We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just love the place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Summerland Hotel & Bungalows
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Ialyssos
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just love the place”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My partner and I have stayed here to many times to count, over the years.it's so peaceful , the ladies who run it are so friendly and nothing is to much trouble . It's only a short journey to the hustle and bustle of both old and new Rhodes towns ( by taxi) or the resort of trianda ialyssos which is about a 20 minute walk away with it's numerous cafe's, bars ,and Resturants . We just love not only summerland but the island of Rhodes as a whole in fact we love it so much , that we have booked to stay there in September 2014.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pool. The whole place is quiet and peaceful , even if there are families sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnphil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    22
    26
    5
    12
See reviews for
22
46
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have been back 24 hours from spending 7 nights here. I would never return to this hotel or island again!! Came back a stone lighter as I could not find one decent restaurant on the island. Had to ask staff to get cleaners to change my bed linen as this never got done. First time ever I was full of mosquito bites despite using every thing you could buy. Had to hire a car for 5 days as this hotel is that secluded from main parts that was a costly 160 euros. Nothing was cheap here had to pay extra for air con and it was defo needed with temps being as high as 30 degrees at night very hard to sleep. Staff where really helpful and friendly that's what saw me through my 7 night stay. Couldn't wait to return to the uk!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisakian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We were booked into the Summerlands apartments from 25th June to the 2nd July and we were most impressed. The place is clean and fresh and the staff are wonderful, one lady in particular was so helpful and gave us excellent advice. We had looked at other places and found out they were booked up and now we are glad that they were, If you want value for money this is the place. True the sheets were a bit worn and could do with replacing but we only needed something light to cover us and the towels were not the luxury sort but with the heat we experienced they were dry in no time at all. The bathroom was clean and there was plenty of hot water, the electric rings are adequate as are the utensils and cutlery, nothing fancy but basic requirements. The pool is excellent and kept very clean the outside of the apartments are pleasant and well kept.
We asked for advice on several occasion and the staff were most helpful in every instance.
The location of the hotel means a walk of ten minutes down the road and a furhter ten minutes to the beach (pebbles and shingle). There is a choice of super markets and if you look there are items sold in very small quantaties, ideal for self catering. i.e sugar, salt, jams and marmalades, coffee tea etc. We discovered these too late to benefit! The buses into Rhodes go every 15 minutes but beware the Greek bus drivers - they go pretty fast and you don't get long to get on and off.
We wanted basic clean accommodation and this is what we got , would recommend this establishment..

Room Tip: The room we had was spacious with plenty of room for storage. Whilst there we had a room that looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anne2454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We booked this on short notice needing an immediate break. Paid a handsome price for bed and breakfast basis in one bedroom apartment overlooking the pool.
What we liked - it is very peaceful. No entertainment on site or nearby so nothing to disturb your rest. No booming music around the pool. Staff very friendly and helpful. Place was generally clean.

As previous reviews have said it is a good walk from any shops and an even longer walk to decent restaurants. Hotel does not serve food in the evening other than snacks so you have to venture out. The road back to the hotel is up a poorly lit lane so you really need to take a torch with you.

What we didn't like and didn't expect - you have to pay extra for everything. Air conditioning which is advertised is there but you have to pay for it by the night - this added another 70 euros to the cost.
Although there is a minimal kitchen comprising a fridge and 2 rings there is no kettle - again you can hire one - more euros.
Safe deposit boxes available - more euros.
Water - previous reviewers have noted the shower stall which is tiny with a curtain that wraps itself around you but if you want a warm (never mind hot) shower you have to leave the pool early. When the warm water from the tank has gone that is it.

Chamber maids did the bare minimum - changed towels and sheets and emptied bins. Bathroom was not cleaned the whole time we were there, nor cups glasses etc, floors not swept. Sand remained on the floor if you inadvertently trod it in. It was often late when they came in. One evening they met me coming out of the shower as they were coming in at 6.30.

Beware the mosquitoes - they are vicious. We had to buy a spray and spray the room as we left and then sneak in as quickly as possible on return so the little blighters didn't get in. legs and arms covered in bites and bruises despite using jungle strength mosy guard. Husband took to wearing long pants tucked into socks and a long sleeved shirt to bed!! Not very romantic on your wedding anniversary.

Also be aware that in some parts of the Greek islands (including this hotel) you can't put soiled toilet paper down the toilet it has to be placed in a bin at the side. Not very nice in 30 degrees heat and if your bin is only emptied once a day (possibly late on in the day).

Although a pool bar is advertised it closed down while we were there. It had been open for limited hours in our first week but come 1st October it closed completely. Also you are not allowed to eat anything which has not been bought at either the poolside bar or the bar in reception. Given this is a self catering holiday that really is not on.

Would I recommend this place to anyone else? Yes as long as you know what you are getting and what you will have to pay extra for. This turned out to be quite an expensive holiday without the standard expected of that level of outlay. I would normally expect much more for the price we paid. Went to Las Vegas for the same amount and had far superior facilities.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floor unless you are happy with people wandering by as you eat or rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at summerland for 2 wks very clean place very friendly staff who are more than willing to help you we stayed in 1 bed appartment overlooking the pool had all you needed in there kept clean with towel changes and linen I wouldn't say it's a downfall but is a leisurely 15 min walk to nearest shop an 30 mins to town but hey you on holiday so chill and go with the flow would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

Just back from 2 weeks at the summerlands.
First impressions....the main reception was lovely, clean ,spacious, lovely well stocked bar.
As we got in our room.... Extrely basic 1 double bed 1 single a dressing table a built in wardrobes. The bathroom.... The shower was so small you couldn't possibly turn round in it, the water went all over the floor everytime you used the shower hence the drains in the bathroom floor and the widow bottom was completely rotten and mouldy. The grout really needed re-doing !!! The pool... Was lovely and clean and very refreshing after a day at the beach. The rooms were swept daily and towels changed every other day. The beach was quite a long walk away and most of the bars and shops again a long walk away . The breakfast was very basic catered mostly for German people, infact if I am perfectly honest the whole complex wasn't catered at all for British guests, no resort info, trip info or any general info that was on the reception desk was in English . On the whole a very quiet, out of the way pleasant little complex that caters especially for Germans and Dutch .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Just got back today from a 10 day stay at Summerland and had the most relaxing holiday ever. The staff were lovely and very friendly. The rooms were clean and large and we had a wonderful balcony overlooking the pool. Breakfast was basic and self service which suited us just fine. Little bit of a walk up to the main road where there was a taverna, mini market and bakery, then just a short distance further to the beach and loads more tavernas. We spent most evenings eating by the beach and thoroughly enjoyed the walk home again afterwards. Took the bus into Rhodes Town once for a day trip and another time for an evening. Very convenient and every 15 mins and very cheap. Didn't end up hiring a car or moped as we chose to relax either at the pool or the beach, but the hotel would arrange the hire company to either collect you and take you to your vehicle, or bring it to you.
Overall a superb holiday and a very rap able price for a 10 day stay :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.3 mi away
Sunday Hotel
Sunday Hotel
#38 of 126 in Rhodes Town
141 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunny Days Hotel
Sunny Days Hotel
#50 of 126 in Rhodes Town
36 reviews
7.7 mi away
Rodos Blue Resort
Rodos Blue Resort
#8 of 18 in Afandou
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
Eleonas Hotel Aparts
#80 of 126 in Rhodes Town
45 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alea Hotel
Alea Hotel
#11 of 31 in Ialyssos
45 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heleni Beach Hotel
Heleni Beach Hotel
#15 of 31 in Ialyssos
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerland Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerland Hotel & Bungalows

Property: Summerland Hotel & Bungalows
Address: 4 Perdikaki Str, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Summerland Hotel & Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Summerland Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerland Hotel And Bungalows
Summerland Hotel Ixia
Summerland Hotel & Bungalows Rhodes/Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing