We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank You All at Sunshine Rhodes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunshine Rhodes Hotel
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Ialyssos
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thank You All at Sunshine Rhodes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Having read the all of the reviews rated 1 and 5 stars before arriving we thought that we would probably thought that it would be somewhere in between. Not at all ! Both ourselves and our four children (three teenage girls and a seven year old boy had a fanastic time). Food was good, weather was fantastic but best of all were the activities put on by the animation team which were excellent during the day and in the evening.All the chat on the flight back was that we are planning to come back again next year.
Thanks to all the team and especially Becky, Kate, Jonny and Gabriel for making our stay such an enjoyable one.
The hotel caters mainly for Dutch, Swedish and German families but as an English family we found this to not be a problem and found people to be very friendly and sociable.
As with most of the better hotels the only tip I would give is to put your towels down on early on the sunbeds if you have a larger family although for smaller families then should be fine.
See you next year!
xxx

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy and Cath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    273
    163
    76
    46
See reviews for
362
221
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

Just a short note to others looking at this hotel. We booked this accommodation in September 2011 for two weeks in July 2012. We were advised 4 weeks before the flights that they had overbooked and we were being transferred to another hotel in the same area. We reluctantly accepted this only for the same room and dates to be re-advertised through Expedia at £1,800 more than what we paid. When in the resort I went to the hotel for an explanation, and all I got was a shrug of the shoulders, and said they were sorry. Book at your own peril !!!!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AL1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ialyssos hotels

Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

my firends have been here before in may and say that i should go. but i was very disapointed. the hotel was ok , but not what i expected . the rooms was low standard and ac not working always .
the dancers was not good , the singers was not good and all the animation team was low standard so we stopped going to the shows and going out instead . the food was maybe the best part , so at least it was something ok about the vacation , but we will not come back . maybe we had very high expetations since our friends say so many good things about the shows and the animations , but this was not good . i met other familyes from germany that feel the same so its not just us , just want to be honest .

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank AlPet252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We were a family of five (kids aged 7, 16 and 17) who stayed at this hotel 20th June 2012-4th July 2012. We arrived at the hotel at 1 am, and were given a room in the basement. The room reeked of damp, and the wall paper had come off the walls. Complained to the receptionist, and were given another two damp smelling rooms to look at, but we complained again, and we finally settled that one night for a double room, as it was getting close to 3 am and we were tired from traveling. The aircon didn`t work, and also the doubleroom smelt badly. The next day we were given a new room at noon, and this room was ok and on the 2nd floor. During our stay we experienced bad cleaning of the rooms. The entertainment didn`t take place by the pool bar, but in a dark back area between the hotel bulidings. We were seated on plastic chairs in a row, and there were no tables nor chances of getting a drink unless you went to the pool bar. The sound system was really bad, and didn`t do the animation team any favours.
Upon our arrival we asked if it would be possible to keep our room on our day of departure, and were told that this should not be a problem ( it cost 40-50 Euros). My husband checked with the hotel three times before our departure to make sure it would be OK to keep the room, as we were not leaving the hotel until 10 pm and check out time was noon, and he was told we could keep the room. On the day of our departure my husband went to the reception to pay for the extended keep of the room, and was told we could not keep the room, they didn`t even bother to ask which room number we had! We had to leave our room at noon, and could shower in the basement before we went. We were not happy about this, as we had already paid 7000 Euros for two weeks!The staff was generally rude and not very friendly, except the manager of the snack bar.
Our son won a CD at bingo, and this was scratched, The animation team announced different evening activities, but more often than not these were altered without any information.
Our first impression of the food was that it was good, but after a couple of days it got mundane, and you had to que up in a smokey dining room in order to get a bit of food. You could book a table in the theme restaurant (greek/italian), but then you had to be at the reception at 11 am sharp (according to the receptionist), so we didn`t bother.
The animation team did their best, and it was not their fault that they could not have their shows at the pool bar.
The hotel complex is nice from the outside, but anything else was a let down. We would definetly NOT recommend this hotel, and will never return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Vadur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

After spending time on looking at hotels i booked this one back in Jan ! . While at the airport i had a call to say my room had been over booked and cancelled. Joke! Left so last min had no choice to accept another hotel. Funny thing was while looking online you could still book the hotel but at a higher cost! I told travel provider and they had no answers. But it was not there fault. Clearly a scam to take bookings at a higher cost. We were not the only people this had happened to, we spoke to another 2 couples who had there rooms cancelled and relocated to ixia. I am due to returned in Aug with family and had i like this hotel i would have re booked. No chance now. Not done there reputation any good. Be very careful when booking with this hotel as i am not the only obey this has happened to.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinesoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanløse, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Aug. 2011
Great vacation place for kids.
Animation team was great.
Food to much the same every day.
hotel room, need to be renovated
staff, management need to do it better. people on the floor are great
beach: to windy and to many stones
Missing: Wi-Fi in the rooms,
Bad: No indoor Gym, no indoor pool, not enough sunbeds, room
would I go back?, well yes, if they do some change in the rooms and maybe make more family rooms.

Room Tip: sea view are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMJ-DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

My friend and I have just arrived back today and we both had a really wonderful all inclusive holiday. I don't usually write reviews but felt that this hotel Cant understand some of the previous poor reviews as our own experience was first class.
Our room was very nice with comfortable beds and pillows. It was well maintained and clean. We had a problem on arrival with air conditioning but once I had contacted reception they were onto it immediately and we were offered another room and was pleased with alternative. The staff reacted swiftly and the issue was resolved. We understood that in a big establishment things can break down same as if you were at home.
The location could not have been better it was right on the beach and towels and loungers were available free. Sun loungers were plentiful around the pools and on the beach but as in many hotels its first come first served. We managed to get loungers everyday.
The food for all meals was excellent with a huge variety on offer with salad bar, pasta bar , grill,hot food choices, sweets, Fresh fruits like figs, pineapple, melon, grapefruit as well as usual oranges and apples, cheeses , ice cream and much more we were amazed at the choice,
Drinks were freely available with meals wine, beer and soft drinks on tap as well as all the usual drinks and cocktails at the pool bar where the staff get to know the guests and even remember what you like!. Again this area was managed well and kept clean with staff making regular checks to ensure no rubbish was left hanging around.
The staff were attentive and table cleared quickly and areas kept clean.

By far the thing that made this holiday memorable for us was the Animation Team. They worked tirelessly all day and evening long to ensure that guests were entertained and they were without doubt absolutely OUTSTANDING!. Although we only joined in a couple of the activities we enjoyed the theatre shows, Disco Inferno, Lord of the Dance and Abba nights and loved watching the darts and taking part in the music quiz....ooozo ooozo ooozo !!! (Team manager Nemo may change the drink in the future though) ha ha ha . Every member of the animation team made contact with us and ensured we joined in but did not push if we preferred not to, I don't usually join in but they made it so much fun I am so glad I did. I promise you will come away humming and dancing to the music they play and get you up dancing to!. Thank you guys!!!!

Room Tip: second block is ideally located near to the pool and main
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toots111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.6 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 32 in Ialyssos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.8 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
2.3 mi away
Smartline Cosmopolitan Hotel
Smartline Cosmopolitan Hotel
#19 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oceanis Hotel
Oceanis Hotel
#16 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Rhodes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Rhodes Hotel

Property: Sunshine Rhodes Hotel
Address: 1 Platia Rapti, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Ialyssos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Ialyssos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Rhodes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Expedia, Hotelopia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunshine Rhodes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Vacation Club Rhodes Hotel Ialyssos
Sunshine Vacation Hotel
Holiday Sunshine
Sunshine Rhodes Hotel Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing