIA Hotel, NOT SYLVIA hotel, Rhodos Town, Greece.”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Hi. I am a single older guy who was refused entry to one of the bigger ferries leaving from Rhodos Town to Piraeus. I went to The Silvia Hotel as it was about a 10 / 15 minute walk from the ferry, and I was pleased by the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the room, which was a new addition on the ground floor with air con, en suite but no balcony. The was no internet connection in my room but it was excellent in the public ground floor area. I would certainly recommend the Silvia Hotel. A GREAT breakfast as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UnhappyOneTurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    65
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
7
80
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Pretty cheap one, great location that is very close to the harbour and the old town. The most important point is that the staff are fantastic friendly!! They are very helpful guiding you the way or giving some good travel tips! Definitely a good choice with this low price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunyiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We staied in Sylvia Hotel only for 1 night because we arrived by ferry from Karpathos and the next day we had the flight to come back home. This hotel is very close to the harbour (10 minutes on foot) and to Rhodes old town. Receptionists are friendly. Beds are comfortable but the bathroom was terrible: too little, the toilet seats was broken, no space to go in the shower, not enough clean. There was a nice balcony. In my opinion only beds are ok in that room. At last, breakfast was not so good, the buffet was poor. For example, no fresh orange juice could be served, they didn't make it; marmelades were not packed; there was no nutella or anything similar, etc. In conclusion, from my point of view this hotel is ok for staying one night, for longer period it's better to change your mind.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cynthia83ITA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We have just come back from a weeks holidays in Rhodes Town and we stayed at the Sylvia Hotel (please don't confuse this with the 'Sylvia Hotel' that has been getting bad reviews elsewhere on the island).

Basic but spotlessly clean, very helpful staff, good breakfast, five minutes walk to the Old Town, we were on the 4th floor (top floor) so we had a lovely view of the harbour area and it was enjoyable having a drink on the balcony and watching the sun go down.

Would definately stay at this hotel again if we return to Rhodes.

Room Tip: Either of the rooms on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimandPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Very cheap hotel with really helpful staff, only 5 minutes to the Old Town ( Unesco Heritage) .
At Sylvia you'll feel like at home !They take care of you serving a very good breakfast.
The cleanliness too it's pretty good.
Here you'll be close to the main attractions,shops and bus stops without wasting your money !

Good value for money !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ZAMY73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slovenia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We paid really cheap for this hotel. So for the price is a great hotel. I saw there were reviews for another hotel on this site, so I attach a link of the right hotel.
http://www.sylviahotel.gr/
The rooms are very spacious and clean. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Only the balcony is very, very small and so is the elevator, we could hardly put 2 persons and 2 suitcases inside. The breakfast is ok. Only at night you cound't have the balcony opened, because of the traffic. Location it's not that great if you like to go to the beach. There are two small beaches in harbour, but I woudn't use it. The nice city beach is a 20 min walk. This was no problem for us, beacuse we had a motorbike and we cruised around the island all the time. But hotel is very near the old town, so it's great for the evenings.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nity24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Trip Advisor for Silvia hotel in Rhodes

I went to Rhodes Via Fethiye Turkey on the hovercraft. I chose the Sylvia because I knew it was close to where the hovercraft docks and near the old city. I didn’t want to cart my luggage through the rough streets looking for my hotel so took a cab. It was 5 euro. The hotel is old but has been remodelled. The reception was lovely and warm and spoke good english. I took the very small elevator to the 2nd floor to my room and liked it quite well. Modest with a narrow but wrap around balcony with a table and 2 chairs, a view of the ocean and the harbour. The bathroom was too small and difficult to get in and out of, but the air conditioning worked very well, as did wifi in every part of the hotel including my room. The shower drain backed up first day but every time you go downstairs they ask you if everything is ok and when I told them they said they would have it fixed immediately, and they did.
The breakfast is buffet style, eggs, breads, cheese, meat, sweet breads, juices, coffee and tea. The only thing I would suggest adding is fresh fruit or vegetables. They have no restaurant but there is a bar and they will recommend excellent restaurants close by. They are 1 block from the walls of the old town, 3 blocks to the entrance, 2 blocks to a great swimming beach by the cruise ships (believe it or not). Three blocks from a fabulous family run restaurant on the water called Locanda, where all the food is home-made and some things, like capers, are even made by the grandmother.
The Silvia is clearly a family run business, started by the grandfather many years ago and continued by family. They treat you so warmly and are exceedingly helpful. I am giving it 3 star because really that’s what it is, but a lovely stay, great, warm and helpful people, excellent location and VERY inexpensive. I would definitely stay here again!!

Room Tip: It's a quiet street, I don't think there would be a noisy room. Perhaps a higher floor facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank equinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
1.1 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#82 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sunday Hotel
Sunday Hotel
#38 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Parthenon City
Hotel Parthenon City
#97 of 127 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#66 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#81 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Galaxias
Hotel Galaxias
#42 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Property: Sylvia Hotel
Address: 114 Kolokotroni Str, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sylvia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Afandou
Sylvia Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing