We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
201
54
20
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
54
20
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old town of rhodes peaceful courtyard archaeological museum breakfast is served narrow streets wonderful hotel the air conditioning a wonderful stay each morning yogurt knights anatolia eros mythos nostos greece harbour
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Avalon Hotel, in Old Rhodes City, is like the frosting on a beautiful cake. We stayed in one of the six rooms that was more like a well furnished apartment. The patio, where breakfast is served, is beautiful, with cascading bougainvillea of many colors. Breakfast was typical of food on the island. The staff was outstandingly helpful. They found us a very good guide, fora 3 hour tour, who knew so much about the history of the area that it brought the ancient city to life. The owner is a highly trained dentist who offers packages including a stay and very good dental care. As a dentist myself I was very impressed by his services as well as the prices he charges for them. The hotel is planning expansion into the adjoining property, perhaps w itch a pool.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrYBrokos, Owner at Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Mr Calman,
Thank you so much for your kind words. The pleasure was all our, having you and your lovely wife in Rhodes and in Avalon Hotel. We hope to see you soon in the near future. Best Wishes to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Any romantic notions I had about staying in a castle and now dispelled. The rooms were clean but there was a subtle musty smell that lingers. The breakfasts were disappointing on many levels.
We stayed here at the end of a month long trip island hopping in Greece so had a number of comparisons to draw on. With only 6 rooms to provide for I expected good food and great service (I work in the food industry service) but this was not the case. The staff serving breakfast seemed disorganized and breakfast arrived piecemeal, not what you had ordered, limited in quantities, and trying to get a second cup of coffee was painful. Not memorable!
The day clerk was helpful when approached but the night staff appeared to be busy smoking and working on his computer and was reluctant to provide information or service.

Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I wish I could give this place 3.5 stars. Three isn't enough but 4 is too many.

It is a fantastic property in an ideal location that has a lot of potential.

I'll start with the good.:

It is in Old Town and convenient to everything you'd want to see and do as a tourist in Rhodes.

The suite we stayed in had a great floorplan for two couples or a couple guys. Living and bedroom down another bedroom up.

The people who work there are friendly and helpful.

The property is beautiful. The courtyard is a great place to eat or just relax and the place is small enough you get to know everyone.

Now the bad.

If there is Air Conditioning it doesn't work. Each time I asked I was told it needed to be turned on at the front desk. In May we were awoken early each morning because the room reached an unbearable temperature.

The telephones either do not work or they were just not answered. I couldn't tell which..

The hotel is VERY short staffed. We had no maid service the first couple days. I had to hunt down towels and toilet paper. There was no one to work the desk because they were busy in the restaurant. At night everyone was gone. I saw a grand total of four employees. That just wasn't nearly enough.

The people who were there were hard working, friendly and helpful. They just needed twice as many people.

Room tip: The suite (I believe there is only one) is great. I can't imagine you could go wrong as far as location goes in this hotel.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacoBarJaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

This hotel has only 6 rooms. It has a great location, if you think about getting acquainted with the Rhodes old town. The serve also very good meals and the personnel were great! On down side, they were not really eager in freshening up your room daily and some of the side services were a little pricy……

Room tip: The Anatoli suite has a great terasse. Our daughter of 3,5 years, thououghly enjoyed playing on it.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erkki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Situated very conveniently just off the Street of the Knights in the heart of the Old Town, this 'boutique' hotel results from a building restoration around five years ago.

We rented a car at the airport and had some difficulty finding the hotel in the dark without a decent map. Recommendation to others: Get reliable internet directions or a first class street map prior to arrival! We were getting a bit desperate when we stopped outside a patisserie in the New Town to ask for help. A gentleman there told us he was just closing and if we waited a few minutes we could follow him there there since he lived nearby. This was great and we really appreciated his kindness - a wonderful greeting from Rhodes. But even better it taught us that all the No Entry street signs into the Old Town appeared (out of season at any rate) to be no more than 'advisory' and provided we avoided the main shopping street during periods of the day when tourists were out and about we could drive pretty much anywhere we wanted.

We were told by the hotel that out of season we could generally park in the Old Town without a problem and this we did although during the week we did receive one 20 Euro parking ticket.
The following day, via the hotel, we had booked a private tour guide called Costas - an excellent man and well worth every penny - and luckily he told us that if we went promptly to the payment office this would we reduced to 20 Euros and so it was!

Our duplex suite had a spacious lounge and bedroom, a well equipped bathroom and a small terrace affording views over the Old Town and the harbour beyond.

There is a charming central courtyard in which, subject to weather, breakfast is served.

There is a very small bar and a small dining room with a vaulted stone ceiling where we had our 'free' promotional dinner on our second evening. This was workmanlike but unexciting.

The staff are willing and helpful and the two key employees speak good English. The owner however does not do so and on the one evening when neither of the employees was there, communication was not an easy task.

After five years some details need attention - our bathroom for example was a little tired.

One of our key requirements was wifi access but this turned out not to be working reliably. All possible efforts were however made to get the problem solved and after five days and three visits by a technician it was eventually fixed.

Note also that the temperature of the rooms (although it was not a real problem for us) is computer controlled centrally - although each room can be adjusted separately. The control panels in the rooms do not work. So if you want the temperature increased you have to ask and it you want it reduced best to open a window or two.

There are always niggles in this imperfect world but overall this was a good choice of hotel worthy of recommendation to others.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews