We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
37
40
49
19
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
40
49
19
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel members rhodes town hotel area nice hotel air conditioning pool side main bar greece cleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend in august 2011. We chose a last minute package that included this hotel and flight tickets. The hotel is situated close to the "capital", Rhodes, in the small town Ixia, which is barely a town, but merely a lot of hotels and a couple of restaurants.
Going to Rhodes town is easy by bus or by renting a car (as did we) or a scooter. You can also walk the relatively short distance (ca. 3km).
Our room was ok compared to the price we paid, but had we paid more we would have been disapointed. The rooms and the hotel in general looks like it hasn't been renewed since the 70's, but the room was cleaned everyday - not super clean but clean enough. The hotel has a big pool that is being cleaned properly every morning. There is a small bar by the pool that serves beverages and some food like pizza slices, fries, salads etc.. I wouldn't recommend the food though.
The breakfast consists of the best watermelon I have ever tasted, olives, tomates. Other than that you can have some standard continental stuff like very dry and boring bread, cereals and boiled eggs.

To sum up my experiences: I will recommend this hotel to couples or families who don't necessarily expect a very high standard. You get what you pay for, and that is it.

Plusses: the old man in the reception and the staff in general are nice and friendly. Their english isn't great though.

Minusses: the road is VERY is very busy all day and night. It can be hard to cross. The area is quite noisy because of the road and surrounding hotels that play load music on some evenings. Also you have to pay for the A/C - it is so hot that you can't go without it. The A/C is quite expensive given the fact the they use old A/C units. Ours didn't work very well either...

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dea J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Came home an hour ago after one week in Ixia at Hotel Lito.

Me and my girlfriend got room 328 which is located closest to the road that goes through Ixia. The noice from the road in the nights was quite anoying to say the least (very loud all through the nights).

Breakfast is NOT worth the €6, better to go around at the small bars/restaurants to eat a better breakfast for less money.

Cleaning of the rooms is not that good as we found nutshells pretty much everywere in our room. Also the maids long black hairs are found everywere in the room after she had "cleaned" it.

Staff at front desk are friendly but are not that good at any other language than Greek. Free WiFi in the lobby at the first floor.

Beach is very close to the hotel, and we spent all morings there. Sunbeds cost €4/ea for the whole day. I highly recommend the "Kantina Katerina"(Vending truck at the beach) for small snacks (Gyros etc) and cold beverages on the beach.

The poolside bar at Lito wasn't open more than a few hours in the middle of the day even if it said in all leaflets and info that it should have been open until 01:00.

The pool was nice and cleaned every morning. 3,5m deep in the centre.

Distance to Rhodes town was ok, taxi has a fixed price of €8 and takes around 10mins.

Airconditioning in the rooms cost €6/day, no discount for a whole week.

I can recommend going to the "Ideal Cafe" about 100meters east along the main street to eat lunch, their greek salad and omelettes was the best around .

About 400meters to the west there is a restaurant called "Le Gourmet" which had the best Mezedes we had all week, very friendly staff and well worth the money!!!

All in all : For that kind of money it was worth it, but we will not book a room at Lito again.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Niklas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

stayed here bed and breakfast, the breakfast was continental style and basic ,croissants and bread rolls,cheese,ham,boiled eggs,fresh tomatoes,melon etc served buffet style eat as much as you want, was quite a nice change from home breakfasts though.the rooms were basic as well and had a tired and dated feel about them but were clean and serviced every day with plenty of good fresh towels. The pool side rooms all had balconies most of which were very small with no privacy ,as they all overlook one another, each had a partial sea view which would be a lovely full sea and sunset view if the 50 foot high trees around the pool were pruned,but we could only view the sea through a gap cut in them.The hotel is situated only 20 meters from the sea but the first 10 meters of this is the main road into rhodes town and is really busy and noisy, this noise can be heard in your room even through the night. The beach is very pebbley and quite painfull to get into the sea so best take some beach shoes but the sea is calm and lovely temperature to bathe in.The hotel had a nice pool area with sunbeds and tables brollies and chairs and a lovely under cover dining area adjacent to the pool bar but unused maybe because its next to the busy road.The area adjacent to the hotel has around half a dozen restaurants/bars and a few supermarkets [small shops in england] where you can buy everything you require.You can catch the bus into rhodes town about every 15 mins the stop is just outside the hotel [1euro 10 cents pp] In summary we have stayed in better hotels but cant really knock it for the money we paid, but for us the road was the biggest issue, there are no back street bars everything is roadside.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

In need of a week's chill, we booked a 'last minute' week at the Lito-which was billed as 3 star in the brochure. We had room 323, which was spacious enough, had two comfy beds and a balcony so we could sit out with a drink and watch sensational sunsets over the Turkish coastline. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the older guy on the desk for the night shift was keen to share his wife's recipes! As others have pointed out here, the buffet breakfast is a bit repetitive, but there's plenty to eat. There are good sized courtesy rooms for clients who have to vacate their rooms many hours before leaving the hotel to return home.

Being there early on in the season, it was quite quiet, so we frequently had the pool to ourselves. It's set in gardens of hibiscus, geranium, orchids and shrubs, and is cleared of leaves every day. There are plenty of sunbeds, chairs and tables which are free to use, unlike the air-con and room safe.

I've only two complaints... the cleaning was a bit hit and miss; and neither the lounge bar nor the poolside bar were open during our stay. The receptionist said that there weren't enough clients staying to make it worthwhile. There wasn't even a vending machine to buy a bottle of water, which I think is poor given the temperatures.

The beach across the road (use the zebra crossing outside the Sheraton next door) isn't sandy, so I'd recommend getting a pair of those beach shoes; the sea is lovely once you've got past the painful pebbles at the water's edge. Kantina Katerina (van reinvented as a snack bar) is on the beach opposite the Lito, and does great gyros and salads; and has a huge fridge for cans, beers and chilled wine.

All in all, we had a very relaxing week - but we would've been disappointed with the hotel had we paid the full brochure price.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen2Lions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Reception & staff very friendly and helpful, and maids cleaned every day, providing clean towels.
Rooms not too small, space to unpack and move around. Small TV, fridge for wine. Beds a bit small (twin) but had great nights' sleep - may be due to the air con also! Bathroom fine - hot water tends to be later in the day as solar heated. Balcony had a nice view out to sea, good for relaxing & cooling off in the evenings before dinner.
Air con €6 a night, safe €14 a week.
Extra room due to night flight - €30 - we were able to keep the same room for this which was handy.
Breakfast - some items not great, but if you avoid the cereal and processed meat, you can have croissants/rolls, cheese, great tomatoes with feta & olives, Greek yoghurt, tinned peaches & honey, orange juice, coffee and little biscuits, which you can eat by the pool.
Pool was good too - and we mostly had it to ourselves as hotel was quiet in mid-Sept.
Good location for getting bus up to Rhodes Town or to Trianda/Kremasti, also Ixia strip (restaurants & bars) is 10 min walk away. Beach across the road - not great (stony) but once in the water was fine for swimming.
Enjoyed my holiday there and wish I was back there now! The same location benefits of the 'grander' hotels in Ixia, but I imagine a bit cheaper and less fussy - suited us well.

I've written a longer review on the Ixia forum for anyone interested.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nexus-t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews