We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a detailed objective and critical review of filerimos hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Filerimos Village Hotel
Ranked #18 of 32 Hotels in Ialyssos
Reviewed 15 September 2010

location and public transport:

The hotel is located well, the bus stop in front of the hotel and a 15 minutes drive takes you to rhodes city close to the harbour and old town. Buses arrived in september every 15 minutes and on sundays each half an hour.
There is a 10 minutes walk near agricultural fields to the local pebble beach which looked ok (had only a short look the last day)

Lobby and reception:

The hotel looks ok from the front with a small pool, the entry lobby is clean but looks shabby, with ugly older furniture and a green torn spotty carpet near a billiard table and flipper. Near by is an internet room, 2 Euro for 6 minutes internal timer, not all the pc work and you don't get your money back inf you used it for them.
The 2 ladies at the reception where friendly. We asked for a very quiet room. After being assured this was a quite room, we got a room on the first floor above the parking lot. Unfortunatly it was very noisy at nights, if you are looking for a quite room you should instead ask for a room after the big pool even if you have to walk farther.

The room and condition of beds:

The devided room (2 beds, not double as we reserved and 2 narrow beds in another room), was spacy but a bit out fashioned, cleanless was ok in the main room, besides the commode that was not cleaned all 3 days. The bath in the bathroom had mould in the sewer so I desinfected it in the beginning. There was a tiny kitchen with electric plates and a fridge with an ice box, not freezer.
The window/doors which face a large balcony, closed well but still there was much noise from outside, especially from the door to the hall which is not noise isolated. During nights that had entertainment, the noise was unbearable even with closed doors. We did not pay for the airconditioner, which you don't need in middle septembers pleasant nights so partly we relyed on opening the windows at night which was not possible.
There where a lot of mosquitos, you have to bring a repellent.
The beds where very noisy, and the wood skeaky and noisy if you turned round, the pillow was not soft, which is a matter of taste. The extra blankets where old and ugly.

The food and Drinks:

Don't eat ANY food at this hotel, even breakfast, here is why:
The food was more than terrible,- a shame for representing greeks usually great food. It was the worst food I ever ate, not in terms of simple but in terms of a terrible cook which should urgently be fired ! I know that filerimos has to calculate on a low budget but there is no excuse because simple tasty food does not have to be expensive. 95 % of the lukewarm meals where cooked in some slimy spiceless industrial cornflour starch. The labels of the food had nothing in common with the poor choice of containers. Viennese schnitzel for example, certainly is not some condensed meat cooked in some slimy beige sauce.... Even fish was cooked in this slimy sauce. Breakfast was terrible and boring as well. While the white and wholewheat buns where ok there was a yellow cheese which I could not swallow, had nothing to do with the name cheese, maybe soya, terrible cold meat and lukewarm saussages with baked bean. 95 percent was small margerine boxes, if you where lucky you could find small gold boxed of butter beween them to use them for the bad marmelade. The coffee was the worst I ever had so I dilluted the bad juices with water. By the way, there where no diet drinks available,not even local diet coke, a shame. There where very few tastless tomatoe in some meals. Feta cheese I have seen only once. Deserts where fruits and sometimes a tasteless cakes. There where local buiscuits in all inclusive, a bad choice of greeks delicious sweets. Tea bags could only be used in plastic cups. If you heat plastic it is cancerous, a common known fact...There was no milk for the tea.
We drink very little but twice but tasted the included drinks. The white wine was bad, a gin tonic and a whiskey undigestable, kind of an artifical bad aroma in pure alcohol. The waiters where friendly, the barkeeper did not smile while serving all inclusive drinks...


The pool:

The 2 meter deep pool is nice and large but was not cleaned from bourganvillia flowers that fell into the pool constantly.The music was varied and was choosen by a realy nice young guy, an rumanian animater who took music wishes in account.

Conclusion:
I will not recommend this plain hotel because I payed for terrible food and squeeky beds and a noisy room. The hotel is a 1-2 star standart and certainly not above it, a big dissapointment, besides our wonderful trip to beautiful rhodes. I wonder if the owner cares at all about the critics and wether he knows that travellers complain to their travel agency for representing his hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jg2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2010

not much to say about this place all bad . room like a prison cell asked for double bed got 2 singles . have to pay for air con what a ripe off. . 3 teenages got there own room 2 on single beds and other 1 camp bed.. food cold and repetive if you like pigs meat you love it . so welcome to the pigs farm. yes slopps. had to eat out .staff could not smile what a sad place. burger bar shut pizza bar shut nothinging open . snack bar served cake with biscuits oooo . and limited drinks . that was it every day . ice creams have to be paid for. and chips and pitza to . what a rip off. boring nights so went out all the time as at 11 pm you have to pay for drinks .. pool ok but could do with heath and safty having a good look. the best thing is the smiling face of anictatca on resepction. so all in all keep well well away .......

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stockcars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2010

What can i say?! No entertainment at all,no ice creams or snacks ibcluded in the all inclusive package....all you get is biscuits! Alcoholic drinks really limited to! Pool was very dirty with wires hanging down where i think there should of been bulbs in place. In the whole 2 weeks we never saw anybody clean or check water level. My daughter is still sick,nearly 2 weeks after leaving as she has caught a bug,a parasite that lives in your gut found in dirty water! You had to pay for air conditioning,84 eeuro for 2 weeks,and the beach is awful....large pebbles and dirty! People unfriendly at the hotel....and as for the food,cold beans and egg,luke warm pasta and lots of pork. We arent fussy eaters,but we did struggle to eat. Everywhere is slippery,witnessed some really bad accidents,broken leg,bruised heads,and a swollen elbow. Nowhere round the pool is kept clean. The up side was,weather was lovely,1 bedroomed appartment was big,and kept very tidy and clean,and met some lovely families out there. Alot of people were vomitting out there....so please if you go,be warned! The gardens are kept lovely,and reception area clean,but only 1 nice lady on reception,other 1 was rude to everybody. Not catered at all for the english family,more towards the germans and italians. The whole hotel needs alot of improvements,and really is nowhere near a 4 star....i have stayed in better 2 stars than this! It is located in the middle of nowhere,and have to get a bus everywhere,and in the heat with the way they cram the busses,that was an experience. The water park in faliraki was fab though,and good prices,20 euro for adults and 15 euro for children under 12,and food was a good price there to,and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie191265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

warning ! take note of all reviews this is not a all inclusive hotel room basic, ok could live with that .food wouldnt give it to a dog two teenages wouldnt eat a thing an not fussy eaters we ate hard bread an grapes for two days then decided to eat out as enough was enough dogs and cats everywere not very hyginic in restaurant or pool bar, snack bar was a joke hard biscuites which we called scobie snacks drinks were cheap powdered fizzy an undrinkable plastic cups for hot drinks, staff very unfreindly especialy pool bar and reception staff who spoke to you with total disrespect .no sunbeds of a day russians and polish got there first and very rude que ing and manners are not in their dictionary ,entertainment ! what entertainment they were on strike for 5 days of our weeks holiday .the nights we did see them dreadful. spent most of time in kemestri which was lovely .had to laugh cause we were there and had good holiday away from hotel. rhodes we recomend but do not goto this hotel it should not be doing buisness and should not be rated 3 star more like -3 star the hotel could do with a full health and safety check and staff could do with customer care training and the chef haha could do cookery lessons and food hygine training as its unhyginic for hairs to be in food be it animal or person

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileenajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

Please, please take notice of the reviews on here and do not go to this hotel.

I would echo everything everyone else has said about the food. The tables were filthy and covers not changed, at 7.30am when the restaurant opened for breakfast the tables still had food stuck to the covers from the night before.

When we first arrived we noticed everyone coming out of the Restaurant with plates piled high with grapes - this was dessert!!! We began to think they must grow their own vines as grapes were available breakfast, lunch and dinner. Apart from watermelon at dinner twice a week, grapes were the only fresh fruit. The pineapple and peaches which once appeared at breakfast were TINNED!

The pool bar area was never cleaned when it closed at 5pm, half drunk plastic cups of beer littered the tables and floor and these weren't cleared away until the next morning. The same happened with the Stage area, litter everywhere that wasn't cleared away until the following day.

As lots of others have said, this is not an All Inclusive hotel. We are not big drinkers and mainly wanted all inclusive for the water, soft drinks, ice-creams and snacks for the children during the day. We ended up having to buy all these anyway.

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, but restaurant and bar staff were the total opposite.

In short, do not book this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shell99_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

This is the most awful holiday ever..the reviews are so right but thought you cant please everyone so we went. After the collapse of kiss i spent more money on flights which cost me more than the whole holiday...i so wish i hadnt done it but the kids got upset so we went. The people there were so rude and the man at pool side told my daughter to get out..funny he was ok when we paid for the food !! The food was so awful i couldnt even go and get acoffee as the smell made me feel sick...i wouldnt even give this crap to my dogs it was horrible. The icecreams and pizza at poolside you had to buy and drinks after 11 you had to pay for this so this was acon. The place was full of polish and germans and very rude ones at that so they fitted in with the hotel staff very well. As for going to the beach for abreak it was full of not just pebbles but bricks so no sand it was so bad. This hoilday wasnt a cheap last min break it has cost me a lot for avery very awful holiday. Hope this hotel goes down like the titanic it so deserves to!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaz1577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We booked this holiday at the last minute, and for the first time ever booked without checking trip advisor first - what a costly mistake, and one we will not do again.
We checked in at 11.30pm, and were directed to the bar. After ordering 3 non alcoholic drinks, we were charged 7 euros and told that the all inclusive option ended at 11pm.
We were then left on our own to find our apartment, in a resort which is quite large and with no lighting to guide us whti was quite a challenge.
The room was extremely basic and stifling hot - so hot, my partner made a trip straight back to reception to purchase air conditioning at 6 euros a night. There is no double bed, just two single beds pushed together. The pillows were like sand bags and rock hard.
Breakfast time, and this is where the nightmare really began. I will stress that we are not fussy eaters - my partner and 10 year old will usually eat anything, but this was truly inedible. The bread was rock hard, and once gone, not replaced. There were two coffee machines and two cold drink machines, but 9 times out of ten only one set of machines was working resulting in long queues. The orange juice is watered down.
The table clothes were rank with stains and spillages and the cutlery and plates dirty.
The Staff were unapproachable and just plain rude.
After "breakfast" we made our way to the pool, but there were no loungers and we ended up having to lay on towels on the grass.
There were no life guards, and no-body to approach for assistance. The "animation team" were seen at specific times, but after those specific times there were no other staff in attendance at all throughout the day.
We witnessed a young boy who spotted a smashed glass on the floor as he walked past, and went to inform the one member of staff behind the pool bar. He was shouted at for dropping the glass (it was not him who dropped it) and handed a dustpan and brush to clean it up. Nobody went to check that it had been cleared away properly, because there was literally nobody there to check.
This is not an all inclusive holiday. There were no ice creams during the day, and no snacks.
There were three trays left daily in the pool bar with one choice of cake, and two types of hard biscuits. There was no variation at all. That was it for the entire week.
There were drinks. Carbonated water with cola/orange or lemonade flavouring.
The music was repetitive and 20 years out of date. There was nobody manning it, and throughout the day children would play with the volume contol, not very relaxing when one minute you have low back ground music, then the next it is deafening.
Dinner Time - unrecognisable dishes and truly truly awful.
At this point, we really did try to be positive and had got to the stage where we really just had to laugh.
When we got to where we decided to complain and asked to speak to a manager, we were informed that there were no managers on the resort, and the complex manager only came once a week. The Hotel Owner apparantly lives in America, and is uncontactable.
We then came to the conclusion that it really was Hotel Anarchy and the staff could literally talk to you as they wished, refuse you any request, and refuse any assistance requested because there was literally nobody there that they had to answer to.
After speaking to staff we were informed that they were given a budget, and if they ran out then tough. The Chef had to make what he could with the small fund allocated, hence the really awful food.
The pool bar ran out of cups and there were literally no funds there to replace them. A member of staff had to ring a friend in another hotel to borrow some cups from them.
We kept thinking it could get no worse, but every day would surpass the day before.
On the third day my partner spotted hair in my daughters spagetti, and that was when we made the decision not to eat there again.
What was supposed to be a low budget last minute break turned into a very costly holiday with no real happy ending until our plane touched down on the return journey.
Please, please, please heed all the comments prior to ours as they are there for a reason and are a true reflection of what this place is really like.
We travel extensively but this was without doubt the worst place we have ever encountered and should be condemned.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.6 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 32 in Ialyssos
1,715 reviews
0.5 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
11.2 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Sun Beach Resort Complex
#3 of 32 in Ialyssos
892 reviews
0.6 mi away
Labranda Blue Bay Resort
Labranda Blue Bay Resort
#6 of 32 in Ialyssos
273 reviews
14.5 mi away
Porto Angeli Beach Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Filerimos Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filerimos Village Hotel

Address: Ialyssos 37, Ialyssos 851 00, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ialyssos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range: £32 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Filerimos Village Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
News for 2009: New Chef Koch employed that has extremely increased taste & quality of meals,New animation team and New service management.FILERIMOS VILLAGE is situated by the foot of the historical mountain of FILERIMOS in between the two villages Ialyssos & Kremasti on the northern west side of Rhodes . There are four room types in a revitalizing flowered garden area of 40.000m² with three pools. In the hotel, we give our guests full flexibility to choose room with breakfast, halfboard or All inclusive. Tennis court, Volley & Basket ball and Mini foot ball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Filerimos Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filerimos Village Hotel Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing