We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable vacation in a great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunshine Rhodes Hotel
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Ialyssos
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An enjoyable vacation in a great hotel”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

This hotel got raving reviews here for a good reason. We stayed in "Sunshine Vacation Club" during one week in October with our 2 year old son and had a wonderful time! Even though this hotel is only 4 stars, I got the impression it's far better than other "5 stars" hotels in Rhodes.
Here are the points I'd like to review:
* The room: we got a sea view room with a double bed and a baby cot. The furniture in the room was quite basic. The balcony had a great sea view. The room was cleaned every day and was always spotless.
* The food: the food was generally good, better in some days, not great in other days. We could always find something to eat. I preferred the vegetarian dishes, which were better than the meat and fish. The ice cream was always very good. :) We tried the Italian restaurant one night and it was good too. We were told by friends the Greek taben wasn't good.
* The lobby staff: very professional and helpful. Gave us the island map and directions for the buses, as we used only public transportation.
* The animation team: they were very nice, always tried to include our son in the "mini disco" and "mini club" activities. He was too young for some of the activities, but still enjoyed himself.
* Playground: there's a playground inside the hotel with swings, castles, slides. We spent some time there. There's also a playground just outside the hotel which is very good.
* Pool: The water in the pools were TOO COLD to swim in! I think they probably cool the water, so it was impossible for me to swim in October, even when the weather was warm. Some people did swim, but I really can't understand how..
* Beach: the beach was great, but pebbly. Bring water shoes. We preferred to swim in the sea, since the pool was just too cold for us.
Overall, it was a very relaxing and pleasant vacation. I don't think we'll be back, since we've seen the main sites in Rhodes, and we're always looking for some place new to visit.
*

Room Tip: Go for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shirley_Singer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    313
    185
    88
    49
See reviews for
426
237
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
carlisle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Very difficult to come on here and say anything about this place without swearing, but will give it a go. First of all we were delayed by strike action in greece, granted not the hotels fault, but after a 26 hour journey and arriving at the hotel at 6am in the morning absolutely shattered having traveled with a young child and a baby, the check in process was a joke, half an hour to check in when all we wanted to do was get to sleep. when we eventually got to the room only a double bed existed and no sign of the other beds or sheets for the kids, we also pre ordered a cot but that never arrived throughout the whole holiday.

Having arrived a full day late for our holiday we ventured down to the main building for lunch, at first glance the food looked quite nice and the setting was lovely, looking out over the sea, after 2 weeks of the being there we were yet to taste hot food, everything is luke warm at best and very very repetitive.

The restaurant staff were superb throughout, very good with our kids and could not fault them, also the cleaners were very friendly and polite and did a good job of keeping the room clean. this brings me to the room, never 4star, our toilet flusher type device kept falling off, some of the light switches did not work, and neither did the phones. some of the workmanship in the room was terrible, split door frames, skirting boards hanging off, air con didnt work and neither did the fridge. the balcony was 3 floors up and had a foot gap at the end of it, definately big enough for my toddler to get through, very dangerous, upon complaining to the very rude manager was told all you english are the same. maybe if i had spoken with a dutch or german accent the outcome would have been different.

Then to the bars, we had paid all inclusive and it wasnt cheap, the bar ran out of red wine, vodka, and fizzy drinks on a regular basis. the bar outside one of the pools shut one day, despite there being 60 - 70 people in the area, when we asked why we were told it was due to poor weather, absolute rubbish, this bar didnt re open for the entire stay, most of the guests here have never heard of waiting in line and just go straight to the front of any queue.

to top it all of we had a 15 hour delay on the way back due to strikes again, we asked if we could keep our room a little longer instead of being kicked at at 12 noon, no chance, 50 euros they wanted. this in spite of the fact that 27 of us were in our party for a wedding spending tens of thousands with this hotel and we arrived a day late, we only wanted the room till 2200. the hotel was only half full so it shouldnt have been a problem.

then the entertainment, well.................i wont even go into it. just be prepared to be hassled into buying raffle tickets daily for the chance to win the star prize of an ash tray (tongue in cheek)....prizes were awful tho.

football pitch consisted of a broken plastic surface, the goals at one end were to old tennis posts leaning against the wall (very safe for you kids) and at the other there was 2 like dumb bells on the floor, the tennis court was the same broken plastic surface, god knows how they play if the ball lands in a hole.

The beauty room and sauna was under block six, this is what i imagine a concentration camp would have looked like, absolutely shocking.

I am amazed that this hotel has positive reviews........one more thing, if you like stray dogs and cats then this is the place for you, they hang around the beach etc in packs.

there is much much better hotels than this and it has put me off rhodes for ever.

I would not stop here for free, never been as pleased to get home.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank bluearmy94Carlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ialyssos hotels

Sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We stayed here for 10 nights on a deal through Travel Republic on all inclusive basis, we were checked in quickly by the reception staff and given a map of the complex which was very good and everything was explained to us about the all inclusive package. We were in block 5 which is ready for a refurb but we have stayed in worse and paid more money for it, we had a fridge which had a large bottle of water in it and they don't charge for the safe or the air con. We could have done with more drawer space but we managed we just take too many clothes. We had a settee which doubles as a third bed if needed. We didn't pay for a sea view but we got one although we were on the ground floor you could see it down the side of the outdoor gym. The bar staff during the day and the evening were excellent and we never had to wait too long to be served, just a pity that some of the French guests don't understand that they can't just walk up to the bar and get served instantly. The Brits are in the minority at this hotel but that doesn't bother us at all. The animation team worked incredibly hard all day and into the night and whenever you saw them around the complex they always said hello, they were very friendly and tried to involve you in the activities but they weren't pushy just did their best to make sure you were having a great time. The food in the dining room was good and there was plenty of choice at lunch and dinner, the salad bar was very good. We took advantage of the offer of dining in the Greek and Italian restaurant and we enjoyed both visits but there didn't seem to be enough staff and they appeared to be a bit harassed which was a pity.
We had a great time and would not hesitate to return for the price we paid it was fantastic value for money

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SportyMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This hotel is what you would expect for the price, the food is repetive but plenty of it and loads of choice, the drinks are not premium brands but then you are not paying anything like a Sandals Resort, the spirits are 30%ABV but they fill the cup up to a third of its capacity so if you want to get smashed you can, The animation were excellant non stop hard working team. Very Clean room, cleaners were everywhere. I found the bar staff very effecient very polite, The planes do fly over but they dont deafen you, and it makes a change from looking at birds flying around. Pool was very cold and i think that was my only negative point. Would i go back. Yes i think i would.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view, its great seeing turkey first thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank headchef_walesWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Firstly the good points.... the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. Spotless. Very attentive staff at meal times, some of them need to learn to smile once in a while though. Gorgeous views of Turkey opposite the beach.... beach is ok but you need to grab beds early and definitely wear wet shoes as the beach is all stones!!! Animation team were fab. Best i've seen. Always happy and doing something.
Now the bad points... Right in the flight path of the only airport on Rhodes. Hotel is 10 minutes drive from the airport. Very very loud. Planes fly over all times of day and all through the night. Even with ear plugs myself and my partner could hardly sleep. Hotel was 95% German occupied. Staff much more helpful and polite to that Nationality than the British. The people were lovely and made an effort to speak to us in English which was nice, shame the same couldn't be said about the staff. Very unhelpful staff on reception. Rude most of the time. Asked if I could pay for an upgrade to a sea view room and was told the hotel was fully booked. Total rubbish as the hotel was only half full. Staff in hotel bar were very rude. If it got busy they went into a total panic and started shouting at everyone. Several people were swopping their wet beach towels for dry ones at the pool bar, we asked if we could borrow an extra one instead of going to our room to get one as we put ours on the balcony and it had rained and got wet and we were told to not be lazy and go get it! asked if we could get a taxi into Rhodos and was told by reception it was 40 euros!!! Got one up the road for 12. Disgusting service.
The food was the same every day pretty much and not that great and for the last 3 days they had run out of bacon on the breakfast serving. Ice cream was only available at lunch and dinner. Not all day as advertised on All Inclusives. Also no food offered between breakfast and lunch or between dinner and bed time. That to me is not All Inclusive.
Alcohol is definitely watered down. You can taste it, everyone was complaining about it. Also drinks were being served in warm glasses and if they ran out of glasses we got drinks in knickerbocker glory dessert glasses!!
We got woken up several times at 2 or 3 in the morning by the staff deciding to turn the music up at the pool bar very loud and having little parties of their own!
I'm not one to complain about things but I have been on a few All Inclusive holidays and this was definitely the worst. Had lovely weather most of the time and hired a car out which I would highly recommend. Rodos old town is stunning and a must and Lindos is beautiful.My advice, get out and about as much as possible. There's lots to see :-)

Room Tip: Don't pick any of the last blocks.. stay in one of the first 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmicgirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a week and The Sunshine Vacation Club in Rhodes. We had a brilliant relaxing week and can not find fault with this hotel or the staff.
The hotel is situated in a small town of lalyssos. There is a few bars and restaurants outside the hotel as well as gift shops and supermarkets. As you come out of the hotel and turn right over the little bridge you will find a little square with all you need.
Rhodes town is 20 mins on the bus (2.10euro) and is well worth a visit. The old town, with its cobble streets, shops and charm is just beautiful.
The hotel is set right on a pebble beach. Top tip - take aqua shoes as it will be much easier to get in and out of the sea. We spent many hours on lilos in the water crystal clear water - just wonderful.
Our room had a sea view ( well worth paying a little extra for) and opening the curtains in the morning to the most breath taking views of the sea and the coastline of Turkey was a dream come true. I think that some rooms are of a higher standard than others but ours was perfect.
The staff at reception, the restaurant and bars were so helpful, polite and welcoming and again can not fault them - an asset to the hotel.
The entertainment staff did not stop! There was always something going on from volleyball to darts, Latin dance lessons and mini golf competitions. They would ask if you wanted to join in but did not hassle you. They put on really good shows in the evening and even though this is not usually our cup of tea we had a ball - lovely young team!
Food - The buffet restaurant was lovely. There was at least 8 hotplates, salad, breads, pastries, cereals, fruit, ice cream and deserts. The choice was endless and something different everyday. There is also 2 al' carte restaurants you can book at reception the day before. We only used the Italian - but would highly recommend it.
At the bars there is also plenty of choice - Vodka, ouzo, brandy, gin, whiskey, sambuca, beer, cocktails, white / red and rose' wine and liqueurs. Cola, lemonade, soda water, juices, water, coffee and tea - Again the choice is endless.
The hotel was spotless and the rooms were cleaned to a very high standard. All in all the hotel was brilliant and I really do not know what some people were moaning about.

Room Tip: Pay for a sea view - Well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clareandjamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

I will split this review down to enable you to get the best and worse of what this hotel has to offer. I will grade each section out of 5 and then an overall trip advisor grade. Hopefully this will give you enough information to enable you to make an informed decision whether to book a holiday or not.
5/5 LOCATION - Without doubt this hotel benefits from excellent views out over the blue/green sea which is clear and warm. You can see turkey from the beach as well as Rhodes town. Another benefit is the excellent sunsets to finish off the warm sunny days.
4/5 HOTEL GROUNDS - Lots of well kept gardens and flowers/ palm trees. Looking a little bit tired in areas but generally well kept with 3 pools spaced out nicely along the complex.But why is it that what is classed as the Family/childrens pool is as deep is 1.40m, when the main pool has a huge area of 90-1.20m!
3/5 POOL BARS - This is where things get confusing, At the family pool bar you can get juice drinks (non fizzy) or beer, but no fizzy drinks or any other bar type drink. At the main pool you can get any type of drink. The service system is that you queue in a line, however the germans tend to ignore this and walk straight to the front. Why they can't have fizzy drinks and a proper bar at the family pool is beyond me. It makes it very inconvenient to get an alcoholic drink if you do have a young family as you would have to trek them along with you.
3/5 Rooms - At the first glance I would have given this room a full five stars until you scratch beneath the surface, We we given rooms in what is the newest block on the complex with modern rooms and families in mind, They are situated right by the family pool (Yes the one that is 1.40m!). Within hours of arriving we hit our first problem when the door would not open, I went back to reception why "recharged" the key card (an 5 min brisk walk to get there) and on return it still would not work. My wife then went twice and it still wouldnt work, the third time with steam shooting out of her ears they sent someone from the maintenance team who spent a good hour with another team member trying to figure out the problem and they couldnt. It was while they were here and tried to ring reception that they realised non of the phones worked. I then also noticed that there was no lock on the balcony sliding door. They said someone would be back on Monday to fix the door and phone and Sunday for for the door. They did fix the door on the Sunday and left a bowl of fruit with a bottle of wine as an apology. As we were all inclusive and could eat as much fruit and drink as much wine as we wanted anyway I couldnt see the point. The balcony lock and door were never fixed, no one ever came back. Also in the rooms - Cooking unit but nothing to cook with, A Microwave but no knives or forkes, No tea and coffee making facilities, the Bedsheets dont fit the bed properly, The rest of the apartment is very nice, bathroom lovely and the decor very now with tastefull pictures and LED downlighters.
1/5 Food and Drink - I Came with high expectations following the previous reviews on trip advisor and was sorely disappointed. When I go on holiday I expect nice food, over the week I trawled through virtually everything on offer searching for something I Could find that was better than average. If I cooked this food at home I would be very upset, If I was was served it in a pub or resteraunt I wouldnt go back and would begrudge paying for it. By day 3 we had opted to go out for evening meals and the first offering we got at a local taverna I would class as 5/5 oustanding so lt isnt my tastes at fault! If your aim at mealtimes is just to "Feel full" and your not that bothered about the flavour or the eating experience the food will be acceptable for you. If you like your mealtimes to be an experience and something special, forget it. You can also have 2 a ala carte meals while there. We tried the italian on day 2 and the food was slightly better 2/5 at best, but we had a very rude waitress who thought it was acceptable to laugh and joke about my family just with her colleague just becuase we were not ready to order when she asked us. Also with your meal your choices were wine, Fizzy drink or beer. Anything else and you were out of luck! when was the last time you went to have a meal limited to those drink options? On day 5 we had the Greek a la carte option, The food was a lot better than usual and on its own merit would have been a 3/5.The drinks were very poor, the fizzy drinks were out of a dispenser and must have been the cheapest possible (Remember this is 4 star) as none of them tasted remotley like they should. Spirits - Although I stay away from from them my wife went through Gin, Bacardi and Vodka as well as the odd mixer and assured me they all tasted very odd and not remotley like they normally would. I stopped eating the all inclusive food by day 4 as I felt ill, whether it was the food or a bug of another kind I am unsure but I couldnt face looking at the food any longer and started eating a a great greek taverna in the village.
2/5 Overall score - A very disapponting 2/5 reflects all the above, I was also informed that the other blocks are due for renovation at the end of the year so I am glad we never got one of those rooms! Would I go again, not a chance. Some might say I am not easy to please but only 2 years ago I graded the Lara Beach Hotel 5/5 on their all inclusive experience so as this hotel is a four star I expected more than I got. There are many positive reviews on here abut this hotel hence the reason I am so disappointed. So take your chances, however I can guarantee that there are much better all inclusive hotels out there and I have been to them (Lara Beach, Turkey). If you have give this hotel a high score and enjoyed the food, the good news is there are far superior hotels out there with much better food and drink options.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KEVIN025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.6 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,580 reviews
0.8 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dodeca Sea Resort
Dodeca Sea Resort
#23 of 31 in Ialyssos
791 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#20 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,557 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Sun Beach Resort Complex
#3 of 31 in Ialyssos
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Rhodes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Rhodes Hotel

Property: Sunshine Rhodes Hotel
Address: 1 Platia Rapti, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ialyssos
#4 Spa Hotel in Ialyssos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Rhodes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 1 minute walk from the beach. 4-star Sunshine Rhodes is situated on the sandy pebbled beach in the ancient town of Ialyssos, 7 km from the city of Rhodes. Guests have access to a private beach, 3 pools and a tennis court. The Rhodes Sunshine offers air-conditioned, elegant rooms, some of which enjoy sea views. Each is equipped with a bathroom with hairdryer. In-room facilities include a mini fridge and satellite TV. Wi-Fi access is provided upon charge. Dionissos Restaurant serves breakfast and lunch buffets. Mamma Mia Restaurant serves Italian cuisine and the Sunshine Bars serve cocktails and juices. Mountain bikes are available to rent and aerobics classes are provided. Younger guests can have fun in the children’s pool or the playground. Butterfly Valley is 16 km away. Diagoras Rhodes International Airport is at 6 km. Free private parking is possible on site. Families particularly like the location — they rated it 8 for a stay with kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sunshine Rhodes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Vacation Club Rhodes Hotel Ialyssos
Sunshine Vacation Hotel
Holiday Sunshine
Sunshine Rhodes Hotel Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing