We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“please, don't go!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Summerland Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Ialyssos
Reviewed 8 July 2011

i am not a kind of person who needs a luxurious accommodation... all you need is somewhere to put your head down at night and somewhere to have a wash... So the below are things you should know about the Summerland Hotel:

-distance from the hotel to the beach is 30 minutes walk and the beach is not that nice (pebbly)

- no air conditioning in the rooms, unless you pay 7 euro per night. and it doesn't exactly work like the standard ones. it only works when the room's door key is inserted to the special socket, so when you leave the room and lock the door the air-con shuts down and so does all of the electricity in the room. No chance for a cool room after a day spent in the sun! Also, it shuts down if you open the balcony door for longer then a couple of minutes. so we ended up sleeping with wide opened balcony doors (anyone could had come in!) the opened door was a perfect party invitation for the mosquitoes as well (i lost a count of my bites even though i used repellents)

-bad smells don't bother me too much but the bathroom, which was very basic with broken shower, smelled like a sewage pipe. we had to leave the bathroom window opened for a week straight.

-location is really bad as well. you need to take a 10 minutes walk just to get to the main road and if you want to go out for something to eat or a drink you need to walk for another 20 minutes (taxis are quite pricey or you will get ripped of, so ask before you get in the taxi).

-hotel staff is only helpful if you spend your money in the hotel. Beer at the swimming pool bar is well expensive. they charge 3 euro for glass about 0.33 ml. Breakfast - stale bread week coffee, value ham and cheese for 8 euro!. We ware taking a walk to the bakery every morning. Bread and the caked to die for! Chocolate cake is a must try. the receptionists were just giving us dirty looks when we were coming back with bags full of food. the hotel policy is that you are not allowed your own food and drinks by the pool or hotel lobby. the receptionists did not bother to tell us about the local bus strikes, upcoming airport strikes and the main road to Rhodes town being shut down during strikes. the hotel staff also will not tell you where you can go out or they will send you to their friend's businesses.

- avoid shopping in the supermarket cross the road from the hotel or the one to the right on the main road (well over-priced)

-avoid eating at tavern cross the street from the hotel or the one to the right on the main road (called Whispers). these are too over-priced.

-good things about summerland hotel - swimming-pool and the snack bar guy.

-good supermarkets are down to the main road and turn right and keep walking for another 10 minutes. or turn left at the main road and follow it until you get to the overhead traffic lights.

-great night out and very good food - turn left once you get to the main road and keep walking until you get to the overhead traffic lights. at the traffic lights turn right and keep walking. there are tones of places to drink and eat down there. our favorite place for going out was a bar called Alkionis sports bar (very modern). free WiFi, great cocktails, delicious food and great value for money.

Room Tip: you have no choice - alocation on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alkions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

We arrived at the Summerland for a weeks holiday and on arrival we were met by Maria on reception, who gave us a lovely warm welcome. The reception area is lovely and clean. The rooms are basic but it was too hot to even consider staying in the room, apart from sleeping, so it was fine. They were cleaned regulary to a good standard. The pool area is lovely, we managed to get sun loungers every time we wanted some. There is a nice little snack bar where you can find Leo who serves great food and drinks. The bar area is great, in the evenings they light lots of candles around the bar and it looks lovely. There is music played in the evening which was nice, a collection from all the best decades.
The local area is great, its about a 5-10 minute walk to the main road where you can find a good supermarket and some great resturantes. We eat at Whispers once, the food was great and the portions are huge, all with a good price. A bit further down the road is a great Italian, a must for everyone. The pizza's there are amazing.
The beach nearby is stoney, but offers loads of sun beds and water sports. The bus to Rhodes only costs 4.20 Euros and is a must, the old town is packed with little bars, shops and resturantes. We also took the boat to Lindos, again you have to do this. The boat takes about 2and a half hours, you have about 3 hours to wander round Lindos or swim in the crysal clear sea. Then the boat stops off for a swimming pit stop before heading back to Rhodes.
Overall, a fantastic holiday. The best part of it is the wonderful people we met. Not only the other holiday makers but the staff at the hotel. We will never forget the many laughs we had with Maria and Stelious, the barman. They definately deserve a pay rise. Thanks to Maria, Stelious, Leo, Mina and all the staff at the Summerland.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cchivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

My Husband and I were in a lovely apartment here in June 2011. The pool is beautiful and it was very quiet for the first few days we were there. A pair of lovely lady guests from Doncaster spoke to us on the 1st day and made us very welcome. We had a great few days round the pool as part of a group of several couples/families. Things changed after a few days when a group of people arrived. Ok the pool was busier and a bit more lively but the life was of the wrong sort for couples and families with young children. Most of the later arrivals were Lesbians - no issues with that, whatever goes on in the privacy of the bedroom is their business. We did however have an issue with these people openly flaunting their sexuality by the pool. It is not pleasant to see openly gay people kissing, stroking and holding hands in front of young children, neither is it appropriate to see them making a performance out of rubbing suntan lotion on to each others breasts. We got the feeling that a lot of the female staff were also Lesbian and therefore the whole place seemed like a rendevouz for ladies of this persuasion - maybe news gets round about the places that approve of this openly sexual behavoir and people who like this sort of thing pass the word. They saw our discomfort and then made a big deal out of being very bold in their actions - think again if you have young children who will question what they see.

I would also like to comment on the air conditioning, yes it is 7 Euros a day and this appears to be the going rate. What you need to know is that you can't put the air con on and then go out and come back to a nice cool room - the electric goes off when you remove your key from the slot and is therefore only on when you are in the room. If you are out for the day/evening please be aware that your 7 Euros a day only counts if you are going to stay in your room for the full day - it DOES NOT WORK when you are not in!

By the way, yes the towels are provided and yes they are quite clean but be very gentle when using them as a lot of them have several holes and rips in them, they are that thin and worn that they often come apart when in use.

Don't ask to do a book swap and this is not allowed, they only lend books which are numbered. Make sure you read the list of rules for the do's and don'ts and potential fines you will be charged for breaking any rules.

Love Ixia, been going 10 years, but would not go back here if the holiday was free.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank florenceBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Summerland is spotlessly clean, large clean pool and friendly staff. It is quite a walk to the beach but there is a very good taverna just outside and a supermarket also. Would thoroughly recommend it

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arthur3308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

Rooms small but clean we had 1 bed appt bit of a squeeze for three, Be aware no toaster or kettle provided But hey you can boil water for tea in a pot.and yes you do have to pay for air con but same everywhere.Reception area very clean and pleasant and staff friendly enough never unpleasant and always willing to answer any queries.
Pool area clean can get busy but even then enough room to pop in for a cool down.
Forget the food and drink its not terrible just too expensive for what it is. Instead there are couple of local supermarkets dont bother with one next to taverna on corner as you leave appt complex , leave complex turn left then left again walk to main road about 10 mins when you meet the main road there is a supermarket on right very cheap and friendly next leave supermarket look across road to right slightly further up road there is a a local bakery ! excellent stock up on bread pastries etc here.
Appartments in a Very quiet location, a bit out of the way cost approx 15 euro each way in a taxi to rhodes town. So hire a car (be prepared to freak out for a couple of hours then you chill out become greek and have a BLAST)get a car get a map and you will find so many places to see , (just a word on car hire there are numerous local car hire companies you can pay cash with full insurance and dont have to worry about spurious credit card charges months later!)
Beaches we were here in peak season ,so were busy head for falaraki side of island main beaches were very busy but just drive a few miles away and hey presto beach to yourself not kidding! Beaches are very pebbly but water crystal clear and very warm.
Beaches near summerland approx 20 min walk but seems like forever in heat ,head for main road when you get to supermarket stock up on juice etc its much cheaper than shops at beach cross road walk down lanes across from supermarket there are a few walk down any and just keep heading straight you will get there or 2 mins in hire car. Beach rocky so buy beach shoes again get them from supermarket they are about 10 euros cheaper than at beach or in town, water here a bit choppy and windy but great to cool you down.
Nightlife Rhodes town good ! food varied in quality and price so shop about, take a night cruise of the harbour very cheap and well worth it . Old town really good but can be busy.
To summarise Summerland appartments were basic but clean in a slightly out of the way location but this is good during the day as very quiet, explore the local lanes etc, we got appts as a last minute deal so good value wouldnt pay top dollar for them as there are better at full price but get it at a cheap rate and its worth it as i say compromise,your on holiday.
Rhodes itself is fab but would definetly recomend car hire never done this before myself but now ive done it once will do it again paid approx 100 euro for week small car but its all you need (smaller means less for them to collide with ) compare this with 30 euros a day in taxi to get to rhodes and back its worth it
Enjoy yourself we will definetly go back

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alanb81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We stayed at Summerland Hotel for 7 nights. I can't fault this lovely family bussiness. Clean, staff well manered, and a pretty good bar.
Beware that there is a surcharge of 7 euros for using the air-conditioning, and believe me, you'll need it. Goood walking distance from the Ialyssos beach, although the pool seems temp

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tpsaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2010

We booked 21 days and stayed 11 and paid for another flight home so that sums it up i suppose. We actually bought this holiday from someone off ebay who was going there to celebrate their 50th and couldn't make it. So that was out first mistake. I had read quite a bit about the hotel and the area so was expecting a nice holiday.I wouldn't say the staff were overfriendly or even make an effort to be. The barman and the snack bar man seemed the most approachable but as both places were overly expensive we didn't frequent them.The breakfast was barely edible,by the 5th day i couldn't even stomach it! Stale bread for toast,cheap ham and the coffee was undrinkable. We took our own by the 2nd day and i also bought my marmite which made it tolerable. The rooms were basic but adequate. The cleaners came every day but wouldn't say particularly thorough as i had a dead bug under my bed for 3 days before i got my partner to pick it up. Would have got rid of it sooner but wanted to see if the cleaners noticed.They didn't. The fridge made a loud buzzing all night. We bought aircon which was charged at a ridiculous 7 euros a day.The pool was freezing the whole stay and i presume they make it this was as the sea was very warm. My 2 yr old couldn't face it after the first 2 days. The play area was just by the pool and also had a boggy area where the outside shower was which he obviously stood in!! The grill around the pool was filthy and my partner had noticed by day 8or 9 the cats that hung around the hotel had actually done a poo in the pool!! As we had rented a car,and yes the greeks are very mad drivers!!,we made the trip to several beaches. Tsambika beach was lovely...sandy and shallow just right for kids.Restaurants in the area were not too bad...we ate out alot as we were b&b but found it very expensive to do so. Whispers and le Gourmet being the best. I have to say all in all i wouldn't go back to this hotel if they paid me. Definately not good for families with young children.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolrob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.6 mi away
Area Blue Beach Hotel
Area Blue Beach Hotel
#23 of 32 in Ialyssos
136 reviews
7.2 mi away
Filoxenia Hotel Apartments
1.5 mi away
Filerimos Village Hotel
Filerimos Village Hotel
#18 of 32 in Ialyssos
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Labranda Blue Bay Resort
Labranda Blue Bay Resort
#7 of 32 in Ialyssos
275 reviews
1.3 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 32 in Ialyssos
1,715 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Sun Beach Resort Complex
#3 of 32 in Ialyssos
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerland Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerland Hotel & Bungalows

Address: 4 Perdikaki Str, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Ialyssos
Price Range: £16 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Summerland Hotel & Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Summerland Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerland Hotel And Bungalows
Summerland Hotel Ixia
Summerland Hotel & Bungalows Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing