We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viva Blue Horizon!”
Review of Blue Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Horizon Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Ialyssos
Budapest
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Viva Blue Horizon!”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Beautiful garden, good accommodation, delicious food, efficient service. You get here, but there are a few negative points, too.

There is no tea station, just served tea (1 Lipton filter for 1 litre water)and coffee.
The sausages for breakfast are really cheap ones.
Some waiters are happy when open a bottle of red wine, but they are unkindly if you order just water.
The hotel has a lovely private beach, but the hotel guests have to pay for the beds.
It close to the airport, so the plane noise maybe disturbing.

Tip:
Book a sea view room! It’s worth!
I absolutely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank little_big_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    120
    61
    18
    4
See reviews for
87
124
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We spent a very HOT week in Rhodes in the Blue Horizon hotel. The hotel is really well located and spotlessly clean. The staff spoke very good English and were very helpful. There were a couple of surly waiters, but they were actually really entertaining!

We had a garden bungalow room and were so happy with our ‘home’ for the week! It was ginormous with a lovely outside patio! Beds were very hard (two singles pushed together) but we slept well enough! Air con in the room is superb and at no extra cost – amazing when it’s 40 degrees outside!

We were the only English couple in the hotel during the week and I must say we were disappointed with the other guests manners, there is no ‘please’ or ‘thank you’s’ and the classic hogging of the sunloungers with towels. If you don’t get up early, don't expect a bed by the pool – also its 3 euros (I think) on the beach…Great water sport facilities on the beach, a perfect place to go if you’re a fan of wind surfing!!!
The swimming pool was fine, a main pool where activities such as waterpolo and water volleyball are held throughout various points in the day and a baby pool which toddlers seemed to enjoy.

Unfortunately the food at the hotel is disgusting. My partner and I are not particularly fussy eaters but I can honestly say it is the blandest, stodgy food I have ever tasted. We were half board and I really wouldn’t recommend it. Breakfast is fine, very good selection but dinner really is nothing special. Fortunately there is lots of choice outside of the hotel, the restaurants and taverna’s do vary in price but one main meal portion could easily feed 2/3 people!
I must also say eating at the hotel is generally a very stressful experience. Like most hotels when you are half board you get seated at the same table every night. At the Blue Horizon it is a free for all and the tables outside go super quickly, either get there early or late – otherwise you’re in a stuffy canteen with constant clattering around.

We planned to relax for the whole week so didn’t partake in any trips. We did catch the local bus into Rhodes town which is beautiful and I’d definitely recommend a visit to old town.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank cityloverLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We booked a week half board at the Blue Horizon Hotel through Thomas Cook. The party consisted of ages 13-68.
The hotel is very pretty and welcoming and within easy walking distance of plenty of souvenir shops, small restaurants and sports/cocktail bars. Aside from this however, there is not much in the vicinity. The hotel is in an excellent location on the beach, especially for watersports (although you need to be a fairly strong swimmer if you are going to venture into the choppy sea).
The hotel building itself is well maintained, and the rooms clean yet basic. Of the 4 rooms we occupied, two had excellent sea views, whilst two had views of the road (which were extremely noisy). Whilst we were there, the weather was excellent and we managed to get a nice spot with a sunbed by the pool everyday, although you had to remember to take a towel down with you at breakfast.
The food at the hotel was excellent and never repeated. Despite having one of the smallest buffet areas we have seen, the food was all of an excellent quality with a range of pastries, toast, cereals and cooked breakfast at breakfast time. The waiters brought tea/coffee around frequently although not all waiters were pleasant. In fact, we found ourselves avoiding seats in one area of the restaurant to avoid being served by the head waiter who we found sometimes rude. Dinner was also excellent and the desserts were lovely. You had to get to dinner early to get a seat outside, which we did on our last day and it was lovely. At lunch, we sometimes ate at the snack bar nearer the beach, which was of excellent quality although very slow and slightly expensive. The drinks were also quite expensive throughout our stay.
We booked several excursions through Thomas Cook, including the water park in Faliraki, a trip around the island and a trip over to Turkey. The waterpark was excellent and well worth the trip. The trip around the island was cancelled the day before we were due to go due to not enough people signing up to go on it, which we were very disappointed about. It would have been nice to have been warned by Thomas Cook about this possibility beforehand so we could have booked through an independent company and got the full experience of Rhodes. The trip to Turkey was an extremely early start and the boat trip was way too long in the scorching heat. There were independent tour operators offering the same trip on a fast ferry, which would have cut the journey down by two hours. Once in Turkey, we were taken around Marmaris but after the extremely long journey and in the scorching heat, most of those on the trip could not be bothered. This was a long day and although we are glad we experienced it, we would definitely recommend getting a taxi to the harbour and booking independently to avoid the 4 hour journey there and back.
A few of us took the taxi into Rhodes Town on the one day. To be honest the souvenir shops are better nearer the hotel but if you want the more expensive goods and well-known retailers this is great (shops including Marks and Spencer and Zara). We then walked along to visit the ruins, which was nice and the harbour, which had some unique boats/trinket shops and a variety of excursions to offer.
Overall this was a great holiday and a great hotel. The pictures of this place do not really do it justice as it’s location on the beach is second to none and the pool area is fantastic. Also, the animation team should be commended for a range of excellent daytime activities for all ages. It was a shame this standard was not maintained for the evening entertainment but there was enough nearby to compensate for this. We would definitely recommend this hotel and Rhodes itself, which is beautiful. If you want a more lively holiday look towards Faliraki etc but for our needs this was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SB_Cymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We arrived early in the morning and as we walked through the complex to our bungalow out through the gardens, we could hardly believe our luck. The morning sun beat down on us through palm trees as we dodged sprinklers watering the lawns. Through the trees we could see deckchairs on the beach - the hotel grounds go right up to the sea... We had truly found a tropical paradise!

Our room was a semi-detached bungalow away from the main building, past the pool. We had called ahead to let them know that we'd be arriving at 6:30am, and brilliantly they had the room set up for us at that time. It was really nice and quiet; such a relief not to have people walking past the door or hear them talking through the walls, as in so many other hotels in which we've been.

The breakfast buffet was brilliant - tons of eggs, bacon, beans, tomato, feta cheese, ham, sausage, salad, toast, jam and cereal! All the egg and bacon were cooked with barely any oil, so felt light and healthy.

The waiters are all very attentive, one in particular going to great lengths to chat and joke with everyone. He declared himself to be "the famous waiter of this hotel". I thought he was a bit like a character played by Eric Idle!

The dinner buffet is just as extensive, but the quality of the food wasn't that great. Nothing wrong with it, we just experienced better elsewhere at a few tavernas.

A day spent in the hotel might include the following: Breakfast buffet, a swim in the sea or the pool, sun-bathing on the beach or poolside, Butlins-style pool activities, sitting in the bar, dinner buffet, evening 'entertainment'. Be warned that lying by the pool entails being blasted with music all day long, and on some days witnessing 'fun activities' involving lots of shouting and splashing. But there is plenty of room to wander by the beach, or sit in the shady and cool bar or lounge inside. The evening shows seemed pretty lame, but then the high season had ended by the time we visited.

There are mini-newsagent-type shops all along the road next to the hotel, selling everything you'll need, from beach towels and trashy novels to crisps and tequila. Almost everyone speaks English, and they're all very accustomed to English and European tourists. At this time of year (end of September) most of the groups of young people have returned home (the schools have gone back), and there are more older people around.

We hired a car from a desk in the hotel reception, for 95 Euros for three days, and used it to travel all around the island - Rhodes town, Lindos, Faliraki, Prassonissi. It took around 2.5 hours to drive the length of the island - shorter than we thought, once we'd done it a few times.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank iphoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Stayed one week with my boyfriend, we are in our mid 20s.
Very clean rooms, good standard. International 3*** I guess. Good beach, good food without much variety, but still good. Sun beds at the beach cost 3€, we refused to pay.
Good pool, friendly stuff, very good accomodation. Quite good shopping nereby.
However, the hotel's accomodation is nothing for you who want some nightlife. There is NO nightlife in the area. Taxi to Rhodos town takes 15 minutes ans is 10€. We never tried the bus.
Rent a car and go to the other side of the island if you want water sports (banana etc)

stay at Blue Horizon if you have small children, want a quiet vacation and just want to relax. The hotel's very good for you then.
Chose another accomodation in Faliraki or Rhodos town if you want sand beach, nightlife and younger people around you.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LovingGreece09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

I feel I need to add to the other reviews of this hotel, as no-one has mentioned the fact that the hotel is ideal for really serious (and not so serious) windsurfers WITH FAMILIES. As mentioned in many reviews, the hotel is adequate, staff is very friendly, meals are adequate but not 5-star, the pool is good and the garden is pleasant. I was never disturbed by the airplanes, but by the horrendous noise from the hotel next door, but only only on Tuesday nights.

The thing about Blue Horizon is that it sits right on a beach that offers one of the best windsurfing spots in the Mediterranean! We (family of 5, serious windsurfer-dad, not so serious windsurfer-mum, 15-year-old windsurfer, and 11- and 6-year-old non-windsurfers) have always had to have "half" holidays. Either the windsurfing part of the family was disappointed, or the non-windsurfing part (because you can't have nice holidays in places where the wind is strong enough and the waves are big enough for good windsurfing). But Blue Horizon is ideal! The windsurfing is superb (not too many waves, but an unnaturally even wind), the rental places (two) on the beach cater to windsurfers with all kinds of demands, and there is even a place for beginners a few hundred meters from the hotel. And the hotel offers the ususal amenities for those of us who want to relax by the pool, play with children from other countries and have a Pinã colada in the evening. A nice family hotel, and a superb windsurfer-family hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mossmynta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nürnberg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2009

Planes, planes, planes... The hotel is right under the "approach path" of the airport and quite close (I reckon 5km). Check it out on Google earth... And you can imagine how many planes land at Rhodes... So at some time during the day, it's a continuous flow and incredible noise.
I will always remember my arrival at the hotel after an early flight. The first thing I did was to visit the garden (lovely) and the beach. I walked 5 meters and heard the first one. I can't believe it was so close.You can hardly have a discussion with that noise. That was a catastrophy.
Then quickly some other + and -... Even if from my point of view, the planes are a sufficient reason to avoid absolutly this hotel... You have the feeling to leave in an airport.
+: windsurf conditions, windsurf club, garden and pool, beach (but avoid a walk outside the one from the hotel... beaches are dustebins), drinks prices, rooms are modern and clean
-: you have to pay sunbed at the beach (not at the pool but most of them are broken and not sufficient), food, waiters at diner as they behave as if you are friends for ever.
To summarize, I keep a great souvenir from the windsurf side of these holidays, but have wasted my money on the hotel because of the plane and the food.

  • Liked — cleanliness, garden
  • Disliked — noise because of air traffic
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
2.1 mi away
Belair Beach Hotel
Belair Beach Hotel
#28 of 126 in Rhodes Town
756 reviews
0.4 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,580 reviews
8.5 mi away
Afandou Beach Hotel
Afandou Beach Hotel
#13 of 18 in Afandou
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Blue Sea Beach Resort
Blue Sea Beach Resort
#6 of 71 in Faliraki
890 reviews
11.6 mi away
Irene Palace Beach Resort
Irene Palace Beach Resort
#14 of 34 in Kolimbia
704 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cyprotel Faliraki
Cyprotel Faliraki
#10 of 71 in Faliraki
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Horizon Hotel

Property: Blue Horizon Hotel
Address: Ialyssos 85101, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ialyssos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ialyssos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ialyssos
#5 Family Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Horizon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Horizon Palm Beach Hotel
Blue Horizon Palm Beach Resort
Blue Horizon Rhodes
Blue Horizon Hotel Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing