We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Oasis in Rhodes”
Review of Anastasia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anastasia Hotel
Ranked #33 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2010

The Anastasia Hotel is a hidden oasis in busy Rhodes just a short walk to the Old Town. The owners, Mihalis and Stephania are gracious, kind and very helpful. The hotel is spotlessly clean -- Mihalis is constantly cleaning and maintaining his charming Italianate Villa hidden off the main road. The beach, good restaurants and the Old Town are within an easy walk. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 5 day stay in April 2010 and would definitely return and highly recommend The Anastasia.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gamkmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
There are newer reviews for Anastasia Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 364 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2010

I have read all the reviews about this hotel and most has been already written which I am in agreement with, i.e. it’s not actually a hotel but a b&b, the place is clean and spotless, in a good location, they have tortoises and cats etc. The facts have already presented themselves in previous reviews and the place is shown in a good light. You can believe what has already been written. The reason I am writing though is to address some of the negative issues written about this establishment. I think it is important to understand the culture of this place. We (my wife and I) came at (I think) the beginning of the tourist season (May) so what we saw in Rhodes New Town in general was clean newly painted houses and restaurants, a ‘fresh’ look to the area, and from what I perceived, the locals being happy to receive us. Now, I am not so sure how things would be between tourists, say, in October, when the hotel owners and other locals, who have more than likely worked 17 hour days, 7 days a week without a break, be feeling (and are probably at the end of their tether catering to pernickety tourists), What I am trying to say here is that when it comes to reading reviews about implied rude Rhodians (?) take a quick peek at the date of the review first, and hold judgement before dismissing this establishment (and Rhodes) as a destination you would like to come. It’s great here. We had a whale of a time. This is a budget ‘hotel’ - It’s not the Ritz, you won’t get a gourmet breakfast – you didn’t pay for that, now did you? You will get a cup of tea or coffee, two small coissants, two rolls, laughing cow cheese and a catering portion of butter, honey, jam etc. It’ll do. You’ll get a warm welcome from the owners. He’s a bit ‘marmite’ so speaking about sex, religion, nationalities and politics are subjects that I have always been taught from an early age by my parents to be best avoided if you get easily offended, and maybe the previous chap who wrote the negative stuff did get offended, but then a lot of people like marmite and can take the ‘Tony Hancock’ in him. He plays the dry wit role that not everyone gets at first, but because we were there for more days than most guests, we started to see the real husband and wife team and got to know them – they are decent folk, work very hard at what they have and put themselves out for their guests. He keeps his bar prices lower than the other establishments in the area (I truly believe he doesn’t want to exploit his guests). These two get upset when they read (the very very few) bad reviews on Trip Advisor saying they have been ‘rude’ – they are actually very down to earth, people who do their best and don’t walk around with big cheesy false smiles for the tourists, being fake. You would not be disappointed if you came here on a budget, we would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondondTangoDancers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

My friend and I stayed at the Hotel Anastasia twice on our recent trip to Greece, and both of us would not hesitate to stay there again. The rooms are basic, but very clean and comfortable. For the price, the value is outstanding. The hotel is set back from the street, and very quiet. It is an easy walk to the beaches and the Old Town, not to mention the restaurants and entertainment in the New Town. Mihalis was an exceptional host, and nothing was too much trouble for him.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazlynp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

I stayed here for one night with a couple of friends while passing through Rhodes. We all felt thoroughly pleased with our accommodations. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is quiet and has a nice outdoor bar and breakfast area. It is centrally located in New Town, a short walk to the medieval city and also to the bars and nightlife in New Town. Best of all was our host. The proprietor made us feel very welcome- he even invited us to a party along with a few other guests. He gave us all the help we needed in finding our way around town and gave good advice on where to eat, etc. All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Value for money and great location. Will definitely return to this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to recommend for people travelling on a budget. Rooms simple but sufficient and the owners are great.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julz611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Great value for money, the rooms were large and clean. Hotel was 10 minutes from old city, close to beach and restaurants. Hotel owner incredibly helpful and informative about various places to visit on Rhodes. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenhegney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Just a quick note to say after arriving and then staying in Rhodes for 6 nights, we were very please with both the accomadations and the owner Mahalis......very clean rooms, great location in town and very helpful hosts. Don't be bothered by the one negative comment....Mahalis was great and runs a good hotel, we have stayed in many the last 7 weeks. We appreciate his humour and the last minute ride to the ferry dock.....you will not be disapointed, Spencer Nixon, Phoenix, AZ

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathienixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Moschos Hotel
Moschos Hotel
#51 of 126 in Rhodes Town
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
Europa Hotel Rooms and Studios
#71 of 126 in Rhodes Town
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nafsika Hotel
Nafsika Hotel
#57 of 126 in Rhodes Town
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Minos Pension & Roof Garden Lounge
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galaxias
Hotel Galaxias
#39 of 126 in Rhodes Town
112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel & Studios
Philoxenia Hotel & Studios
#36 of 126 in Rhodes Town
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anastasia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anastasia Hotel

Address: 28th October Str, 46, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Rhodes Town
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#25 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £26 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Anastasia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anastasia Hotel Rhodes Town
Anastasia Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing