We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good place to stay and explore Rhodes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #61 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Copșa Mică
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very good place to stay and explore Rhodes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

At 10 min. from port and a local beach, 5 min. from the Supermarket Papoo, 15 min to Zefiros beach and 15 min to Old Town. Room with A/C, big fridge, tv, balcony whit table and chairs (very good at night to rest from a long day). Free WiFi net working ok, the cleaning is impeccable (room, towers, sheets), the hotel staff is very kind and polite (they help us with good advice about reaching to the touristic places). The breakfast was very good and always fresh.
Thank you for a great experience and a amazing vacation - definitely to be recommended.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a view to the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cosmin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    65
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
7
80
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is a great option if you wish to explore Rhodes town. The reception staff are professional, friendly and speak English well. The room and bathroom were of a good size, neat, clean and quiet ! The location is great - a 10 minute walk from the port from the Ferry from Marmaris or Santorini and a 20 minute walk through the old town to the central bus station for the airport bus. There are busstops closer to the hotel as well. The old town gates are 5 minutes walk away, so easy to explore both day and night. There is a superette across the road and a larger supermarket about a block away. The breakfast was basic, but absolutely adequate. Thank you for a great experience - definately to be recommended.

Room Tip: High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpostaySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Location: 10 minutes walk from the port and the nearest bus stop (buses goes to the east coast), 20 minutes walk from the bus stations/Market place
Rooms: Quite big with balcony, TV and A/C working properly. They have a big fridge in the room. Also table with chair. Wifi is worked from the room.
Cleaning: They cleaned the room every day properly. Immaculate work. Well down.
Reception: I had a late check in after midnight, but it was worked and I get all information I needed. Only one small negative about the reception. After my check out in the same day evening when I came back to my suitcase I ask them have they find my iPod in my room, the receptionist guy said no. After I checked my luggage and it wasn`t in, thatswhy I asked again the gent, maybe we can enter the room to look it. After it he get a call and the housekeeper found it, and it was in her trolley. I think it was not the best way to find it.
Breakfast: I wasn`t very satisfied with a breakfast. The following items are in: bread and rolls, boiled eggs, butter, jams, ham or salami (day rotation), cucumber, tomato, cornflakes, coco pops, yoghurt (strawberry and nature), dry small croissant. Coffe is from the machine, but very light (espresso is an americano), cheap teabags and 1 small glass of orange juice or grapefruit (they are serve it individually).
Facilities: Wifi worked properly from everywhere, elevator as well.

,

Room Tip: my room was 103, it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyarstomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed there for only one night but would stay there again. The room was simple and the bathroom tiny. So was the TV. we had a small balcony and the room was clean. The breakfast was good and the staff friendly. I am not sure if I would stay there for a longer period of time but for some days this Hotel has all you need. it is within walking distance to the old town and harbour.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemina_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

While the location is perfect if you're going with the ferry, as we were, it is terrible if you're seeking proximity to Rhodes town. The area in which the hotel is located is a little bit funny, to say the least.

We booked it mainly because of the location and the price, while the rating of 8+ (!?) on Booking.com played its part as well. A rating around 5 or 6 at the highest is understandable. 8 for a place like this is a joke, and a bad one at that.

The bathroom would've made a perfect setting for a horror movie.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelCouple2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fethiye, Turkey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights prior to visiting Tilos, We could not fault anything, the breakfast was excellent, room very clean with a good view of the port, staff very pleasant, The price we paid for the two nights was excellent value for money. The location was ideal for walking into the old town and also convenient for anyone needing to use the ferries in any of the three harbours.

Room Tip: best views from 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cidwilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Stayed here for three nights as a base for exploring Rhodes town and the north/east side of the island. Accommodation was pleasant with newish furniture. Not really luxorious but functional and good value for money. Simple breakfast in the morning. Air con was included.

The hotel is near the big commercial harbour, as I recall, 5-10 mins walk south of the busy old town (well placed for catching the larger ferries), which places it in a quiter area than the old city. Note that the bus stations are on the opposite side of the old town, so allow at least 20 mins walk, maybe a little more, or get a taxi.

Family owners and staff very friendly, enjoyed being there and would stay again for short stays.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vernon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
4.0 mi away
Sunday Hotel
Sunday Hotel
#38 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#76 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#73 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Parthenon City
Hotel Parthenon City
#93 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Galaxias
Hotel Galaxias
#42 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel & Studios
Philoxenia Hotel & Studios
#40 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Property: Sylvia Hotel
Address: 114 Kolokotroni Str, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sylvia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Afandou
Sylvia Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing