We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday yet again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Ialyssos
STAFFORDSHIRE
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday yet again!”
Reviewed 5 September 2009

Having stayed at the Sun Beach 19 times I feel that alone speaks volumes (and we are 1 family of many repeat visitors). Every visit is better than the last. as the complex is constantly improving and the staff are continually the biggest asset this property has. A fantastic beach front location (Sun Beach 1 leads directly on to the beach and Sun Beach II is across a quiet road). Plenty of restaurants and bars in easy walking distance - the old town of Ialyssos is well worth a visit for a more traditional view - take the land train if you dont want a 20min stroll. Pezouli restaurant a mere 2 min walk away is well worth a visit - good food and a very warm welcome,

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhodesqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    299
    112
    34
    18
See reviews for
408
194
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Lovely hotel,there are actually 2 hotels as part of this resort,Sun Beach 1 is on the beach side facing the sea and Sun Beach 2 is directly across a small road next to Sun Beach 1.Both are equally as nice, Sun Beach 1 has 3 pools ,one for babies & toddlers with a slide,1 for older children and 1 for adults and children who are good swimmers.(hotel policy is no towels on loungers before 9am,I have to say if you don,t get down there with your towels for 7am,you don,t stand a chance of getting a lounger!!!) Sun Beach 2 has a nice pool aswell,our room over looked it.There are plenty of organised games for everybody to join in with if that;s your thing and the kids club is excellent,two hours in the morning and two hours in the afternoon ( nice for parents to have a break and go for a stroll along the shingle and pebble beach,the sea is lovely and warm)
We went selfcatering so couldn't comment on the food at the resort but there were adaquate self catering facilities in the studio apartment that we were in,it had been recently refurbished so was clean and modern(air con in rooms and was very much a god send,I think the temp there was 34 degrees!!) Maid cleaned and replaced towels most days of the week.
In the evenings there are things going on in hotel,kids disco,bingo,caberet,comedy night,quizzes but Ialysos is a nice place to go out and about in,lots of cheap places to eat at. We were paying about 30-40 euros for a main meal for 2 adults and 1 child with a couple of rounds of drinks aswell.
All in all we would definatly go back again and are dissapointed that we only booked for a week instead of two !!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivvypuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2008

Before reading on, I would like to specify that we paid 400€ pp for 1 week HB. This is a good price for the stay we had at this hotel. 500€ would have been to much. So if you've don't want to spent a lot of money and you don't want luxury you should select this hotel. We didn't expect much, compared to the other hotels we usually select, but we got good value for our money.
Positive
- clean
- friendly staff
- standard
Negative
- food: small buffet, little variation, dinner's main course = a la carte and very simple
- when we took a shower, the water came out of the sewer and flooded the room
- you pay for chairs in the hotel-yard in front of the beach the same price as on the beach
- greek evening was very basic, several people had the same idea and therefor skipped the bbq evening 2 days later
- you pay extra for the theme-evenings (+15€pp) while the buffet is very simple compared to other hotels where you have these kind of buffets every day as a standard
- beach is kinda filthy (sigarettes all over) and you shouldn't go into the water without some slippers
- ants in the room (they like Lays chips)
- we were in sun beach 1. People in sun beach 2 were complaining more related to service, cleaning and availability of chairs at the pool and overall space at the pool. We always stayed at sun beach 1.
- After 3 nights you've seen it all, since the center is very little, with small bars and restaurants, but no big club or disco or promenade. Taxi to Rhodes is an option. We say a lot of drunk kids (16-18y) running with bottles on the streets.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TripTripBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipswich
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

We have just returned from the Sun Beach resort and can not praise the staff enough. The beach bar was a welcome break from the midday sun and Kiariakis with great humour and great customer care. Our pool was right on the beach with a nice breeze from the sea. (we went with RCI and this pool was for members only) we visited the other pools and found them to be more lively. The animation in the day was very good, however at night we saw 3 shows and only one was worth the effort. The beach party was fantastic. We were self catering and visited many restuarants and felt that the food was good, however on several occasions the main was out before we had finished the starter. The bar royal was even worse we got the starter and the drinks at the same time. However I would highly recommend Kostas, fantastic food and Kostas and staff were excellent. The food was the best we had eaten and if you go to Faliraki he has a fast food outlet in the strip. This is a must when at the Sun beach.. Visit Kostas.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dillan1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2008

-we arrived at the hotel at 12.05 tired by flight and we were waiting there almost 2 hours because as the manager(extra rude) was saying to us"the room isn't ready yet,despite we had prepay for 12.00

-the charged us 2 bottles of water(0.5l) 4 euros!!! (greek law says 0.5euros)

--wi-fi?? Functioning only at the lobby and they charge you with 9euros/hour!!! (1euro/houre in most greek int cafes)

--mini bar?no there was no mini bar

--no sheet change every day

--rodos has 2 sides. the west one(extreme windy , airport bad see) and the east one(good beaches and no wind). This hotel is in the west one

+we had a big enough room

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank chiotelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waalwijk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We just came back from Sun Beach 1. we were there for two weeks. A wonderful vacation. From beginning to end it was a pleasure. The check in was quick and friendly. The staff is very polite and professional. The room we had was great. Renovated appartment, bathroom, bedroom and a little lounch. The furniture was decent and the appartment was quite spacious for me, my husband and two kids. A kitchenette to cook some food that we bought at the supermarket of the hotel. But we often went to the Artemis restaurant where they have a fantastic buffet, but we also went to the Dionysos a la carte in Sun Beach 1. The menu there is a definitive recommendation. The a/c worked fine, we were just fine in there during the peak heat of the day. The view was exellent. Full view out to sea and on the other side the mountains of Turkey. The hotel is right at the beach. The pool in SB is clean and clear and the kids-pool was a real treat having a fun slide. On the beach it's very relaxing, sunbed, umbrella and a nice little book. The rooms are maintained well, cleaning every day. Every day clean towels. To Rhodes Town is easy, by bus or taxi. Taxi is about 10E and bus just 2 E and leaves from the hotel. The special evenings were nice for us and the kids. Tuesday the beach party with live dj, right on the beach of the hotel. Wednesday the Greek evening with live dance, music and a delicous Greek specialties buffet and on Friday the barbeque evening. The animation team was very active. For those who like activities they are a fun bunch of young people. From kids disco to volleyball. And the kids club for the small ones so that the grown ups can lay back a little without worrying. The place Trianda where the hotel lies is very lovely. If you need info or want to book excursions you can go to the info office next to the reception in SB1. Good service.
It is a fine hotel en a wonderful vacation. Definitely value for money. We will be back next year!

  • Liked — The fast and friendly staff, good food, nice rooms.
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank belvedereWaalwijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We have recently returned from the Sun Beach Complex and were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the hotel where we were two of the very few English guests. The hotel was full of Scandinavians & Dutch. The hotel is a quiet location for traffic but is on the flightpath into Rhodes airport.
All the staff were excellent and the hotel, rooms & poolside were spotless. For those who are eco-friendly, you get the option of not having your towels & sheets changed every two days.
On the downside, the food was reasonable but not always very hot and the evening entertainment poor.
The hotel has the option of half board or self catering. For those who go self catering there are a number of shops nearby and some excellent restuarants.
Considering it was booked last minute,based on reports from TripAdvisor, we found it excellent value and would go again

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blueboy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.3 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,476 reviews
0.5 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 127 in Rhodes Town
1,609 reviews
1.9 mi away
Olympic Palace Resort Hotel & Convention Center
2.0 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#10 of 127 in Rhodes Town
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Beach Resort Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Beach Resort Complex

Property: Sun Beach Resort Complex
Address: Ialyssos Beach | PO Box 272, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ialyssos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ialyssos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ialyssos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ialyssos
#3 Family Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Beach Resort Complex 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun beach resort complex is a magnificent 4* hotel located in a prominent position on the beach of Ialyssos, just 8 km away from Rhodes. The resort represents a fun and relaxing holiday environment with an impressive range of accommodation, fine cuisine & bars, leisure & sports facilities, good entertainment for all age groups and a high standard of warm and personal service. The property is suitable for people with walking difficulties & wheelchair users. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sun Beach Resort Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Beach Resort Complex Hotel Ialyssos
Sun Beach Hotel Complex
Sun Beach Ialysos
Sun Beach Hotel Rhodes
Sun Beach Resort Complex Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing