We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic!!!!!! Although a few teething problems...read on...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Village Rhodes
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!!!!!! Although a few teething problems...read on...”
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We were one of the first guests to arrive this season. Bubbly on arrival and shrek and alex the lion out of madagascar greeted us off the coach which my daughter was chuffed to bits with!
Reading some of the reviews i was a bit concerned at first but i thought i will give this a chance as everyone thinks differently.
I will start with a few problems we encountered:
As we were there right at the start of the season, things were not ready. The heated pool
wasnt heated and at this time of year when its cooler thats what you need so my daughter was in and out a lot at the beginning of the holiday when the weather wasnt so clever as she was too cold. This was brought up with the rep who took it a bit personally as a few of us complained to him and in the end he did offer us the room on the last day saving £70.
The waterpark on site was also closed for the first 2 days as the cleaning pump was broken so the pool was dirty and when it did open the water was still dirty so again this was mentioned to the rep. Telling a 4 year old they cannot use the waterpark isnt easy! When this did open it was great, although they opened it late on the first day and shut it early just as the kids were all going in, 5 minutes later they turfed them all out to close, which we all thought was a bit mean seen as they hadnt hadit for the beginning of the week! The first choice team and staff were at the copmplex the week before it opened to customers so they shouldve been prepared for us coming, not doing all this when we arrived as we were only there for a week so is a chunk out of the holiday.
On another dayv we were unable to use another pool as when they were cleaning it, they accidentally pumped something in and the water went black. I sound like i am whinging, but what i am trying to say is by the end of the week, apart from the heated pool, everything was in order and when it is in order, the place is fantastic. I would definately go again but not until at least the end of may when all the teething problems are over! The heated pool still hadnt been fixed by the time we left yesterday and because of this we were told we were able to take our kids in to the deluxe pool, indoor where its usually adults only (which i am sure the adults wouldnt like!) but again, once some friends we met went, they got in th pool to find the hesting was out of order there too!!!
As for the staff, i couldnt fault them. The local staff are soooo friendly, and its not a false friendliness, they are genuine and great with kids! they really fus over them! The entertainment team were great. They keep the kids entertained all day in kids clubs, at night with the widgets shows and were fab with them. They also dress up regularly and walk round the complex greeting the kids!
Our rep was ok, but as i mentioned, he obviousy isnt yet trained to deal with complaints as he flounced off in a strop when we spoke to him!
The food was lovely, We didnt even eat in the greek or italian on the complex as we enjoyed the restaraunt so much. Such a big choice and you have to try the choc cake! yum!!!! Oh and the pina colada's are to die for!
I did the high ropes activity which was great - i was very brave! its scary stuff!
There isnt much to do in the town, a couple of shops and bars but its set in the mountains which is so lovely to look at all the time. I didnt venture to the beach as we were told it wasnt much to look at and mostly shingle, but to be honest, when you are in this place, you dont want to go out as there is so much to do! There is also a kids park and cinema.
We thought it was exc;lusive to first choice, therefore no other countries would be there, but we were wrong! We were inaded by rude russians and germans, who dont know how to queue so a few people had a run in with them!
Anyway, i have written an essay but i just wanted to share my experience. Despite the problems at the beginning, i would definately rate this a 5* and will be going back, but a bit later in the year next time! If you have kids, you will love this place - give it a go, were glad we did!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicolaeriksson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,407
    485
    208
    68
    32
See reviews for
1,689
167
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Booked this hotel holiday last mintute, got a cracking deal, so wasn't expecting much!.. But my God its BEAUTIFUL, clean, run really well, staff are helpful, food lovely, drinks good. Every single part of this holiday deserves its 5 Stars!.. I will definately be returning!..
There are 3 parts to this place, a delux, relaxed and activity side. The Kids side is the Activity, where sherk and Alex the lion run around, big water park, slides boat, lazy river, high ropes, water zorbing the list is endless, and run really well by staff that parents don;t need to worry about there children.
Relax and delux are exactly like they sound with Kiddie free aresa and pools!.. the spa was relaxing and worth the money.
Entertainment team, Sean, Lucy , Billy and Abby did a good job all day and all night nless them!!.,. you will be doing the chocolate dance by the end of the hoilday!!..
Something for everyone here, will be going back!
Bus stop aroung the corner £3.50 to get into RhodesTown, well worth a look, or if you fancy a stroll about 10 mins walk (if that~) theres lots of little shops with all your holiday tat you can ask for!!!!..
All in all BRILLANT!!!!.
If your wanting the night life Falarake is just around the corner maybe 15 mins drive, or theres sonme local bars a short walk away!....

Room Tip: Try book a swim up room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank lisahotch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Me and my husband travelled with our 16 month old and 3 month old daughters, Something we would have not done had it not have been our honeymoon.
The hotel was beautiful, clean, plenty to do day or night. The pool was fabulous. We couldnt stay out of it!
The town of Kolymbia was a bit small and not alot on offer but there are plenty of day trips, buses and boat rides nearby for people who like to get out and about and see the beautiful island of Rhodes.
We spent a week there and the service was fantastic! The staff were so nice and caring and welcomed our children into the dining room every meal time, If my daughter dropped a bit of her food they rushed to help. I have not one single complaint about the staff.
The food was lovely, im vegetarian and can honestly say i didnt feel limited one single bit, beautiful fresh fruit salad in the morning with a selection of greek yoghurts, chocolate and blueberry muffins, a large variety of cereals and bread and a full english cooked breakfast with sausages and bacon for the meat eaters like my hubby. There was really something for everybody. Lunch time was great too, with around 3 or 4 different choices.If you wasnt so hungry you could get something from the snack bar which served fresh salads, burgers, chicken wraps and fries. Diner was fantastic, so many plentiful choices. The deserts were out of this world. May i also recommend the strawberry slushes that were served from the bars from 11am til dinnertime, with the weather as hot as it was they were perfect for cooling you down as well as different flavoured ice creams they had available.
My husband only drinks bitter which they dont stock and the wine was so so but they did do a small selection of cocktails, lagers and some spirits.
The only slight issues i have is if your a little bit peckish in the eveing then this could be a bit annoying because there was nothing available after dinner, no snacks or sandwiches, theres not even a shop open for you to buy anything at this time.
The rooms were spacious and the air con was lovely and refreshhing, my favourite thing about the rooms was most difinately the large bathrooms with big baths, perfect if you have small children and babies who wouldnt be able to shower.
Our only regret is we arnt going back this year :-(

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank salster100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2011

My partner 30 and I 25 stayed for a week. We had a swim up room opposite the poolbar in the relax side.
I cannot say a bad thing about the place. The food was amazing massive selection ended up putting on a bit of weight but who cares as it was a holiday!
The weather was amazing, all the staff were amazing and the spa....wow, I had the jet lag massage and was so relaxed. The cocktails at the pool bar were too good in that we ended up stumbling back to the room every evening!!
We hired a car one day and went to the waterpark which I didnt think was that good and a bit run down, rhodes town was beautiful although we did get ripped off by some African/Carribean women who grabbed our arms and put string around our wrist and demanded we pay them but didnt give change, being at the end of the peer we did not challenge them!
We took the boat trip to Lindos one day which was great, we bought snorkles and had a great time swimming in the sea!
There is a fish foot spa not far from the hotel which is worth trying if you havent tried before!
I would advise taking scented nappy bags, although the rooms are cleaned out every day
We hope to return here next year!

Room Tip: swim up room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank nadz1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Travelled with my husband and then 1 year old daughter last year. Putting this review on as I feel there have been some majorly misleading reviews!

To start with, Both myself and my husband are quite fussy with regards to hotels and their standard etc. I had one of the most enjoyable holiday experiences ever here and cannot fault it.
Room was lovely, clean, comfortable bed, lots of space, nice bathroom. Really exceeded expectation.
The resort has a little onsite waterpark which was fab. Pools were lovely.
Food was good, self serve soft drinks and wine.
Daughter used the crèche, felt comfortable leaving her with the staff there and she enjoyed it!

Yes you have to get up early to get a sunbed in a good spot. We stayed activity side and it was perfect location.

To those that travelled without children and wanted peace and relaxation, research your holiday better!!! This is a family resort geared totally towards families and children. I don't think they give any misconception of this prior to booking at all so don't see why people wanting this would choose this holiday!

I'm not writing an epic review detailing everything,just go and see for yourself. You will not be disappointed. With regards to illnesses, we were absolutely fine. Anywhere with an abundance of children is going to have some bug or another going about occasionally, I don't believe the hotel or the food are responsible for anyone that has experienced illness in my opinion, no cleanliness issues at all.

You and your children will have a great holiday, enjoy!!

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank puss-in-jimmychoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 1 week beginning of October '10. This was my first holiday abroad and it was a good choice, transfer was short, bubbly on arrival and late tea while our luggage was delivered to our room. We stayed on the activity side, and although it was term time there were some children but this didn't bother us, knowing when we booked a family aimed resort. Food, and service was good. Cocktails were hit and miss. Was impressed with clean spacious room, bath was big, separate shower, giant bed, didnt like the pillows but I'm fussy. Location was ok. would go back but I'd opt for a swim up room. Look out for late deals as this is what we booked and it was great value.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Je52HL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SouthWest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We had a swim up family room in Activity side. Was worried a bit that as it was activity it would be not stop games and rep's trying to get you in the pool but it was just right. Best side especially if you have children. The lazy river, high ropes and restaurants are all over the Activity side so if we were on the Relax side we would have spent most of the day on the activity side anyway. We found the food great, loads of choice, nice that you could get your own drinks - saved having to queue at the bar during meal times. The Kids club was fantastic - my daughters loved it. Nice to have it so you can take advantage as and when you want to. Chocolate party and sweetie bingo went down well! Adults bar was like a different world from the other enterainment area. Very nice and lovely cocktails. The main entertainment we felt was very good and especially liked by the kids, they do a fab job of keeping them amused. All in all - we would go back and we would recommend it to families. The swim up room was the best part, kids could have a little nap or lie in the shade and read whilst we could still sunbathe!!! Not much else to do, no town centre really to walk to. The staff at reception helped us organise a trip to Lindos on a boat that left from the beach, only a 5 min walk away. The trip was very good and you stop at 2 sucluded beaches on the way back. Pick up a leaflet for Kolumbia Express if you see one and take the trip, hotel provide pack lunch too if you ask. If you have booked you will love it!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeeGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.6 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.2 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#8 of 34 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
12.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#3 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
0.3 mi away
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
#6 of 34 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
16.6 mi away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Rhodes

Property: Holiday Village Rhodes
Address: Kolymbia, Kolimbia 851 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Village Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Rhodes Hotel Kolimbia
Holiday Village Rhodes Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing