We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Nearly a 4 Star" not quite there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ialyssos Bay Hotel Suneo Club
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Ialyssos
Certificate of Excellence
Rhondda - south wales
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“"Nearly a 4 Star" not quite there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Myself and my husband stayed here for the 1st time from 12th - 19th September 2012, on checking in at 10 oclock we had missed last orders of evening meal but were given a green wrist band to indicate being allocated all inclusive usage on our last day, arrivals before 9.30 would have had a blue band. We could still have use of the bar until 11 oclock when all inclusive ends. As the previous review mentions unfortunately the drinks do let this otherwise lovely hotel down, obviously you don't get imported drinks only local but these did seem watered down and not very strong. The local beer is Mythos and in the hotel did not agree with my husbands stomach, outside of the hotel this beer was much better. Again as per previous review, we spoke to a few couples in our hotel and they all agreed that the drink was poor for all inclusive.

Apart from this, we were greeted by Martina on reception who was very accommodating and helpful, this hotel does employ fabulous staff, Maria also on receiption, sofia and Julia who run the restaurant, all the entertainment team who work hard trying us "tourists" to join in every activity. Brilliant kids club if you have young children, this ended by mid september but activities are there until end of September for adults.

Our Room was a sea view which we had requested and paid for in advance, Room 240 was a suite, plenty of room with a lovely big double bed. Very clean and double patio doors leading to a balcony, we had a sea view but there is a building right in front that does block out some of the scenery, plus the hotel needs to think avout cutting back some of the trees that are blocking full views of the beach and sea.

Food was of an international type which you should expect, we enjoyed it, chips thankfully were only on the menu twice when we were there, we were glad not to have english type food and much prefer to try foreign dishes. I would say the british are in the minority here, mostly polish, russian, dutch etc. Couldn't belive our eyes seeing foreigners pile up their plates and have all courses on their tables. Why would you do that, your food would be cold before you ate it.

Staff however have excellent language skills and there was never any problem.

The hotel is siutated close to the beach and is approx 80m as said in brochure, a path from the garden by the tennis courts takes you to the beach, the beach is not the best no sand very pebbly but the sea is lovely and warm and worth the hassle to take a dip. There are beds to hire from PATTY's CAFE BAR which is situated right to the left of the hotel, this is a fabulous chic bar owned by a lovely lady, quite a lot of the hotel guests hired these beds and would walk back and forth the hotel for their all inclusive drinks.

Pool area is clean and well maintainted, pool quite large with a separate childrens pool. Tip, beds that have sun all day until 6pm are near childrens pool and also near life guard. Plenty of beds and umbrellas but not all beds had sun mattresses and holiday makers would go around taking them off unused beds. Downside to get a good sun bed you would need to get up early and reserve with a towel. Hotel does not recommend this, but this is ignored.

Talking about the lifeguard, a plus point for the hotel, he is lovely is also vigilant and is employed from start of season until November 1st.

Hotel is located at end of a strip, dont be fooled Trianda is a large resort, by walking towards Rhodes from beach front of hotel there are plenty of bars, supermarkets and souvenior shops.
Be aware Gypsies with small children will patrol begging some nights, but just ignore this child exploitation.

I would also recommend that you jump on the train Bus hat runs outside of the hotel near beach front, it takes 50 mins for 5 Euro's but will give you a better look at the resort.

We made our own way for excursions by using local buses, bus stop is located on main road approx a 7-10 min walk from hotel, pharmacy on your left, bus stop across road near bakery, and bank, bench there to sit on. Journey by bus took 20 mins and costs 4,20 euros one way. Taxi will be 10 mins but will cost you 14 euro's one way,

We took a boat trip to Lindos which cost 20 euro per person, this is a 2.5 hour tripv each way with 3 hours in Lindos, a small half hour stop on the way back for a swim. This was a lovely trip and would do this again, Lindos is beautiful.

Rhodes old town is also another must.

On the whole the hotel is excellent, staff being their prize possession, the only downside in our opinion is the quality of drinks. We went out every night to other bars etc because of this.

Room Tip: Room 240 Sea view lovely and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Legend27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    329
    145
    41
    9
See reviews for
329
433
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Llandough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

On arrival we were met by very helpful staff and were quickly in our room.After unpacking we went to the bar to have a quick drink before retiring,and whilst we were served quickly,we were not happy with the quality of them.I thought they were weak,and this was later verified by other customers who were going to other hotels and bars for a drink in the evening,as they were stronger.Myself and my wife were happy with the food ,but it was much the same thing every day,
We have no complaint about the staff who were excellent the whole week,as were the entertainment staff who were bright and bubbly at all times.The room was up to expectations and my only complaint was that is was a little on the dark side,and could be better lit.The sheets were changed twice and the bathroom and towels were spotless.
The pool area was always clean and although the poolside food was restricted,it was good enough.As for the rest,it was as described in the brochure,ie.80yds from the beach,10mins drive to Rhodes.Despite being under the flight path,this posed no problem and did not interrupt our sleep at all.On our last day.we were thinking of paying for an extra day as we were not leaving until 19.30hrs but another couple said they were quoted 70euros ,so we did not bother to ask as we thought this was a ridiculous price to pay.
All in all it was an enjoyable holiday and we would go again,but try a bit harder with the food and alcohol.

Room Tip: From what I could see the bungalows were the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

I visited this hotel two weeks ago and can only say that the negative reviewers must be very picky. Don't be put off by them. I'm going back next year because I've travelled to lots of places but there's no-where come up to scratch like this place. The food is HOT and VARIED, the staff are friendly, rooms are immaculate. Who needs a mini bar in your apartment - get off your lazy bottom and get your drink from the bar to bring back to your room or buy some drink from the shop and keep it in your fridge. I'm sure the Hotel can't be responsible for the pebbles on the beach and as far as the sewage block, this is to stop everyone having to keep their soiled tissues in the bin as in Greece you're not suppose to flush toilet paper. Get a grip people!

The staff were superb, food superb, hotel immaculate and location fab.

See you next year guys!

Room Tip: We stayed in the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here, everyone is just so friendly and everything is just so close by. Thank you for a lovely weeks holiday here. Will be back soon. Amazing stay. The food was so nice there wasn't a problem about not having anything you don't like there it was a mixture. The pool was just lush.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie2184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Firstly ,i would like to agree with William H,concerning the food, on most days the only thing worth eating was the soup,also the sweet selection was very poor & repetitive . During the day ,sitting around the pool, reminded me of Hi De Hi !! ok if you like that sort of thing ! On arriving half an hour after the dining rooom had closed ,we found there was nowhere on the premises to eat. then going to our room expecting a mini-bar we found an empty fridge,not even a bottle of water or any tea making facilities which we have had in all other all inclusive hotels. Also on site there is a sewerage plant ,in the evening we could not sit on the balcony because of the smell . On the beach ,if the wind was blowing ,after you struggled over the pebbles the sea was so rough you could hardly get out ,definitly not suitable for chidren or weak swimmers! The area outside the hotel was very run down with lots of derelict buildings around. The only plus i could say about this hotel is that the staff are exellent and the animation team do their best to entertain . i would not return to this hotel under any circumstances.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

Hi, I stayed at this hotel for a week in August with my 14 year old son. Big bonus, it is the first hotel on the way from the airport, only a short drive from it. We arrived in the middle of the night and found the night porter quite accommodating. Despite having asked for 2 single beds, we were given a room with a double! And a terrible view of the road at the side of the hotel. Next morning I asked for a move to a room with 2 beds and got one, no problems, and we had a view of the pool which was way better.

The food in the hotel restaurant is OK, it is never served hot but lukewarm. However it has plenty to choose from. There was something to suit most tastes. A big disappointment was the food available poolside during the day. Woeful. However, the staff are nice and friendly and do their best.

The entertainment is a big let down - a couple of hours in the morning then a long break then a couple of hours in the afternoon. Not very good if you have kids. And in the evening you can't sunbathe!!! The pool shuts around 6pm and the sun can't penetrate into the hotel grounds after this as it is blocked by the other buildings around about. This to me was the worst thing about the hotel as I only like to sunbathe in the late evening sun. You could walk down to the little pebble beach to sunbathe but it is certainly not comfortable to lie on. And take proper dive shoes with you as you can't walk into the sea as the pebbles are really sore on your feet. There is very little in the way of evening entertainment and if you go downtown it's not much better. My 14 year old spent a lot of time being bored, so be warned..

I have asked my son to rate the hotel and he thought the food poolside was OK and the restaurant was bad, catering to the German guests too much! Plus he said the entertainment staff were great but there wasn't enough entertainment..

The little shop is great - bring your own beach towels otherwise you have to pay to use the hotel ones. Alternatively buy them in the little shop as it works out cheaper to buy them than to rent them. Plus the little shop has some nice souvenir items. And the girl who works there is lovely.

I went on the tour that takes you around the island, it was grand and good value for money though I was a bit annoyed at the fact that the bus kept stopping at 'designated' bars where there was very little to do. I would probably have hired a car if I hadn't been the only adult in my group (have you ever tried to persuade a 14 year old to go on a 'drive', doesn't happen, lol)

Oh and it's another one of those hotels where, despite all the signs saying not to do so or your towel will be removed after a certain amount of time, you will need to get up VERY EARLY to get a sun lounger near the pool. The towel brigade are our at the crack of dawn, securing loungers with their towels...Do what I did, have a nice lie in and resign yourself to a lounger in the garden.

On the whole I'd give the hotel 3 stars at the most. We paid almost £1400 for a week and I would never go again as it's boring in the evenings and you can't sunbathe.. The food was just OK, nothing near like you would get on a cruise. And the entertainment was poor. My advice is to pay a few pounds more and go on a cruise!!!!

Room Tip: Walk along the beach to the hotel next door, it looked lovely!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raffoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

We just returned from a week stay at this hotel and I would like to highlight a few unsatisfactory points. Elsewhere in Europe or in the country where we live this would have rated 2 star with plus all inclusive at best. The choice and quality of food was very poor, so bad in fact that we look to ate out almost every day. When I asked one of the employee if the food is like that every day he simply sarcastic leaf and kept walked out. The food was tasteless, over cooked, the choice and quality of food was very poor. Most of the items are moving very slow, you can see the same items every day, green beans are in fact brown, broccoli as well, minestrone soup is just dark soup with some pasta inside, at list they can name it as minestrone style but never minestrone soup and much, much more.
The restaurant reminded me of the old system factory canteen, with no setup on the tables with self service of the cutlers, thanks God we had people removing the dirty dishes from the tables, it is this 4 star hotel?
We had the second floor room and the maids use to came around 7 am in duty and chatting so loud on the corridor that we can hear the hole conversation. Below our balcony was another fantastic 4 stars view, it was the garbage containers where all the employees use to throw early in the morning bottles and other garbage staff making enough noise to be easily hear even the balcony door was closed.
Towels were broken and soap expired, floor carpet look old and over used.
Drinks were the poorest quality ever, including sodas spirits and wine. To reach the hotel from the main street you must walk about ¼ mile between abandoned houses with very low lights and lots of animals (mostly homeless cats) on the street. It looks scary enough if you’ll return after sunset.
Tv channels are limited, about 8 channels with only two in English BBC and Euronews, all the Hotels 4 stars around seen on this island have satellite connection with exemption of this Hotel of course. See the picture attached.
The only good thing that I would like to say it's that the hotel staff was very helpful and friendly.
I will never come back at this hotel even if i will pay half price.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asongofcolors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.1 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 32 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.3 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
26.9 mi away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
4.9 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
6.8 mi away
Doreta Beach Hotel
Doreta Beach Hotel
#8 of 9 in Tholos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ialyssos Bay Hotel Suneo Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ialyssos Bay Hotel Suneo Club

Property: Ialyssos Bay Hotel Suneo Club
Address: Ialyssos 851 01, Greece (Formerly Ialyssos Bay Hotel)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ialyssos
#2 Family Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ialyssos Bay Hotel Suneo Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Ialyssos Bay Hotel Suneo Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ialyssos Bay Hotel Ialyssos
Ialyssos Bay Ialysos
Ialyssos Bay Hotel Suneo Club Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing