We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Village Rhodes
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Kolimbia
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alfa Hotel(Kolimbia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Anavadia(Kolimbia)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lutania Beach(Kolimbia)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,445)
Filter reviews
2,445 results
Traveller rating
1,545
547
237
79
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,545
547
237
79
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdeluxe arearelax areaactivity areafirst choicehigh ropesfootball academydeluxe sideswim up roomkids clublazy riveradult barsports bardeluxe poolswim academyswimming lessonswater parkevening entertainment
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,694 - 1,699 of 2,445 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2012

WOW WOW WOW!! Where do we start? What an amazing hotel complex, with fabulous staff, scenery & complete care & attention for guests! We travelled with 20 friends & family to the
Holiday Village in July 25th 2012 for 2 weeks, incorporating our wedding on 3rd August within the Holiday Village at their beautiful on site chapel. Ladies/brides to be - you will be treated to the first class services of Carl Harris (Guest relations at the HV) if marrying there, he went over & above & beyond the call of "duty" for us during our stay & our ceremony there. Perfect springs to mind!!! The hotel is an amazing place and my new "husband" & I want to return asap as we feel we did not get half the benefit of the whole place due to being within a large group and being "busy" with everyone plus wedding arrangements too. We had a swim up room, gorgeous!! Would book the same room again in fact! Very clean, rooms cleaned daily with new towels, staff could not do enough for you! The restaurant.......food was excellent by far!! So much choice!! The staff again, so friendly & helpful!! Would strongly recommend you book into the on site Greek & Italian restaurants, we almost forgot with things being so hectic with our group, but our friends booked me & my Husband in to the Italian the night before our Wedding & we had a lovely relaxing time there. The entertainment staff work very hard & to a high standard too. We would maybe have liked to see a few more outside acts too i suppose, just to break things up a bit, but all the kids in our group loved it all & if they are happy - then parents are happy!!!!! Location - a few bars & clubs etc within walking distance if you want to get out, the beach about 10 mins walk, although it is a stoney/pebbly beach, but the hotel wow's you so much that you probably won't feel the need to leave it!!! Its all over too soon now for us but we will definately return, next year if not this year!!!! Loved it all so very much!!!!! Thank you all so much at the Holiday Village - our dreams really did come true!!! xxx

Room Tip: We loved our swim up room!!! Would strongly recommend!!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsevo2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Have just returned from the HV Rhodes, all four of us (43, 40, 10 &6) enjoyed our holiday, met lovely people but don’t think this is a place I would return to and not worth the money. It’s definitely not 5 stars and for the amount of money paid I do feel short changed!!

The staff at the resort work exceptionally hard, especially the Greeks and all are friendly, the first choice kids club staff were great and again all work very hard.

The rooms are very modern and kept clean, the room was cleaned everyday our room (2213) overlooked the smaller pool which was ideally positioned. We had a problem whereby the lights wouldn’t switch off, this was sorted quickly by the hotel staff.

The hotel is clean but not as clean as other 5 star hotels we have visited, although I don’t think that the pools are in top notch order - lots of tiles missing only saw the water tested about three times on 10 day holiday, swimming costumes are stained yellow this is due to sun cream and I sure due to the pool!!

The restaurant is outside but undercover, there are however a handful of tables inside but I find it strange that it was 90% outside eating, most 5 star hotels that we have visited have been inside?? The food was good, the open cooking was fantastic and some of the puddings were to die for.

The main entertainment is held outside, the I 5 Live for the kids was ok nothing to rave about but the kids enjoyed it. On the ten days we were there, the entertainment for the adults was poor, only three acts brought in from outside and then we had to watch and listen to the entertainment staff insulting each other and getting people up onto the stage for family participation !! This was the worst entertainment I have encountered.

The complex itself is good, although I do think that they could do with more drink stations - the waterpark & high ropes are really popular, all the pools around the activity area are 1.2m deep. My daughter did the "rookie lifeguard" with Tim who was great and she really enjoyed.

The sunbed issue is a nightmare, my husband got up most days @ 7.30 to get beds, however if you reserve them before 8am and leave, the towels are removed. The resort is out on its own it’s a 10min walk to the nearest town and there isn’t a lot there. Didn’t go on any trips, were going to make a trip to Rhodes town but it was so hot even in the evening decided against it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliM71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We have just returned from a week at HV wih our 4 year old son. We all had a good time but there are are a few things which we feel anyone considering booking there should know in order to make a more informed decision.
Positives:
Greek staff in the hotel and restaurant were absolutely amazing - friendly, helpful, courteous, enthusiastic and just superb with children.
Breakfast in the restaurant was superb, other meals were also good, with lots of choice and variety for adults and kids in the main buffet restaurant. The a la carte Greek and Italian restaurants were also excellent too, and once again the friendliness of the staff was exceptionally good.
Water parks and swimming pools were brilliant. It's great to have a choice of places to sunbathe and swim, so with 5 pools there was the opportunity for a bit of variety. We particularly loved the lazy river and pirate ship, great for little ones, and the adults loved the big waterslides (but be aware that small children can't use the big slides due to age restrictions).
Swimming lessons. Our son loved the swim academy (5 lessons over the week) and he made drastic improvements in both skill and confidence.
Other holidaymakers (with just a couple of exceptions!). We met lots of really nice people and everyone we spoke to and spent time with was really friendly. There was a good atmosphere around the pools with everyone keeping an eye on everyone else's kids and children all playing happily together.
The 'I 5 live' bit of the evening entertainment for the kids was something our son very much enjoyed, with the enthusiasm, hard work and onstage banter between Claire and Barlow being notably enjoyable for four year olds.
Negatives:
The adult part of the entertainment was at best tolerable and at worst absolutely excruciatingly bad. There's an adult competition onstage every night which is frankly a bit Brits abroad/ Butlins and just seemed to involve slightly drunk mums and dads doing cringe-makingly embarrassing competitive karaoke or other such horribleness. Also, the main event entertainment involved acts singing to a backing track every night except one. Not even cruise-ship standard, more like a low budget cross channel ferry version!
The all inclusive drinks were not of the standard you'd expect from a hotel of this quality. The beer was tasteless, fizzy and weak and could only be enjoyed by someone whose usual tipple at home is cheap mass-produced canned lager. The wine, unfortunately, was no better.
We were expecting a poolside room based on the website and our booking conditions, but instead we were allocated a room in the main hotel building (interestingly, these are not even shown as existing on the site map). When I complained to both the First Choice reps and the hotel management I was told that there was nothing anyone could do as the hotel is fully booked, but I could fill out a complaint form. I did and I'll be taking this up with the company in more detail. The issue is that if you book a room with a separate bath and shower, you will get a poolside room and if you book one with a shower over the bath you will be in the noisy main block, although this isn't explained anywhere while booking.The room itself was of a good standard, but the location wasn't acceptable as the rooms in the main block get all the noise from the main lobby and sports bar. Also, there were some feral kids running around between midnight and 1 am for three nights in a row. We had to complain at reception a number of times to even attempt to get this dealt with. Also one night there was a fight in the sports bar (between adults, not kids! Really! This might give you some insight into a small minority of the clientele).
Overall, I can sum it up by answering three questions.
1 Did we have a good holiday? Yes
2 Would we recommend it to others? Yes, but with some reservations and as long as people know they're not actually getting a proper 5 star experience.
3 Would we go back there (or to another First Choice Holiday Village) again? Probably not.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank Sonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I have come back from the Rhodes Holiday Village. Although myself and my family had a nice I am very upset and feel somewhat mis-sold.

We were sold this holiday on the basis that this resort was 5 star. I have stayed other 5 star resorts such as The Gloria Golf resort in Turkey and La Residencia in Deja Majorca. I will try and describe the differences as folllows:

1. Other 5 star resorts i have stayed in have 24 hour room service as part of the all inclusive package. This resort however does not.
2. Other resorts that I have described have also had fully stocked mini bars as part of the package. This resort does not.
3. Other resorts supply bottled water (volvic). This resort does not. You are told to purchase a bottle from the shop and then to refill it at a self service machine. Also if you arrive after midnight please be aware that you will not be able to get water or food anywhere.
4. Other resorts supply Towels poolside. This resort does not. Instead you have to hire the Towels from the shop leaving a deposit of 20 euro. This then encourages towel stealing when people have lost their own towels.
5. Other resorts supply Glasses. In this resort however you cannot get a glass only a plastic or paper cup. No pint glasses at all or wine glasses.
6. Other resorts have a selection of beer and winer. This resort has 1 beer only which is not great and the same as far as wine goes.
7. Other resorts are gated. This resort is not. So therefore anyone can drive or walk in to your resort that in my view is a serious security risk.
8. Other resorts supply a safe as part of your all inclusive package. This resort however will make you pay for the privilege of using the safe.
9. Other resorts have life-guards at every pool. This resort only had life-guards at the water park. Where in my view they are needed least.
10. Other resorts will supply with a complimentary room if you have a late flight. However this Hotel charged us 80 euro to keep our room until 6pm. (6 Hours)
11. Entertainment was strange. First Bingo which is not really for kids. Then talking and banter from the entertainers which again was fairly non entertaining for children. Then some sort of cabaret from the entertainers that generally turned out to be singing to backing tracks (to mainly theater songs) again rubbish for kids. The entire week we were there the kids never had a mini disco even. Other 5 star resorts have more than 1 entertainments area and they also bring in out side acts. For example Gloria Golf had Acrobats, different themed parties each night, mini discos, films, fireworks, beech parties and more. Therefore in comparison this resort is poor.
12. Other 5 star resorts serve you drinks poolside or beech-side. At this resort however waiters were more rare than a snow leopard. This resort does not offer this service.
13. Other 5 star resorts supply ice creams in variety. At other resorts our children would go up to 1 of the many freezers and pick the ice cream they wanted. At this resort only 1 bar supplies ice cream which is simply a cone and a scoop of ice cream. Thats your lot
14. Other resorts I have been to have dedicated cocktail bars and a great cocktail list but not this resort i'm afraid. They do have a few but not a great selection.
15. The resort has no beech. I did not think I would miss this but I did. The local beech is too far away and stoney. Not a great beech at all. Therefore the beech became a non starter.
16. You can always tell the quality of a resort from the toilets. The toilets here however are fairly dire.

These are just some of the differences that I picked up on. Therefore I really do not think this hotel can claim the same star rating as The Gloria Golf or La Residencia or others. In that respect I feel that travelers expecting "TRUE" 5 star should be very careful. If you really do want true 5 star stay somewhere else because you will be disappointed otherwise.

Also if you are booked to stay in the activity area it is "pot luck" where you will be put. We were lucky that we were as far from the entertainments stage as you could be. However we had friends that that were put in the main building above the entertainments stage. They had a complete nightmare. The whole family were kept awake every night to midnight because of the main stage noise and also the corridors echoed sound from the main lobby. They were not offered alternative accommodation so please beware.

We were a 5 person family. Therefore we were given 2 rooms and of course it was double the cost. However each room has to huge double beds and a cot. Therefore we could have fitted us all into 1 room easily. Therefore we had to take a additional room for a 2 year old child. In my view it simply does not warrant the cost and is not worth it.

This Hotel is not all bad there are some good things as follows:

1. Incredibly friendly staff - especially the dining room staff (They were a credit to the Greek people) They were fantastic with the kids too.
2. Water park was good fun. Kids loved the lazy river.
3. Pools we nice. Shallow graded so great for my 2 and 4 year old.
4. Swim Up rooms looked great.
5. Rooms themselves were great. Very spacious. Well fitted. Bathrooms were great with big walk in showers and marble everywhere. Air Con was great.
6. Resort was generally clean and tidy.
7. Great Kids Clubs for all ages
8. Food was quite nice. A great selection (buffet) and nothing to complain about.

All in all we had a nice time but I would not go back because I feel that for same money as we paid we could go to a genuine 5 star resort. Therefore for me this resort was not good value for money and definitely not 5 star.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not close to the main stage
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeometricBluLtd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

I just spent two weeks at the Holiday Village Rhodes. It was advertised by the rep I bought the holiday from (first choice) as something quite special, which it is genuinely not. It's a nice but bog standard holiday.

The positives - the Greek staff are excellent and really shame the British in showing how to welcome people and genuinely make them smile. The food was lovely, I genuinely had only one poor meal which of course I left and chose something else. The all inclusive was fine, always a shame the alcohol isnt brand. Pool is okay but lots of broken tiles!

The negatives - firstly don't go here if you are claustrophobic. It really isn't a big place and with no decent linked beach you need to really like sitting on a subbed by the pool a lot. The water park - is ridiculous. I have two young children (age 9 and 7) who are both outstanding swimmers. They were naturally excited about the water park and slides only to get there to find age restrictions on the best sllides that get no mention in the brochures! The park has lifeguards who unlike the hotel staff are not pleasant and are enforcing rules they don't agree with. If like me you are planning to book for the slides DON'T! There are better places to go.

The entertainment team were okay for little kids, i5live and russel the Brusell etc are okay but the evening entertainment isn't good, led by a chap called Barlow who isn't the best entertainer in the team and doesn't come across with any great passion for entertainment. I felt the throwing of water over children especially with special needs is really not funny. Buy a tensa barrier if you don't want kids in certain places would be using the brain!

The clubs are good for the kids and security is tight. They have some superb staff like Scottie to hottie, whilst others like shaggy are just uni students earning some money. The evening clubs are highly debatable though and appear to be a way to get the kids out the way of the entertainment later in the evening. I can't say I was impressed with some of the modes of behaviour I saw exhibited in these clubs and they qualified some poor british standards you don't see with foreign youngsters.

Sun beds - 7am if you want them and this really just makes you feel like cattle. No holiday should include this.you don't get up early all year to do the same when you go on holiday.

Don't be fooled by the brochures. My room was nice but the view was the car park!

Overall the Greeks have done their job well, but this holiday village needs a good kick in the backside to improve the issues above. It feels like what it is, a package holiday. Just Before I was here I spent 10 days in turkey and experience was a much better one. Definitely a place I wouldn't return to. Sorry! And definitely not worth the 8k I paid!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews