We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm a bit disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Ialyssos
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

I've been on this holiday, and have to say I was a bit disappointed. It is excellently located, right to the beach and all that, BUT. it says that the hotel that has wifi network that works fine. What it doesn't stand is that you have to pay lots of money for wifi network. it works also very poor in the rooms, you have to be at the front desk.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andybaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (892)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 892 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

This is my 8th visit to Sun Beach and I shall certainly return, again. The resort is close to shops, restaurants, airport and most importantly the beach. If you are lucky enough to get a sea facing room you will be rewarded with a magnificent view. The resort aggressively sells time share to new visitors and will always show you the best sea facing rooms in an attempt to secure your hard earned money. But once you return as a time share visitor you will not be guaranteed the room you want. In eight visits I have only been lucky enough to get a beach front apartment once. The hotel is very busy during June, July and August which places a lot of pressure on the staff who always try their best. The rooms are average by hotel standards but I have never had anything bad to really complain about. As I said at the beginning of this review, I shall probably return again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Basspro-Namibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We are extremely satisfied with services provided by the hotel!We spent 11 days there and very day was special!The hotel is 4 star but the service is real 5 star.We are a married couple and we enjoyed our stay a lot!We liked the location, very close to the airport, very cheap to get there,also very close to the city of Rhodes,only 15 min.by bus.The staff is very friendly, they greet you every time they see you, everybody is welcoming and nice.The reception staff used to help us in any situation!Spiros in the bar makes nice cocktails!My husband started windsurfing course at the windsurfing station just in front of the hotel on the beach.So if you would like to start doing windsurfing Sun Beach Resort is an ideal place!
Dorianna Tumanskaya

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are quieter than the rooms facing the pool.Also bring a small fumigator to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dorianna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a nice Hotel and close to the airport. It's not that close to Rhodes town, but then, it's cheaper than places like Ixia , although you may find yourself spending more money of food and travel. A large complex so it's quite difficult to write a comprehensive review.
My experience was goo, picked because of price . I've travelled to Rhodes Approx 25 time and know what to expect and this hotel was as expected. Rooms are clean but quite small. Rhodes is hot so you may want to pat for air-con.
Pool is a nice size and the town is close by with shops, bars, restaurants etc.
Hotel is close to the beach but not a stones throw.
It,s a safe place for kids and has a football court and playground for young children.
There are buses into Rhodes town which are fairly in-expensive.
I would recommend fully inclusive in Ixia if you do have a bit more cash, you'll save in the long run, especially if you have kids. I'm not sure if you can get a view of the see from this hotel, I didn't, it's quite a built up area.
All together I had a pleasant stay and I cant really see any reasons to fault it.
I would say if it's your first trip to Rhodes you may miss out on getting a real feel for the island here , you maybe better being closer to Rhodes town, or If your young and looking for night life then Falaraki is a better choice. I stayed here on a family Holiday and was very happy and relaxed. Nice friendly staff as expected on Rhodes and good all round service.
Tips...
Get a cab from the airport , they are easy to jump into and cheap.
Take high factor sun cream - Rhodes is very, very hot - even in May and Sept.
Get a plug in repellent they work great , also buy it in Rhodes, the locals know what works !
If you don't like the room ask to be moved - the Greeks seldom have a problem.
Go out to eat - Restaurants are great value and the food is great !
By the local Beer, it's very nice and allot cheaper.
Try to spent a couple of days in Rhodes town and the Castle, it's absolutely out of this world.
Go for a night out in Bar Street (Orfanidu St) Great fun ! 18 - 40????
Watch the roads, they drive quick and don't like stopping !
If you want food at the airport take it with you - trust me
Make sure you are insured in any transport you hire !
Do not pick up little gifts left on tables in bars etc, this is'nt a problem but you will end up buying rubbish.

Hope this was helpful :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Richard_Woking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

enjoyed our stay at Sun Beach- appartment was spacious and well equipped, it was claeaned everyday. All staff friendly and helpful- look out for Gina in the ialyssos bar
plenty of places to eat in and around the complex- didnt have a bad meal all week-
plenty to see around the island- Rhodes town and Lindos are a must see.

Room Tip: high floor over looking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Family of 4 from Norway (kids 7 and 10) stayed at the hotel one week early in June 2013. We had no expectations to the hotel, but was really positively surprised. Nice, clean and friendly hotel with a lovely atmosphere. Especially the international Animation team was really great and both the kids and we enjoyed all the activites they arranged during daytime. In the evenings they arranged Mini Disco and wonderful Shows. The team of young people from different countries in Europe where really professional and did a fantastic job. They spread a very friendly atmosphere at the hotel and they were really good with the children. Bravo!!!
The hotel is situated just between the City Centre of Rhodos and the Airport. Approx 10-12 minutes by taxi, both ways and costs approx 15 Euro. A trip to the Old City is a "must".
There are several restaurants within walking distance. We will suggest a meal at the Greekland. Great food, low price!! We never go back to the the same hotel twice, however, we will choose an hotel with a similar Animation Team next time!

Room Tip: Choose an appartment at with sea vieu in order to stay at the Helios (Sun Beach 1).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

this hotel could be excellent if you are lucky and awful if u are not:if u manage to get rooms in 1st line building - my congrats! you will have excellent sea view, access to the beach, renovated rooms. If not - u will stay closer to the main restaurant but 6 min far from the beach in the rooms where you could easily find hair on your bed.
The food is excellent but please mind what you are taking - once i have also found hair in the food.
All other things were pleasant enought to make me forget about slight probs BUT - i was lucky to have sea view. and u?)

Room Tip: pay extras to get better rooms on the first line
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nushkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.3 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 32 in Ialyssos
1,720 reviews
4.7 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
0.5 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#12 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,244 reviews
2.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,939 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#8 of 32 in Ialyssos
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Beach Resort Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Beach Resort Complex

Address: Ialyssos Beach | PO Box 272, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ialyssos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ialyssos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ialyssos
#3 Family Hotel in Ialyssos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range: £51 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Beach Resort Complex 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun beach resort complex is a magnificent 4* hotel located in a prominent position on the beach of Ialyssos, just 8 km away from Rhodes. The resort represents a fun and relaxing holiday environment with an impressive range of accommodation, fine cuisine & bars, leisure & sports facilities, good entertainment for all age groups and a high standard of warm and personal service. The property is suitable for people with walking difficulties & wheelchair users. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Stayforlong S.L., LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Beach Resort Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Beach Resort Complex Hotel Ialyssos
Sun Beach Hotel Complex
Sun Beach Ialysos
Sun Beach Hotel Rhodes
Sun Beach Resort Complex Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing