We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,087)
Filter reviews
2,087 results
Traveller rating
893
648
335
125
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
893
648
335
125
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi bath private pool alazonia restaurant rhodes town pool bar sea view deluxe room main restaurant old town bar staff relaxing holiday plenty of sunbeds a la carte restaurants buffet restaurant bottle of water lunch and dinner plenty of choice
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
772 - 777 of 2,087 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2015

Travelled as a young couple and stayed All Inclusive for 10 nights.
We arrived very late in the evening at The Ixian Grand and first impressions were very good, open plan reception area with lovely decor and friendly staff on reception. Check in was straightforward; we just had to give our passports and a porter swiftly showed us to our room. We were not offered a welcome drink on arrival, but I think this was due to the bar staff being very busy serving drinks after the dinner service.

The room was lovely, very modern and clean with a comfortable bed! Shortly after, a member of staff came to our room with some sandwiches as we'd missed the dinner service, which was much appreciated.
We had booked and paid for a deluxe sea view room but unfortunately had been given a garden view with no sight of the sea whatsoever. The next morning we discussed this with Reception and we were eventually moved to a deluxe sea view room with a Jacuzzi bath overlooking the sea, which was lovely.

The food in the main All Inclusive restaurant was fantastic with a lot of choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner. It would have been nice to see more fresh fruit options at breakfast such as melon and pineapple, rather than tinned and dried fruit however. Also on a lot of days I often thought the lunch buffet was actually better than dinner!

I'd say the service in the restaurant was varied on each occasion, the Maître D' and Restaurant manager were always very friendly and welcoming, however the waiting staff were sometimes a little inexperienced, probably due to the fact it was early on in the season, (one waiter actually cleared our plates and table even though we had not finished eating) and it was clear to see they were all very rushed off their feet trying to serve everyone, especially as it got busier, and sometimes we were sitting at our table for quite a while before anyone came up to offer us tea or coffee/ water and a drink.

There is the main bar situated in the lobby, and the pool bar. All the staff serving in the daytime at both bars were very polite, friendly and happy to serve you, especially Petros and Maria in the lobby bar who were so nice! The pool bar wasn't open in the evening for the majority of our stay due to the weather being a little unpredictable in early May, and it was actually pretty cold and windy, so all guests seem to migrate to the lobby bar. It was a very busy bar, and it often took a long time to get a drink, and when you did eventually get a drink there was no where to sit! There is a lot of seating in the reception area, but not enough for all guests, especially when the weather in the evening isn't that pleasant yet so no one wants to sit outside. There was also one bartender in particular for whatever unknown reason was extremely rude to us every night, literally ignoring us and serving other people before us, (we didn’t get his name) and after a while we didn't bother drinking there, which was a real shame.

The location of the hotel is perfect if you want something quiet and out of the way, there isn't much going on in the surrounding area, just a small village with a few shops, a supermarket and a few restaurants. Rhodes Town is about a 10-minute taxi ride away, which costs 10 euro each way. There is also a bus but we didn't use it. The hotel is situated right on the beach with some lovely views, the sea is very clear but the whole beach is just stones and pebbles so not ideal to walk on bare foot.

The gardens and the pool area were immaculate, and it was clear to see the gardeners took real pride in their job. The sun beds seemed to be in plentiful supply, especially at the start of our holiday while the hotel was still quite quiet; we were always able to get a great sun bed on the grass over looking the beach, which had a lovely breeze. There were a few guests getting up very early to reserve sunbeds however, which is irritating especially when they don't actually sit down on them for hours.

Things we felt needed improvement:

-There was no tea and coffee facilities in the room, which was very surprising considering it's meant to be a 5* Hotel.
-The shower in the rooms are really powerful with a 'waterfall' feature, however the design is very poor, there is no door and only a wall of glass not even covering half of it so the water literally leaks everywhere all over the floor which is not ideal.
-The service in and around the hotel is a little hit and miss as explained above in the restaurant and lobby bar, so I feel those areas need attention.
-My boyfriend and I felt a little ‘looked down on’ by some members of staff, perhaps because we are in our mid- twenties and younger than most of the guests.
-Wifi was actually ok, just quite unpredictable, but I always managed to connect to it from all areas of the hotel, including our room but the signal did drop quite a lot.

I would like to say that we did enjoy our holiday, it was relaxing, peaceful and the sun was shining for most it! However the negatives I've mentioned above did let it down for us, especially because we were expecting 5*, and for that reason I don't think we would return.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Liz0417
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 June 2015

We have just returned from our stay at the Ixian Grand. Overall the hotel was well designed, clean and with a lovely pool and beach area.

We went all inclusive for one week and on arrival we were impressed with the design of the hotel. Our room was not ready on arrival so we had lunch and a drink. We then collected the keys and went up to our room which was impressive. We were on the third floor with a sea view room with jacuzzi bath on the balcony. I would definitely recommend paying extra for a sea view room.

A good thing about this hotel was that there was not a mad morning rush to get a sunbed. There always seemed to be some available. Also many of the cocktails were included in the all inclusive and they were really nice. During our stay the staff also went to a lot of effort to put on a Greek night outside which was really nice.

Now for the negatives. On arrival I was one of about four couples waiting to check in. A waitress came over with cocktails and offered everyone else one except us. She walked away with full glasses. This service seemed to continue throughout our stay.

I was constantly overlooked when waiting at the bar. The barmen would make eye contact with me but still went on to serve the next person who had just arrived at the bar. Also there were not many seats in the outside bar area - just a small balcony area so many people had to sit inside.

At meal times we were quite often forgotten about and not offered drinks. On one occasion at breakfast we had to ask for a coffee only for them to bring the flask over - watch us pour a cup and then took it away from us. Everyone else seemed to be left the flask.

The food overall was nice. Although like many all inclusive holidays became quite repetitive. The food was replaced regularly but a downside was that it never seemed that hot. We also had the a la carte. Whilst my partner enjoyed it there were many courses I was not able to eat and there were no alternatives available.

There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms and it not possible to get a drink before 10.00am. So the only place to get a tea or coffee is at breakfast. So if you have an early breakfast it is a bit of a wait before you can get a drink again.

The area around outside of the hotel is quite run down and there is not a lot in the immediate vicinity. We hired a car for 3 days so we could easily get out and about. A lot of people seemed to be doing this.

I personally feel that this hotel should be Adults Only. There were not many children when we were there and for us it was not a problem at all. I just think that the design of the hotel and the lack of facilities for children would suit adults only better.

Overall this was a nice hotel. However for me it lacked the personal touches and did not deliver us exceptional customer service.

Room tip: Book a room with a sea view
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete-Rhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENTIDO_Ixian_Grand, General Manager at The Ixian Grand Adults Only Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

Dear guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our SENTIDO Ixian Grand for your stay in Rhodes Island. Furthermore, we appreciate the fact that you have spent time to review the hotel on Trip Advisor. We are really thankful for your kind words and that you have enjoyed your stay.
All the points mentioned in the review worth improvement, will be taken under serious consideration.
Looking forward to welcome you back and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2015

booded for my family, they were totally satisfar, have evrything in hotel, and the room is big and nice. nice location, not to in center but not far, you can go everywhere with renting a car. the food is tasty also.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Xing J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENTIDO_Ixian_Grand, General Manager at The Ixian Grand Adults Only Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property online. Your opinion is really valuable for us. Following your comments, we would like to thank you for the good rating and the flattering words.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our SENTIDO Ixian Grand and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2015

Don't be fooled by the "Grand" title and appearance of this hotel as it is most definitely not the 5 star it reputes to be.
We visited this Hotel from the 9th -24th May and our initial impressions were good.
However, after a few days when the number of guests increased the quality of both the service and cuisine took a significant nose dive.
The Hotel is a great looking property which I believe has been refurbished in recent years but it is situated a good distance outside of Rhodes Town (definitely not walking distance as it took 2 hours for us to get into town on foot) and in my opinion is not in the greatest of areas. You could get a taxi into Rhodes Town which cost €10 each way and it is definitely worth a visit but not somewhere that you would necessarily want to go to every day. All that aside we still had a great holiday despite the Thomas Cook Rep's best attempts to mess it up for us.
The bits we loved were the large spacious room and the Beach Front location. Being able to get a Sunbed on the Beach Front or even take them down onto the Beach was definitely a bonus and enabled us to relax during the day to the sound of the waves rolling up on the beach. You do have to be careful as we noticed that the Hotel Pool and sunbeds were being used by locals on a daily basis and very little was being done to Police this and so we weren’t particularly comfortable about leaving our stuff lying around while we went in for a dip.
Sadly, the attention to detail in this hotel in relation to quality and service fell slightly short of the 4 star or even 5 Star that some holiday companies have suggested this Hotel should be.
The Maid Service in the room was not the greatest as all the Maid seemed to do was replace the towels and make the bed. The Pigeons obviously used our balcony more than we did which meant that at times it was out of bounds for us unless we wanted to clean the mess they left behind. It took the Maid several days to clean the Balcony once which is not really acceptable.
Some of the rooms have an electronic "Do Not Disturb" system which by flicking a switch shows a light outside your room indicating that you don’t want a Maid to call or another where you could request Maid service. Unfortunately, the Maids either ignored this or didn’t seem to understand their own system as regardless of whether the "Do Not Disturb" was on they still cleaned the room on a daily basis. Not a huge issue but I would advise making sure that all your valuables are locked away.
We also found that the Hot water and water pressure during peak hours before dinner was sometimes lacking. A quick call down to Reception seemed to resolve this but you still had to wait a good 10-15 minutes before it would get back up to speed.
There is a small fridge in every room and a daily supply of water (1 litre) which is great and although, we weren’t bothered about the in room facilities it should be noted that a number of people weren’t happy about the lack of tea & coffee making facilities and the Television was distinctly lacking in British content.
The restaurant wasn’t the greatest and many people we spoke to were not impressed by the food or service. Drinks are limited in the restaurant to locally produced wine (not the greatest), Beer or Soft drinks. You could not have Coffee after dinner in the restaurant as they didn’t serve this so you would have to go to the bar.
The food when we got there was superb but again as more guests arrived and so more heads to cater for throughout our stay, the food became very tasteless. We were advised of a little Restaurant just down the road called Phillips Bar which a lot of the All Inclusive Guests were going to and this was a great place to go to get some decent food. We did try the De Gu A la Carte restaurant on site at the Ixian Grand but even that wasn’t brilliant and most of the food was cold.
The All Inclusive guests are issued with Cardboard cards meaning that you still have to carry it around with you as you do get asked to present it from time to time for both drinks or to enter the restaurant. Even then you still have to sign for drinks occasionally which they advise is for auditing purposes. Wrist Bands would be so much better to save having to carry a card around with you.
You may have noticed that a number of Holiday Companies advertise this Hotel as having a Spa which was one of the reasons why we chose this Hotel. However, when we asked at Reception we were advised that it wasn’t open until June and that it wasn’t really a Spa as they could only do massages so the term Spa is a bit misleading. We could have had a massage in our room but that wasn’t really what we were hoping for.
The Hotel was also advertised as having both day and evening entertainment. This was non-existent for the first week but week 2 saw this starting up. However, all we witnessed during the day was one Water Aerobics session and in the evening they had a singer/pianist in the De Gu A la Carte restaurant (the same one every day doing exactly the same set, BADLY). The other was at the Pool Bar in the evening and he was there a couple of nights and similarly as bad.
The main Bar is in the Hotel Foyet and doesn’t really have enough seats for all the guests. We decided very quickly that we would just go back to our room after dinner as there was nothing else to do in the evenings.
Again, even with all of the niggles we had at the Hotel we still had a great holiday and due to the above we were forced to relax which is what we desperately needed. If you do decide to visit this Hotel then I would suggest that 2 weeks is probably too long as most people were ready to go home after 7 to 10 days.
Just as an aside and not related to the Hotel, please be careful with the trips you book especially through Thomas Cook. We spent around £200 on 3 trips only to find that all of them were missold and definitely not worth the money. It is only a small island and so if you are comfortable with driving abroad I would suggest that hiring a car would be your better option and probably save a lot of money and disappointment.

Room tip: Be careful if you elect to go for a room with it's own pool. When we walked around the Hotel we found that aside from 5 suites on the sea front most of these were in the middle of the grounds with no views at all.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Grant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 June 2015

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from 9th May to 20th May for our Silver Wedding, first impressions when we walked in after midnight was Wow, we were shown to our room in the main hotel on the 3rd floor and the room was quite spacious with a massive bed, the view from our balcony was over the central part of the Hotel and overlooking an ornamental pool that was nicely lit up at night, however we were a little disappointed as we had requested a pool & sea-view as it was our 25th wedding anniversary, our travel Councillor had also emailed the hotel 2 or 3 times to request this based on it being a special anniversary, there was also no recognition from the hotel with complimentary champagne etc, we did get some dried up sandwiches and 4 pieces of fruit because of our late arrival. The 1st morning we were waiting in reception with 2 other couples who had arrived on our flight with us for the welcome meeting which was not indicated where to meet only to find that it had started without us, what can I say about the Thomas Cook rep, Not allot Really, she was pleasant only in the job 2 weeks and did not know much about the surrounding area, unable to tell us about the buses or where we could catch them, I found that out myself no mention about supermarkets etc or local bars, subsequently we did not use the rep service, in her defense though it was not her fault and we place the blame for that solely at the feet of Thomas cook for not having someone shadow her for a introduction period (Holiday makers who had been there for a week plus knew as much if not more) The food in the restaurant was good but not what I would have expected in a 5 star, based on a previous stay in A Rui and Thomson Gold Atlantica hotel which you never got tired of, whereas after a week of All inclusive we had had enough and ate out for a couple of nights to break the monotony of same old same old. There was a lovely night in the Al a carte with a 7 course meal to be complimented by some really nice wines and a lovely setting, till after 15 - 20 minutes a family came in with young ones and the little girl was squawking away, not totally the hotels fault but we felt that this type of evening should have been restricted to adults or say 12 years and older, why would anyone take under 6 year olds to savor the tastes of Quail, squid, baby octopus and alike. They had grand parents with them so turns could have been taken to give each couple a break from children for 1 night not to mention other adults that were there to enjoy the delights of excellent food in this Al a Carte. The hotel lacked entertainment on the nights, however as a result, we met and chatted with some lovely people, and I know that in the main holiday hotel entertainment is not very good and tacky apart from when we have been to Thomson gold hotels and the entertainment has always been superb, also 3 years ago in Zante at a 3 star hotel we had good entertainment and equally as good food. All this said and done we had a lovely relaxing holiday and will go back to Rhodes at some stage in the future, This hotel is a good choice though to explore the Ixus area with easy access into Rhodes town which is a must by day and night.

Room tip: Wi fi only available in reception
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank andinann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SENTIDO_Ixian_Grand, General Manager at The Ixian Grand Adults Only Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2015

Dear guests,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our SENTIDO Ixian Grand for your stay in Rhodes Island.
Furthermore, we appreciate the fact that you have spent time to review the hotel on Trip Advisor.
We are really thankful for your kind words and that you have enjoyed your stay. All the points mentioned in the review worth improvement, will be taken under serious consideration.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews