We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad at all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #59 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights whilst we decided where to go next. The room was quite small and the balcony was even smaller but having said that it was an ideal setting away from the hustle and bustle of Rhodes town. The staff were very good, breakfast was more than adequate and any queries we had were sorted immediately. We arrived very late (2.30am) and someone was there to book us in and see to our needs. Would certainly stay here again when passing through.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddymCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    65
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
7
80
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Spent six nights here in June 2013. Twin room with huge fridge, tiny balcony and the smallest bathroom I have ever come across anywhere in the world. If all you want is a clean room to sleep in and somewhere to shower then this is no problem. Minutes from the harbour and the local beach but best of all minutes from the Old Town. Room service is faultless, all the staff friendly and the breakfast adequate if restricted and a bit monotonous after a week. Strangely quiet bar. I had one beer there early evening waiting for my wife to come down from the room, but apart from that did not see a single person use it. Also the smallest lift I have come across. Maybe not for claustrophobics, but I would use Sylvia Hotel again.

Room Tip: The higher the better for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dadineedhelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

The hotel was more than adequate for our needs. Breakfast comprises cereals, fruit, various types of bread and rolls, eggs, ham, cheese and fresh salad. This gave us a good start to our day. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We used the receptionist as a Tourist Information Guide and she was only too willing to help. Adjustable aircon in the room, which helped give us a comfortable nights sleep.
The only bad points I should point out are the distinct lack of TV channels, (but I suppose you don't go to watch TV do you?) and the small shower/toilet room. No shower curtains so water tends to get everywhere. Minor gripes but just worth a mention.
The area is quiet and hardly any street noise at night. About 15 minutes walk to the old town. I would use this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MidlandsToffee_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copșa Mică
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

At 10 min. from port and a local beach, 5 min. from the Supermarket Papoo, 15 min to Zefiros beach and 15 min to Old Town. Room with A/C, big fridge, tv, balcony whit table and chairs (very good at night to rest from a long day). Free WiFi net working ok, the cleaning is impeccable (room, towers, sheets), the hotel staff is very kind and polite (they help us with good advice about reaching to the touristic places). The breakfast was very good and always fresh.
Thank you for a great experience and a amazing vacation - definitely to be recommended.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a view to the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cosmin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is a great option if you wish to explore Rhodes town. The reception staff are professional, friendly and speak English well. The room and bathroom were of a good size, neat, clean and quiet ! The location is great - a 10 minute walk from the port from the Ferry from Marmaris or Santorini and a 20 minute walk through the old town to the central bus station for the airport bus. There are busstops closer to the hotel as well. The old town gates are 5 minutes walk away, so easy to explore both day and night. There is a superette across the road and a larger supermarket about a block away. The breakfast was basic, but absolutely adequate. Thank you for a great experience - definately to be recommended.

Room Tip: High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExpostaySA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Location: 10 minutes walk from the port and the nearest bus stop (buses goes to the east coast), 20 minutes walk from the bus stations/Market place
Rooms: Quite big with balcony, TV and A/C working properly. They have a big fridge in the room. Also table with chair. Wifi is worked from the room.
Cleaning: They cleaned the room every day properly. Immaculate work. Well down.
Reception: I had a late check in after midnight, but it was worked and I get all information I needed. Only one small negative about the reception. After my check out in the same day evening when I came back to my suitcase I ask them have they find my iPod in my room, the receptionist guy said no. After I checked my luggage and it wasn`t in, thatswhy I asked again the gent, maybe we can enter the room to look it. After it he get a call and the housekeeper found it, and it was in her trolley. I think it was not the best way to find it.
Breakfast: I wasn`t very satisfied with a breakfast. The following items are in: bread and rolls, boiled eggs, butter, jams, ham or salami (day rotation), cucumber, tomato, cornflakes, coco pops, yoghurt (strawberry and nature), dry small croissant. Coffe is from the machine, but very light (espresso is an americano), cheap teabags and 1 small glass of orange juice or grapefruit (they are serve it individually).
Facilities: Wifi worked properly from everywhere, elevator as well.

,

Room Tip: my room was 103, it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyarstomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed there for only one night but would stay there again. The room was simple and the bathroom tiny. So was the TV. we had a small balcony and the room was clean. The breakfast was good and the staff friendly. I am not sure if I would stay there for a longer period of time but for some days this Hotel has all you need. it is within walking distance to the old town and harbour.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemina_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
4.0 mi away
Sunday Hotel
Sunday Hotel
#39 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#75 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#73 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Parthenon City
Hotel Parthenon City
#93 of 129 in Rhodes Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Galaxias
Hotel Galaxias
#41 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel & Studios
Philoxenia Hotel & Studios
#38 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Property: Sylvia Hotel
Address: 114 Kolokotroni Str, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sylvia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Afandou
Sylvia Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing