We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not book”
Review of The Ocean Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ocean Blue
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Ialyssos
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“do not book”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

booked in february to go 10th july 5 days before departure we were told they were overbooked and moved us to another hotel we were not alone and met other people this had happened to some didn't know before hand and on arrival at ocean blue were treated appallingly by reception staff . reading previous report about lack of brits are they just targeting the english ? my advice avoid this hotel there are lots of better ones.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    95
    65
    70
    124
See reviews for
119
199
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

First impressions – great hotel, tastefully decorated and nice surroundings.

However, as already mentioned in other reviews the majority of the buffet food here is bland and boring. It has absolutely no excitement about it, and by the fourth day we were craving food with taste and flavour. Despite this, the salads were usually fresh and well presented but get a bit tedious day after day.

The rooms were ok – certainly not 5 star status, but Greek hotels have their own ratings system which seems to classify them higher than we would expect in the UK.

Perhaps the most notable aspect of our stay was the lack of Brits at this hotel – there’s no denying that we like to socialise and establish ‘friendships’ – however this is virtually impossible at the Ocean Blue due to the fact that Brits are by far the minority – I would say less than 10% of the total guests.
It is unfortunate that some nationalities who choose to stay here cannot comprehend the practice of queuing; be prepared for ignorance when waiting in line for drinks at the snack bar and also at meal times.

Also there is a severe lack of sunbeds here. Unless you are prepared to get up early you will go without for the whole day. Most of them remain ‘reserved’ with a towel on, despite no one occupying them all day – a problem which the hotel need to address but do not seem to care about.

The overall stay was ‘ok’ – we were fortunate enough to meet some lovely people, and it was a cheap getaway so wasn’t expecting much. Compared to other Greek all-inclusive resorts the Ocean Blue is miles behind.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthEnglandGazania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I stayed here for two weeks with my boyfriend.. I am 21 and he is 27... We wanted a nice hotel with nice food , on arrival we got told our room number which we then had to go and find ourselves. When we got to the room I decided to take a bath, it was leaking everywhere and as I turned the jets on the jacuzzi bath leaches started coming out of the holes.... "I have photos of this!" So we went to the reception and we got told to keep it down and they will move us in the morning which I was Not happy about!!! So the next day we went back to reception and we got moved. The second room was nice and we had a lovely view. The food at this hotel is absoutely disgusting, I wouldn't even feed it to my dog. The Russians,polish and Germans love the food, they must be used to slop.... The good thing about this hotel is barteck from the animation team he is lovely and tries to get you involved and also Mary from the bar he is very welcoming!! The hotel is in the middle of nowhere and there is nowhere near to walk to. Rhodes is 20 minutes on the bus, falaraki is 20 minutes in a taxi.... If you are looking to stay here then you should definitely hire a car or a quad. After 2 weeks I was so bored I was looking forward to coming home. The beach is ok but it's pebbles not sand. Honestly if your English I would stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Royles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ialyssos hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed from the 5th for a week and would definatly go back, was a bit worried before we went as I'd read the reviews on here but as we are a fussy couple in our early thirties was pleasantly surprised.. Good food, great room and defiantly value for money.. Ignore the negative reviews and enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Derick14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We went to this hotel early May,expecting the worse after reading some of the reviews,the hotel was very clean,rooms and towels changed daily.All the staff very friendly.Yes the food a bit repetitive,but due to the no of guests must have been hard to put on a good selction,which they managed and it was good.As for the planes flying low that was to be expected staying so near to Rhodes,no different to living under the Heathrow flight path!!!If you go to Rhodes old town and want a quiet relaxing drink go to Socratous Gardens,halfway down Socratous street,little allyway next to a handbag shop.A beautifull garden,somewhere pleasant to cool down and relax away from the hustle of the old town,cheap prices for food and drinks.

Room Tip: higher rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

we stayed at the ocean blue for one week from the 1st-8th june 2013 we arrived late at the hotel from the outside it didnt look great we were quite worried when coach dropped us off and left haha
but the reception was lovely inside the receptionist was very friendly gave us our room card we had the room next to the snack bar with the pool hotel room nice clean, rock hard bed, but the window between the bedroom and bathroom was a clear window !!!! any privacy on the loo goes right out the window literally haha ! so yeah you need to be quite close to stay in one of these rooms, entertainment ok the worse,most chessy english cds played alot but hey it was good fun food was very good there was always something to eat and good choice desserts were lovely the staff work very hard and they were brilliant the barmen in the night bar were awesome :) the hotel is a little tired but you can see that they are trying to improve , there really isnt a lot to do on site so if you dont plan on leaving the hotel much then bring plenty of books :) rhodes old town is a must see its gorgeous and quaint cobbled streets beautiful buildings nice shops and bars , will go back to rhodes again :)! oh forgot to add one day had no towels on room conplained to reception 3 times in 6hours all she kept saying to they gone to get more sorry but luckily my next door nieghbour who was sooo nice gave me there spare towel they really were the nicest people and made our holiday so much nicer

Room Tip: rooms by the reception much nicer and deeper pool rooms by the main pool very noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2013

My family returned today from a week all inclusive at the Ocean Blue Ialyssos and although the weather was fabulous and the hotel in general was nice DO NOT BE FOOLED by the 4 star rating. At the most this is a 3 star hotel and if you don't like repetitive, canteen style food served in a soulless restaurant with people barging past you to get to the bread rolls then this is not the place for you.

The same food was served 3 times a day ( and the remnants taken out to the poolside snack bar throughout the day) and if you arrived for meals later than half an hour after they started it was impossible to find any clean cups or glasses for drinks.

The Pieces of Eight restaurant never opened and so we were stuck with one dining hall to eat in.

We went hoping for authentic, Greek food but the hotel was mainly occupied by German/Russians and Dutch holiday makers and the food was largely aimed at their palettes.

The Kastraki bar and restaurant next door saved the day serving delicious meals at a reasonable price and the owner went out of his way to be friendly and welcoming.

On the whole this resort is cheap and cheerful and if you want quantity and not quality for your food then it is ideal. The Animation team was friendly and went out of their way to amuse people.

Also the Ocean Blue is very close to the airport (direct flight path) So if you are a plane spotter, you get to see and hear 20 planes a day roaring overhead.

After coming home I looked at the hotel online to compare what they offer to what we actually received:

No DVD player or internet availability in the room as promised.
No slippers or robes as stated

Also the Jacuzzi bath in our room but always seemed to pump out water smelling faintly of sewage.

By the end of the week we were out and about mostly on trips and only went into the canteen for breakfast so we made the best of it. I think the main problem is the 4 star rating, it makes you think you are going to a luxurious resort when in fact it is a very average resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Wynterqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.1 mi away
Pylea Beach Hotel
Pylea Beach Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kremasti
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayside Hotel Katsaras
Bayside Hotel Katsaras
#3 of 7 in Kremasti
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valsami Hotel Apartments
Valsami Hotel Apartments
#5 of 7 in Kremasti
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,466 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Terinikos
Hotel Terinikos
#14 of 31 in Ialyssos
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#1 of 7 in Kremasti
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Blue

Property: The Ocean Blue
Address: Ixia Bay, Ialyssos 851 04, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ocean Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Ocean Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Blue Hotel Kremasti
Ocean Blue Hotel Rhodes
The Ocean Blue Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing