We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sea views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunshine Rhodes Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Ialyssos
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with friends in June 2014 and it was an extremely good value for money all inclusive holiday.
Spacious rooms with fantastic sea views, tv and fridge. Although we had to unplug the lamp to get a plug socket so take a 4way adapter. Bathrooms are a bit dated and hot water was off on one evening. Room was clean and bug free :)
Pools are amazing and we always managed to get a Sunbeds.
Bars are well staffed but choice of drinks is very limited.
Restaurants, breakfast every morning over looking the sea was fantastic, food was typical of all inclusive. We booked into one of the restaurants which was really nice - u have to book the day before at reception 11am.
Location was good, short transfer and the white top mercedes taxis are very reasonable. Shops restaurants and supermarkets all near by.
Nightlife / didn't find any near the hotel (but didn't really look) I suspect you would need a taxi.
Hotel entertainment - hmm the stage is too far away from the bar areas and there are no tables. Short basic evening show from the hotel staff. Not up to a standard you would expect from an all inclusive hotel at this star rating - if u are looking for a hotel with good evening entertainment program with a pleasant stage area different hotel.
Staff, fabulous and hard working (to a point that I wondered if they ever had a break!)
Beach location of the hotel was perfect for us and wind surfing/jet ski just a short stroll up the beach.
In summary lovely sunny holiday, great beach front location, ok quality drinks nice food but poor entertainment program but fabulous friendly staff. Great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (887)
There are newer reviews for Sunshine Rhodes Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 887 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

As a part of out trip to Greece we had included the Island of Rhodes. Par of this reasoning was the history and sites to see. As with a trips our hotel was important for the same reason most people want a nice place, safe, comfortable, with ease of access to what you intend on doing. We reviewed and considered many options before choosing this hotel with one of the main motives was that it has an all inclusive option. Our arrival and check in would be late as we are coming from Barcelona. I emailed them ahead to advise of this arrival and upon check in they were prepared as they handed us the check in card and told us to head for supper before it closed. Staff were very helpful with information, maps and answers to all our questions. I was surprised by our room great views, large and comfortable. The food was plenty and the beer was cold. We chose to swim in the Aegean as opposed to any of the 3 pools which are all beautiful. Evening entertainment was fun even during the day there is always something to do and children are welcome and included, as we are seniors this was not important to us but we loved to watch. The fact that it is and all inclusive we felt day trips were easy as we could choose to be away all day or part of a day and still partake in most if not all of the meals. No lack of food or snacks so the waste line does suffer a little. Getting to and from the airport to the hotel was easy by taxi and reasonable as rates are posted. If you go pack a camera, suntan lotion and a smile as there is fun to have.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KCFTRA12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We returned a few days ago from Sunshine Rhodes. Nice hotel, but very low quality food. They have no shame Submit fruit is not edible, lacking a variety of food, desserts awful, and every day repeats the same food recycled. The room where we were was very simple, very low maintenance level, no plasma screens but very old TV sets. Safe did not work, sheets with holes. Not high standard of cleanliness. Entertainment Staff nice, but a lot fee. For example if you want to play bingo, it costs 5 euros. Very nice public areas.
Nina, England

Room Tip: room with no see view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nirit d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I enjoyed my staying at the hotel, especially with the amazing view we got with our room.

But for one thing is that the personal need to be more service minded. Some were really really nice and always tried to help you in the best way, and others couldnt care less.
But Animation team was really nice and funny!
But if you are going to have an Animation team that does all the entertaining + all the workouts, for gods sake have someone that knows how to do it!

I´m a trainer myself and there was one girl that was amazing, an English beauty named Lucy, that didnt get the workouts everyday because all the other ones wanted to show off.
Lucy always had a great smile and she knew how to do the workouts correctly!

There was one guy, Rio, that seemed to be the head of Animation team and he likes to show off himself, but he sucks when it comes to correct training.
If you are going to hold an Water Aerobic class you need to do it correctly, and many of the women got offended about some of his moves and his lack of control.
Its dangerous to hold an workout for people if you dont know the technique.

Also, I was scared to notice that some of the personal had not recieved there paycheck even if they had worked for 2 months with is so unacceptable!!!!!!!!!!
There is no way these people that have been working for 6 days, at least 10 hours a day, should not get payed!

I think this place need a serious change, and they need to understand that there personal is the one that is going to keep the people arround.

Room Tip: Choose the house Apollo! try to get the top rooms with a sea view, amazing!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josefin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel from 4th to 18th June hotel in lovely location right on the beach, Rooms cleaned daily staff in restaurant and bars are very friendly and worked very hard and always had a smile and welcome for you.Special mention to Cerys, Keith and Lucy on the Animation team always friendly and helpful although I got the impression the other Animation team didnt treat them very well cos they Brits and British guests in minority at this hotel.Would I go back probably not.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosieandjim121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed our second stay at this hotel. Great food, drinks and entertainment. The animation team work really hard to get everyone involved but aren't overly pushy if you just want to chill. Would definitely recomend the hotel and will probably go again ourselves.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Arrived here on 12th May for 10 nights and had an absolutely amazing time! On arrival we were greeted by a lovely receptionist Maria who gave us a beautiful sea view room in the first block. These are lovely renovated rooms and after speaking to other people, a lot better than the blocks towards the back of the complex.

The food was amazing for an all inclusive hotel- a massive variety - paticularly loved the Greek and Mexican night in the restaurant. You can book to eat in the Greek and Italian restaurant once during your stay but i wouldn't really recommend it as the food in the main restaurant is MUCH nicer- although ok for a change. There is also a snack bar next to the pool which is open 12-4 serving pizza, chips, icecream etc.

Stunning hotel and stunning location- there is plenty of shops/bars outside of the hotel and you can get a taxi for around 12 euros to Rhodes Town. Would deffo recommend getting a taxi to the hotel from airport as we made the mistake of getting a transfer which we were on for about 45 minutes and then went PAST the airport again( they had took 2 people to the opposite side of the island and then the rest of us the other side!) completely ridiculous took about an hour and a half overall and a taxi would have only cost 15 euros.

And of course the best part of the hotel is the ANIMATION TEAM- Rio, Andy, Lucy, Cerys, Kassey, Laura, Keith and Nemo are AMAZING :) Completely made our holiday- they make a massive effort to get everyone involved and getting to know each guest . This hotel would be nothing without them - they will make your holiday. They put on some fantastic shows and this was at the start on the season so I am sure they have much more up their sleeves! We particularly enjoyed the Abba rendition by Lucy - haha!

Will definitely return- Tracey and Lauren x

Room Tip: First block( Room 101)
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traceylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ialyssos
0.6 mi away
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Rhodes
#2 of 31 in Ialyssos
1,637 reviews
2.4 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,822 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dodeca Sea Resort
Dodeca Sea Resort
#22 of 31 in Ialyssos
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
D'Andrea Mare Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
Sheraton Rhodes Resort
#14 of 126 in Rhodes Town
1,731 reviews
1.8 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
Amathus Beach Hotel Rhodes
#13 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunshine Rhodes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunshine Rhodes Hotel

Address: 1 Platia Rapti, Ialyssos 851 01, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ialyssos
#5 Spa Hotel in Ialyssos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range: £61 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunshine Rhodes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 1 minute walk from the beach. 4-star Sunshine Rhodes is situated on the sandy pebbled beach in the ancient town of Ialyssos, 7 km from the city of Rhodes. Guests have access to a private beach, 3 pools and a tennis court. The Rhodes Sunshine offers air-conditioned, elegant rooms, some of which enjoy sea views. Each is equipped with a bathroom with hairdryer. In-room facilities include a mini fridge and satellite TV. Wi-Fi access is provided upon charge. Dionissos Restaurant serves breakfast and lunch buffets. Mamma Mia Restaurant serves Italian cuisine and the Sunshine Bars serve cocktails and juices. Mountain bikes are available to rent and aerobics classes are provided. Younger guests can have fun in the children’s pool or the playground. Butterfly Valley is 16 km away. Diagoras Rhodes International Airport is at 6 km. Free private parking is possible on site. Families particularly like the location — they rated it 8 for a stay with kids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunshine Rhodes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunshine Vacation Club Rhodes Hotel Ialyssos
Sunshine Vacation Hotel
Holiday Sunshine
Sunshine Rhodes Hotel Ialyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing