We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Filerimos Village Hotel
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Ialyssos
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Please, please take notice of the reviews on here and do not go to this hotel.

I would echo everything everyone else has said about the food. The tables were filthy and covers not changed, at 7.30am when the restaurant opened for breakfast the tables still had food stuck to the covers from the night before.

When we first arrived we noticed everyone coming out of the Restaurant with plates piled high with grapes - this was dessert!!! We began to think they must grow their own vines as grapes were available breakfast, lunch and dinner. Apart from watermelon at dinner twice a week, grapes were the only fresh fruit. The pineapple and peaches which once appeared at breakfast were TINNED!

The pool bar area was never cleaned when it closed at 5pm, half drunk plastic cups of beer littered the tables and floor and these weren't cleared away until the next morning. The same happened with the Stage area, litter everywhere that wasn't cleared away until the following day.

As lots of others have said, this is not an All Inclusive hotel. We are not big drinkers and mainly wanted all inclusive for the water, soft drinks, ice-creams and snacks for the children during the day. We ended up having to buy all these anyway.

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, but restaurant and bar staff were the total opposite.

In short, do not book this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shell99_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
There are newer reviews for Filerimos Village Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2010

This is the most awful holiday ever..the reviews are so right but thought you cant please everyone so we went. After the collapse of kiss i spent more money on flights which cost me more than the whole holiday...i so wish i hadnt done it but the kids got upset so we went. The people there were so rude and the man at pool side told my daughter to get out..funny he was ok when we paid for the food !! The food was so awful i couldnt even go and get acoffee as the smell made me feel sick...i wouldnt even give this crap to my dogs it was horrible. The icecreams and pizza at poolside you had to buy and drinks after 11 you had to pay for this so this was acon. The place was full of polish and germans and very rude ones at that so they fitted in with the hotel staff very well. As for going to the beach for abreak it was full of not just pebbles but bricks so no sand it was so bad. This hoilday wasnt a cheap last min break it has cost me a lot for avery very awful holiday. Hope this hotel goes down like the titanic it so deserves to!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaz1577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We booked this holiday at the last minute, and for the first time ever booked without checking trip advisor first - what a costly mistake, and one we will not do again.
We checked in at 11.30pm, and were directed to the bar. After ordering 3 non alcoholic drinks, we were charged 7 euros and told that the all inclusive option ended at 11pm.
We were then left on our own to find our apartment, in a resort which is quite large and with no lighting to guide us whti was quite a challenge.
The room was extremely basic and stifling hot - so hot, my partner made a trip straight back to reception to purchase air conditioning at 6 euros a night. There is no double bed, just two single beds pushed together. The pillows were like sand bags and rock hard.
Breakfast time, and this is where the nightmare really began. I will stress that we are not fussy eaters - my partner and 10 year old will usually eat anything, but this was truly inedible. The bread was rock hard, and once gone, not replaced. There were two coffee machines and two cold drink machines, but 9 times out of ten only one set of machines was working resulting in long queues. The orange juice is watered down.
The table clothes were rank with stains and spillages and the cutlery and plates dirty.
The Staff were unapproachable and just plain rude.
After "breakfast" we made our way to the pool, but there were no loungers and we ended up having to lay on towels on the grass.
There were no life guards, and no-body to approach for assistance. The "animation team" were seen at specific times, but after those specific times there were no other staff in attendance at all throughout the day.
We witnessed a young boy who spotted a smashed glass on the floor as he walked past, and went to inform the one member of staff behind the pool bar. He was shouted at for dropping the glass (it was not him who dropped it) and handed a dustpan and brush to clean it up. Nobody went to check that it had been cleared away properly, because there was literally nobody there to check.
This is not an all inclusive holiday. There were no ice creams during the day, and no snacks.
There were three trays left daily in the pool bar with one choice of cake, and two types of hard biscuits. There was no variation at all. That was it for the entire week.
There were drinks. Carbonated water with cola/orange or lemonade flavouring.
The music was repetitive and 20 years out of date. There was nobody manning it, and throughout the day children would play with the volume contol, not very relaxing when one minute you have low back ground music, then the next it is deafening.
Dinner Time - unrecognisable dishes and truly truly awful.
At this point, we really did try to be positive and had got to the stage where we really just had to laugh.
When we got to where we decided to complain and asked to speak to a manager, we were informed that there were no managers on the resort, and the complex manager only came once a week. The Hotel Owner apparantly lives in America, and is uncontactable.
We then came to the conclusion that it really was Hotel Anarchy and the staff could literally talk to you as they wished, refuse you any request, and refuse any assistance requested because there was literally nobody there that they had to answer to.
After speaking to staff we were informed that they were given a budget, and if they ran out then tough. The Chef had to make what he could with the small fund allocated, hence the really awful food.
The pool bar ran out of cups and there were literally no funds there to replace them. A member of staff had to ring a friend in another hotel to borrow some cups from them.
We kept thinking it could get no worse, but every day would surpass the day before.
On the third day my partner spotted hair in my daughters spagetti, and that was when we made the decision not to eat there again.
What was supposed to be a low budget last minute break turned into a very costly holiday with no real happy ending until our plane touched down on the return journey.
Please, please, please heed all the comments prior to ours as they are there for a reason and are a true reflection of what this place is really like.
We travel extensively but this was without doubt the worst place we have ever encountered and should be condemned.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I found the hotel very good value for money , paid about £300 for 1 weeks AI. I found the food really good, a good choice, plentiful and very tasty. Our room was basic, the balcony lovely overlooking fields.
I did not like the swimming pool area very much, noisy and very busy. We did go down at 7 in the morning to reserve our sunbeds. It was slippery, and could be a danger if children were running around. The bus stop is right outside, and 5 mins takes you to the next town, but only 5 euros in a taxi. Restaurants and bars. 20 mins on the bus takes you to Rhodes town. Visit the old town and stay for an evening meal. Lots of boat trips also.

There is no entertainment in the evenings at the hotel, but easy enough to get on a bus and find some. We only drank white wine and ouzo in the hotel and both were fine. For the price it was very good value.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lessid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

all the above reveiws unfortunantly are true biggest con i have been done with, talking to the albanian bar tender says the staff have not been paid for 5 months no wonder they are so miserable ,we ended up eating out every day. the food in the cattery come dogs home was not fit to eat. if you like a vodka and coke during the day you,ve no chance red vinigar white vinigar rola cola and naff beer only option no shorts .no snacks during day they put some short bread out to feed the flys not coverd up . full of russians and polish who don,t no how to qu come 11 at nite u have to pay for drinks not cheap not good .talking to local bar owners they are surprised it is still open ; in the middle of no were , taxis ripp u off nothing for kids to do no entertament for adults and none close buy; could;nt wait to come home total waist of money;

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveFairhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

i went to this hotel with my young son all inc basis,food is awful stick to the salad.no fast food or ice cream ice lollys inc these are all extra.you are only 'allowed'to drink spirits after six pm all other times it is local wine or beer soft drinks with no flavour.besides the three meals with dirty cutlery and plates you get shortbread biscuits throughout the day.henri behind pool bar is the most child unfriendly person ever.took me four days to get a lounger and this was because i went at midnight to get one and then put it in my squat of a room.pool has tide marks and a pipe with green slime going into it.my son was covered in bruises from slidind around the walkways around pool as no grip whatsoever.no lifeguards electrical wires traipse over pool to sound system, broken cracked tiles add to the ambience.staff are rude and unhelpful bar anastasia who tries her best.watchout for the short eye linered woman in restuartant talks to you like rubbsh receptionist is also i joyI THINK Not. cats and dogs covered in faeces wander around restaurant area. you wille xperience previous ocupants hair skin and scum in bathroom also a bit of blood on tiles just to add to the mix. pillows like bricks thats if you get one you may get a rolled up blanket in a pillow case. plenty of rude russians polish and germans to go around. no english rep at resort so no one to help you. out and out dump.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mel7462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Stayed here for a week from 4 August. I read some of the reviews before I went but thought I would make my own mind up as you just can't suit everyone. Oh how I wish I had of read the reviews and believed people when they said the food was awful - the same thing day in, day out, boring boring boring and not suitable for everyone. Having paid for all inclusive we ended up biting the bullet and eating out for the last four days of our holidays. When we did eat out we often met up with other all inclusive residents of the hotel who couldn't stand the food any more either. I am by no means fussy so please think twice before going all inclusive. Oh and there are at least four times as many guests and sunbeds so be prepared.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dutyfree2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.8 mi away
Dodeca Sea Resort
Dodeca Sea Resort
#22 of 31 in Ialyssos
829 reviews
5.0 mi away
Virginia Hotel
Virginia Hotel
#5 of 5 in Koskinou
532 reviews
11.2 mi away
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
#12 of 34 in Kolimbia
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
Kalithea Sun & Sky Hotel
#17 of 20 in Kallithea
689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,636 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Anavadia
Hotel Anavadia
#19 of 34 in Kolimbia
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filerimos Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filerimos Village Hotel

Address: Ialyssos 37, Ialyssos 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range: £24 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Filerimos Village Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
News for 2009: New Chef Koch employed that has extremely increased taste & quality of meals,New animation team and New service management.FILERIMOS VILLAGE is situated by the foot of the historical mountain of FILERIMOS in between the two villages Ialyssos & Kremasti on the northern west side of Rhodes . There are four room types in a revitalizing flowered garden area of 40.000m² with three pools. In the hotel, we give our guests full flexibility to choose room with breakfast, halfboard or All inclusive. Tennis court, Volley & Basket ball and Mini foot ball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Filerimos Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filerimos Village Hotel Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing