We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel for a completely relaxing break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Electra Palace Rhodes
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Ialyssos
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for a completely relaxing break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband booked this holiday in Rhodes as a surprise for our anniversary...and we were not disappointed! We stayed for a week at the end of May just as it was starting to warm up...it wasn't horrendously hot and there was a nice cool breeze from the sea most days.

Rhodes is a beautiful place and our experience at The Electra Palace Hotel just added to how much we have enjoyed our stay. As with any place, there are positives and negatives but I have to say the negatives are really quite minor grumblings overall.

POSITIVES
- Really friendly, helpful staff - always go the extra mile for you.
- The all-inclusive package - literally as much to eat and drink as you want all day, every day.
- Beautiful, clean hotel and room - rooms are cleaned every day if you wish and always to a high standard.
- Food - the absolute best all-inclusive food and drink we have ever had. Lots of choice and variety. The two restaurants (Italian and Chinese) on the complex are also well worth a visit.

NEGATIVES (minor grumblings!)
- Paying for wifi/internet - as a young(ish) busy couple, we like to stay in touch and we would have hoped wifi was free but it wasn't.
- Beds were hard - it took a few nights to adjust to the bed as it was very hard, you do get used to it though and other people slept on top of extra blankets
- Hotel is a little isolated - you have to walk or get a bus to the nearest town/shops but we didn't mind this so much!

All in all we had a fabulous trip and would definitely return to this hotel for another relaxing week!

Room Tip: We paid for the upgraded sea view room, which was beautiful. We don't regret paying a little ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    504
    172
    69
    39
See reviews for
442
652
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zwevegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

WE STAYED FOR 9 NIGHTS AT THIS HOTEL in may 2014.
I agree with most reviews: good hotel, big rooms and bathrooms, everything very clean...
I especially want to stress the very positive attitude of the staff. These people were really friendly and helpful. If a problem was mentioned (in our case the shower didn't work proprly), it was solved immediately.
However 2 things disturbed us and we were surprised the those were not mentioned in most other reviews.
First the hotel is located near the runway of the airport which means a lot of noise from planes landing or leaving.
Secondly the hotel charges exaggerated prices for the use of wifi. We could not understand this policy because we had an all in arrangement and therefore could eat and drink without limit. Compared to this, the free use of wifi for the guests would be peanuts.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hemsay .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just back from a week here in May 2014. Comfortable, cool, friendly hotel. Quite near the landing flight path of the airport a few miles away but we didn't hear a thing in our air-conditioned room and it's really not a problem round the hotel at any time.
Book the Italian and Chinese restaurants the day before to ensure a seat, otherwise the standard buffet meals are delicious and enormous with a wide choice of food to suit everyone.
A couple of niggles perhaps: the vegetables were consistently undercooked for us and the meats overcooked. Personal taste though. And the breakfast was a bit disappointing if you like cereals and toast - cheap cereals, cheap marmalade, tasteless bread, and the toasters didn't ever brown the toast. But if you like cheeses, meats, fruit, yoghourt, and all the other aspects of a continental breakfast, with maybe eggs scrambled boiled or fried and other hot stuff the choices were excellent.
Rhodes town is well worth a visit and is a cheap bus ride away - buses every 15 minutes at 2€ 30 each trip, a bargain, change given. Don't bother with taxis is our advice. The main road is 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel so it is quiet and peaceful all around the hotel.
Everyone speaks English, even the local bus drivers so no Greek required, but if you can say hello (kali mera) and thank you (efharisto) in Greek they are really delighted that you have made the effort.
Recommended for families - a really safe environment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here in late April with my other half. Had a fantastic week, the food was lovely and tasted very fresh. The variety of starters, mains and desserts was excellent and kept dinner interesting and full of different culinary experiences. There was also the option of an Italian and Chinese restaurant, both which felt as authentic as they can be at a Hotel. Food in these restaurants was also delicious. The Hotel felt well run, clean and kept up to a high standard. A special mention to the staff, who were all very friendly as several you felt that you got to know by the end of the week such was their open and warm nature. The pool looked clean well maintained. I honestly could not find fault, the location was close enough to walk to Ialyssos town, and you could get a bus further afield to Rhodes Town. First Class all round!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HRM80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Wonderful weeks stay at the Electra Palace. Every thing spot on, food terrific, comfortable rooms, nice location, excellent helpful staff ! Nothing to complain about at all . Twenty minute bus ride into Rhodes, buses run every 15-20 minutes €2.40. Wifi cost €40 a week but just go to adjacent bar buy a pint and you can use the wifi free for the rest of your stay.

Room Tip: A sea view would be nice but not essential as a good outlook from all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Four of us stayed here (2 rooms). The hotel is very clean and well maintained, including the gardens with lots of lovely, interesting plants. It's right on the beach, unlike many other resorts - so no roads to cross and because it's away from the main road there's no traffic noise or smells. Our rooms were nice with either sea or pool views, good en-suites and tea/coffee making facilities and a small fridge. The beds are rather hard, but we used the spare blankets to try and cushion the mattresses and it worked pretty well.
The pools are very clean, although the indoor pool is rather noisy (presumably the air conditioning or water maintenance unit) which is a shame. The gym is well equipped, but unfortunately neither it, nor the indoor pool, are open until 10am so no chance of exercising before breakfast.
The food in the main restaurant is pretty good for a mass-catering establishment - a wide variety to suit most people and lots of different dishes every day. Unfortunately, the Caesar salad in the Italian restaurant had balsamic vinegar dressing rather than Caesar dressing (that's the point of the name isn't it?). When we ordered calves liver in the same restaurant it was very over done - like rubber, but was very quickly changed with no fuss. The Chinese restaurant was good.
The drinks on the all-inclusive package are not the premium brands but still very good for non-conisseurs.
We didn't bother with the entertainment (different every evening) because it wasn't to our, British, taste - but seemed quite popular with many of the other guests. The daily animation activities were put on but we weren't hassled to take part, which was nice.
Throughout our stay the staff were friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel very welcome.
It's easy to get into Rhodes town by the local bus, which stops at the end of the road. However, when we tried to go again on the Friday morning the queue was really long and the bus was full so didn't stop so we ended up driving there and saw that all the bus-stops along the way were very crowded.
If we were going to return to Rhodes we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Lower floor rooms with sea views are likely to be a bit quieter than those overlooking the pool beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caligirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We have just returned home after 11 nights at this lovely hotel. What friendly staff! Cleaners, catering staff, reception and, in particular, the animation team were really friendly and extremely helpful. The hotel was very clean, there was a very good selection of food at breakfast, lunch and dinner plus delicious cakes at 4.30 every day. Marco and his team, mainly Andrea, Lulu and Eduardo were brilliant, we don't usually take much interest in the animation side but have to say that they helped to make our stay very enjoyable. We were on the 5th floor with a lovely sea view and in the distance we could see Turkey, it was very relaxing sitting on our balcony with a drink listening to the sea. The only downside was noisy guests making quite a lot of noise very late at night. A taxi to/from hotel to airport 15 euros. We hired a car for three days and saw most of the island, beautiful scenery and lots of history. We would definitely recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor away from the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 604CarolM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
3.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,388 reviews
0.2 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#11 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
5.0 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Rhodes

Property: Electra Palace Rhodes
Address: Papaflessa | Trianta beach, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ialyssos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ialyssos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ialyssos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ialyssos
#4 Family Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Rhodes 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of an Aegean island full of butterflies, on a sparkling beach with clear waters: there lies the Electra Palace Rhodes, bright and colorful, a modern resort with clean lines, made for you to have the best summer holidays of your life. Bright and colorful: such will be your days, and your nights, here! Start your day with a hearty breakfast in Electra's Restaurant, our main restaurant. Enjoy the magnificent views of the Aegean - and plan your day: will you be spending it all at the beach or by the big central pool? How about a tennis match at the resort's court, or maybe a friendly game of volleyball or basketball? The kids are going to love it! After lunch you can enjoy a refreshing nap in your spacious, cool room, or maybe read some more of that exciting novel you found at the hotel's reading room. It's your "me" time - the children are well taken care of at the kids' club, playing fun games and learning new things. As the evening approaches, you start to think about dinner: Chinese, or Italian? Don't forget to check out tonight's menu at Electra's Reastaurant too - its variety is so tempting! After dinner, how about a drink at Waves beach bar? Or, how about asking for our childcare services and taking a long romantic walk with your significant other on the moonlit beach? Such are the days at the Electra Palace at Rhodes, laid back and relaxing, full of fun things to do. Aiming in creating a contemporary resort worthy of our guests, we have taken care of every little detail, so that you can spend your holidays having a real holiday: there are sports courts and a gaming center. There are four restaurants, two serving ethic cuisine. There are five bars - one is certain to suit your mood. There are kids' and teenagers' clubs with qualified staff and special kids' menus and tons of fun activities for the young ones. And there are also five star services and amenities: crisp linen and fully equipped bathrooms and bathrobes for all, and safes and double glazed windows and air-conditioning and DVD players in the rooms, and views of the sea and green gardens and concierge service and so much more! And then there're the smiles. The smiles of our staff, happy to welcome you, keen on helping you make the best of your vacations. And the smiles of everyone around you, having the time of their lives! Won't you join them? Welcome to the Electra Palace Rhodes. Welcome to the hospitality you deserve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Electra Palace Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Electra Palace Hotel Ialyssos
Hotel Electra Palace
Electra Palace Ialysos
Electra Palace Hotel Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing