We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funny, off-beat, great location”
Review of Anastasia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Anastasia Hotel
Ranked #38 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Funny, off-beat, great location”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 5 days in July. Most of the comments about Mihalis are correct - he's dry, comes off as rude but we took the advice to give it a bit of time and were soon firm friends. Really enjoyed how quaint the rooms are, as well as how close everything is in walking distance. Ate most days at Koykos which was traditional, lovely, affordable and a far cry from most of the touristy restaurants that unfortunately abound. Bus station is close to walk to, great to visit lindos for the day - but do as we did and catch the earliest bus so you can avoid all the flocks of tourists that head there around 9am (high summer). The walk put to the head to see the tomb was also really great. All in all, hotel anastasia was lovely and quaint and would recommend.



  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyndham_Earl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    77
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
46
179
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I had a wonderful 5-night stay at this hotel and it was one of the highlights of my trip to Rhodes.

Location: hard to beat. The hotel is 5 mins walk to 'Bar Street', 10 mins walk to beaches, 15 mins walk to the bus terminal and within meters of restaurants, shops and all possible amenities. Very easy to get a taxi to anywhere in the island from the hotel doorstep (the owners will also happily call one for you).

The hosts: Mikali and Stefania were attentive and professional at all times. Yes, Mikali is a bit of a 'character' (as other reviewers have pointed out) but a very enjoyable one, I must say. He is a warm-hearted and extremely friendly person and he made sure that my stay was a perfect one from my very first moments at the hotel (making me choose my room, recommending amenities in the area and introducing me to other guests). Stefania (his wife) was a wonderful host too, and made me feel like a member of the family throughout my whole holiday there. Between the two of them they speak at least 4-5 languages and they have an impressive knowledge of the local restaurant scene, which definitely helps when you're new in town.

The hotel: 2 buildings (next to each other), all common areas were spotlessly clean and extremely well-maintained by the owners. Nice breakfast/bar/tv area in the courtyard.

The room: I had a great room in the secondary building, with a great terrace and plenty of peace and quiet.

The breakfast (which costs a few euros, but I understand can be incorporated into the room rate) was simple but filling, with pastries, biscuits, an egg, tea/coffee and fresh bread every day.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants caring hosts (vs. a soul-less hotel), good location and value for money in the heart of Rhodes Town.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 'secondary building ' are quieter. Try and get room no. 30 if you can (I stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco0816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We have just spent 3 very enjoyable days in Rhodes, very much enhanced by having a good hotel. Hotel Anastasia is located within walking distance of the beach, old town and new town centre and has good restaurants and shops nearby. The family run hotel is set in two old Italian houses. In the main outside bar/breakfast area we found internet access to be excellent but as an earlier reviewer has said Internet access may not be available in all the bedrooms as it wasn't in ours, due to the thickness of the walls. However, we were quite happy to enjoy our holiday and occasionally access the Internet in the outside seating area close to the bar. The room we had was clean, comfortable and gave us plenty if space to spread out. The owner, Mihalis, is quite a 'character' and wears his heart on his sleeve. He does have a sense of humour which not everyone may understand but he is well-meaning. He is very keen that as a visitor you do not get 'ripped off' and we found him very friendly and helpful, including giving us excellent suggestions on good non-touristy places to eat. We very much enjoyed the breakfasts especially the Greek yoghurt with walnuts and the very good croissants and whole meal bread. As stated, this is a small, family run hotel which provides good value for your money. The turtles (or were they tortoises?) are an added attraction and we enjoyed meeting 'Oscar' one of the latest clutch of baby turtles - just an hour old- on our last morning!

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike-Rosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed our stay very much. Nice rooms, friendly people and Mihalis.... Truely a fine guy and with a special humor. We liked it!
Even though we lost our room key there were no troubles. BTW, Mihalis: I found it in Germany in my secret pocket... Sorry for that.

Jan & Catalina

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed in the hotel with a friend for couple of days whilst at Rhodes this summer. First of all, internet is only available at the reception (few meters radius), which was disappointing if you were relying to check online out where to go and what to visit from your room.

Location is very good, as well as the room cleanness and size.

There were many comments here how people felt like home. That was not the case with me. Whenever I would ask for some advice from the owners of the hotel, I had to sustain couple of minutes of useless chitchat (which some people describe as specific humor) from the owner. Afterwards, I just didnt even bother but went to tourist office info and got all I needed.

Breakfast was good, and enough to keep you going until lunch.

Overall, I am not sure I would stay here again, but location and rooms were good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meliches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Mihalis and Stefania are very helpful, though his sense of humour takes a little getting used to - don't take offence without thinking again!
Very easy to walk to the Old Town, particularly if you take the advice of Mihalis on the most direct route to the Grand Master's Palace.
Also very easy for the airport as the incoming bus stops about 200m away in the adjoining street and the return bus is even nearer in the same street as the hotel

Room Tip: Upper floor is better because other guests can look into the ground floor rooms unless you keep the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed in Rhodes for 5 days at this B&B and it was good value.
Mihalis (the owner) showed us 3 potential rooms before we chose the one we wanted.
Breakfast had a basic but good selection - brought to the table when you were seated - yogurt with honey, bread, biscuits, juice, coffee.
Mihalis and his wife Stefania were good hosts - advising us where to go , giving suggestions for restaurants (based on our budget), and even lending us a book on rhodes while we were there. Stefania even prepared a breakfast bag for us for the day we took a ferry out to symi.
Rhodes was made interesting by Hotel Anastasia (and its cats and turtles!)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
3.3 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
645 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pine Trees Art Hotel
Pine Trees Art Hotel
#27 of 126 in Rhodes Town
182 reviews
0.7 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#37 of 126 in Rhodes Town
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moschos Hotel
Moschos Hotel
#48 of 126 in Rhodes Town
153 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galaxias
Hotel Galaxias
#43 of 126 in Rhodes Town
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nafsika Hotel
Nafsika Hotel
#62 of 126 in Rhodes Town
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anastasia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anastasia Hotel

Property: Anastasia Hotel
Address: 28th October Str, 46, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Rhodes Town
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#25 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Anastasia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anastasia Hotel Rhodes Town
Anastasia Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing