We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Ialyssos
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Vacation”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We've reached the hotel from israel for a long weekend half-board for a family vacation - couple with two children. The receptionists were nice and most welcoming, waiters are polite and kind, and the food is delicious and plentiful. We stayed in a standard family room which had two rooms and was very nice and clean. We've also rented a car at the hotel after a survey at other places and the price was fair and the service is good.
Excellent for families with small children there is a playground, lawns ,water slides for children. And a private beach A short drive from the city of Rhodes.
definitely recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank osnat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    288
    106
    33
    17
See reviews for
389
181
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoy the hotel and its leisure area (swimming pool, kids play, etc). The beach was very clean. The staff was very gentle and helpfull (I forgot my purse at the restaurant at the dinner and they returned it to me in the other day). They also gave us early check in and later checkout without extra charge, since the hotel was not full. Good Breakfast and dinner buffet. I want to return some day to spend more time.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank G O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katwijk aan zee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Great hotel, great staff. We have been there a couple of times and we enjoyed it everytime. too bad the wifi isn't free. Everywhere in the neighbourhood there is free wifi, but at this hotel you have got to pay for it. And it is also very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Chandini1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I was hear with my wife. A nice hotel for families... A nice view to the North-West of the island, a lot of surfers... Good food and pleasant stay. We made a lot of trips inside the island, organised or by taxi. We visit the old town and castle, buterfly spring...
I recomend you to be in this complex!

Room Tip: Try to obtsin s room near the beach. Even the meal ist is OK on the other side of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stoica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed at the part of the hotel on the other side of the road from the beach. Nice hotel, large pool area. Nice and clean pool. A bit hard to get a sunbed sometimes, as some people get up early to reserve sunbeds. The rooms were allright, nothing special, but clean.

Overall, im happy... but what happens to free wifi? This is 2013!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vibekeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We went to the Sun Beach Resort in September 2013 as part of a group tour well known for older people. We booked the tour because the brochure said we would be “staying in traditional and friendly hotels”. This description is totally inaccurate for the Sun Beach. This is a large family activities based hotel with 405 bedrooms of varying standards spread over two sites in several blocks and split by a road. The rooms allocated to guests on this trip varied considerably in location, quality and size so it is a gamble as to how good yours is likely to be. Just over a week before the holiday I requested a high room facing the sea. This was totally ignored. On arrival we were given a room one floor below ground floor level from which you could not see either the beach or the sea as they are up an incline. It was damp and had ants. Requests to move fell on deaf ears even when we offered to pay for an upgrade. We were told it was impossible as the hotel was full. Later we found that several guests in our party had been allocated high rooms with sea views and some had been moved after complaining of inferior rooms. The holiday Rep. was able to move some guests but the hotel staff were very unhelpful.

The Sun Beach Resort is probably fine for families with its unrelenting activities and noisy children’s entertainment. Two swimming pools have the water changed weekly but not heated and were therefore very cold and consequently under used. The hotel itself says the restaurant is an “American-style buffet”. To give credit where due the food was good but had little to do with tradition Greek atmosphere in a white painted room whose main feature was a cacophony of deafening noise.

Ialyssos is a purpose built, overcrowded, rather tacky seasonal resort with shops and tavernas that are nothing like the real the Greece. There is no promenade or harbour to walk round in the evening and the so called beach is nothing more than a pile of stones. The prevailing north wind supports many wind surfing activities but rough seas and the steep dropping seabed make swimming unfriendly. Under the airport flight path it is most unsuited to anyone looking for a quiet holiday in traditional Greek surroundings.

Our concerns were raised with the hotel a month ago and no reply received which is another illustration of its poor customer service ethos.

Room Tip: Don't bother asking, they take no notice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank greek_o_file2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We arrived and its a nice hotel good location however as we came near the end of the season to find the activitys were not available and feel that if activistys are advertised that they should be available. On arrival we were given a letter giving days and times of various entertainment events to our disappointment none of them took place. All being cancelled as it was nearing the end of season. SUnbeds aound the pool disappeared on a daily basis as did all the sunbed mattresses..all in all we felt we were not wanted

Room Tip: All rooms are good on the flight path however triple glazing kept room quiet lifts to all floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie2318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.3 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
2.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
0.5 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
4.7 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
1.9 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Beach Resort Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Beach Resort Complex

Property: Sun Beach Resort Complex
Address: Ialyssos Beach | PO Box 272, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ialyssos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ialyssos
#3 Family Hotel in Ialyssos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ialyssos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Beach Resort Complex 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun beach resort complex is a magnificent 4* hotel located in a prominent position on the beach of Ialyssos, just 8 km away from Rhodes. The resort represents a fun and relaxing holiday environment with an impressive range of accommodation, fine cuisine & bars, leisure & sports facilities, good entertainment for all age groups and a high standard of warm and personal service. The property is suitable for people with walking difficulties & wheelchair users. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Beach Resort Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Beach Resort Complex Hotel Ialyssos
Sun Beach Hotel Complex
Sun Beach Ialysos
Sun Beach Hotel Rhodes
Sun Beach Resort Complex Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing