We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISAPPOINTING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Ialyssos
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTING”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Booked this holiday through a "Luxury Escape" website and was extremely disappointed. Nothing about the hotel was luxurious. The rooms were small and not very well appointed. They were badly in need of a makeover and the bathroom was tiny.Food in the restaurant was average and was more like a canteen than fine dining. Room was too warm at night and when we said at reception that the AC did not appear to be working we were told that the AC was switched off on 01st October!! Beach towels could be HIRED at a cost of 2 euros each per day - outrageous. The resort was OK although there was not much to do. We hired a car for 3 days and that let us see more of the island. Rhodos Old Town was charming and well worth a visit, as was Lindos, which has an excellent beach and beautiful narrow streets to wander and enjoy. Would not return to this hotel and would not recommend it to anyone else either.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bgang2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    299
    111
    34
    18
See reviews for
408
193
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I didn't stay in the hotel but stayed in the time share apartments, but we used all the facilities of the Sun Beach complex, the rooms were spotless and the grounds are well maintained, since my last visit the site has had a makeover, my son and daughter and their partners are going in July 2014, We also used the Sun Beach 2 for the entertainment at night and the animators were really good, shops and bars on the door step, perfect place to be :)

Room Tip: one with a sea view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashdod, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel that didn't have ocean view, but the sea is just 2 min walk. Also know, this side of the island is the one with waves (good for surfers, not that much for the average swimmer).

Transport - If you are travelling without a car - this area (Yalyssos) could be a problem for you. Making the way from and to the bug station is at least 10 min one way and there you need to wait another 10-15 min sometimes. The buses go until ~21:30. Check for parking before you book, because street parking isn't always available.

Dining - notice that they have a dress code for men for dinners - you must have long pants. Even elegant short pant won't work (which is ridiculous, because you can go to dinner with sweatpants). The food is very diverse. We had a different set of (good) food each day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Even out of peak season, it was clear this is a package destination hotel, and if that's what you're after then you'll be delighted with the experience. We stayed 7 nights and our room was wonderfully clean on arrival and spruced to perfection each day. The fruit 'basket' (plate) on arrival was lovely but the complementary wine was pretty rank!

As a young couple, here are a few things we look for in a holiday and how Sun Beach delivered:

Service: Spot on. Staff were lovely and helpful. Everyone was good humoured. No complaints.

Amenities: Excellent. We went to Rhodes town on foot, by bus and by hireed bikes on different days, we hired a car from the hotel (very reasonable rates), there are supermarkets with *everything* lining the strip so you'll never be without any essential (or non-essential!) item.
.
WiFi - expensive but free almost everywhere else (bars and restuarants), don't bother with it in the hotel unless it's an emergency.

Local culture - low. Seafront strip lined with sports bars and 'watch X Factor live here' signs (though by no means the worst Anglicisation I've seen!). It's a tourist area through and through. Rhodes itself has its heritage of course, but it took hiring a car and driving some way before we say signs of 'real' Greek life.

Sun: Wonderful. Climate so lovely even in late September. Own balcony gave us somewhere to sit in private and pool / beach were nice, but I was surprised to be charged 3 Euro per sun lounger on the hotel's own beach. Perhaps this is common practice? It's a stony beach too, but the sea was clean and much warmer than the pool!

Food: Our first experience of half board buffet-style dining, so this is probably the case everywhere but after 8am there was a queue to be seated for breakfast and you sometimes had to wait for clean bowls and plates. The food was plentiful, good quality and very varied, but in the evening some of the more interesting-looking puddings had been cleared out by 8:30pm. Not the place for romance - being frequently up and down for food, people bumping past your table, and occasional baby squeals gave the dining experience more of a communal feel than an intimate one.

Reputation: Great; clearly a well-known place as any local bar, coach driver or tour operator knew of 'Sun Beach', making for ease of communication and confidence in all of our transfers and billing.

Overall, we were perfectly happy with where we stayed, but probably would find somewhere a little smaller and quieter and further off the beaten track next time.

Room Tip: We could hear the 'animations' in the evening from our room on the other side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ZoeOfShalott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I don't usually write reviews, this hotel does it right. I must admit I usually moan about lots of things but this time nothing major at all, just the rule about long trousers at dinner was not adhered to by hotel and the reserving of sun beds before 9am rule again note adhered apart from the very stoney beach and as others have said you need special shoes to get into sea lovely breeze though so van get brill tan. Food acceptable, drinks slightly pricey though. The staff are all very friendly as are the animation team with whom we had chats with every day. Great hotel for couples or families. Special mention for Dieka? in the restaurant she was wonderful and Spiros in the pool bar. Would recommend this hotel. We flew Ryanair for the first time also could not fault them on time etc and more leg room than I have had on any flight.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I stayed at Sun Beach II which all rooms have ocean view. It is about 20 mins away from the Rhodes Town Center. The area is well developed for tourists. It is also a good location for windsurfing and there are several windsurfing rental shops near by. There are frequent public bus running but it is a 10-15 mins walk from the hotel to the bus stop. Otherwise plenty car rental places in the area. The hotel has several swimming pools, particularly for kids but the beach is too choppy for swimming.

Room Tip: The upper floor rooms would have even better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We had two weeks there - it had all we needed apart from free WIFI (it has it, but very expensive). Clean appartment, daily cleaning and everything worked. Close to more restaurants than you can manage in two weeks! No roads to cross from our room to the beach (stones, take something for your feet for swimming !). Rooms all face the sea, so away from the sun and the road that goes past the front of the hotel (but it's a cul-de-sac, so never too busy). Very hard beds though!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.3 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,471 reviews
0.5 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,606 reviews
1.9 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
2.0 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Beach Resort Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Beach Resort Complex

Property: Sun Beach Resort Complex
Address: Ialyssos Beach | PO Box 272, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ialyssos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ialyssos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ialyssos
#3 Family Hotel in Ialyssos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Beach Resort Complex 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun beach resort complex is a magnificent 4* hotel located in a prominent position on the beach of Ialyssos, just 8 km away from Rhodes. The resort represents a fun and relaxing holiday environment with an impressive range of accommodation, fine cuisine & bars, leisure & sports facilities, good entertainment for all age groups and a high standard of warm and personal service. The property is suitable for people with walking difficulties & wheelchair users. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sun Beach Resort Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Beach Resort Complex Hotel Ialyssos
Sun Beach Hotel Complex
Sun Beach Ialysos
Sun Beach Hotel Rhodes
Sun Beach Resort Complex Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing