We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, nice staff, food and drinks let it down!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ialyssos Bay Hotel Suneo Club
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Ialyssos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2012

I travelled with my partner in sept for 2 weeks. The transfer time was great and check in was quick and easy. The room was very spacious with a nice view of the sea but the trees could do with being cut back to improve the view. The noise from the airplanes did not cause any problems for us. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels changed regularly. We had a slight prob with our door not locking but this was rectified within 10 minutes of reporting the problem to reception.
The pool was a good size and we never struggled to get a sun lounger. The entertainment throughout the day was good but was pretty poor on the night time for an all inclusive hotel hence we had a walk every night to the local bars. We did stay in one night to watch the karaoke but it was pretty poor and after drinking vodka all night we felt no different at all - you would struggle to get drunk at this hotel! The beach is a 2 min walks from the hotel and is pebbly so water shoes are a must but the sea, once in is lovely and warm. The waves can tend to get powerful when there is a strong wind but it was great fun chasing the waves.
On the negative side the choice of food and drinks let this hotel down. The women who greet you at the dining hall are lovely and in our opinion breakfast was by far the better meal of the day. During the first week of our holiday the choice of food seemed to be ok but the choice is limited and very repetitive (we are not picky eaters at all). Both me and my partner both had sickness and diarrhoea but I am not blaming this on the food at all - I do think it was a bug which was going around the island which we unfortunately caught! However, after we had both been ill there was no food which appealed to us so we took the decision to eat out. Im not sure as the season is coming to an end that they perhaps did not put on the 'full' menu in the dining hall? .There are many lovely local restaurants and in particular Stefanos - the food was lovely and portion sizes massive! Again the drinks were not very enjoyable - the choice is again limited. I feel that the standard and choice of the food and drinks let this otherwise lovely hotel down. I would not discourage anyone to visit this hotel but I honestly don't know how it's rated number one hotel in ialyssos.
We have been to many all inclusives all over the world and this is no where near the worst we have stayed in but it is not the best either - a few improvements to the food and drink and this hotel could be fantastic. If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact me.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vic2ria88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

728 - 734 of 1,121 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

We have just returned from the Ialyssos Bay hotel yesterday(26th Sept)and feel we have to say how much we enjoyed our 2 weeks stay.From the manageress at the restaurant(both of them)the waiting staff,the bar staff,the animation team,chambermaids,everyone was so polite and courteous.Rooms were spotlessly clean and very spacious.No-one will go hungry as there is a decent enough choice to suit everyone's taste.Transfer time is excellent as it's only 15mins from the airport. A lot of planes pass overhead but it didn't bother us in the slightest. You can go on the "Noddy Train" for a trip around Ialyssos Town and Rhodes by bus is only about 20 mins away for the princely sum of 2.2 euros. A special mention must go to the animation team as they work so hard to try and get everyone involved in their activities and make it really fun.Overall it was a thoroughly enjoyable holiday and would have no hesitation to return to the Ialyssos Bay. One piece of constructive criticism we would like to make to the manager of the hotel is: if guests arrive late as we did about 11:00pm it would have been nice to have found a couple of bottles of water in the fridge in the room and maybe a sandwich or piece of fruit. Apart from that it was a very enjoyable holiday and our thanks go out to everyone involved.

Room Tip: We had a room with a garden view and it was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at the Ialyssos Bay hotel at the end of Aug, upon arrival we were told the restaurant was just about to close, but we culd still go and get something to eat, which we thought was a nice touch. We were put in ne of the bungalows which was spacious. The bathroom was clean and had a bath. The pool was clean and quite warm, and there are 2! The food was plentiful and varied. If you sit outside watch out for the cats!! They don't beg but watch you as you eat!!! The gin was vile though, I tried it twice to be sure!! The staff were friendly, the animation team were great, very entertaining, especially at night. They remembered my husbands name too!! It can be action packed or lazy this holiday. The sea is about a 2 min walk, it was quite rough and pebbly, but with a lovely breeze.Don't bother with the train ride, it was'nt very good, and certainly not worth the money!! Rhodes town is lovely, it did'nt cost much and the bus stop is at the top of the road. We went to Symi on a ferry, I last went about 16yrs ago, my how it has changed!! 16yrs ago there was nothing there, now it is full of restaurants and boutiquey shops- take penty of money if you go, it is beautiful to walk around and to see it on the approach. It was our first all-inclusive holiday, and I don't think it is for me, having said that the hotel was lovely and very deserving of it's trip advisor award which sits on the reception desk.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jayne67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Transfer time was excellent; only 15 minutes from the airport.

From arrival to checkout we were meet by extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating staff that we would agree with other reviews on this site are definitely the hotels prized asset. We especially loved the restaurant hostesses who always took the time to get to know the guests and have a little engaging chat with everyone, in every language.

The food in the restaurant was fantastic. It was authentic Greek cuisine, which is rare from an all inclusive that usually serve nondescript western food. There was always choice and something for all tastes, even if you could not find something that you liked the hostesses were more than happy to attempt to offer an alternative for the chefs to cook there and then. We could not disagree more with some of the comments on here suggesting that the food was boring or inadequate in any way.

On the hotels downsides we would agree that the layout of the pool in correlation to the hotel buildings is rather poorly thought out. The main pool was in shadow by 5pm and only the little kids pool had sun up to 6pm.

The local beer was really smooth and light. It was the only thing that we could bear to drink for the whole holiday so we were lucky that we enjoyed it. The spirits taste like flavoured pure ethanol. If the hotel wanted one tip on how to improve the experience it would be to improve their selection and quality of its free drinks.

We stayed in one of the bungalow rooms that had a king sized bed, sitting area section with corner sofa (ideal for lazy siestas), clean and modern bathroom and big balcony that was not overlooked. The room, along with the entire hotel, was kept extremely clean and tidy which is a great credit to the maids and cleaners.

We really enjoyed our holiday at this hotel and owing to the attentive staff and the great food we would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Bungalow that we stayed in was spacious, clean and the balcony was not overlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Was ok hotel out of season but would not want to be there in school holidays. Only 1 pool not 2 as in brochure. Food not great, beef as tough as shoes and pork every day, although was always hot. Soup ok and sweets repetative. One bar open at a time and last one closes at 10.45pm.sharp, thought I was on holiday! Staff really try hard. I always go all inclusive and I would definately say this was not good, would not return. People we met made the holiday but for them the holiday would have been awful.

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow, they are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliehamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I'm all for criticism especially if its warranted, but no matter how many reviews I read, all the negative ones just don't seem to stick up to the holiday I've just been on.
Some people live in cloud coo-coo land!! There is no such thing as a perfect hotel, in the perfect location, with perfect everything all week, it doesn't exist at home (wherever you live) so why do people expect it on holiday? Outside the hotel is nothing to do with the hotel, if you were promised a beach holiday, sue the travel company, not the hotel. If you don't like foreign food or the way its cooked, don't go abroad!! Rant over, here's the POSITIVE review:

FOOD
Great!! I'm a fussy eater, very picky but I ate every day, all day. Each hotel has its own agenda and schedule for times so why do people think its like at home so you can get food whenever it suits them?? The quality wasn't 5* standard (the clue is when you book a 3/4* hotel, duh) but it was nice and importantly not UNDERCOOKED so therefore edible, not one person I spoke to had an upset tummy due to poor food.

ROOM
We had a bungalow which was roomy, spotless and lovely. The thing about the cleaners, its a big hotel they have to start somewhere in someone's room (so why not yours) and they were fully booked. People would soon complain that they weren't cleaned or quickly enough.

POOL
Great temperature for a decent sized pool, yes its cold to the touch when you first jump in but every pool is like that no matter where you go and you soon warm up. But it was maintained excellently, no mess, no bits in the pool, cleaned every night and a fulltime lifeguard on duty. The loungers were cleaned at night although its a tight fit round the pool its cosy and you can still walk about without falling in!!

STAFF
The receptionists were really nice and helpful, the nice ladies who do the restaurant service were amazing, they even offered to cook something for me if I wasn't happy with the choice (I cant have cheese and some stuff had it on), I mean THATS service!! Always a nice greeting with a smile. Never saw the cleaners and the waitresses were efficient even when busy. The bar staff were nice even when people were queue jumping.

ENTERTAINMENT
When I go away I want to relax and have a good time, I've been let down by other hotels in the past, not this time!! They were great!! They started early, yes had a long lunch but they then did all afternoon and evening (after tea). Would you work from 10am-10pm without a break? thought not!! Some of the activities are cheesy/dated but that's what made them fun and you either wanted to take part or you didn't, no-one put a gun to your head. Thomas is great, a great character who lives to entertain people. His attitude is infectious, very happy and bubbly even if he is a lousy volleyball player. He speaks enough languages to keep everyone happy, adding French to his skills whilst we were there. Desmond is quite literally a legend. His laid back happy Jamaican attitude helps you feel at ease and encourages everyone to take part and interact with each other. The 2 girls are amazing at what they do, obviously didn't see much of the kids club but the DJ/Fitness (Karolina) was ace, got the music right for the pool area, never too loud either.
The night time activities were worth the wait and very funny (note audience participation is necessary).

Would definitely love to go again when I've got the money and overall I recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to have a good time. The pebble beach is ok to go to at sunset, not an all day thing (but doesn't belong to the hotel). Rodos/ Rhodes town is a must and the locals are very friendly. The bus service is like the tube in London, very cramped but frequent and so you can always get a taxi if you don't like busses.

Mike (Tyson) and Laura

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow or renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank goss6564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We arrived in the end of july in the night so we get green bracelets for the evening mail on our last day. We stay for three weeks. First night we stayed in de basement( with nice compensation) and the second day we get our lovely room with sea side view.
The room is very nice and clean.

The hotel is amazing, specially the staff, they are so friendly! special thanks for Julia and Sophia from the restaurant,Ella the roommaid, the poolbar bartender, the evening bartender, Thomas, Desmond and Carolina from the Animation team. The shows in the evening are verry funny and they do what they can with the things they have. In the day are there very nice activities like waterpolo, aquagym and darts.

The food in the restaurant is great! it is verry typical Greek. Especially the Greek evening is very nice. It's nice to see that products are recycled. To avoid nagging can make the best fries are served every day. Then the cook does not anything else to make for people complaining.
It really is the best food we ever have had a 4 star hotel. And we're always in Greece to a 4 star hotel. There is plenty of choice of products, however I would not recommend the hotel during one meal and salmon, duck and lamb serve. These are fairly specific tastes and it is likely that many people do not like. The desserts are very tasty and it's fun to see how creative the cook is.There is also plenty of choice in the snack bar

It is unfortunate that there is no outdoor bar near the evening animation and the all inclusive stops at 11pm. Sometimes it tastes drinks in the restaurant to chlorine.

We rented a car from Nikos at the hotel, which is very reliable and Nikos is a nice man. The island is not very big but fun to drive around.

The beach at the hotel consists of pebbles, but you know when you book the hotel.

We don`t understand the negative comments because we have a verry nice holiday, and we stay three weeks!

In the last week there were some Dutch people, but mostly English and Polish.

We would still go back to this hotel? Rhodes island we have really seen, but this hotel has so `s impression on us that we are definitely coming back for a relaxing holiday. We look forward to that

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiefSuusje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.1 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 32 in Ialyssos
1,715 reviews
0.3 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
5.9 mi away
Sun Palace Hotel
Sun Palace Hotel
#9 of 70 in Faliraki
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Blue Sea Beach Resort
Blue Sea Beach Resort
#6 of 70 in Faliraki
952 reviews
2.9 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,938 reviews
2.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ialyssos Bay Hotel Suneo Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ialyssos Bay Hotel Suneo Club

Address: Ialyssos Bay, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece (Formerly Ialyssos Bay Hotel)
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ialyssos
#2 Family Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range: £78 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ialyssos Bay Hotel Suneo Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Ialyssos Bay Hotel Suneo Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ialyssos Bay Hotel Ialyssos
Ialyssos Bay Ialysos
Ialyssos Bay Hotel Suneo Club Rhodes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing