We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - think the previous reviewer got the hotel muddled”
Review of Anastasia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anastasia Hotel
Ranked #37 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Bursa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place - think the previous reviewer got the hotel muddled”
Reviewed 19 October 2010

My partner and I had an absolutely delightful stay at the Anastasia on 11th and 12th October. Mihalis & Stefania made us feel really welcome, they allowed us to check in early, we had a large, quiet, airy room with comfortable bed and we felt very at home there. There were also good washing facilities and an adequate shower. The house is traditional, which we felt was a more interesting option than the more modern hotels available. At breakfast, when we wanted more coffee, we simply asked for it and it was provided. Mihalis was a great source of information and he generously shared his knowlege with us - and indeed gave us a Turkey guide as we were moving on to Marmaris. He is quite serious in his manner, but very polite. We paticularly liked the fact that we could swap the books we had read, choosing ones from his library. We simply cannot recognise the hotel from the description given by the previous review and feel quite upset that this hotel has been critisised so harshly and, in our view, unfairly.
Dr Sheila Keegan

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilakeegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    77
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
45
179
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Ontario
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We'd read a review of this hotel in a travel review guide on Greece & also checked on-line reviews which were favourable, so we reserved to stay 5 nights. One night was too long!
We weren't paying a fortune to stay here, so did not expect the Ritz. As a positive, it was clean, however, the owner in our opinion was quite rude. On arrival, since our room was just inside the entrance door & was quite dark, we asked if there was anything else available. He said "so, you don't like the room?" We didn't want to be rude, but said we'd prefer something on an upper floor, hoping there might be a view. There wasn't. We had one chair in the room, which wasn't very comfortable for 2 people. Anyway, we expected to be out of the room for most of our intended 5 night stay, so thought we'd make the best of it.
He did provide some overview advice on visiting the old town. I'd been there before, so had a clue, but this was my husband's first trip to Greece. The owner proceeded to advise us on where to go in the old town....including a comment like "avoid .... St. - that is where all the stupid tourists go". Excuse me, but don't those people provide him with his bread & butter?
On our way to dinner that night, we checked out another property which by comparison was palatial & only cost 7 euro more per night. We thought we'd be moving!
The owner of Anastasia is very particular about how one pronounces the name of his establishment - don't put the accent on the wrong syllable! Maybe his sense of humour.
Breakfast was a disaster. It was to begin at 8 a.m.. We were eager to explore the old town, so were outdoors on the patio at that time. I was encouraged to see a large thermos on each table & expected that to be coffee. WRONG! It was hot water to make either tea or an instant coffee using the single tiny packet eventually delivered to the table. There was juice - a delicious croissant & some very plain bread, then a few biscuits which we found far from tasty. I tried mine, decided they weren't worth the calories & tried to discretely place them under my saucer so as not to appear rude. The next thing I knew, the owner walked over to our table, picked up the saucer, pointed at the cookies & bellowed "eat those"! I couldn't believe my ears.
We couldn't check out fast enough.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank casepacked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LALOS28, Owner at Anastasia Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
English is not our first language here, so there are certain messages and jokes that may get lost in translation. The message that we intended to communicate when providing directions to the Old Town was not to avoid the place where "all the stupid tourists go," but to provide a better route in which to travel there. We apologize for the misunderstanding.

For breakfast, we do provide instant coffee with hot water, but this is not the exception in Greece. Many cafes use Nescafe to make their coffee, especially in preparing Frapes which is a favorite drink in our country.

Thanks for taking the time to submit your feedback. Mihalis and Stefania thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2010

The Anastasia hotel is a Big old house with about 10 rooms. It is full of character and charm and it is spotless, this is down to the owners Mihalis and Stephania who work very hard to maintain this and are always on call if you need them. We stayed for a week and I would not hesitate to stay here again. It is close to the Old Town, the beach, the harbour, lovely restaurants, what more can you ask for!! Thank you Mihalis for your hospitality throughout our stay. Hopefully, we will see you next year.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda-SteveWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eilat
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2010

We made a last minute reservation and chose to stay here after reading other reviews. Our online reservations went smoothly and we were delighted with the classical architecture of our room with traditional big shutters that looked out on to a quiet garden. Quiet, clean and comfortable, Hotel Aanastasia was walking distance from everything we needed - the Old Town, Ferry docks and Bus Station. We enjoyed breakfast in the garden and looked forward to an ouzo in the little garden bar with Mihalis each evening. Mihalis and Stefania are warm and friendly hosts. In fact we enjoyed our stay so much, that when we had to alter travel plans for a quick return through Rhodes we immediately called Mihalis and asked if he had a room for us. Happily he did. Again we had a great stay. We would definetly recommend Hotel Anastasia to anyone looking for a good place to stay in Rhodes.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MannyRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We chose this hotel based on the good reviews here, but were really disappointed. I feel like we must have stayed at a different hotel.

When we arrived the owner was rude and disputed that we had booked for three nights, saying he could only take us for one night. Happily his wife double-checked their records and confirmed we had indeed booked three nights.

The room we stayed in was clean and spacious but the on-suite bathroom had a shower cubicle so low so low that we had to crouch down in it to get wet. I am not a giant – just 5’ 4” - but kept butting my head on the ceiling every time I took a shower. There was also an overflowing drain in the bathroom and so a permanent puddle of water in the middle of the floor.

The breakfast was ok but quite basic – just a selection of dry breads and sugary biscuits with juice and coffee. At breakfast the owner sat next to us uninvited which I thought was a bit odd, but maybe he was being a bit friendly to make up for the arrival. However he then went on to trash our plans to take a bus to Ancient Kamerios, saying we were ‘stupid’ and insisted that we must rent a car instead from his ‘friend’ (this fell through in the end unsurprisingly so we ended up taking the bus anyway). He also commented directly to my boyfriend that the 10 minute walk to the Old Town would take about 20 minutes with me because I ‘am a woman and a little bit blond’. If this was meant to be a joke then it went down like a lead balloon. Perhaps you just have to have a better sense of humour to stay here than us…??

On leaving the owner disputed that we had already paid a 100 euro deposit, but fortunately I had brought with me the email confirmation that they had received it.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone I liked.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanthunterLis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

The hotel is wonderfully located, a very quiet place a few minutes away from the old Town and close to shops and restaurants. The owners are extremely helpful and do their best to make your stay in the island as enjoyable as possible. Rooms are clean and spacious- the bathrooms are a bit too small though. Overall, a place we all enjoyed to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jl0d0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

The Anastasia was ok... Location makes Old Town and harbor walkable. We were 4 with 11 pieces of luggage. This left little space in our room. Our next hotel room, in Turkey, swallowed our baggage in a way that did allow us to walk freely in the room. Bathroom at the Anastasia had no soap. Of our 4 beds, two were trundle beds. Breakfast consisted of various breads, jam, juice, and coffee; nothing more. Breakfast in the garden was pleasant, as were the cats and the small turtles. Owner seemed pretty harassed and, in fairness to him, this was the time of the Great European Vacation Odyssey and he appeared to have a full house, requiring a wait in line to check out. But overall, between our room and the crowdedness of the shared space, I would go somewhere else next time in Rhodes.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuieKnife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
3.6 mi away
Pine Trees Art Hotel
Pine Trees Art Hotel
#27 of 127 in Rhodes Town
178 reviews
3.3 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 127 in Rhodes Town
632 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Galaxias
Hotel Galaxias
#46 of 127 in Rhodes Town
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#31 of 127 in Rhodes Town
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moschos Hotel
Moschos Hotel
#44 of 127 in Rhodes Town
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes
Kipriotis Hotel Rhodes
#39 of 127 in Rhodes Town
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anastasia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anastasia Hotel

Property: Anastasia Hotel
Address: 28th October Str, 46, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Rhodes Town
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#25 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Anastasia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anastasia Hotel Rhodes Town
Anastasia Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing