We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy, but not out of the box”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Ranked #23 of 126 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Classy, but not out of the box”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Avalon is a lovely boutique hotel in a great area off the 'Way of the Knights' and very close to the centre-happenings of the old town. I had a late arrival and was warmly welcomed & shown to my room. Some issue with shower temperature controls which was obviously 'under repair', but I was not informed. I asked for some assistance from staff the following day: they could not assist, noted it was 'under repair' and recalled tradesperson. Manager offered me a room change in the afternoon, however, tradesperson did return & compete maintenance. When questioned, they could not give a reason why I was placed in this room, given it was 'under repair'.
Nonetheless, an enjoyable stay. I also note some other comments: air-conditioning being office controlled 'going off' is an issue as the summer night temperatures are quite warm. There was a power interruption in the mornings (for a short time), but all lights then come on, which tends to wake you up!!! I had thought desk was 24hr, but having needed to make a phone call early, I was unable to raise reception - it was not attended at least until late morning! There was some noise from upstairs as they moved around or ascended stairs from ground level. Breakfasts are served in a beautiful courtyard area - you have to choose from a menu prior.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernieD4810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    44
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
41
144
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in the Anatolia Suite in May 2014, and enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel is very well located for taxi access and walking around the old and new towns and up to the acropolis. The staff were friendly and very helpful, and our room was very comfortable. We enjoyed having the use of the terrace adjoining the suite. The manager provided exceptional personal service, including organising a taxi to pick us up at 4.30am on our day of departure. It was also great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWR5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We would like to thank Spyros for making our 4 night stay at Avalon a fabulous one! We were given the best suite on the ground floor which was pefect for the heat. Although the room could probably do with a couple of minor 'touch ups' it was beautifully furnished and Spyros bent over backwards to cater for us - even when we had a very early start & would miss breakfast, he ensured we had provisions in our fridge the night before. We loved the tranquility of the lovely courtyard and as for the home cooking - that was something else! Fantastic. Best stuffed peppers we've ever eaten! Our taxi driver from the airport tried to make the drive difficult as the location is not easy to drive to in the old town but Spyros found us a great taxi driver who does have permission to drive into the old town & he took us out and about for the day. Just perfect for what we needed and we would not hesitate in going back. The only thing I would have liked is to have personal control over the air-conditioning in our room which is monitored from reception. It went off before bedtime and that's when we needed it most & during the day we would have to ask for it to be switched on.

Room Tip: The ground floor suite was beautifully cool during the hot spring days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 232Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The location - in the old town of Rhodes is prime location & is very close to all the atractions in the old city.
the suites are spaceful and very comfortable, and are not too fency.
The breakfast is very tasty and is served in the petio.
the sevice is exellent and very polite.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you are thinking of staying in Rhodes' old city my advice is think again. The accommodation is very poor value here compared to what you can get in the new town - plus why would you not stay close to the ocean on an island paradise?
Having been to Rhodes many times before, staying in wonderful hotels on both sides of the island, we decided this time to try the old city and what a mistake it was. The room we were allocated was nothing like the photos on the hotel web site. It was absolutely cavernous, having no outside window, and worse still no blinds on the windows that backed on to the main stairwell of the building, which meant sleeping(or not sleeping in fact) with light pouring into the room all night as the hall lights are not switched off.
The bathroom was absolutely disgraceful with a broken shower screen that collapsed onto you as you tried to step over the high bath ledge into the shower area. When you finally made it into the shower, the shower head sprayed water everywhere but down and the water was never hot. I also found it most disconcerting not being able to flush paper down the toilet - I understand this is a feature in the old city because of the older pipes, but it is not so in the new town - another reason why not to choose the old town!
As far as the breakfasts were concerned this was also a disappointment - even thought the quality of the food was acceptable there was absolutely no variety - the same thing served day after day.
Generally this property does not represent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrYBrokos, Owner at Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Friend,
i really don't believe that you have stayed with us.
With respect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I spent many days/hours organising a family reunion in Rhodes - 20 of us from all over the world. I booked the Avalon - we had the entire hotel to ourselves. It was amazing. Yiannis and his family did all they could to make out stay absolutely perfect - from the intial emails, to picking us up from the airport (with an extra vehicle as there were a lot of us), through to giving us two delicious dinners in the hotel. Wonderful location, beautiful rooms and the most magnificent courtyard. Just perfect..........definitely will go back. A calm oasis tucked away in the midst of a beautiful medieval city.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAA26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I would like to thank the family of the hotel on your dealings wonderful and sophisticated.
The location of the hotel a wonderful place quiet and beautiful and very clean and all the requirements are available and the price is very appropriate
We spent a nice honeymoon in this beautiful island and this hotel.

thank you Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel for every thing

Abduljabbar Al Kasabi
Saudi Arabia

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbduljabbarKasabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
#42 of 126 in Rhodes Town
202 reviews
0.1 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#37 of 126 in Rhodes Town
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
#30 of 126 in Rhodes Town
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Zacosta Villa Hotel
Zacosta Villa Hotel
#46 of 126 in Rhodes Town
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#2 of 126 in Rhodes Town
259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot hotel
Camelot hotel
#31 of 126 in Rhodes Town
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel

Property: Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Address: 9 Haritos Street | Medieval City of Rhodes, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#19 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon Boutique Hotel is a unique Medieval Property with modern features and high quality services. Located just a breath away from the famous Grand Master's Palace and Knight's Street is an idyllic gem in the heart of the Old Town of Rhodes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Boutique Hotel Rhodes Town
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing