We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extreamly clean inside and out”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ialyssos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sun Beach Holiday Club
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Ialyssos
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“extreamly clean inside and out”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

me and my wife have just returned from a one week stay here and wished we booked two weeks. definately be back next year.the rooms were cleaned and bed made plus towels changed every day. excelent view from our ground floor appartment with just 5 meters walk to pool and 30 meters to beach. staff very friendly. 2 minutes walk into town where spoilt for choice of lovely bars and restauraunts, we used two on a regular basis one of which is opposite the hotel entrance called Zorbas place, lovely family run homecooked food.and another at other end of town called blue angel good for cheap cocktails. unfotunately some restaraunts and bars are suffering from the " all inclusive " hotels, as people dont venture too far in evenings. anyway as i was saying... brilliant hotel situated in a lovely area. ps.use the next supermarket along as its cheaper and family that run it are very very friendly.

Room Tip: look for an ocean side room, such lovely views of sea with turkey on horizon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    32
    12
    3
    7
See reviews for
21
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013 via mobile

STOP CHARGING FOR WIFI AND BEACH SUN BEDS
now that is off my chest. The hotel is nice we stayed in a one bed timeshare unit and no issues with the unit. the staff were very helpful and very polite. i think the pool bar shutting at six is missing a business opportunity it is a lovely bar and having a happy hour and then staying open to get guests as they go out for dinner is missing revenue. They make up for that with the high bar prices. Now the resort has recently been bought by diamond and we were invited to the diamond sales pitch. The staff were ok not too pushy but lacked sufficient information about the future of the diamond offering post the initial three years. My questions couldnt be answered in detail and the cost didnt look good value to me as the value wasnt properly explained. There were too many anecdotes of the sales team personal experiences and few facts. overall nice place needs some of the charging sorting out.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocguzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Having recently returned from a 2 week stay I wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay. The 4th floor 1 bed apartment, which was cleaned every day, was spotless and had a great view of the sea over the lawn, The room was well equipped and the only problem we had was an unserviceable kettle, which was replaced very quickly. The reception staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient as was Anna in Guest Services who is worth approaching for local information and tours etc. There are various small supermarkets nearby and a larger Carrefour supermarket about a 10 minute walk away. You have a choice of restaurants but we were particularly impressed with the Aspri Avli and had a couple of wonderful dinners in very welcoming, friendly surroundings. The Cake Box is a very popular cafe for delicious coffee and cake and is about a 10 minute walk away. You won't go hungry. We would be happy to stay here again, should we decide to go back to Rhodes in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sparky78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipswich
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My family have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Sun Beach Holiday Club, and being our second visit we had high expectations, and were not dissapointed. Since our last visit the accommodation had been updated, and very clean. The cleaners attended everyday and were thorough in their job. Most rooms have a Sea view and you hear it from your balcony against the shore. So nice.
The pool side and beach bar were managed by great staff who went out of their way to please us, and make our stay a good one.
My wife and I had made many comments to each other on how relaxed we were, and in fact the most relaxing holiday we have ever had.
We were never bothered, harrased in any way, which was fantastic.
The wifi works throughout he resort at 12€ for 3 hours, however all restaurants do offer free wifi, laundry is 9€ for 5kilo.
Outside their were many shops and restuarants, and we visited several, however would recommend Kostas, great staff, food and kept drawing us back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dillan1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Sun Beach Holiday Club in Rhodes and would definately recommend it. Our room had a superb sea view and the rooms were well equipped and kept to a high standard with great facilities. The staff were also very helpful. It is conveniently located so that if you do want to go out and eat, you are on a couple of minutes away from all the shops and restaurants located nearby. The Supermarket is also across the road from the hotel, should you need to do some grocery shopping yourself. Rooms are cleaned every day and there is a good size swimmining pool as well as a superb gym and restaurant. You can also use the facilities of two other Sun Beach Hotels within a stone's throw away if you are an RCI member. An excellent choice for families and couples. All rooms have AC, which is brilliant as the temperatures was around 34 degrees.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pradip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attleborough, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We have recently returned from two weeks at Sun Beach Holiday club and had a very pleasant stay indeed. The staff were very helpful and always happy to help. There was maid service every day and the rooms were cleaned to a very good standard. I understand the hotel has been recently refurbished. The rooms were spacious too.
We had a wonderful time here and would definitely return. In fact we intend to in 2014.
Gina, who works in the Ialyssos Bar at the hotel, is once seen never forgotten. A very humorous and funny lady, you cannot help but like her, she is a real asset to the hotel. Got to love her!
There were mosquitos about but we were armed with repellant spray and plug ins for our room and didn't suffer as a consequence. It is the same anywhere you go in a hot country.
We had the luxury of using the pool which were for RCI and Aegean Blue members only and never had a problem getting a bed, whatever time of the day. It was right next to the beach too.
It is only a short walk from the hotel and our out at many many restaurants, bars and shops with plenty of entertainment to choose from and not just at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

I stayed here with my husband for several days and this place almost ruined our vacation. I say “almost” because we were so disgusted with it that we left and moved to a far better place on a different part of the island, forfeiting the rest of the timeshare week.

The property itself isn’t so bad – the unit we stayed in was recently renovated and decently comfortable. It’s the management that’s disastrous. We booked a week in one of the condos on the property as part of a timeshare program. We booked the week that spanned the end of May/beginning of June. Of course it’s already hot in Rhodes at this time of year, which was the whole point of staying at a beachfront property, but we were told upon check in that they would not turn the air conditioning on until June 1. They wouldn’t budge on this point and so we had to sleep with the windows and sliding doors open, which meant that we were attacked by mosquitos all night and subject to every noisy group of people that walked by our unit at all hours. When June 1 finally arrived we were so relieved, seeing as we hadn’t gotten a good night’s rest in three nights. But we returned to our unit that evening and found that the air-conditioner was broken – throughout the whole property. And the next day was a Sunday so we’d have to wait until Monday to have air, which meant two more nights of mosquito assaults.

When we asked for fans the man at the front desk acted as if we had requested his firstborn, and when we asked to additional soap for the bathrooms we were told that we only get one set of amenities for the week – after that we needed to purchase soap from the local market. Tacky, tacky, tacky. The front desk staff were rude and unhelpful and totally uninterested in ensuring the comfort of their guests. He came right out and said that timeshare guests were at the bottom of the priority list as far as customer service - so timeshare folks, please beware. It’s a strange arrangement: the timeshare company contracts with the hotel, so the upshot is that neither the timeshare company nor the hotel ends up taking any responsibility for any issues that come up. The hotel itself seemed okay – a basic, low- to mid-level hotel that caters largely to German families with lots of young children. The timeshare condos are part of the same complex and we were told by the timeshare company that any complaints should be addressed to the front desk, who then informed us that any complaints should be taken to the timeshare company.

The next day we were so tired from not being able to sleep that we decided not to go touring the island as we had been doing and just sit on the beach that belonged to the “resort.” We weren’t there for five minutes when someone approached us and told us that even though we were guests at the property, we would have a to pay a daily rental fee to use the lounge chairs on the beach – we just looked at him and laughed at the sheer tackiness of the place. Right then we decided that we were sick of the whole thing and left that day to stay at the Atrium Prestige, located near Lindos, which surpassed our expectations and hopes. The Atrium Prestige saved our vacation. The Sun Beach is one of the most disappointing properties I’ve ever stayed at and I would recommend to anyone who wants a relaxing and comfortable vacation to steer clear of the place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank galileosdaughter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.4 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
0.5 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dodeca Sea Resort by Forum Hotels
2.0 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Sun Beach Resort Complex
#4 of 31 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Beach Holiday Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Beach Holiday Club

Property: Sun Beach Holiday Club
Address: PO Box 47, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ialyssos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ialyssos
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Sun Beach Holiday Club Hotel Ialyssos
Sun Beach Holiday Club Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing