We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average.”

Carrusel Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 22 Restaurants in Kolimbia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Finland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average.”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Staff is friendly and busy. Portions are big and prices are quite cheap, but there is a reason for it. Everything is very overcooked, meats, fish and vegetables. I ordered swordfish and first thing i noticed was the smell of the fish, i can still smell it. I probably order swordfish never again. Taste was okeyish but meat bonedry as i mentioned earlier. Others didn't mind that much about the dry meats, maybe i'm just picky. But anyway, giving average ratings is kind in my mind remembering that fish.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FinApi78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    99
    31
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Restaurant with great personal service”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Me and my wife visited Kolymbia, Rhodes 1 week in late June 2013. We stayed in a big stylish hotel, but never had our dinner or lunch there. That is because on the first evening we found this local restaurant Carrusel.

They had excellent Greek food (especially Stifado and Lamb Kleftiko!) served with a very friendly attitude. We even had long discussions with the owner who told us stories of their restaurant and also other local things. Respectively, we told some interesting details of our home country Finland.

We really appreciate this friendly and personal service. On one late evening, there was not Lamb Kleftiko available anymore, but as we promised to come back next evening, they had reserved and made it for us!

After dinner, ouzo (or sweet liqueur for ladies) was offered "from the house".

Highly recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HannuA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, great price but didn't like the service”
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

After reading about Carousel on TripAdvisor my boyfriend and I decided to eat here on our first evening in Kolymbia.

The food was OK, if a little bland, and we found the staff to be pushy - particularly when they questioned us as to why we couldn't finish the big portions.

It's obviously a popular tourist spot (despite being located next to a noisy bar) and these may seem like petty points, however, first impressions count and we decided not to return to the taverna again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laueliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch and good value for money”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We had lunch here yesterday after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. Took us a while to find it as the correct spelling is **** CARROUSEL ***** but it was certainly worth it. Great waiter service. Good size portions and excellent value for money. Pizza freshly cooked with loads of topping. Also we were offered either an ice cream cone or glass of Ouzo on the house. Well done to the staff. Will certainly return before we go home. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ole1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch...good value for money”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here yesterday...very good service....excellent value for money...good size portions. Were also offered a free ice cream cone or glass of Ouzo on the house. Lovely gesture. Thoroughly recommended

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ole1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carrusel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carrusel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing