We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Area Blue Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Area Blue Beach Hotel
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Ialyssos
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

This is a very nice hotel that has over the top service. From the second you walk-in Kostas, Yannis, and the rest of the staff make you feel like family and will do anything they can to make sure your stay is perfect! Location is great...you are right on the water with good beaches and surrounded by good food, and Old Town Rhodes is only a few miles away via a short taxi or bus ride.

Room Tip: There are two buildings and if you want a true ocean view room you will want to request the outer bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brock S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    32
    9
    13
    12
See reviews for
27
43
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
142 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

I stayed a fortnight, the hotel badly needs a complete overhaul. Everything is run-down and looks seedy. However, the staff is very friendly and do everthing to make your stay pleasant. We had 'dine-around', which entitles you to lunch and dine at various other restaurants.
The hotel does not accept bookings from guests under 18, which makes it a nice quiet hotel. Also, it only has 39 rooms, so a real quiet hotel, and not only for elder people, at least half of the guests were young couples.
Altogether we had a nice holiday.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cor v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ialyssos hotels

Berkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

Hotel is fine. I went with my boyfriend who's rather English about things so we decided to let him do the complaining because I did not want to be a diva and ruin the mood we were in.!!! Wegot a ground floor,well quite lower than ground level room. Sea view, yes but we had to go up a flight of stairs then 2 down to get toour door, no short cut. No help. It was allabit cramped and a bit 2-3 star for me.The food was the same, every day, ikid you not. I couldnt look at another baklava in my life.The bathroom had out bath water bubbling up back into the bathroom on this disgusting drain thing. The bath never looked clean so i was constantly zapping it with dettol. The water pressure was dismal. We reported this the very next day and once more after that then gave up as our rep was no where to be seen. Bugs aplenty. it just looked dingy and dirty once the sun set, fridge dirty, sink in the lounge dirty, The only saving grace was the extortionate excursions by cosmos.

The staff looked incredibly bored. polite but vacant and not really engaging.Tony, i think, ,the one at the main bar almost rude. Loads of Germans but this really was not a problem.Pool area free and clean but be prepared to roast as hey are immovable and the shading was static. My lord i could go on.

Safari trip ws one of the best we did, and the monasteries etc, Valley of the butterflies had about 3 butterflies!!!and 1km of steep stepstonothing. Cheap local cola just minging. i went across the hotel to the corner shop to buy alcohol. Night entertainment? What entertainment. more like post Alevel students making a quick buck at your expense. it was a mockery of entertainment. internet extortionate and patchy.

The beach, £3 to use a stretcher for the day and my God the stretcher woman is like a traffic warden. Pebbleson the beach and random floating unattractive slime things. It was an ok holiday and seeing as we'd only paid about £450 each, what more could we expect. We enede up spending somuch moreto make it palatable.

I was glad to leave. My 2 day Padi diving course was the saving grace and the trips far far from ialyssos. Go to Lindos instead.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LouRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timisoara, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2010

We had a great vacation at this hotel.

Latino Bay is smaller than the other 2 Forum hotels (Forum Residence and Forum Beach) but I think it was perfect for us. There was only one pool but it never got crowded and the beach was at 1 minute walk away. Also, the policy of not allowing children made the hotel very quiet and relaxing.

We stayed at the ground floor and had a view of the pool. I know some people complained about this but it didn't bother us, because we didn't spend that much time in the room anyway and if we wanted to go at the pool we could just get out of the room through the balcony :).

The food was good. They have a great yogurt at breakfast (in the fruits area) which I ate with croissants and gooseberry jam.

We went to all inclusive, so here is what they usually served:
-breakfast: omelette, eggs, ham, sausages, cheese, tomatoes, milk, honey, jam, finetti, chocolate cereals, bread, butter, margarine
-lunch: sweet salad(lettuce with nuts and honey or watermelon), tzatziki, greek salad, cabbage salad, zucchini salad, pasta, white fish, potatoes, beef, pork, barbecue
-dinner: the same as lunch plus the soup of the day
-desert: cookies, watermelon, grapes, oranges, apples, jelly
Drinks: red/white wine, local beer, orange juice(would not recommend it), lemon juice, coffee, tea, etc. You could also get other types of alcoholic drinks/cocktails at one of the bars (pool&beach bar 10:00 - 18:00 PM; main bar until 23:30 PM).

What I didn't like was that the cleaning lady forgot to clean our room once and she didn't clean up our glasses that we would bring in the room from the bar...was this our job? Also, I had problems with my room key every day...it would get demagnetized by the end of the day even if I didn't keep it near my phone. Other than that everything was lovely and I would recommend the hotel to friends who don't expect extreme luxury but a quiet and relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dienutza1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west cumbria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

stayed aug 4th to 11th having booked it last minute (the day before ) went with freedom travel via r-travel....flying with viking airlines. considering we got our tickets + accomodation voucher 4 hours before we set off to the airport there were no problems with flights or hotel. all inclusive board i agree the food was a bit samey ! and the rooms very basic (but clean) but thats the only minor negatives we found . i can report. most / all of the staff were from eastern europe but all were very polite and were always smiling , special mention the to young woman on the pool bar who went out of her way to be very helpful. strange thing was we were the only british people in the hotel which was full of dutch , german , russian + italians...... the only language the staff used was english !! taxi ride to rhodes town was 12 euro or a 15 minute walk the other way to a decent sports bar and a few restaurants. summing the holiday up... if you pay £400 for a weeks all inclusive in rhodes dont expect to be eating lobster or watching flat screen tv's in your room !!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank riggaboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

From reading all the reviews about this hotel before travelling I was a bit apprehensive and worried about my stay. Our flight with Viking was awful and had an 11 hour delay (NEVER FLY WITH THEM!!) only to get to the hotel to find that out room had been cancelled. That was the first and main problem with the hotel- there were no holiday reps and as the hotel staff were Slovakian it was very frustrating when we needed advice!
The pool was stunning, relaxing and very quiet! The swim-in beach bar was very handy and make sure to make the most out of the ice-cream, fruit, pizza and other snacks through the day! The hotel is on the beach but sunbeds are 3.50 each so take a towel or a lilo if you don't want to pay this price!
There was entertainment on the Sunday night from a male keyboard player and singer who was very entertaining and dancers on a Thurs night. We were lucky to have a beach party at a neighbouring hotel which was great!
The food was a tad repetitive but was lovely and we found the lunch was usually better than dinner! The staff were lovely especially the manager who was extremely helpful!
If you need pounds changing go to the large hotel next door who have great rates!
I would recommend visiting Rhodes town but go at night as it is very hot during the day with its small cobbled streets. Be sure to visit the waterpark in Faliraki as it is definately worth 20 euro's - great day out!
I would recommend this hotel to a friend but it needs Greek workers, more entertainment and updated rooms as they were a bit dark and dated!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EJSWORDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London2brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2009

Just back from Latino Bay which was supposed to be an all inclusive, week long, romantic, adult only break. It never really lived up to what we expected. I wish I had seen other peoples comments before we spent our hard earned cash.
Yes, the swimming pool is fabulously clean relaxing and filled with couples of all ages.
The room are small, dark and lack any decent air con. There was a tv but you would never want to sit in the room to watch it. Mini bar basic, safe had to be paid for (20 Euro)
On arrival the chap dealing with us was not concerned about us and rushed through facilities we realised later were not even in our hotal. We had to ask where are room was only to be told is what the 1st or 2nd floor (no lift or assistance with cases) This chap loves his mobile phone and would rather spend time with it than with you.
I too felt the Brits were really thin on the ground here and dare I say we are probably not the most favoured of guests in this hotel.
Most of the staff were really friendly and helpful but obviously had a better grasp of German and dutch (not a criticism only an observation)
The evening entertainment is non existent except for a man with a key board on Sunday evening.
The food is repetitive and rehashed from the night before. Not entirely sure it is made on site? We had a meal locally that had the most amazing seafood and wished we had not decided to be hooked into the all exclusive deals again. However, it was not cheap but would say it was worth it!
Don't be fooled by the inticement of watersports and volleyball they are not what they appear. Beach very close but stoney. Weather was gorgeous. We excpect way more for a 4*hotel
Brighton

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank London2brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
1.1 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 32 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
1.2 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Villas Duc-Rhodes
Villas Duc-Rhodes
#7 of 32 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Caravel Apartment Hotel
Caravel Apartment Hotel
#6 of 32 in Ialyssos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nathalie Hotel
Nathalie Hotel
#6 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alea Hotel
Alea Hotel
#10 of 32 in Ialyssos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Area Blue Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Area Blue Beach Hotel

Property: Area Blue Beach Hotel
Address: 1 Venizelou Eleftheriou, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Area Blue Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Area Blue Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Area Blue Beach Hotel Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing