We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Ranked #24 of 127 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Peaceful Luxury”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Situated in the heart of the medieval town of Rhodes, just off the Street of the Knights, Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel is in a wonderful location to explore both the old and new towns. Eight elegant, spacious suites are housed in stone buildings around a shady courtyard and garden offering a quiet tranquil oasis.
Each suite is individually and tastefully planned and decorated. Our suite, Anatoli, was comfortable and spacious with a really good sized shower (hard to find in Greece) with a great shower fixture. The bathroom was a good size. Our king size bed was comfortable and there was plenty of storage for clothes. The living area had a comfortable sofa bed, a fireplace, dining table, flat screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. Extra nice touches are candle holders, a vase and a small library of books including English ones.
But one of the nicest surprises was that we had a huge terrace with 3 private, separate seating areas with sun or shade, and a lovely outlook.
The owner and staff were very hospitable, friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were generous, fresh and varied. We enjoyed one dinner which was a traditional Greek meal and a nice change from the usual touristic meals offered in the majority of restaurants in Rhodes. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatsyNicholas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    42
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
39
136
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the Avalon Boutique Suites and were glad we did. Spiros was very helpful, both when we arrived and to contact a Santorini Hotel (left clothes behind...oops) and a car rental place in Turkey. The hotel is in a quiet side street, close to the Grand Palace. The building would date back many hundreds of years and has been tastefully decorated. There is a lovely courtyard for breakfast or other meals. Our room had 2 levels and a balcony. It is family run and they do it well. We hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FergusPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

What a disappointment! The location is wonderful and the garden terrace romantic. Beds are the most comfortable I've slept in but.........there was no attention to detail which would be expected for a hotel in this price range.
No water glasses
Nowhere to keep our water cold - we had to decant the mini bar
When we arrived, 2 light bulbs did not work and the cups , coffee and milk had not been refilled.
There was no information pack in the room
The 'posh' shower leaked
The safe was in a cupboard but not attached to anything - you could just pick it up and take it out with you!
Few channels on the TV - none in English - not even BBC world news.
No armchairs - just an uncomfortable sofa bed to sit on to watch the Greek TV
We were promised bathrobes and slippers in our Greek Sun brochure but they were not there
As for breakfast....
we ordered the night before and the waitresses brought the items to our table one at a time in random order. One day we had coffee first the next day it was last. Fruit juice usually came after breakfast! We had bread but no jam or butter for 5 minutes so we couldn't start. My friends and I had bets on which order the breakfast items would come.
One of the waitresses was particularly dour - she did not smile at all.
Despite all, Spyros tried hard to deal with all our problems and we thank him but why is a large Mythos the same price as a small Mythos? Both 4 euros - I suggest a large one with a spare glass for those who can't manage a large glass.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The staff at Avalon were amazing! We couldn't have been happier with the service they provided. So friendly, & would do anything for us. The room we stayed in, was spacious and very comfortable. The wi-fi was excellent. If we had to make any negative comments, it would be the shower taking a while to warm up and some globes needing to be replaced, but nothing that would stop us going back in a second. So quiet and just wonderful, yet so close to the centre of the Old Town. Just fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherrin_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
211 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Avalon is a wonderful hotel located just off the Street of the Knights, close to the Place of the Grand Masters in Rhodes Old Town. As such it is a ideal location; you can walk to anywhere in the old town and the new town is a 10 minute walk. We arrived quite late and were warmly greeted by Spiros. We were looking for something light to eat and so he rustled up a collection of tasty items - cold meats, cheese pie, bread and wine. It hit the spot! Throughout our stay Spiros was terrific. He arranged the private airport pick up and also a rental car after our second night at a reasonable cost for a drive to Lindos and then the airport. He also provided good suggestions for all of our inquiries and provided food and drinks whenever we wanted it.
The hotel has a large shady courtyard which is a delightful place to just lounge around. We had the large Cosmos suite on the ground floor just off of the courtyard, while our friends had the suite above us (Anatoli) which had a private upstairs patio. There is a common patio next to it. Our suite was enormous, with a spacious bedroom, a large bathroom with a whirlpool bath and a very large living room, with a dining table that could accommodate 12 persons, fireplace, sofa and lounge chairs. There is a small patio outside the door.
A wonderful breakfast is served in the courtyard (selected the night before from a large variety of choices). Thema attended to our every need, always with a smile.
The owners have done a wonderful job redoing this place. There is a carp pond with waterfall as you enter the hotel through the archway and it opens up from there.
This was a great stay for us and we would return here for sure.

Room Tip: The Cosmos Suite is very convenient to the lobby, courtyard and restaurant. It is very large. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stopped here to have lunch and were very attracted by the shaded garden and water features. We waited 15 minutes without any acknowledgment from staff despite them walking right by our table. In fact they did not even acknowledge us when we left! I certainly would not rate the service here at all! Worst service so far in Greece. Hope the room service is better.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YBROKOS, Διευθυντής at Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2016
Dear Ms Angela, we are very sorry for your bad experience in our garden.
You and your family unfortunetely came at the time that we had to serve a group with a fixed menu. You never told anyone that you were not with the group this is why we did not bring a menu to your table. We are sorry again for the misunderstanding and that we did not have the chance to serve you and your family our homemade Greek dishes which our guests usually adore as written in many reviews.
Kind regards
Despina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argentina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

One could not get a more central location in the Old City. We had the upstairs suite wih a private patio. The living room and bedroom was relatively large and the bathroom was ample. If you wanted to walk to the new city, it was but a 10-15 minute walk. Restaurants galore in the old city within a 10 minute walk from the hotel. All old cty attractions were an easy walk from the hotel. Breakfast is provided in an outdoor or indoor setting and it is like choosing room service as you select what is on the menu and it was included in the room's cost. We nade one bad mistake The owner suggested we get a private driver to Lindos and he told us it would be about 120 Euros from 10am to 6pm. When the driver came to fetch us, he told us it was 150 Euros from 10-4pm. As it was too late to take a boat or bus to Lindos, we went along for the ride...literally. a waste of money as would have gotten just as such out of the journey taking the ferry or a bus. Obviously, the misinformation provided to us by the owner was disappointing as, otherwise, the trip went without a hitch.

Room Tip: Try to get the upstairs suite as have your own private patio!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteArgentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrYBrokos, Owner at Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Friends,
We hope this message finds you in good shape and health. Thank you for kind words.
We are very sorry to hear that about the taxi driver. If you have informed us then we could resolve it very easily. We arranged a tour for you in order to help you with your request. We were not informed about this. Anyway we will refund 30 euros to your account. Our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rhodes Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Evdokia Hotel
Evdokia Hotel
#33 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
In Camera Art Boutique Hotel
#3 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camelot hotel
Camelot hotel
#31 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
S. Nikolis Hotel & Apartments
#30 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
Nikos Takis Fashion Hotel
#44 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kokkini Porta Rossa
Kokkini Porta Rossa
#2 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel

Property: Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel
Address: 9 Haritos Street | Medieval City of Rhodes, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#19 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon Boutique Hotel is a unique Medieval Property with modern features and high quality services. Located just a breath away from the famous Grand Master's Palace and Knight's Street is an idyllic gem in the heart of the Old Town of Rhodes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Boutique Hotel Rhodes Town
Avalon Boutique Suites Hotel Rhodes/Rhodes Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing