We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of YIANNIS

YIANNIS
Ranked #67 of 399 Restaurants in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Caen, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We went there because it advised is in the Lonely Planet guide (Greek Islands 2014) and I wonder why.
We went in the middle of the afternoon, ordered a Greek plate.
We heard the microwave ring a few times, the food came pretty quickly and I didn't see any real cooking... and surely enough some parts of our meal were boiling hot in the center, some others were just warm. It was hard to say when all this was cooked.
It was our first meal at the restaurant in Greece, so we felt quite happy about at first. But after 2 weeks in the islands, eating excellent food in various places, I can definitely say Yiannis was the worst meal we had.
It was just the two of us and maybe 6 members of the family, it felt quite typical but all the same we felt like we were bothering them when asking for something...
If you can't cook fresh food on the order all day, just close in the afternoon or advise your customer on specific meal that you know are fresh. It happened to us somewhere else, in the end we ordered completely different thing than what we had planned but at least what we ordered was freshly cooked and delicious.
Maybe it's better during the high season when it's busy.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nounouf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    123
    25
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleckheaton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Taverna!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

So pleased to have stumbled across this delightful taverna tucked away in Old Rhodes Town. It's an authentic Greek café and it was good to see the locals using it too.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank thebrownies_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Who says size does not count.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

While staying at the Camelot Hotel in old Rhodos town we were recommended to try Yannis Taverna. It was all very casual but we were always well received and Mama the matriarch of the family was a super lady, she was always dressed in traditional Greek dress and when not inviting people to dine diligently sat crocheting. The chef was a charming chap, not sure if he was her son or son in law. We were always served a complementary dish at the beginning of the evening, this ranged from wonderful Greek salad with fish/meat or the most fantastic soup. I could have done with a child's portion but my husband seemed to always clear up what ever I left.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 66Exeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Listed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

This was listed in our guide book, excellent place to eat away from the crowds and next to a very good supermarket for cheap Greek produce.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NEWCASTLE
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yannis Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a lovely family restaurant with a genuine Greek feel. The family run the whole establishment and make you feel at home with service and good food. When I was there we noticed a dodgy character across the walkway/lane commandeering the public amenity and trying to charge for its use. Not sure if that was legal but it didn't really interfere with our eating experience. Just amusing entertainment to watch! He might be gone by now!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OZTOURERNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed YIANNIS also viewed

 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to YIANNIS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing