We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Ranked #23 of 129 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

This hotel is so beautiful, situated in the old town so close to all the busy shops and restaurants, but amazingly quiet. The courtyard is an oasis and delightfully lit at night. The staff are very helpful.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    41
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
37
134
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Avalon Hotel, in Old Rhodes City, is like the frosting on a beautiful cake. We stayed in one of the six rooms that was more like a well furnished apartment. The patio, where breakfast is served, is beautiful, with cascading bougainvillea of many colors. Breakfast was typical of food on the island. The staff was outstandingly helpful. They found us a very good guide, fora 3 hour tour, who knew so much about the history of the area that it brought the ancient city to life. The owner is a highly trained dentist who offers packages including a stay and very good dental care. As a dentist myself I was very impressed by his services as well as the prices he charges for them. The hotel is planning expansion into the adjoining property, perhaps w itch a pool.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrYBrokos, Owner at Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Dear Mr Calman,
Thank you so much for your kind words. The pleasure was all our, having you and your lovely wife in Rhodes and in Avalon Hotel. We hope to see you soon in the near future. Best Wishes to you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossland, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Any romantic notions I had about staying in a castle and now dispelled. The rooms were clean but there was a subtle musty smell that lingers. The breakfasts were disappointing on many levels.
We stayed here at the end of a month long trip island hopping in Greece so had a number of comparisons to draw on. With only 6 rooms to provide for I expected good food and great service (I work in the food industry service) but this was not the case. The staff serving breakfast seemed disorganized and breakfast arrived piecemeal, not what you had ordered, limited in quantities, and trying to get a second cup of coffee was painful. Not memorable!
The day clerk was helpful when approached but the night staff appeared to be busy smoking and working on his computer and was reluctant to provide information or service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

I wish I could give this place 3.5 stars. Three isn't enough but 4 is too many.

It is a fantastic property in an ideal location that has a lot of potential.

I'll start with the good.:

It is in Old Town and convenient to everything you'd want to see and do as a tourist in Rhodes.

The suite we stayed in had a great floorplan for two couples or a couple guys. Living and bedroom down another bedroom up.

The people who work there are friendly and helpful.

The property is beautiful. The courtyard is a great place to eat or just relax and the place is small enough you get to know everyone.

Now the bad.

If there is Air Conditioning it doesn't work. Each time I asked I was told it needed to be turned on at the front desk. In May we were awoken early each morning because the room reached an unbearable temperature.

The telephones either do not work or they were just not answered. I couldn't tell which..

The hotel is VERY short staffed. We had no maid service the first couple days. I had to hunt down towels and toilet paper. There was no one to work the desk because they were busy in the restaurant. At night everyone was gone. I saw a grand total of four employees. That just wasn't nearly enough.

The people who were there were hard working, friendly and helpful. They just needed twice as many people.

Room Tip: The suite (I believe there is only one) is great. I can't imagine you could go wrong as far as l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
235 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

This hotel has only 6 rooms. It has a great location, if you think about getting acquainted with the Rhodes old town. The serve also very good meals and the personnel were great! On down side, they were not really eager in freshening up your room daily and some of the side services were a little pricy……

Room Tip: The Anatoli suite has a great terasse. Our daughter of 3,5 years, thououghly enjoyed playing on it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erkki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

Situated very conveniently just off the Street of the Knights in the heart of the Old Town, this 'boutique' hotel results from a building restoration around five years ago.

We rented a car at the airport and had some difficulty finding the hotel in the dark without a decent map. Recommendation to others: Get reliable internet directions or a first class street map prior to arrival! We were getting a bit desperate when we stopped outside a patisserie in the New Town to ask for help. A gentleman there told us he was just closing and if we waited a few minutes we could follow him there there since he lived nearby. This was great and we really appreciated his kindness - a wonderful greeting from Rhodes. But even better it taught us that all the No Entry street signs into the Old Town appeared (out of season at any rate) to be no more than 'advisory' and provided we avoided the main shopping street during periods of the day when tourists were out and about we could drive pretty much anywhere we wanted.

We were told by the hotel that out of season we could generally park in the Old Town without a problem and this we did although during the week we did receive one 20 Euro parking ticket.
The following day, via the hotel, we had booked a private tour guide called Costas - an excellent man and well worth every penny - and luckily he told us that if we went promptly to the payment office this would we reduced to 20 Euros and so it was!

Our duplex suite had a spacious lounge and bedroom, a well equipped bathroom and a small terrace affording views over the Old Town and the harbour beyond.

There is a charming central courtyard in which, subject to weather, breakfast is served.

There is a very small bar and a small dining room with a vaulted stone ceiling where we had our 'free' promotional dinner on our second evening. This was workmanlike but unexciting.

The staff are willing and helpful and the two key employees speak good English. The owner however does not do so and on the one evening when neither of the employees was there, communication was not an easy task.

After five years some details need attention - our bathroom for example was a little tired.

One of our key requirements was wifi access but this turned out not to be working reliably. All possible efforts were however made to get the problem solved and after five days and three visits by a technician it was eventually fixed.

Note also that the temperature of the rooms (although it was not a real problem for us) is computer controlled centrally - although each room can be adjusted separately. The control panels in the rooms do not work. So if you want the temperature increased you have to ask and it you want it reduced best to open a window or two.

There are always niggles in this imperfect world but overall this was a good choice of hotel worthy of recommendation to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirmilesAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
210 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

My husband and I we spent a romantic Christmas in the medieval athmosphere of the Avalon.
Mrs Chrisoulla and Mrs Smaro made us feel very welcome always smiling, offering us Christmas Traditional sweets and suggesting us places where to dine in off season. The Avalon is a few steps from the Gran Maestro Castle and in winter you can park your car just in front of it, so very near, 2 minutes walking.We entered a fairy tale choosing the Eros Suite. 2 rooms : a covered veranda with 3 windows looking the green courtyard and a large bedroom room with a balcony on the other side. A walking in wardrobe and a bathroom with 2 windows and jacuzzi spa tub with vertical hydromassage shower. Breakfast with candle lights and soft music was a greek goumet experience made from fresh fruit , yogurt with honey and nuts, feta cheese, cucumbers and tomato, tahini and dried fruits, ham, turkey and cheese, fresh orange juice and eggs cooked as you prefer on the moment. We really relaxed and enjoyed our holidays at the Avalon.
Aza and Alexandre from Italy

Room Tip: Eros Suite is on the first floor has a covered veranda for colder days with a round table and four c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
Evdokia Old Town Hotel
#32 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot hotel
Camelot hotel
#31 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.2 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
#30 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kokkini Porta Rossa
Kokkini Porta Rossa
#4 of 129 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
#40 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel

Property: Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Address: 9 Haritos Street | Medieval City of Rhodes, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#19 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#19 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon Boutique Hotel is a unique Medieval Property with modern features and high quality services. Located just a breath away from the famous Grand Master's Palace and Knight's Street is an idyllic gem in the heart of the Old Town of Rhodes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Boutique Hotel Rhodes Town
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing