We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing cakes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Electra Palace Rhodes
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Ialyssos
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing cakes”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed for one week at the end of June. Had a really lovely time. As previously mentioned the staff are very friendly. The hotel is clean. I am very fussy eater and there was always a good choice of food. Their cakes were the best we have every eaten abroad, and available breakfast, lunch and dinner, and in between. The lunch time food is a good choice with either the main restaurant or very nice eating outside in the Italian restaurant. The chinese restaurant is lovely to eat in once a week but you must book. Men must wear long trousers at night in the main restaurant and they were very strict on this.
Kettle,Coffee, milk and sugar supplied daily, although just 2 sachets. Beds made daily. Towels changed frequently if you want.
On the beach but very pebbly and as it was windy when we were there the sea was quite strong so not good for poor swimmers. The pool was lovely and plenty of sunbeds. Plenty of beer and spirits. Wine wasn't too good.
Very nice bar just across the road with free wifi and good choice of drinks. a couple of shops across the road too and also one small shop on site by the pool.
Rhodes town a bus ride away and well worth the trip.
Nice thick towelling robes and slippers are a nice treat.
Weather was red hot throught our week with no cloud but a very nice breeze.
The animation team were one of the best we have seen in Greece and really put lots of efforts into their shows at night, which were good to watch.
And as stated in the other reviews, yes, the beds are very hard....
We paid extra for a sea view and it was well worth it.
Taxi from the airport to the hotel was 14 euros however we booked a taxi at reception for the journey back to the airport and it was 17.5 euros... so this was a surprise.
We had a fantastic week and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DBEVERLEY7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    504
    172
    69
    39
See reviews for
442
652
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kessel-Lo, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Positives: the food is good. the staff is mostly friendly. the pool and beach area is well clean and not too crowded.
Negatives: not within walking distance of anything worthwhile doing (a 25 minute busride to Rhodes town). Wifi to be paid extra for. Many small defects to the room (window didn't shut properly, tv reception was poor, water pressure in shower was very low, ...). The all-inclusive wine, both red and white, is horrible. If you sleep poolside there is no way around the noise of the evening entertainment, which doesn't stop until 11 PM.

All in all this is a good value for money hotel (it isn't that expensive....), but you have to set your expectations right.

Room Tip: sea view rooms don't have the noise of the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomasDclr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

pros: the food is mainly good, hot and varied. quite a good variety and chefs cook some things fresh throughout meal times
room: bearing in mind we had to ask for a different room, the second one we stayed in was large, clean, bed comftable enough, lovely balcony with sea view
the staff: all lovely, although one guy was bordering on creepily complimentary. very helpful reception staff
hotel is very clean, pool areas, rooms, public areas
jacuzzi
italian restaurant is good - lovely salad and pizza

cons: air con barely worked in the room
the first room we were allocated was tiny with rock hard beds and an awful view of the restaurant roof - we were subsequently moved.
no fresh fruit at breakfast
not enough sunbeds for the amount of guests. we ended up getting up at 7am every day to reserve one with our towels. otherwise we wouldn't have got one.
minibar is only stocked on arrival, not topped up despite the hotel being all inclusive
sunbeds are uncomfortable
pool and sea are cold
entertainment round the pool all day - extremely annoying when i just want to relax in peace
chinese restaurant is not great. my meal was bland and the noodles were clearly out of a packet and cold
the other hotel guests were very rude and inconsiderate
the drinks are awful - the 'juice' is actually squash, the local alcahol is all terrible, the cocktails disgusting. hot choc is quite nice, but i ended up sticking to water in the end
the resort of ialyssos itself has just been thrown up for tourists. lots of supermarkets, tourist shops and bars showing sports and making terrible cocktails

all in all we were actually looking forward to coming home, and that is never a good sign

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank owlbeonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Just spent a week in the Electra Palace. Loved it all. Yes there were a few wee niggles mentioned in previous reviews regarding hard mattresses and slightly limited cocktails. The positives soon made me forget those. The food was really good and varied. The staff were lovely from the bar staff to the cleaning staff. The beach path has been mentioned many times but there is also a road from the front of the hotel which takes you into the shop and bars, it is about 10 minutes longer but worth it if you have walking difficulties. I have stayed in this area before but this hotel surpassed any other in the area, the grounds were immaculate, soft seating outside in the shaded cabanas was a real bonus and the availability of sun loungers and shady areas was a real treat. A trip to Rhodes on the bus is a must and a trip on the 'little train' was the best €6 I have ever spent. All in all a brilliant holiday but just not long enough so we will be back this September. Can't wait.

Room Tip: If you like quote in the evening opt for a sea view rather than a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gerrya23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a weeks stay at the electra palace with my boyfriend after a weeks stay. We had a great holiday and this really is a lovely hotel. We have stayed at other 5* hotels in rhodes and would say that this hotel was on par with these with the exception of a few niggles which the management should maybe take a look at.

-The hotel has a lovely pool area with lots of quiete areas to sunbathe. There were plenty of sunbeds which was great as it meant we could get a lie in instead of getting up really early to reserve a bed as we have had to do in other hotels in rhodes in the past.
-The hotel is right on the beach which has a lovely breeze. The beach is narrow and very stoney but the hotel has a nice grass area between the hotel and the beach for sunbathing which has a hot tub and it's own bar area.
-Very clean hotel throughout which is well looked after.
-Clean and comfortable rooms.
-Food at the hotel is very good. We eat out quite a lot when on holiday but this is because we like to get out and about to eat in the traditional tavernas, however we still had lunch most days at the hotel and eat in it on 3 evenings. The main restaurant served great quality food with good variation. As with all hotel restaurants however, it was a bit like a canteen with lots of queues and tightly packed tables. The Chinese and the Italian restaurants were nice to be able to sit outside and relax more but the menus weren't very big and the quality probably still wasn't as good as a proper meal out. This is the same in all hotels though and I have it say that the quality of the food available at the electra palace is definitely of a better standard than many others.
- The area of Trianta/Ialyssos is a lovely. There are lots of nice restaurants, bars, tourist shops and clothes shops. It is mostly a quiet spot but is only €12 in a taxi or €4 on the bus to get into rhodes town. By the way, those travelling to Rhodes should absolutely make sure to visit rhodes old town. It is absolutely stunning and has everything you could want in it. It annoys me how many people visit all inclusive resorts without leaving the hotel to take in some local culture.

-As others have said, the beds are like rocks! I have honestly never slept on a bed as hard in my life and I got really sore shoulders due to this by the end of my holiday. We used the blankets as mattress toppers which helped but only very slightly.
-The white wine in the hotel is undrinkable. I'm a big wine drinker so this was quite disappointing for me. I'm never fussy about wine and everywhere else that I ate and drank in during the holiday had great house wine leading me to believe that this is one of the ways the hotel cuts it's costs. The cocktail menu wasn't very big either but was sufficient for our needs. Soft drinks served are also unbranded which was disappointing - so no coke, fanta etc available.
-As a previous reviewer posted, the hotel is actually in a really good location to get the main stip in the resort (5min walk approx) however the hotel does nothing to make it easy for quests to pass through the beach to get there. This is ok during the day but at night when dressed up it was a nightmare to scramble over the rocks and up and down the ridge from the hotel. It would be impossible for those with children or those with waking difficulties and would add another 15 min walk onto their journey to travel by the main road (which is also dark around the hotel). It would be easy for the hotel to but some steps and a path in and would make a huge difference for guests.
- The animation team wasn't great and could have done more to encourage people to take part. Night time entertainment mostly consisted of the animation team dancing and miming to different songs. Rock night was really good though where a proper band played for a few hours.
-We already knew we would have to pay for wifi so although it would have been nice to have it as part of the all inclusive package, it gave us a good excuse each day to visit the rainbow bar across the road and use theirs. This is a great bar with lovely cocktails and good drinks selection. The bar stays open till late in the night and has a lovely friendly owner.

Overall we had a great holiday. We love rhodes and the hotel was quite luxurious with one of the nicest pool areas we have ever had the pleasure of relaxing in. I would definitely return to this hotel again but only if the price was right and the hotel but a path in giving easier access to the main strip.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank valeriegardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

hotel ok,but they do nothing to help the guests to get to the strip at night. no decking on the beach to help those with walking difficulties as we have,,or with prams, no steps in the side of the garden,which would help, as the beach is pebble till you get to pattys lounge bar,which she has made better for her customers , why cant the hotel do the same to help its guest instead you need a torch, or phone light, otherwise you have to travel on the country road, quiet a trek just to get to the nightlife, about 1/4 mile trek there is a nice beachbar across from the entrance to the hotel, sports and suntrap during day,,friendly staff.,and not a hike at night. they have cleared for there sunbeds , but not for walking. 2weeks stumbling we wont be back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank riorita23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had an enjoyable week at this hotel. The rooms have been refurbished since our last stay and are much improved, very nice. The only downside were the extremely hard mattresses !! The main restaurant food was varied and plentiful. The wine was an acquired taste...white better than red !!! We spent time on the beach and around the pool. The beach was somewhat quieter with no music etc and it also had a welcome cooling breeze !! My only complaint would be the cost of keeping your room, should you have a late flight home. The current charge is 60 Euros !!!!....the most we have ever had to pay. There is a courtesy room available but you have to book when they say, on the day of departure, to get a timeslot !! Would return again though...had a nice relaxing time. the planes weren't a problem to us at all !!

Room Tip: We asked for an upper floor quiet room...away from the entertainment, .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tonyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
3.0 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#4 of 129 in Rhodes Town
2,382 reviews
0.2 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 129 in Rhodes Town
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#11 of 129 in Rhodes Town
1,547 reviews
5.0 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Electra Palace Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Rhodes

Property: Electra Palace Rhodes
Address: Papaflessa | Trianta beach, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ialyssos
#1 Spa Hotel in Ialyssos
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ialyssos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ialyssos
#4 Family Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Rhodes 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the shores of an Aegean island full of butterflies, on a sparkling beach with clear waters: there lies the Electra Palace Rhodes, bright and colorful, a modern resort with clean lines, made for you to have the best summer holidays of your life. Bright and colorful: such will be your days, and your nights, here! Start your day with a hearty breakfast in Electra's Restaurant, our main restaurant. Enjoy the magnificent views of the Aegean - and plan your day: will you be spending it all at the beach or by the big central pool? How about a tennis match at the resort's court, or maybe a friendly game of volleyball or basketball? The kids are going to love it! After lunch you can enjoy a refreshing nap in your spacious, cool room, or maybe read some more of that exciting novel you found at the hotel's reading room. It's your "me" time - the children are well taken care of at the kids' club, playing fun games and learning new things. As the evening approaches, you start to think about dinner: Chinese, or Italian? Don't forget to check out tonight's menu at Electra's Reastaurant too - its variety is so tempting! After dinner, how about a drink at Waves beach bar? Or, how about asking for our childcare services and taking a long romantic walk with your significant other on the moonlit beach? Such are the days at the Electra Palace at Rhodes, laid back and relaxing, full of fun things to do. Aiming in creating a contemporary resort worthy of our guests, we have taken care of every little detail, so that you can spend your holidays having a real holiday: there are sports courts and a gaming center. There are four restaurants, two serving ethic cuisine. There are five bars - one is certain to suit your mood. There are kids' and teenagers' clubs with qualified staff and special kids' menus and tons of fun activities for the young ones. And there are also five star services and amenities: crisp linen and fully equipped bathrooms and bathrobes for all, and safes and double glazed windows and air-conditioning and DVD players in the rooms, and views of the sea and green gardens and concierge service and so much more! And then there're the smiles. The smiles of our staff, happy to welcome you, keen on helping you make the best of your vacations. And the smiles of everyone around you, having the time of their lives! Won't you join them? Welcome to the Electra Palace Rhodes. Welcome to the hospitality you deserve! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Electra Palace Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Electra Palace Hotel Ialyssos
Hotel Electra Palace
Electra Palace Ialysos
Electra Palace Hotel Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing