We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too much expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Ranked #23 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Too much expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

I've been here for 1 night. The rooms are nice and clean (a little bit old) but too dark (no natural light). The breakfast is normal even if you have to choose the night before what you will eat and drink thee day after..., but at the end it doesn't value almost 200 euros...

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martignocca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YBROKOS, Owner at Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your time staying with us and writing a review on tripadvisor.com.
I appreciate your comments, but to answer to you about i.e for the breakfast, this is an one minute procedure for our visitors which really helps to have everything very fresh. About the lights and our suite being dark, i really cannot comment anything, and of course about the hotel being old, this is the 4th season of working so....i cannot follow you.
Anyway hope to see you again soon, and i promise that i will see what happened and you felt like this.
Best wishes:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    41
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
134
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhodes, Dhodhekanisos, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed for 4 knights and celebrated our wedding anniversary.
Romantic atmosphere within the walls of the old town next to the famous Socratus and Knight's Street, yet located in a very quite place. Staff is so kind, friendly and helpful, that really made us fill like home. Thank you all and hope to see you again soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

If you decide to stay in the historic part of town (which I highly recommend) you should undoubtedly chose the Avalon. The property here is quaint, well cared for, and warm. Did the mention the location is directly next to the ruins and central to all, you couldn't get a better location if you tried. A family owns a hotel and you can tell because they take care of their property like they take care of their people. The room was large and included a living room and dinning room, more than enough space for me and my friend. The breakfast was the best part as the owner makes a special jam fresh from her garden that my friend and I absolutely loved (it comes from a fruit that is close to a comquot but sweeter and something we don't have in the US). We asked the owner if we could buy some and she without hesitation went back to her kitchen and came back with a jar of her homemade jam packaged for travel. When we asked if we could pay her for it she waived us away and said she was glad we liked it so much. Needless to say we finished the jam only three days later in Santorini and the hotel staff in Santorini kept looking at us funny as we were bringing the jam with us to breakfast ;) Great property and people all in all!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akalokerinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodrum City, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

This nice boutique hotel has a perfect location and as it is in a very old building it has a lovely, romantic feeling. Smaro welcomed us and she is friendly but sometimes it is a little bit difficult to find someone as the hotel has only a small staff. Our room had a big terrace (Anatolian room) but I would have liked a sunscreen/parasol of some kind (otherwise it is hard to use..). The air condition has a central control system and that is sometimes a problem..
A nice gesture are the books in every room. When we arrived there were no towels (in both rooms..)and for a 4 star hotel this shouldn't happen.. The same for the breakfast: you can order (fill out a form) the evening before what you like but I expected more for a boutique hotel. You get what you have asked for but that's it..
As for us location and a nice room in a small romantic hotel are priority we can surely say that we had an enjoyable stay despite some things that could be improved..

Room Tip: All rooms are very different: the Anatolien room has a big private terrace; the Eros room is nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

Rodos Avalon boutique Hotel well located, by walk close to 
everywhere...staff very friendly, struggles for your satisfaction
. Facility not too bad, but better to renew some points as air condition control system

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karaadak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed at this nice boutique hotel, which is at the heart of the Old Town in Rhodes. You feel the soul of the St. Jean knights and the Ottomans at the old town.

You will be welcomed by Smaro in the reception. She is friendly, kind and helpful. I already recommended this hotel to my friends when and if they are in Rhodes.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mehmet T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Our first impression of this hotel was absolutely fantastic until we got to our room. We were booked into the "Notos" room. Other rooms may be wonderful but I would suggest you do not book this particular room, you will regret it.

The positives for this hotel are: Great location - couldn't have asked for more. Notos room had a lovely patio for sitting in.

The negatives for this hotel are: Notos room was poorly lit, therefore very dark. The room had a staircase leading upstairs to the bedroom. Due to the darkness of the room and the tight staircase we decided not to try and get luggage up the stairs.

Breakfast quality and selection when received was poor and very ordinary for a 4 star hotel. When we booked through booking.com there was no mention of late breakfast times; breakfast started from 8.30 a.m. onwards. Due to the excursions we had booked we had to be gone from the hotel by 8.15 am, the hotel attitude was "we do not serve breakfast until 8.30 am therefore we had to go without". When a fuss was created by us on the next day a poorly cooked breakfast was provided and just about dumped on the table by the cook. Omelette requested was burnt.

We had organised a hotel transfer to and from the airport. We were charged 40 Euros for the trip one way, which seemed excessive. I asked taxi drivers at a taxi rank how much it would cost and we were advised 22 Euros. This upset me as I felt as guests of the hotel a hotel transfer should be charged a similar price, instead the hotel added some on top of. I advised hotel of the situation and requested return trip be cancelled as I would catch a cab. Hotel owner offered a free transfer to pacify me which I accepted. I had truly felt as through we had been "ripped off".

Under normal circumstances I would not have complained but the poorly lit room, being ripped off for hotel transfer and then told no breakfast upset me and I created a fuss. Hotel staff treated us very differently after this. It was like they were advised not to talk to us. It took off some of the shine on our trip to Rhodes.

Room Tip: Do not select the "Notos" suite. Room is very poorly lit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrYBrokos, Owner at Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Guests,
Really glad and apreciate the fact that you found time to write your welcomed review anyway, also to tripadvisor.com where a hotelier has the ability to answer to you. Now it becomes fair.
The problems have started from the very beginning upon your arrival. Our receptionist called me and said that you told him that you intend to write bad comments everywhere (booking.com, tripadvisor.com ect). I said why...what is the problem? He said that you believe that you where charged alot with the transfer, you wanted earlier your breakfast because you had arranged daily excursions and that the light of the suite was not enough for you.
I immediatelly called you and you confirmed what i was told...
About the breakfast...
Even if the breakfast is served at 0830 and that is well writen on our website, we prepared your breakfast when it was convinient for you 0745. I will not get into details because i respect you.
About the lights of the suite...
i asked you, do you want to be upgraded, if the lights are not enough for you?
You said no...it is ok
About the transfer...
You were informed before your arrival how much a private transfer would cost...
I also explained to you that if i.e you get out of the airport and you find a taxi you will pay between 20-25 euros, if you want a taxi waiting for you no matter if your flight has a delay, that would cost between 30-35 euros and finally if you want a private transfer it will cost you 40 euros. I find that fair, it is up to you, you choose....
You apologised to me and you told me that evething is ok...
At your departure, i didn't want you to carry your luggage to the taxi station, which is 500 meters away, so you would pay 22 euros i called a taxi infront of the hotel, paid your transfer back to the airport.
That is the story...
Be sure that this kind of review don't help us as hoteliers to progress because you don't indicate something to be corrected and this kind of review doesn't help other visitors. The only outcome of your review is that we made a small discount to the transfer 5 euros for this season to show to our customers that we intent to do what ever we can to exress our sensitivity to this economic crisis.
It was a pleasure to meet you.
Best wishes and take care.
Yiannis Brokos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
#32 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot hotel
Camelot hotel
#33 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
#28 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kokkini Porta Rossa
Kokkini Porta Rossa
#4 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
#41 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel

Property: Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Address: 9 Haritos Street | Medieval City of Rhodes, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#19 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon Boutique Hotel is a unique Medieval Property with modern features and high quality services. Located just a breath away from the famous Grand Master's Palace and Knight's Street is an idyllic gem in the heart of the Old Town of Rhodes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Boutique Hotel Rhodes Town
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing