We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Sylvia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sylvia Hotel
Ranked #62 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Bø i Telemark, Telemark, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A nice hotel, not far from The Old Town and the port. A bit of traffic in the street, but not too noisy. Every Thursday a marked on just 50 m from the hotel.
Very nice, friendly and helpful staff. The room was big for one person, good bed and clean. Change of towels and sheets every day. Breakfast very good with a small buffet on. The hotel do not provide any other meals, but just down from the hotel there is a small "souvlaki" open in the evenings.
Stayed for seven weeks, and will come back again to this hotel.

Room Tip: You may want a room facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Torunn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    66
    22
    10
    7
See reviews for
9
85
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
fethiye
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Hotel Silvia.
For the price paid, this hotel must be rated highly.
Great location for tourist and Akandia ports.

Great location for Old Town.

Good location for other parts of Rhodes town ..... Bus station 10 minutes walk, mandraki,
New town beach and bars are a bit further but not much.

Breakfast consists of all the main elements of a cold breakfast. There is enough choice to suit those who do not want 5star for 2star prices.

Rooms are comfortable.
Bathrooms are small but hot water was available at all times.
Aircon efficient.

Wifi was erratic in room but good signal in public rooms.

All staff were friendly and helpful especially the daytime receptionist.

Laginnis is the nearest Old Town restaurant and if you want typical Greek food and ambience then this is a place to go. Music on Sundays.
The prices are good, too.
It is not one of those places which bring food and accompaniments which seem to be complimentary until the bill arrives.

I f I am ever in Rhodes again the Hotel Silvia will be considered first.

Room Tip: High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tomamca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We booked this hotel purely as a 12 hour base between our morning ferry arrival and later flight depatrure.
On arriving,the receptionist was exceptionally helpful and friendly,she also advised us to contact the evening receptionist to arrange a simple travel breakfast. Thereafter,it was a slippery downhill slope! We were not expecting 5* luxury given the budget price,but neither were we expecting a tiny room which stank of sewage,which emanated from a dingy bathroom with broken fitments and unfiltered airshaft. We decided to leave the baggage and avoid returning until our taxi arrived for the airport. This was arranged with the evening receptionist Costas,who was proving somewhat illusive. A 23.00 hour pickup was requested,so when no taxi had arrived by 23.15,we enquired as to its whereabouts,to be told that he assumed we were leaving at eleven in the morning! Bearing in mind,we had been given the travel breakfast and our luggage was sat in full view of reception!! Not impressed.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first and checkout the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fuzzyducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

If you don't go here expecting 5 star luxury, you won't be disappointed. Yes some of the decor is a little tired, the balconies and bathrooms are a little on the small side and there is no pool, but you get what you pay for. Infact, you get a lot more than you pay for with Hotel Sylvia.

The hotel is in an excellent location for exploring the old town, just a 5 minutes walk away from one of the quiter gates that avoids all of the crowds of the mandraki harbour. It's also 5 - 10 mins away from a bus stop that will get you to the rest of the island if you wish. It's about 2 mins from a small beach. Whilst it isn't the greatest beach in the world, it is at least quiet and you get to watch the boats coming into and out of the harbour. The new town is about 15 - 20 mins away, but it's a pleasant enough walk with much to see and do on the way.

The hotel's real strengths are it's staff though. They are genuine and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. We did have a slight hiccup with our booking but they went out of their way to solve it for us. Rooms are cleaned everyday and always with a smile and a friendly chat.

If you are looking for somewhere friendly, clean and comfortable in a great location without breaking the bank, then you could do a lot worse than here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miquel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights whilst we decided where to go next. The room was quite small and the balcony was even smaller but having said that it was an ideal setting away from the hustle and bustle of Rhodes town. The staff were very good, breakfast was more than adequate and any queries we had were sorted immediately. We arrived very late (2.30am) and someone was there to book us in and see to our needs. Would certainly stay here again when passing through.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddymCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Spent six nights here in June 2013. Twin room with huge fridge, tiny balcony and the smallest bathroom I have ever come across anywhere in the world. If all you want is a clean room to sleep in and somewhere to shower then this is no problem. Minutes from the harbour and the local beach but best of all minutes from the Old Town. Room service is faultless, all the staff friendly and the breakfast adequate if restricted and a bit monotonous after a week. Strangely quiet bar. I had one beer there early evening waiting for my wife to come down from the room, but apart from that did not see a single person use it. Also the smallest lift I have come across. Maybe not for claustrophobics, but I would use Sylvia Hotel again.

Room Tip: The higher the better for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dadineedhelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

The hotel was more than adequate for our needs. Breakfast comprises cereals, fruit, various types of bread and rolls, eggs, ham, cheese and fresh salad. This gave us a good start to our day. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. We used the receptionist as a Tourist Information Guide and she was only too willing to help. Adjustable aircon in the room, which helped give us a comfortable nights sleep.
The only bad points I should point out are the distinct lack of TV channels, (but I suppose you don't go to watch TV do you?) and the small shower/toilet room. No shower curtains so water tends to get everywhere. Minor gripes but just worth a mention.
The area is quiet and hardly any street noise at night. About 15 minutes walk to the old town. I would use this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MidlandsToffee_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Galaxias
Hotel Galaxias
#44 of 126 in Rhodes Town
102 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Parthenon City
Hotel Parthenon City
#106 of 126 in Rhodes Town
357 reviews
1.1 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#66 of 126 in Rhodes Town
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Amaryllis Hotel
Amaryllis Hotel
#90 of 126 in Rhodes Town
95 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel
#82 of 126 in Rhodes Town
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
#80 of 126 in Rhodes Town
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sylvia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvia Hotel

Property: Sylvia Hotel
Address: 114 Kolokotroni Str, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sylvia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sylvia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sylvia Hotel Afandou
Sylvia Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing