We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite Hotel in Ialyssos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Ranked #4 of 32 Hotels in Ialyssos
Certificate of Excellence
Norheimsund, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our favorite Hotel in Ialyssos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Been at Sun Beach Resort Complex for the 10th time, nine years in a row. Says a lot about the hotel, great place to stay with wonderful staff that takes care of you during your stay.
Might like me that Star Tour Norway also has the newest apartments in its selection.
Traveling back next year:-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingwil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    283
    103
    33
    16
See reviews for
382
177
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for 1 week in July. Weather was great . We booked through Diamond Resorts International and our 1 bedroom apartment was comfortable and had a full length balcony overlooking the beach. Only negative point here, were the uncomfortable patio chairs.
We had an issue with the fridge, as the seal had become detached from the door and the fridge temperature kept varying. This was repaired but by the end of the holiday it had become detached again.
There was a partial kitchen, but all cupboard space was taken up with crockery,glasses and equipment. There was very little space to store food,like cereals,bread,biscuits.
The complex is part hotel and part apartments, with a separate pool area dedicated to RCI and Diamond members (although there had to be daily checks by DRI staff to ensure that there were no non-members using it ) .
There were plenty of restaurants nearby serving very reasonably priced food. We would return in the future.

Room Tip: We had apartment 320. It was very quiet and overlooked the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelandVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandhurst
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Clean, friendly, well situated, good local restaurants everywhere, good pools and bars, can also swim on the stony beach. Very hot end of July and thankful for the strong wind during the week that died off at end of week to cool us. In a small local area outside of Rhodes town on the north coast, also nice and quiet although the Thomson/ TUI side of the resort, non apartments looked much busier. Good local cheap car hire in reception.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank broadcastruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The room by the pool i got was spacious and i liked the bathtub. Roomcleaning staff was very nice but they were too few in the relation of the ammount of the work and therefore pressured to make it in time. The food in a hotell restaurant and by the pool was under average and very good at serving things that were not that healthy. This was again saved by the very nice and professional staff so the fresh fruit and the cofee was their best. Although they served fresh oranges in the restaurant the freshly squeezed juice for a person in cold kosted 5 additional euro.. The most lovely of the pools requested the "Diamond membership" which was dissapointment. The Beauty packages for the body and face were the best at this hotell to try. The hotel seemed to be more like 2-3 star hotell.

Room Tip: Rooms at the pool side..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CroatianSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

We spent 2 weeks in this apartment hotel. Overall experience is good but I wouldn't rate this hotel as a 4 star. The price is really as for the 4-5 star hotel but the quality is not that great. The 2- room apartment we had was not really new. The kitchen was lacking some basic staff such as wine glasses for example. The kitchen was never washed by the maid even though the tips were left regularly. The TV set was of old type (not flat screen TV) and of a small size - it was not fun to watch Football WC at all. The bed was twin with some gap in between which made it not very comfortable for a couple to sleep. One evening cockroach
The food in the restaurant was OK but not great. Variety is good, every evening there were meat, fish or chicken to choose from but the quality of the food was not great. Almost nothing was fresh but rather half-fabricated staff or from frozen products. Very limited choice of fruits: shiny beautiful apples (the ones you see in your supermarket), green-brownish bananas, oranges.
The biggest disappointment was the beach - the main reason for this type of holiday for the most I guess. It was stones when entering the sea which made it very painful for us (adults) to get into the sea and impossible for our small daughter. Strong wind was blowing almost every day creating significant waves, which makes it impossible for the small kids to swim and even entering the water. So we were spending the whole day at the pool area (which was nice btw with 1 adult and 2 smaller pools for kids). Of course hotel is not accountable for the stone beach and wind so the general advice for those traveling with kids - consider another part of the island (east shore) with sand beaches.
The staff was very nice and helpful though especially in the restaurant - always smiles and ready to help. They adore kids so the atmosphere was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dimer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kongsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here for one weeik in june with my two teenagers. We had a great experience at this hotel. The apt, was nice and clean. Nothing went missing from our room. The cleaningstaff even folded my daughters clothes that was laying all over the place as normal for a teenager....... Thank you:)
The breakfast was of high quality with a lot to choose, even fresh fruit. The staff at the breakfast and dinner restaurant was beautiful. very warm and welcoming. Miss you all. The pool at olympus part was big and kept as clean as they could. Not easy for the staff to clean the sunbeds when guests gets up at 6,15 in the morning to put towels on sunbeds!!! The animation team for 2014 was great. Inga from Norway and Pierro and mirco from italy. You're the best! Love you. The beach was great. Not for small kids because of the wind and big waves but perfect for older kids. the guy in the beach cafeteria, you rock! Always something funny to say. But sunbeds are expensive. 3 auro a day for one bed is way to much. But the beach is kept very clean. The hotel though it had aproximately 1000 guests was really nice and quiet. Could go to sleep with open doors and only hear the sound of grasshoppers and birds. Amazing!! Reccommnded for familys with children. Not a bunch of young drunk people on a partytrip. Short trip to Rhodes city and the old town. Higly reccommended. We would like to say thank you to all the people working at this hotel. You do a fantastic job!! Hope to see you again next year cause we will return next summer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bjorg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Over the last 4 years we had spent a couple of weeks in this resort every Summer. The family oriented concept is great Last year i already had somewhat the impression that regular guests were no more in the center of focus. Perhaps the increasing demand after the easing of the economic crisis boosted also by the unfortunate unrest in Egypt that pushed a new wave of guests from East into Greece played an important role as well. Also it is possible that the margin on selling vacation rights to anyone walking by the hotel is much higher than on the original core business...
The receptionists could not care less about the problems of the guests or handled it with annoyance, the water in the pool was not clean at all, there are not enough sunbeds around the pools, the shower between the beach and the pool did not work a single day during the 2 weeks we have been there, the animators were nice but far away from professionals, the hotel has a beach but expect extra payment for the sunbeds, etc... To be fair the staff in the breakfast area was very good and could counterbalance a bit the disappointment just like the cleanness of the room. But all in all there seems to be the atmosphere of a serious fatigue. Or at least we would have expected more professionalism from a resort claiming to have 4 stars.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank V K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.3 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 32 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
2.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
0.5 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,905 reviews
4.7 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
1.9 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Beach Resort Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Beach Resort Complex

Property: Sun Beach Resort Complex
Address: Ialyssos Beach | PO Box 272, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ialyssos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ialyssos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ialyssos
#3 Family Hotel in Ialyssos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Beach Resort Complex 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun beach resort complex is a magnificent 4* hotel located in a prominent position on the beach of Ialyssos, just 8 km away from Rhodes. The resort represents a fun and relaxing holiday environment with an impressive range of accommodation, fine cuisine & bars, leisure & sports facilities, good entertainment for all age groups and a high standard of warm and personal service. The property is suitable for people with walking difficulties & wheelchair users. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sun Beach Resort Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Beach Resort Complex Hotel Ialyssos
Sun Beach Hotel Complex
Sun Beach Ialysos
Sun Beach Hotel Rhodes
Sun Beach Resort Complex Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing