We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once in a lifetime, unique experience staying in medieval setting, Grand Palace steps away.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Ranked #25 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Pinch yourself to be so lucky to stay at this small boutique inn right off the crusaders' Street of Nights and a short block on cobble stoned street from the Grand Palace.
This is a really delightful place as others have so well described. Service is excellent, staff very helpful, breakfast fixed based on your desire and order selection including fresh fruit, juice, game, turkey cheese, cucumber, tomato feta choices, etc. lovely central terrace to enjoy yourself anytime in serene place out of tourist streets. Each room is different. We had Mythos that had lovely big queen bed, a separate adjoining room with sofa bed and little table that opened onto small walled terrace that we shared with one other room. Stone fireplace niches in both rooms, refrig, wood beam ceiling and hardwood floors. Very clean. Towel changes everyday.
What was so incredible about our 4 day stay, is the setting of the hotel. The Avalon is hidden in the narrow streets right off the Street of Knights in the midst of a magnificently preserved medieval city with fortress walls, at least 9 gates into the town, covered passages, iron lamps on the streets, , stone towers and a massive scale to everything built in the 1300's. We were here in late oct at the end of the season. When the dwindling numbers of cruises ship daytrippers left, the streets would be eerily empty and you half expected a knight on a horse to come down the dark street rather than a motorini. We have traveled in Italy, Prague, Dubrovnik, & chateaux of France , but this is truly unique, maybe because the surrounding Old Town is so intact. There are not many hotels in the Old Town, so we were very happy for availability.

There are all kinds of restaurants and far too many tourists shops , so visitors won't have any trouble finding things to do. From the hotel,it is a very short distance to walk: you can visit the Grand Palace, the Archeological Museum, the harbor, bus station for trip to Lindos, or get into the new town. We took one day for boat trip to Symi, ( 20euro round trip per person 6 hr excursion) and one day for bus trip to Lindos which was 5euros per person each way, plus plan on lunch there. Unfortunately, due to austerity cuts, several museums were closed and hrs shortened. Even Tourist information centers were closed on weekend. By Nov 1st most of restaurants and shops and hotels close. Hopefully by beginning of 2014 season, more of the sites will be open. Warning, everything is on cobblestone, so bring sturdy shoes or sandals. We had really nice weather in late Oct. and we're grateful not to be crowded by tourists, but it feels a little empty in the restaurants. Do try dinner at Mama Sophia- it was very close and very good.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, you can call the hotel to talk over what is best match for what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KAP245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

Avalon is a peaceful haven tucked away along an alleyway just off the Street of Knights. The location is ideal for exploring the old town but also handy for Liberty Gate, the exit to the New Town and the ports. We relaxed in the shady courtyard beneath bougainvillaea and citrus trees with the fountain tinkling in the background, eating delicious homemade food or on our own little terrace. Our suite was spacious, well-appointed and spotless. The staff were extremely helpful and attentive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Culture and quality in the medieval old town at this little gem! We stayed at the Avalon w/c 23rd Sept 2013 on a sunshine break to Rhodes.
The Avalon Boutique is in a quite location to explore Rhodes old town, enjoy the mesmerizing beauty of the medieval old town and its imposing castles, if you favour high rise hotels and swimmings pools then the Avalon is not for you. Sorry. The owner and staff at the Avalon are excellent (no complaints - thank you to all at the Avalon for making our stay memorable Xx) nothing was too much bother, breakfast was simple and relaxing in the courtyard. Enjoy a late night drink in the courtyard an oasis of smells from the plantlife. The rooms are very comfortable, clean, cool and really quite. Not your usual modern day hotel room "Quirky" comes to mind.
Turn right out of the hotel and walk two minutes you can engage with the local markets traders and its many tavenra's. Turn left into the culture of years gone by.
Rhodes being the island of the Knights it has a long history and has developed a significant culture throughout the years, from the Avalon it's right on your doorstep. Enjoy!
"Highly Recommended" GCD
Transport in Rhodes... If you want a degree of fun and mix with the locals in Rhodes catch the local bus, (forget the car hire) the entertainments is well worth writing home about. Especially getting on and getting off - there are no queue's its every man for him self. A big bag helps to path the way! Have fun x

Room Tip: This is based on what you pay and availability. All the rooms seem generous. There is no disco noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This was our third year staying at the superb Avalon .........
If you want to stay somewhere where you can chill out in complete serenity, this is the place. The owners and staff are welcoming and so helpful. The suites are spacious, very comfortable and tasteflly decorated, with sun trap patios.
You have to try this place, we've already booked for next year !

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

It was really like arrive to Paradise...... A wonderful and quiet place, old building with all the modern equipment, great suite, we were 3 days in the Eros suite, like Honeymoon...... fully furnished with air conditioned, frigidaire, balcony and tv. The staff is very nice, very helpful, wonderful breakfast in the patio, a lovely garden with little birds, plants of mint and lots of flowers and trees......

We liked it very much and we hope come back to Avalon next time!!! Thank you Greek people we love you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susa48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This hotel is so beautiful, situated in the old town so close to all the busy shops and restaurants, but amazingly quiet. The courtyard is an oasis and delightfully lit at night. The staff are very helpful.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Avalon Hotel, in Old Rhodes City, is like the frosting on a beautiful cake. We stayed in one of the six rooms that was more like a well furnished apartment. The patio, where breakfast is served, is beautiful, with cascading bougainvillea of many colors. Breakfast was typical of food on the island. The staff was outstandingly helpful. They found us a very good guide, fora 3 hour tour, who knew so much about the history of the area that it brought the ancient city to life. The owner is a highly trained dentist who offers packages including a stay and very good dental care. As a dentist myself I was very impressed by his services as well as the prices he charges for them. The hotel is planning expansion into the adjoining property, perhaps w itch a pool.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrYBrokos, Owner at Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Mr Calman,
Thank you so much for your kind words. The pleasure was all our, having you and your lovely wife in Rhodes and in Avalon Hotel. We hope to see you soon in the near future. Best Wishes to you and your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
#37 of 126 in Rhodes Town
213 reviews
0.2 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 126 in Rhodes Town
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#38 of 126 in Rhodes Town
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
Rodos Park Suites & Spa
#6 of 126 in Rhodes Town
428 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bellevue Suites Hotel
Bellevue Suites Hotel
#35 of 126 in Rhodes Town
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Zacosta Villa Hotel
Zacosta Villa Hotel
#46 of 126 in Rhodes Town
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel

Address: 9 Haritos Street | Medieval City of Rhodes, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#19 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#22 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range: £69 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon Boutique Hotel is a unique Medieval Property with modern features and high quality services. Located just a breath away from the famous Grand Master's Palace and Knight's Street is an idyllic gem in the heart of the Old Town of Rhodes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Boutique Hotel Rhodes Town
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing