We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOLIDAY, COULD NOT FAULT!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Village Rhodes
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Kolimbia
Certificate of Excellence
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GREAT HOLIDAY, COULD NOT FAULT!!!”
Reviewed 19 May 2011

As an older couple taking a last minute holiday, we went for this hotel which had a lot activity for younger families but nevertheless had a fantastic holiday.
We were greeted by first choice reps and hotel staff who made us feel very welcome and on a quick booking in as we were a late arrival, we were taken straight to the restaurant and our luggage taken up to our rooms for us. The food quality throughout the holiday we could not fault, there was so much to choose from and always hot and fresh.
The room was very spacious, clean and had plenty of cupboard space and felt welcoming especially for the time of night we arrived.
First Choice reps always on hand to help or offer information unlike other holidays when they are only around for an hour or so.
Entertainment staff were brilliant and put on some of the best shows we have ever seen. They were also very friendly in taking time to come around and talk to us.
The hotel staff in general were always very polite, friendly and couldn't do enough for you always asking if we had had a nice day or if there was anything else they could do.
We would love to return to this hotel with our grandchildren as they would love all the activities and swimming pools and slides. We would definately recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LionelLeafMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,403
    480
    207
    68
    32
See reviews for
1,681
167
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

On arrival a tthe holiday village we were very quickly check in and our luggage was taken by the porters to the rooms which gave us chance to have a look around we arrived about 10pm so the entertainment was in full swing, all the pools were lit up and everyone seamed to be really enjoying themselves
We booked a standard room in the activity area - the rooms were lovely very comfortable and had everything that we needed in them although there was 2 queen sized beds with 2 young children i wish i had booked a family room with the sliding doors for privacy more than anything!
the complex itself is split into 2 areas as we stayed in the activity area, this is where the waterpark and restaurants are so we never ventured over the otherside!!

Food

there was a very good selection of food every night from salads pastas vegetarian options right through to carvery, pork chicken fish etc usually most places we have been to previoulsy gets repetative but we never once thought that of this place and the same in the day at lunch, breakfast was fab too! english sausage & bacon to start of the day everyday and freshly made omelettes toasties panckaes etc, the poolside snack bar did the usuals hotdogs burgers chips etc every day & night there was some sort of theme in the main restaurant some nights greek or italian etc

the steak house a la carte is now part of the all inclusive we had a fantastic meal there the food was amazing the service again was amazing they really looked after us and nothing was too much trouble they just kept bringing out dish after dish for us to try and constantly topping up drinks and checking we were happy

the italian is the other a la carte again part of the all inc package - the food again was lovely here and the service was very good but theres not much choice on the menu i was expecting a few pasta dishes lasagne etc but none of this was there, they were also very slow in clearling plates etc away once you have finished eating but if thats the only negative it was still a change to eating in the main restaurant and having someone look after and serve you!

Water Park - couldnt get the kids out of there!! there is an age restriction on some slides but when you see how fast they come down them you can understand why!! i have a 5 & 8 year old and there was still plenty for them to do and we also loved the lazy river

kids clubs - the kids didnt actually go to kids club this year, unlike other hotels where they have to be signed into kids club to take part in activities this wasnt the case there was always something going on for the kids like treasure hunts raft buiding games in the pool or at the poolside etc which ment they could go off when it pleased them

evening entertainment - the entertainment was outside everynight, some nights it was a bit cold especially when the wind picked up! the entertainment team worked fantastic in keeping everyone entertained from the young to the old! there was atc on stage and rthe reps also did shows the kids really loved i five live and the wigets

the staff at the hotel always made a fuss of the kids always smiling at happy from the reception desk to the restaurant and the cleaners nothing was to much trouble and they always took a few minutes to say good morning etc and have a nice day
Carl at Guest relations works to hard! hes always there day & night again nothing was too much trouble and he made us feel very welcome, it was also nice to see him walking around the hotel and chatting to guests, he was always very perfessional and quickly resolved any issues that people had.
the reps & the entertainment team again works so hard and long hours but has stamina to keep going! sean you may see doing the chocolatte dance on the bridge by day and then doing i five live at night and still giving it 110% 1 day we didnt have good weather but they all pulled together to keep the kids entertained turned the sports bar into a pub quizz and the kids were doing paintings etc again if the entertainment team was organised and in control then there would of been lots of unhappy families with nothing to do!
my little boy also did swim acadamy i must say chris has a lot of patience!! both him & lisa were fantasic with the kids and really encouraged them to do well

we have done many holiday villages and this by far out performs the others, we will be going back again next year

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank XXLEAXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

After coming back from our holiday you realise what luxory and a perfect holiday is. The entertainment team were the best ever. We would recomend however staying on the deluxe side as service is second to none where as the activity side the staff are very busy and can come over a little rude and abrupt. First choice should be very proud of their team there. Zoi is the spa - wow she knows her stuff. Amazing place

Room Tip: a swim up family room in the deluxe area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lisajharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

very impressed with everything about this holiday,our room was was amazing, the food was great with plenty to choose from,all the hotel staff and the first choice staff are very friendly and made our stay enjoyable,loads of activities to do and the evening entertainment was fun,worst part of the holiday was leaving to come home and how we wished we'd booked a fortnight instead,definately going back next year.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fasteddie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We stayed at the hotel in the 2nd week of May.

ROOMS

We were booked into the relax area, which proved to be a blessing, as we had a swim up room and were away from the noise in the activity area.

The room was excellent. very Comfy bed and the shower in the bathroom was great. I especially liked the touch of providing a smaller shower head to shower kids. The seating in the terrace was really good, as me and the mrs relaxed there till late while the infant slept.

FOOD

Overall was a disappointment. As food at all 3 meals tended to be very greasy/oily. Choices for kids were the same every single day (they may supplement fish fingers for chicken nuggets on some days). As we do not eat pork, the grill was sort of out of the question for us, as the beef and chicken was made on the same grill. However, the fish was cooked on a seperate griller, but tasted awful.

On holiday i don't want to be stuck eating salads, so had to make do with what was available.

A fair number of flies in the dining rooms though.

POOLS

The pools were clean, but freezing cold. There was no heated pool as advertised and the indoor pool was as cold as the pools outside. HOwever our 2 year old loved the pools and if it was up to her would play in them all day long. The pool attached to the room was probably even colder, and sort of took your breath away when you first stepped in. However, it was a matter of getting used to it, and once you did it was fine.

CRECHE

We did not intend to use the creche during the day, but wanted to use it most evenings. However when we tried to book them from our travel agent in blue water (first choice) we were told we could book them locally. However, when we got to the resort, we were told that as not enough ppl had booked them in the UK, they would only be available on 2 days. This was a bit annoying, and was due to poor communication within the First Choice group. As I had booked 3 creche sessions anyway (literally forcing the agent to book them for me), we also found out that the evening creche bookings were seperate to the normal day time creche. On the last day after much chasing we were refunded the cost.

However staff were very friendly and i felt comfortable leaving our daughter with them on the 1 day we did use the Creche.

KIDS ENTERTAINMENT

As mentioned above, the pool in itself provided a lot of entertainment and the other kids in the creche seemed to be entertained as well.

Night entertainment hosted by AJ and Sean was excellant. How Sean has not been snapped up by a kids tv channel or for blue peter is beyond me. The guy is class and his enthusiasm does not waver for the full 3 to 4 hours every nite. Well done to the entire team.

It got a bit repetitive, but they tried to vary it when they could and did really well.

ADULTS ENTERTAINMENT

Not much for adults to do, especially as the evening creche is not available. First choice should look at the Mark Warner model for providing evening creches so that they can have some fun too.

BEACHES

DO NOT go to the local beach, it is awful. First Choice misled to some extent how nice the beaches were. We went to the beach in Lindos which was lovely.

TOURS/TRIPS

DO NOT book through the hotel, as they charge double. Walk down to the town centre, and just before you turn left to head towards the main road, there is a place which does exactly the same tours for half price. A couple staying in the Atlantica did this and were very pleased with the tour.

We hired a car from rodo cars. Nigel, who sits in the hotel is extremely helpful and they do not rip you off and offer good deals.

I would recommend Lindos (walk up to the Acropolis) €6 euro entry, but worth it, then spending some time on the beach. Park where Nigel tells you to for the Acropolis and then drive down further to the beach. Saves a lot of hassle, esp with kids as the walk back up will be very steep.

Also recommend Prasonisi (where the 2 seas meet). The drive from Lindos to there is beautiful) and Prasonisi itself is worth driving through and walking to the edge where the 2 seas meet.

OVERALL we were happy with our holiday, as our daughter had a great time and so did we as it was very relaxing. Staff both local and English, are excellent.

However if your travelling on a sat from London, then it is only a 6 day holiday. You arrive late on sat (just in time for dinner) and are made to check out at 12pm on the following sat, when the flight is not until 2125. Unless you take the late check out option, which at €70 is extortionate for an extra 6 hours in the room. On the last day, we had to restrict what activities our daughter could do, as we could not change her in a room.

The staff listened, but do not offer much help, which is the same with the guest relations manager who was a bit rude.

TIPS

Book on the relax side, and ask for a ground floor room. You are guaranteed to get a swim up room.

Hire a car, as driving is easy. although half the local drivers are on their mobiles. It seems they only work, when they are driving.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank murphyslaw79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

I felt compelled to write a review about this complex as we had read previous reports before we left and were horrified enough to write to first choice about our fears. It was all for nothing though, we were impressed the minute we arrived (and we had a over night flight so were at our worst!!). The staff are amazing. Always a smile on their faces and a genuine friendliness about them. The room was lovely and spacious and the bathroom was amazing, with two showers! We were in the relax side I don't know if they are diffrent on the activity side. I would personally recommend the relax side. we have a 6 year old and 13 year old and assumed they would rather be on the activity side but although they loved visiting the waterpark and clubs, we ended up spending most of the time in the relax side playing in the pools there. The swim up bar could have been one of the main pulls! the children loved the fact they could order drinks sitting in the pool! The clubs for the children are well thought out and although my children usually hate doing clubs, my youngest ended up joining in a few and there are several family activities that we all enjoyed. The evening entertainment was brilliant. Don't know where sean, aj, billy, lucy and co get their energy but we are still doing the chocolate dance occasionally!! Even my teenager enjoyed watching, though of course, had no intention of joining in!
The meals were carefully thought out with dishes that would cover every taste. My partner is vegetarian and had plenty to choose from. The children buffet was a lovely touch, allowing the little ones the independance of chosing their own meals.
Kolymbia was actually bigger than I was under the impression. The local beach was pebbly but we walked to the sandy one (about 15 min walk) and that was lovely and near the shops!
You will love the hotel and I can't imagine anyone not having a good time. I can only imagine that people that left bad reviews had maybe bad weather and if it was the end of season, things could be diffrent at that time of year, but we certainly could not fault the place.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank abby5414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2011

For everyone concerned about earlier reviews for this hotel - please be assured the hotel, staff, food, rooms, cleanliness are fantastic.

We travelled with our 3 year old and stayed on the activity side with a swim up room.
The transfer is about 40 mins from the airport, we were greeted by Shrek and Alex the lion on arrival and our check-in was very efficient and quick.

Our room had a queen and king bed with a lovely bathroom with a bath and gorgeous shower. The room was thoroughly cleaned daily.

The food in the restaurant was varied, well presented and good quality. There was sufficient choice for a little picky eater as well. All the staff were firendly and helpful. At times it did get busy - but tables were cleared immediately - and we never had to wait.

The kids club was fabulous with all the team doing everything to make sure our son was happy and having a good time. He loved going to the sessions and came away full of everything he'd learnt. It was great seeing the kids going on bug hunts and hopping along being bunny rabbits! The evening sessions on Space and the chocolate party were a great success too! The kids club was professional, safe, secure and fun.

The entertainment team were enthusiastic and you could join in or not. Remember if day time entertainment isn't for you it's a 1 minute walk to the relax side of the holiday village where you can enjoy the swim up bar!

We knew before we went that the resort itself isn't much and the beach is a shingle / sand mix and we were very happy to stay in and around the hotel.

The First Choice team were helpful, reliable and went the extra mile to make sure we had a great holiday.

We have been fortunate to travel extensively and have stayed in some of the best adult orientated hotels and resorts - we are new to family focused places - we will certainly we choosing a holiday village for next year based on our experience this time.

We took a family vote and this has been our best family holiday so far!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank starfish2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.6 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.2 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#10 of 33 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
12.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 127 in Rhodes Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#3 of 30 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.3 mi away
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
#6 of 33 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
16.6 mi away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Rhodes

Property: Holiday Village Rhodes
Address: Kolymbia, Kolimbia 851 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Spa Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kolimbia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Village Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Rhodes Hotel Kolimbia
Holiday Village Rhodes Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing