We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunshine Rhodes Hotel
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Ialyssos
Reviewed 17 May 2013

This has to have been one of the best hotels we have ever been to, from the hotel itself, the food, the location, the staff were all wonderful, the entertainment staff go out of their way to be friendly and not pushy for you to join in, but the offer is there.If i had to be picky it would be there were not enough outside toilets, they were quite a walk from the main pool bar. We had the best time and give this hotel a 10/10

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dearbernsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 912 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

The hotel is right on the beach. It is very clean and well kept. Excellent for families and couples, probably less so for younger people in groups as the entertainment is not there for them.

Food was very good and quite varied, reasonably priced hotel and convenient for the airport (some flight noise, but not excessive) and Old Town Rhodes. Rooms very clean, pools are great.

All staff were very friendly and helpful, with good english language skills. Actually, not many Brits in the hotel when we were there, mainly Scandinavians and North Europeans.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Me and my husband+our two daughters,age 0 and 4 stayed at this lovely hotel from 1.May to 8.May. This is a great place to stay with children an the animation team are really great with the kids.The mini disco was great even though my daughter dont speak English,Deutch or Russian.They were so including that in the end she knew the moves and the songs :) We came back from this wonderful vacation few days ago and my 4year old girl still have the mini disco going on in the living room with the "Yarra Yarra" song <3
Fantastic people who made the week for us :) Thank you!!
The room was updated and they cleaned it daily. Its not fancy but far from bad.
The food was great so many things to choose from and diffrent every day. We could also choose one day at the Italien resturant and one day at the greek resturant but we never went there because we were so happy with the buffet :)
The recepsion were very helpfull all the time. We needed a water boiler for our room and they came within minutes with it on the door to the room. Great service!
We are not English but there were no problem for us or them to speak English,we felt very included :)
The pools are clean and great and the childrens slides are great!!
Im coming next year for sure!!! This is great!!!!

Room Tip: We booked a doubble superior room with a sea view. 2 floor first building next to the reseption and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Please please please, take these negative reviews in here seriously and think twice and do your studies before booking this hotel!!!

After the last year successful and fantastic all inclusive holiday in Curfo, me and my fiancé decided to go back to Greece again. But this time we thought to try a different island and regrettably ended up booking an all inclusive hotel in Rhodes.

We have Just got back from 5 days Holiday in Sunshine Vacation Club in Lalyssos, Rhodes (never again)...

I don't know how and where to begin.

I would like to start by pointing out that we are an easy going couple and do not look for problems in hotels but we were so disapointed we had to write something. This is an absolute and fair review. So if you are used to staying at proper All Incusive 5* hotels, please avoid this hotel, unless you want to get disappointed and waste your money.

Lets start with negative points:

1- This hotel is definitely NOT a 5*. More like a 2 to max 3*.

2- The check in was easy and quick but there was nobody in the hotel lobby to help us with our luggages.

3- Upon arriving at the hotel, we were told there is no Free Wifi anywhere in the hotel. The girl at the reception told us she can not provide us with pre-paid cards and we needed to purchase cards over the Internet! Nowadays, every where offer free Wifi, let alone a 5* Hotel!!!! That was a least of our problem, but finding out you need to pay €10 per day for accessing the Internet was an absolute shock!!!!

4- We were put in a sea view room. The room was OK (low standard), but the bathroom was very small, the shower was dated and the shower door wasn't closing properly so every time we took a shower we ended up having a big puddle in the middle of bathroom!

5- There were damp damages on the walls, and instead of rectifying the damp issue, the maintenance of the hotel painted over it and it was noticeable and unpleasant...

6- There was no kettle or any tea/coffee making facility in the room. At first We thought maybe they forgot to put it in our room, but later we found out from the reception that none of the rooms has this!

7- There was no key on the safety deposit box, we had to go back to the reception to pick it up cus they forgot to leave it in there...

8- The balcony's door was so hard to open as it didn't have a proper handle. The balcony itself is very small and not enough room to sunbath...

9- FOOD - Ohh where do we start! Having been to a few AI hotels before, I know to expect the 'international buffet' is general food. It was, however, RUBBISH! Literally the same thing every day and night, veg and meat recycled from the previous meal. Nothing tasted good.
I have read many of the reviews on here and honestly have to question other people's standard of living! I can't complain with the volume of food but the quality was awful, bland, no flavour, mostly under cooked and rarely hot. The ingredients and produce must be the cheapest the chef can find, nothing was fresh, even the bread! Most of the fruit and veg had come out of tins! There was no Tea or Coffee facilities to use and have a hot drinks with your dessert... Finally, if you like school and prison meals, this hotel is definitely serves those sort of food.

10- Alcohol is definitely watered down. You can taste it, everyone was complaining about it. Cocktails at the pool bar didn't taste nice.

11- The staff in the reception were not nice and not willing to help at all. When we asked them about any excursions happening, they were so surprised and acted like we were aliens and asking them strange things!!!! They didn't even know where and how to get a bus to the city centre let alone other information about Rhodes and any other interesting places in Rhodes! Absolutely useless staff.

12- If you are British or an English speaker, you will be ignored as this hotel is a German hotel and most of the programs and animation staff are German or Dutch!

13- The hotel complex is nice from the outside and in the photos, but It is very dated and definitely needs improvement.


Positive points:

1- Cleaners and restaurant staff were friendly and nice.

2- Swimming pools and the sea were clean.

We would definetly NOT recommend this hotel, and will never return.

Room Tip: DO NOT ever go to this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flirtishia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Simple. Great Hotel. Great Food. Great Staff. Beer on Tap. Cocktails on Tap. Clean. A must visit. Loved the 10 days i spent here. The food was great had so much choice for breakfast lunch and dinner. Staff and animation team were fantastic. you wont be bored here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Iain T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

very nice hotel with excellent see view and freindly staff,very nice animation team they make our holiday better very polit,thanks a lot for nemo rio alina and kate it was nice show with a lot of dance and funny as well,we hope we find u again next year because we want back our kids was very happy and till today they are speaking about u and the crazy nemo...thanks

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank aymen19881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Loved our stay here, fantastic kids club and kids disco which made our holiday travelling with young children they looked forward to the activities and characters dressed up mickey etc. Kids and adults pools great, kids playground in hotel and public one at the gates which was bigger and great for giving the kids choice, it got really busy at 6-7pm with all the greek children I found it enjoyable seeing my kids interact with children talking different languages to each other!! Brilliant service all round i found the customer service second to none from bar staff to reception, maid service etc, rooms were modern and good size we were a family of 4 cot provided when we arrived at room, some finishing touches to rooms required only snagging jobs but we discussed how these little things let the hotel down as everything else was so good, but there is probably over 200 rooms and this is the opinion of just our room - this would be the only complaint. Food delicious - presented so well, good choice, main restaurant has fantastic sea views with large sliding doors a very pleasant room to eat in also tavern was great in the day for pizza, pasta and greek salad :-). The animation team at this hotel worked so hard and took real pride in their work the showmanship was fantastic and they worked as a real team i noticed this the whole week, they were ALL friendly and not to pushy, I especially credit Becky who provided great service for the children, she greeted all the children that came to her by name (how she remembered them all) the older children could go off with her for an hour or two and they did great treasure hunts with the little dog... and various activities my children were young so I attended some of things with them both Becky and Katie were English and I would have been comfortable letting my kids stay with them I would often see her doing head counts walking around the complex!! - I would definitely go back to this hotel and Rhodes is such a beautiful island.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GemmaPeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.6 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 32 in Ialyssos
1,714 reviews
0.8 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,791 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dodeca Sea Resort
Dodeca Sea Resort
#22 of 32 in Ialyssos
843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Sun Beach Resort Complex
#3 of 32 in Ialyssos
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Rhodes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Rhodes Hotel

Address: 1 Platia Rapti, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ialyssos
#5 Spa Hotel in Ialyssos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range: £67 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Rhodes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 1 minute walk from the beach. 4-star Sunshine Rhodes is situated on the sandy pebbled beach in the ancient town of Ialyssos, 7 km from the city of Rhodes. Guests have access to a private beach, 3 pools and a tennis court. The Rhodes Sunshine offers air-conditioned, elegant rooms, some of which enjoy sea views. Each is equipped with a bathroom with hairdryer. In-room facilities include a mini fridge and satellite TV. Wi-Fi access is provided upon charge. Dionissos Restaurant serves breakfast and lunch buffets. Mamma Mia Restaurant serves Italian cuisine and the Sunshine Bars serve cocktails and juices. Mountain bikes are available to rent and aerobics classes are provided. Younger guests can have fun in the children’s pool or the playground. Butterfly Valley is 16 km away. Diagoras Rhodes International Airport is at 6 km. Free private parking is possible on site. Families particularly like the location — they rated it 8 for a stay with kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sunshine Rhodes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Vacation Club Rhodes Hotel Ialyssos
Sunshine Vacation Hotel
Holiday Sunshine
Sunshine Rhodes Hotel Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing