We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic relaxing holiday”
Review of Hotel Anavadia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Anavadia
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We booked this hotel as a special offer through Olympic holidays and we had a fantastic time. The hotel itself was far nicer than any other ones the transfer bus stopped at and was really chic, clean and comfortable.

Considering the amount we paid the all inclusive was incredible. DON'T LISTEN TO ALL THOSE MISERABLE PEOPLE who claimed it was rubbish. For a small hotel the choice was really good and was a good mix of local greek specialities (we gorged on Roasted Aubergine & Feta for the whole week) and more British stuff (cooked breakfast, chips, pasta etc). The meals were varied and we didn't eat out in the evening once. The one lunch we had out cost over 25 Euros and wasn't as good as the hotel fayre. The hotel will provide a packed lunch on request and the staff encouraged us to take as mush as we liked from the breakfast buffet to supplement it.

The staff were really helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

The Olympic holiday excusions were a bit pricey, but there are plenty of local tour operators in the resort that offer cheaper deals.

If the same offer is available next year we'd definitely go back - its a perfect spot for relaxation and soaking up the sun. The pool area is lovely.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlgibson2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 683 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2010

This is a beautiful 40 room small hotel. The rooms are very comfortable we had a family room which was very large with a separate lounge area also had a small fridge. The bathroom is a wetroom with a spa massage bath with shower and separate shower.
The restaurant has lovely food from cereals, cooked meats and cheese to full cooked breakfast, lunch and dinner are soups to salads and hot food and desserts.
The pool feels cold when you are going in but once you start swimming it feels ok, around the pool area are plenty of sunbeds which are really nice and we never had the problem of having to put towels out.
There are 3 beaches in Kolymbia 1 is shingle with watersports, 1 lovely small cove with a small harbour and a really nice sandy beach, and a sand and shingle beach which is also really nice.
It is very easy to get to Faliraki, Rhodes Town, and Lindos from the hotel. There is a bus stop straight outside it is 2euros each way to go to Faliraki and 3 euros each way to go to Rhodes Town or Lindos ( compared with 26 euros to go with tour operator ) and is very easy to use the buses, you can get a bus timetable from reception.
The staff in the hotel cannot be faulted at all, they are all friendly and very helpful.
With the hotel being small all the guests got on really well.
I would definately go back to this hotel it is the best, and most relaxing holiday we have ever had.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ahs100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2010

This hotel is excellent. The rooms are modern, spotless and spacious with a generous balcony or terrace. All members of staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. The all-inclusive was excellent value for money given the price charged. The drinks were not well-known brands but were fine and hit the spot on long hot days in the open air.There is absolutely nothing wrong with the food. Plenty of choice at breakfast although I did not try the hot food but my husband seemed to like it. There was good fresh bread and pastries, Greek yoghurt, honey and preserves, fruit ,cheese and tomatoes, cereals of every kind. What more could you ask for? Lunch and dinner were buffets with fresh salads, tasty Greek dishes, pasta and sauces. There were chips if you wanted them but the oven cooked potatoes with herbs were delicious as was the tender lamb with crispy skin. I did not think the meals were repetitive and if they had been it would not of mattered because the taste and quality was very good. The hotel is in a rural setting with views of the mountains close by and a working farm of goats. We would go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshirerovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

When our rep at the airport told us how lucky we were to be staying there I felt very positive, when I first saw the hotel my enthusiasm increased and even when we got into the room I was pleasantly surprised...so far so good!!
It all started to go down hill from breakfast the folowing morning and as the week went on my enthusiam turned to despair... and starvation!!! The food is awful, if Jamie Oliver thought school dinners was bad, he ought to try this hotel...I have never eaten anything so bad, and I have eaten in many developing countries!!!
When our shower started leaking all over the floor, the response was to put piles of grotty towels down, which weren't changed everyday therefore our room was filled with the pungent aroma of soggy towel...nice!
The afternoon snacks that were promised were stale muffins and cake left over from breakfast and the beer was diluted.
The Olympic rep was not in the slightest bit interested when we complained that we had to eat out every night, despite opting to pay extra for all inclusive, nor was she anymore interested in listening to the other 4 parties that were in the queue behind me! When she finished the conversation by responding to my quip 'well I don't feel particularly inspired to book with Olympic again' with 'well that's up to you innit' it was time to admit defeat and return to my broken sunlounger around the overcrowded pool.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cubb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2010

The staff were friendly and helpful from the manager to the cleaners. Rooms were very comfortable and meals were very good and typical mix of Greek and European. For an all-inclusive holiday it was excellent value for money. Many other Greek hotels could learn from the way the Anavadia was run.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timbothorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Not going to bore you with loads of crap, just the real points about this hotel.

Staff were nice and friendly and all of them understand english.
Housekeeping staff are very good and certainly deserve a tip left at the end of your holiday.
The hotel grounds are very clean and well kept.
ROOMS - first impressions are that it's quite a trendy hotel but when you look closer, you realise that it's been rushed and the quality has been compromised. For example, the tiling in the bathroom looks like it's been done by a 6 year old, there were cracks and gaps appearing in the corners through it not being sealed properly. The shower leaked and so did the jacuzzi bath.
Apart from the cheap finishes, the room was generally pleasant and clean, air con is good.
On the one side of the hotel, the rooms have an amazing view of tsambika mountain and the other 2 blocks also have nice views over the landscape.
RESTAURANT - the restaurant was quite repetitive and there wasnt a lot of choice in food. dont expect any waiters coming round at breakfast with tea and coffee etc.
BAR - not a proper all inclusive bar, cocktails are not included and after 11pm you have to pay for your drinks. i've stayed in all inclusive hotels before and found this bar service a let down.
ACTIVITIES - again, considering this is an all inclusive hotel, there are no activities provided unless you want to play pool, which you have to pay for. no tennis, massages, greek nights, gym facilities, kids activities etc.
LOCATION - 10 mins walk to the beach and 10 mins walk to the shops. bus stop right outside and good local bus services, dont get ripped off by using taxis.
GENERAL - all in all we had a good holiday and the anavadia is one of the better resorts in kolymbia. i would give a max of 3 stars and i fell that it could be a great hotel if they did a bit of homework on how some of the well established all inclusive resorts do it.
You will have a good holiday here as long as you dont go expecting 4 star quality.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul_Nov09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed in this hotel 8th Sept-15th Sept with another couple and had a fantastic time! Cannot fault this hotel at all.
First impressions when we arrived at the hotel at around 3.30am were brilliant! Looked lovely with the spotlights to the front of the hotel and the bridge over the water. Check-in was very quick and the staff on arrival very friendly. Always a member of staff on the reception an we generally felt really safe there.
The rooms are very spacious, 2 single beds pushed together which meant lots of room to sleep. Very modern/trendy decor. Lovely sized balcony with a table and 2 chairs. The bathroom was a kind of wet room as the shower had no doors but the floor had a drain in the middle so be careful as the floor did get wet after having a shower - very spacious bathroom. Brilliant hydro-bath. The wall between the bathroom and sleeping area was glass but it was not completely see through. You could make out the shadows but could not see anymore than this. They provided and re-stocked shampoo, body wash and body lotion in the bathroom daily which smelt quite nice so no need to take your own if you want to save on luggage weight. None of the rooms have a pool view due to the way that hotel is designed but the views were still nice enough. No noise on a night time. Rooms were kept spotlessly clean by the fantastic room service.
Limited amount of TV channels for English - English/American channels included CNN news, BBC news and CTBC news. The others were foreign cartoon channels, a german channel and a german music channel which played English music. This did not bother us we did not spend an awful lot of time in the room - after all you don't go on holiday to watch TV!
Pool area was very clean, plenty of beds available in the morning. Never had to reserve beds while we were there. Pool was freezing, but very refreshing as the temperature was around 35-40 degree every day we were there. Plenty of umbrellas around pool side to use if you require.
Bar was great, plenty of choices. Free drinks included: vodka, gin, rum, ouzo, wine, local beer (Vap), sprite, cloudy lemonade, tonic water, water, orangeade and coke. They also had a menu from which you could pay for drinks, such as cocktails and other spirits. Never waiting to get served and Amanda the waitress during the daytime was brilliant - always cheerful and willing to have a laugh.
Food was also brilliant, lots of choice. I think fussy eaters may struggle to find something to eat because there wasn't much of an 'English' choice - but we were in Greece! I am not a fussy eater and thoroughly enjoyed the food. They had pasta and bolognaise/tomato sauce every meal time.
Breakfast 7.30-9.30: sausage, beans, boiled/fried egg, tomatoes, hash browns, bread/toast, lots of choice of fruits and cereals.
Lunch 12.30-14.00: lots of choice of salad - some mixed with sauces and some left plain, chips/sauteed potatoes, pasta, bolognaise sauce, pork/lamb kebab skewers, rice dish, mixed ved, fried veg, lots of fruit and mini cakes for desert
Dinner 19.00-21.30: again lots salad, chips, pasta and sauce, rice, a fish dish, a meat dish - lamb curry or a chicken/pork casserole type dish, fried veg, plenty of fruit for desert and cakes
These are just examples but there was always enough variety and choice.
The only complaint i would have about the food and in fact the only complaint about the hotel was that there wasn't much choice in deserts and there wasn't much food available for snacks during the day. They would sometimes provides ham sandwiches/cobs during the morning prior to lunch and in the afternoons there was always free ice cream but there was never anything available from the bar. We often heard some visitors moaning about how repetitive the food was, but i find you always get a certain amount of food repeated at all inclusive - and how many people can say that there choice of food at home is less repetitive as the food available there?! The dining area and the area the food was served was spotless - from when the serving area closed at 9.30 until opening for lunch at 12.30 the staff were were cleaning, mopping, wiping etc every area of surface.
The hotel was in a great location for us as we had a car - but if you choose not to have a car then there are buses and excursions you can take to get the some lovely places. Rhodes town and Lindos are 2 must do's. We rented a car from Budget via Olympic Holidays for 104 euros for 3 days. We had never driven abroad before and found it easy enough driving there and managed to get to everywhere we wanted too. The town was about 10 minutes walk from the hotel, had lots of shops selling gifts and there are some lovely tavernas nearby if you fancy a change of scenery for food or drink. We found the Greeks very friendly, they didn't harass you as soon as you looked in their shops/restaurants direction unlike in some other countries i have visited.
The nearest beach is about 10 minutes walk away, but it is a shingle beach - a bit hard on the feet and not very nice to lie down on. Although sun beds and umbrellas were available for a small price. We managed to find another beach about 15-20 minutes away hidden away in a small cove which was very peaceful and was sandy. Watersports available at the shingle beach - pedalow, banana boat, rubber rings, jet ski's etc. There is a crazy golf course nearby too at one of the bars - think it was called Star Bar. The area of Kolimbia is still quite quiet, enough to do on a night time if you wish and plenty of big hotels around the sea front but i can tell this is an up and coming area.
There are only about 40 rooms at the hotel so everyone got to know each other and there was a really friendly atmosphere between people. Brilliant for couples, small groups of sensible adults (like ourselves), romantic and relaxing holiday.
Views are beautiful from the pool area as the hotel is surrounded by mountains and the whole hotel is very peaceful - great for a relaxing holiday. There is enough to do if you want to but if you want to do nothing there is also that option.
I personally can not understand where the other negative comments on Tripadvisor have come from - but i understand that everyone has there own opinion. Certainly a 4 star hotel!!
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed this holiday, fantastic hotel, fantastic staff, brilliant food and a beautiful country! I would not hesitate to recommend this area, hotel and country to anybody.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lanceneoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.2 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#13 of 34 in Kolimbia
410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.1 mi away
Marianna Palace Hotel
Marianna Palace Hotel
#23 of 34 in Kolimbia
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lutania Beach
Lutania Beach
#19 of 34 in Kolimbia
272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Niriides Hotel
Niriides Hotel
#22 of 34 in Kolimbia
197 reviews
11.3 mi away
Eden Roc Resort Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anavadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anavadia

Address: Al. Panagoylh Str 20, Kolimbia, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Price Range: £51 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Anavadia 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Anavadia is an elegant place for your vacations, with big and spacious rooms making it a pleasant stay for couples, small families or for vacations with friends seeking peace and quiet. Our hotels rooms are divided in two blocks, one of the blocks is next to the reception and between the two pools that the hotel is providing, the other block of rooms the Relax area is perfect for a vacation to relax with renovated modern rooms and a panoramic view of Panayia Tsampika monastery. The all inclusive meals are served at the main restaurant which provides American breakfast accompanied with brand name coffee and juices. Lunch and Dinner are accompanied with local brand name soft drinks, beer and wine. At the bar you will find all the drinks provided by the All Inclusive formula along with some snacks, delicacies and ice cream served periodically, the all inclusive for the bars starts at 10:00am when the bar opens and stops at 22:00pm. The bar continues to operate with the end of the all inclusive formula and the drinks are upon payment. Inside of the hotel operates a Mini Market. You will find two pools, one of them playing accompanied with music and a bar and the other one for relaxation. Hotel Anavadia offers a Greek night with Greek music and dance once a week and live music (jazz, pop etc) once a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Anavadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Anavadia Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing