We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel,which, with a little effort ,could be superb” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Electra Palace Rhodes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Electra Palace Rhodes
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Ialyssos
Certificate of Excellence
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel,which, with a little effort ,could be superb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Abeautifully appointed hotel, cool and airy, elegant and comfortable without being fussy. I especially loved the huge bowls of white orchids in reception and other public areas. My husband and I opted for a sea view room, which like the public areas was spacious and classically furnished.There was ample storage space and loads of coathangers, which is always a bonus.We had a hostess tray, refreshed daily, and the room fridge had mineral water, soft drinks and nibbles when we arrived but which wasnt topped up again, which is a pity. It is something we have become used to in 5 star hotels.If the choice of food in the buffet restaurant is not as extensive as some, there is still ample to choose from, and always of excellent quality, especially all of the meat and the wonderful fresh fish. Both of the A La Carte restaurants were very attractive and served authentic and delicious Italian and Chinese food respectively and again with a mouthwatering choice.The Electra Palace is set in a lovely location, with the sea to one side, and the pool and gardens the other. There are lots of trees providing shade when the glorious sunshine becomes too much, the gardens are very well tended and the pool area has parasols and lots of loungers.If you are looking for a bucket and spade holiday with children, then this is not the place for you, as it is shingle and pebbles but lovely for sunbathing, because it is narrow and you can easily lie on your lounger with your toes in the sea.As stated before the staff are warm , friendly and kind, and here I must mention the bar staff in the Lobby Bar, and especially the older gentleman, his name I forget, but he told us he has worked at the hotel for 23 years, who was charming.So what are my gripes then? Just tiny niggly things. The fact that although red and white wine are part of the AI package, rose which is the only wine I drink, is not , but can be bought for 26 Euros a bottle, and thats the cheapest. Only 3 cocktails are available to the AI guest, despite the fact that there was a very extensive cocktail menu.The ones available were not the cheapest,so I really dont understand the restriction. I did ask the manager, but didnt get a very satisfactory answer.However , on the plus side, there are several internationally branded spirits available on AI, which is great if that is your tipple.The beach furniture, parasols and loungers are very very shabby and the worse for wear, and do nothing for a 5star image, and some of the clientelle, and those who stayed during the last two weeks of the season will know exactly who I mean, behaved disgracefully and at times abusively. During the time they were there , children were running around the dining room, and the noise level was
incredible.This did rather take the shine off things for us and many others who spoke to us. It wasnt possible to have a quiet drink in the evening anywhere in the hotel during their stay. Thankfully they were only there for a few days.

That aside, from the lady at the Car Hire Desk to the room maids, everyone was pleasant, and I would particularly like to thank Koula, the Dining Room Hostess, for her warm welcome, kindness and helpfulness. She is a credit to the hotel.

Would we go back ? I am sure we would.Just a few tweaks and the Electra Palace would really deserve its 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Francophiles750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    504
    172
    69
    39
See reviews for
442
652
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is the first time we have been all inclusive and found this really good.The hotel is situated on the beach and the pool area and grounds are well landscaped and kept clean, despite some guests littering . The room was clean especially the bathroom The staff are friendly and helpful, the food variety good especially nice to eat in the Italian restaurant and Chinese corner.
Downside: a fair walk to the main road and buses and foolishly although it is advertised as family hotel we thought there would not be many children there in October - wrong!!!
The Thomas Cook rep was not helpful about local buses presumably wanting us to book her excursions.
All in all a very pleasant experience

Room Tip: We paid extra for a balcony overlooking the sea -which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tilly168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Electra Palace Hotel gets better and better! Since the first time we stayed at this hotel some 9 years ago we just keep coming back year on year. We have only missed one year! They have recently invested heavily in a new indoor swimming pool, fitness area, sauna etc and to a high quality standard of finish. Well done Electra Palace!

We have made many good friendships here with fellow guests from all over the UK and now even plan future holidays together so that we can meet up at this 1st class hotel.

The hotel makes sure all of your needs are attended to. The staff are extremely friendly, courteous and very hard working. Nothing is too much of a problem. The food is excellent in the self serve restaurant with plenty of choice to satify all tastes and fancies. The Italian and Chinese themed restaurants are waitor/waitress served and an excellent choice of dishes offered. The food in the Chinese especially so! These are very popular with guests and with limited seats available they need to be reserved and restricted to one visit per week.

Wi-Fi is not available free of charge but can be arranged from Reception at a cost. There is some aircraft noise due to the close proximity of Rhodes airport but that just creates added interest and is not an annoyance.

Room Tip: All of the standard room are comfortable and recently refurbished.. However, we would recommend the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavalviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have been to Greece 4 times now - Mainland, Crete, Kos.. we keep coming back because of how much we love it.
I wanted to like this vacation, I really did. On paper, this resort hotel offers a lot for a very reasonable price. With what I paid in mind, I could potentially overlook the mediocre food and rooms. After all, the selection of food is grand, and the rooms are ok. The mattress was very poor, the room was in need of renovations and the housekeeping staff did a poor job at keeping the room stocked.
But what was inexcusable was the terrible customer service we got, as a direct result of being Israelis. I have been living in the US for 5 years now and have become spoiled with US-grade customer service and business etiquette. So I was hoping to be treated like a human being. Apparently I expected too much. It all started on our arrival there around dinner time, when the reception staff gave us a bit of news - ALL restaurants in the hotel require long pants for dinner (even the buffet!). Please keep in mind this is a Greek beach resort. I did not pack any long pants. After arguing, the restaurant manager agreed to seat our party at the Italian restaurant for that evening as a one-time gesture. When we got to the Italian restaurant our waiter told us that since I was the only one without proper attire for the buffet (!) only I could have dinner at the Italian place without reservations and the rest of us should go to the buffet. In other words, he wanted me to eat alone without my family. You can only imagine what my wife had to say to that idiot, and needless to say we all had our dinner together. I later went to speak with the hotel manager, which only made it clearer that he does not know the first thing about keeping a customer happy.
During our entire stay there became very clear that the staff has been worn down by masses of (granted, obnoxious) Israeli tourists to the point where they totally hate us now and treat us very differently from other nationalities. It was quite disgusting and off-putting, and something I can never forgive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L_G897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The hotel is really very nice, we liked almost everything about it. The food, the pools, the beach, the lounge. the staff is very helpful and very friendly.
you have everything you need ! the hotel is a little bit far from the old city but you can take a bus or taxi.
the WiFi is not free and cost 10 Euro a day !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 85Danny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

The hotel is really nice, I really liked almost everything about it. The food, the pools, the beach, the launge, the staff - I really enjoyed it all.
The only thing that didn't make it perfect was the beds. There's no double beds, they just join two single beds together and it's not so great for a couple's getaway...
Also the matress is hard as a rock but I still reccomend this hotel because of everything else.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank guylev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

A suite by definition is usually a series of rooms and a junior suite has a seperate seating area, which corresponded with the picture on their website,which was a bed and seperate sofa seating aea, so I paid extra for a Junior Sea breeze suite. We arrived late approx 10.30pm were offered no refreshments. I entered a single room, which in no way resembled the website photo?? I contacted reception who told me it was a suite, and I would need to speak to reception next morning. They had left a bottle of "complimentary" wine, but no corkscrew and two apples?? It was blowing a gale and the wind howled all night through the patio doors. The following morning I spoke to the receptionist(Olga) who was very proffesional but offhand, she produced the hotel floor plan with our room highlighted in yellow stating it was a suite which, because it was highlighted in yellow, was somehow supposed to convince me that a room is a suite?? She then produced their brochure to show me pictures and when I showed her the photo shown on the website she said that junior suite was for four people not two!! Didn't state that on their website!!! She said our room was a suite as we had extra's?? A plasma screen t.v. and DVD player and seaview. The tv reception was poor with only two english speaking channels(CNN, worldnews), and she failed to inform us that DVD's were available from reception, also a seaview, which half of the hotel had anyway. Wow £200 extra well spent there then!! She did tutt,(a lot of the staff tutt) then offered us the suite pictured, but none were available at that time and we may have to wait a few days?? Ah!! so she thought we were after a free upgrade?? Insulted by the assumption we declined. I have checked the website today and the junior suite photo has been changed to the room we were given.

Once you get the hang of it, you begin to understand that this hotel is operated entirely for the benefit of the staff!! Stand too long in the dining room trying to choose what to have and you will be asked to move with a tutt and "excuse me" as they rush around you doing their thing!! If you can't find a table set up for two and sit at a table for four, be prepared to be cross examined by a young waiter as to why you did not wait for a table of two to be set up, followed by a lot of tutting and lots of pulling of faces to the other diners at our stupid blunder!! if you want clean beach towels, don't bother going to the pool before 10.30 as stated in the pamphlett. You have to go back to your room and hang about waiting for the chambermaid who will be on your floor about 9.30 to get them changed. Don't ask for an ashtray, as the bar attendant will give you a lecture on smoking and start coughing around you. The other young receptionist (Bogdana) made eye contact and then walked off to chat with another member of staff as i stood at the desk?? Why are some of the staff like this?? Probably because the hotel manager never leaves his glass cubed office to see what is going on. Not once in the ten days we were there did I see any sort of manager wandering around, spot checking, or speaking to guests.

Food...... on the whole cheap!! To be fair they did do some interesting sides to go with the dishes. Canapes, stuffed mushrooms and vol au vents, stuffed cheese potato skins, the potato wedges were really nice,but the meat are cheap cuts. 101 ways to use chicken, veal, pork (which I can't eat) rabbit turkey and meat loaf or fish. Never any lamb or beef, apart from burgers. Only one carvery whilst we were there of turkey. The restaurant is open until 9pm but if you go after 8.30 you will get the dregs. The hot food station shuts down at 8.30. Didn't use the Italian or Chinese as they fail to do plain meat without a sauce or coating for my hubby who dislikes food "Messed about with" we have always been able to get a good plain steak in other hotels we have visited in their speciality restaurants.
In my humble opinion, if they didn't blow the food budget on catering for the gluttons who are served snacks from 3.30 to 4.00pm and then cakes and pastries from 4.30 to 5.30 follwed by sandwiches from 5.30 to 6.30 they would be able to offer a better grade of food.
However the biggest insult was the packed lunch!! We didn't bother checking it before we left for the day trip. Two hours into the trip, opened it for a drink!! NO DRINK!! What kind of 5* hotel sends it's guests out in soaring temperatures without a drink?? The most basic of needs?? Luckily we had got chatting to a few other couples on the trip and they were kind enough to let us have a bottle of their water!! Although suffice to say they were now intrigued as to what was in this packed lunch?? A sandwich of ham and cheese with dry bread, a dried out bun, a peach which was also dried out, and a medium(chinese style take away container) which was packed with shredded cabbage and carrot with a small satchet of mayonnaise to make up our own coleslaw!!! This caused much laughter as the amount of cabbage and carrot compared to the small satchet only a majician could have made it into a coleslaw. The laughter reached a climax when we found the card from the hotel which served as a remider that the packed lunch was instead of our meal at the hotel!!! Half of that coach trip went away that day ready to tell others. Domino effect Electra!! Take note!!!

Drinks...... there was more alcohol in my perfume than in the wine. The cocktails were too sweet and limited on the all inclusive. They only allow two satchets of coffee per day in your room, even though we didn't touch any of the tea satchets etc... so obviouslywe were coffee drinkers. fridge is not replenished no daily bottled water left you have to buy your own or fill up in the pool bar.

Bed sheets only changed if you place a card on your bed requesting a change. Their supposed "eco" policy. Really??? then how do you explain that you do not have re cycling bins for the plastic cups which are put in the ordinary bins. More like cutting costs.
Had good nights sleep as beds firm and pillows soft like at home. Some planes do go over in the early hours.

There is no such thing as budget 5*. This hotel needs to up their ante or stop trying to masquerade as chic.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank summersunshineWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
2.3 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#9 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
0.1 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
3.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 mi away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
5.0 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Rhodes

Property: Electra Palace Rhodes
Address: Papaflessa | Trianta beach, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ialyssos
#1 Spa Hotel in Ialyssos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ialyssos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ialyssos
#4 Family Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Rhodes 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of an Aegean island full of butterflies, on a sparkling beach with clear waters: there lies the Electra Palace Rhodes, bright and colorful, a modern resort with clean lines, made for you to have the best summer holidays of your life. Bright and colorful: such will be your days, and your nights, here! Start your day with a hearty breakfast in Electra's Restaurant, our main restaurant. Enjoy the magnificent views of the Aegean - and plan your day: will you be spending it all at the beach or by the big central pool? How about a tennis match at the resort's court, or maybe a friendly game of volleyball or basketball? The kids are going to love it! After lunch you can enjoy a refreshing nap in your spacious, cool room, or maybe read some more of that exciting novel you found at the hotel's reading room. It's your "me" time - the children are well taken care of at the kids' club, playing fun games and learning new things. As the evening approaches, you start to think about dinner: Chinese, or Italian? Don't forget to check out tonight's menu at Electra's Reastaurant too - its variety is so tempting! After dinner, how about a drink at Waves beach bar? Or, how about asking for our childcare services and taking a long romantic walk with your significant other on the moonlit beach? Such are the days at the Electra Palace at Rhodes, laid back and relaxing, full of fun things to do. Aiming in creating a contemporary resort worthy of our guests, we have taken care of every little detail, so that you can spend your holidays having a real holiday: there are sports courts and a gaming center. There are four restaurants, two serving ethic cuisine. There are five bars - one is certain to suit your mood. There are kids' and teenagers' clubs with qualified staff and special kids' menus and tons of fun activities for the young ones. And there are also five star services and amenities: crisp linen and fully equipped bathrooms and bathrobes for all, and safes and double glazed windows and air-conditioning and DVD players in the rooms, and views of the sea and green gardens and concierge service and so much more! And then there're the smiles. The smiles of our staff, happy to welcome you, keen on helping you make the best of your vacations. And the smiles of everyone around you, having the time of their lives! Won't you join them? Welcome to the Electra Palace Rhodes. Welcome to the hospitality you deserve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Electra Palace Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Electra Palace Hotel Ialyssos
Hotel Electra Palace
Electra Palace Ialysos
Electra Palace Hotel Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing