We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING HELL HOLE!!!”

Paras Beach Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Paras Beach Apartments
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Ialyssos
mk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING HELL HOLE!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

The arrival was the same as all the other reviews, taxi driver didnt know where it was and when he eventually found it, it was 11pm, on arrival the place was poorly lit and a note left with name and room number on it.
By chance the owner was just leaving and showed us our pathetic excuse for a room!! no air con as advertised and manager said just open the doors and you get a nice breeze as well as mosquitos and listening to aircraft all night, we stayed here with 2 young children, so leaving the balcony doors open felt extremely unsafe. The manager said he would find us a fan which he did not bother to do.
There was no bar or reception as advertised and you had to walk a good 20 minutes to find anywhere for food or water.
The pool was disgusting, never once was it cleaned and the plastic grating surrounding it was black and mouldy, half way through the holiday my foot broke through it!
All of the sunbeds were falling to bits.
If you are planning on going to Rhodes DO NOT stay here, its an extremely unhygenic, uncomfortable, unfriendly, isolated and dangerous place.
The manager has another place which i would avoid also as he makes no effort whatsoever to look after this place so i would imagine the other one is pretty much the same. How the idiot gets away with advertising and running this place is beyond me, health and hygiene people really need to inspect this place and remove it and the manager from ruining anyone elses holiday

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hellmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2010

Myself & my boyfriend had the misfotune of staying in this place for 2 weeks. Having landed in Rhodes airport we got in a taxi & told the driver where we were staying. After many many phone calls he eventually found the place, when we pulled he told us he had been a taxi driver for 15 years on this island & never knew the apartments were there. As we stood outside I began told get worried as I was sure the driver had brought us to the wrong place & as it was down a long dark back road & it was just past midnight in complete darkness I didn't know what we were going to do if it wasn't where we were staying. We saw a peice of paper stuck to the front of the buliding which had my name on it saying room 14 keys are in the door. As there is no lighting we ended up by the pool trying to figure out were exactly the rooms were, luckily there was a lovely couple staying upstairs who heard us & showed us to our room. Standing on the balcony in complete shock we decided to go to bed see how things were in the morning. The next day didn't bring good news. There was no staff, no reception & no air con. We had been told that air con was optional when we booked. Eventually George ( who is the owners son ) came around the next day & we asked about air con. He said he would get us a fan. For the whole 2 weeks he never made any effort to get us one. We then found out that they try to charge you €5 a day to rent the fans so my boyfriend had the idea that it would work out cheaper to just buy our own fan. Someone else already had that idea & had passed the fan they bought on to other guests when they left, this eventually got passed to us but when we were given it we were told to keep passing it around as the owner was trying to claim it was actually one of their fans being passed around. We got the fan on the saturday, left at around 8 to get some dinner & left the fan on as the heat in the room was unbearable. Getting back a few hours later the fan was off, still plugged in & turned on but not working. My boyfriend started trying to fix it & when he took the casing off the back we could clearly see the wires had been cut., Luckily my boyfriend knew how to strip the wires & get it working again. We didn't say anything as we had no proof but it is not possible that it could have been anyone but the owners who did it. I don't know what annoyed me more, the delibrate attempt to break the fan or the fact that they just let themselves into our room when we weren't there. I could keep going but this reveiw would never end. You pay very little for the room & thats what you get, we had ants on our bathroom floor all the time, there was a mouse which ran in & out of our room whenever he liked, rarely cleaned & when it was the standard of cleaning was terrible. Please do not book this place as Rhodes is such a beautiful island with the nicest people but places like that leave a bad taste & bad memories.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mim_coffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ialyssos hotels

paignton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

My 24 yr old daughter and I stayed here for one week in June. Yes the taxi driver did have a problem finding the apartments and yes there was a note pinned to the reception telling us which room we were in. Im afraid neither of us found this to be a problem - simply walked up the stairs and opened the door. The room was clean, including the bathroom, absolutely huge balcony from which we could see the sea. The flight-path is over the premises - I took some fantastic photos! and did actually sleep quite well even if planes flying at night. Enjoyed our week of peace and had Rhodes town only 3 euros bus ride away for evenings.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brianjanetpatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2010

The 'Faulty Towers' of Rhodes. We arrived to find our names written on paper pinned to a wall telling us the key to our room was in the door. Tired and thirsty after the flight we found there was no reception, snack bar or staff. In fact there were no facilities at all and the place was in darkness - down a long, long dark lane. The room's cooking facilities consisted to 2 electric cooker rings adjacent to the sink with nothing separating them. Electricity and water do not make good bed-fellows - very dangerous. The rooms were cleaned (!!!) on Tuesday and Thursdays which meant the requisite toilet bin was left un-emptied for days, ugh! We were given 2 bath towels a week, no hand towels and 1 toilet roll. The toilet roll was never replaced, you had to buy your own.
With no air conditioning or fan to rent, the room was intolerably hot at night. As there were no mosquito screens you couldn't leave the patio door open (cock roaches would fly in), besides, the noise from the planes flying directly overhead day and night made that impossible. Sundays were busy, a plane every 7 mins, I timed them. The nearest shop was a good 10min walk along a rubbish and glass strewn beach, difficult to negotiate and hazzardous at night when it was pitch black because it was unlit.
Paras Beach is NOT in the heart of Ialysos. The resort centre is a good 30min walk by road and at least 20min walk by the beach route. If you have mobility difficulties or children it would cost you at least 13 euros a night to get you there and back. It is extremely isolated and situated between Ialysos and Kremstise, on it's own, with almost nothing around it.
Paras Beach pool was dirty (never cleaned when we were there - for 2 weeks), badly in need of repainting and water-boatmen aquatic insects swam alongside us. The gardens and pool were left un-lit at night (I'm sure this is against Health & Safety regulations) - very dangerous should you accidentally fall into the pool becaus no-one would be able to see you to help. There were no life saving facilities around the pool and no advice or instructions on what to do in case of emergencies. The 'sun loungers' were hard plastic with no padding and many were broken. Complaining to the owners fell on deaf ears, they were comletely uninterested.
An emergency number was pinned to a rear wall in order to phone the owner should you arrive and find your room uncleaned and unprepared, which many guests did. Some were lucky enough to escape. The rest of us were stuck in isolated desperation and disappointment.
If you were unlucky enough to have a late return flight, you were forced to sleep on the hard sun loungers in completedarkness with not even a courtesy room to offer any relief or comfort. After complaints were made a tiolet/shower room was eventually made available. The whole place was shambolic, badly run and should be withdrwn from travel operators accommodation immediately. If you're foolish enough to go there you will undoubtedly share the deep diappointment and disillusionment experienced by the many other victims. You have been warned!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwanseaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

My girlfriend and I arrived at 03.30am in Rhodes and caught a taxi to Paras Beach Apartments. We pulled up outside a dark building with no reception, no lights and a hand-written notice on the wall with people’s names and room numbers and keys already in the room doors. To our horror, our names weren't on the notice board and with nobody around we couldn't get help. After walking around the complex we found a note on what was the old reception door with a 24hr emergency number to call. I didn't have my mobile with me so the taxi driver who had waited for 20 minutes called the number and there was no answer even after 4 attempts. Luckily the taxi driver called a couple of people at the taxi station and someone knew the owner who also owns Paras Sun Apartments. We took the taxi to this apartment block about 3km away and by luck I found George in the bar who owns/runs both apartment blocks. The taxi driver left us with George (it cost us about €15 extra!) and George took us back to Paras Beach Apartments. After a while George couldn't find our booking so put us in a basic room which was reasonable for Greece standards which by this time was 5am in the morning. All night planes flew directly over the apartment block only 100ft above the apartment on a direct flight path to the airport so we couldn’t have the patio doors open, due to the noise. These planes flew directly over the whole week we stayed there and sometimes as frequently as one every 10/15 minutes.
Later that afternoon we went out to find a shop but had to walk for at least 15 minutes along the beach to the resort shops. This was disappointing as the apartments don’t have any facilities to buy water from and at night the beach isn’t very well light. My partner couldn’t wear any high heels because the beach consists of dust/rocks and debris from the sea.
After 2 days we moved into our correct room but weren’t told by the owners, but rather a guest who had been told to inform us. Our new room was a studio room which consisted of 2 bedrooms and gave us a little more room. The only problem with this room was that it was really close to the bins that people were forced to put rubbish and human waste from the toilet bins because we later learnt the rooms are only cleaned on Tuesday and Thursdays. Flies and cockroaches that probably originated in the bins made their way in and around our room so we had to keep doors shut all the time even at night due to the nightlife they attracted and the smell.
The grounds are nice enough although a lot of the sun beds are broken and the pool needs cleaning.
The second to last day of our holiday we met the owner of the apartments and she was hostile towards us and failed to offer an apology for the poor service we had encountered.
If you like staying in a hot room that is only cleaned twice a week and is in the middle of nowhere with no reception area then book a holiday here. If not then stay well clear!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YORK_TRAVELLER15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

This hotel was terrible, down a dark road which the taxi driver who had been driving for 17 years said he had never been to!!! we arrived at about 20.30pm the hotel was in complete darkness and there was a note pinned to the wall with my name and Rm17 on it. There was no reception no human presence at all. Luckily my boyfriend smokes so had a lighter which we used to find the room, we got in to the room which was basic but i could live with it. We decided as it was so hot we would go for a walk and find somewhere to get a drink, (as there was no bar even for a water in this hotel) we walked for about 15-20 minutes before we came across another bar which made us welcome and couldn't believe we were staying at Para's Beach. It was so in the middle of no where it was not even funny!!! anyway we had to return to the hotel and the dark long winding road to it was not nice, we could hardly see until we were greeted by a huge dog who was not happy we were walking down the road, we calmly walked slowly with the dos on our heels for a while until it was distracted by another dog, we relaxed a little as we basically felt our way along the road to the hotel to be greeted by another dog, this one somewhat quieter, well dead actually!!!! anyway we stayed one night and managed to move to another hotel after alot of phone calls and money to pay extra for the other hotel!!!! we could not speak to the hotel manager workers or anyone who would listen because there just was not anyone there!!! not the welcome we had hoped for. Whatever you do do not go to this hotel, it really is terrible.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrylou80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
1.2 mi away
Hotel Terinikos
Hotel Terinikos
#13 of 32 in Ialyssos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villas Duc-Rhodes
Villas Duc-Rhodes
#7 of 32 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pylea Beach Hotel
Pylea Beach Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kremasti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Antomar Apartments And Studios
0.5 mi away
Holidays Apartments
Holidays Apartments
#1 of 2 in Ebonas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Platoni Elite
Platoni Elite
#9 of 19 in Ialyssos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paras Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paras Beach Apartments

Property: Paras Beach Apartments
Address: Mirtenis | Trianta, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ialyssos
Hotel Class:3 star — Paras Beach Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Also Known As:
Paras Beach Apartments Hotel Rhodes
Paras Beach Apartments Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing