We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday Excellent facilities for children but not a five star resort” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Village Rhodes

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Village Rhodes
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Kolimbia
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great holiday Excellent facilities for children but not a five star resort”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We have just returned from the resort from a weeks holiday. We are a normal hard working family who paid quite a bit of money for our holiday in the relaxed area. I have to say the resort, decor, swimming pools and activities for children are absolutely amazing. Even the staff are so child friendly and attentive to children. This is the five star bit and happy children make for a great holiday.

However....the relaxed area is not worth the extra cost. It is still very load with the entertainment stuff late at night until 11pm. So not so good for real little ones that need to sleep, or if you want to chill after a few cocktails without the drone of the entertainment in the activity area.

In addition if you stay in the block 5101 -5117 you are right opposite the wedding chapel which also hosts the wedding after party. During our 1 week stay we had 4 weddings to contend with. Whilst I'm sure the weddings were lovely, it was not a 'relaxed' night for us with music right outside our room until 11pm which is the same time the activity area finished. So really in this block there is no benefit to paying extra for a 'relaxed' quieter area you may as we'll stay in the activity. This is no fault of the wedding parties who are rightfully enjoying the day. We just don't think during wedding season this block should be considered quiet and part of the relaxed area. Or Perhaps the hotel should allocate these rooms to the wedding parties?

The food at the buffet style restaurant was always well cooked with a good choice for breakfast, but lunch/diner was just a little bland and repetitive. Although the al a cart restaurants were very good. Sadly unlike other first choice/Thompson all inclusive resorts that we have stayed at there is no consistent table service at the buffet style restaurant which is odd for a five star. Out of 5 days eating breakfast, lunch and diner at the buffet restaurant we were only offered one round of drinks at the table on two occasions.

In addition the resort lacks the additional extra touches that other five star resorts have such as bottled water in rooms, replenishment of tea/coffee and of course consistent table service at meal times.

Finally, before I comment on the entertainment, I would just say that the entertainment team are so hard working and very friendly. Unfortunately being the flag ship for holiday villages we were expecting a bit more. The entertainment guys literally follow the same program as with other resorts, and the program hasn't changed much in the 3 years since having children where we have been to various holiday village resorts. I'm sorry to say but aside from the kids stuff which the kids loved, for adults it is all a bit Butlins, with allot of emphasis on the team talent show, team charity dances and bingo. Not exactly much audience participation and to say this is a flag ship hotel nothing amazing. Sorry!

Overall a great resort and excellent facilities but lacking the extra touches you would associate with a true five star resort. Also the 'relaxed' area at night is not all that different from the activity bit, so a bit disappointing really if you work hard to pay extra for a little bit of peace and quiet.

Brilliant for kids, and the weather is perfect. Missing the sunshine already!

Tip for any one going soon book your al a cart restaurants the minute you arrive as they are very popular and spaces seem limited! The Mexican restaurant was superb!

Room Tip: Avoid 5101-5117 during wedding season
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Operation Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this review, 11 November 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here with us and hope to welcome you back again. i have noted you issues and will see where improvments can be made

best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,390
    474
    201
    67
    32
See reviews for
1,659
167
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I have just returned from a two week family holiday where we got married too. We stayed in a family room in the activity area. Room was spotless, spacious, modern and well air conditioned (set to preference). The food was so good, great choice, great taste & freshly prepared, I give this 10/10. The staff were all so friendly and very helpful. We were greeted by the manager and offered champagne on arrival, thought this was a lovely touch. The entertainment team also get 10/10 from us, all lovely talented people who kept all the adults & kids entertained day & night! The lazy river and flumes are great fun and a bonus as it's free and on your door step. Great idea!

We got married here also last week. What a day! Absolutely fantastic from start to finish. I'd like to thank the lovely Rachel & Lauren for helping make our day extra special. These girls are a credit to the hotel.

I will definitely be returning next year for another family holiday at holiday village Rhodes. It was the perfect holiday all round.

10/10 perfection!

Room Tip: Room 3514 family room in activity area over looks the pool and has the sun on balcony in the afterno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonC16614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Operations Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review, It was a pleasure to meet you and your family, We would like to send one last congratulations to you and your Husband, and we hope to see you all again very soon.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

on arrival we were made to feel welcome from the reception staff, things only got better, the evening entertainment with mainly Rory and Paige was absolutely amazing and made our nights a really good experience, the food was fantastic on all three meals and the a la carte restraints were really good with the Mexican being our fav.
Tomas the operations manager was superb and a real hands on guy but I must point out that Rory and Paige were a real stand out although the rest of the staff were always helpful and professional a all times.
There was so much for the kids to do and I would recommend this Hotel and Holiday to anyone who is in two minds....we as a family had an amazing time all thanks to all the staff from the management right to the cleaners who cleaned our room every day.
To all at the Hotel many thanks for an amazing holiday and time....
Mark, Sue and Ellis

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark0918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Operations Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review, We are very pleased to learn that you had a Fantastic holiday, We hope to welcome you all again soon.

Best wishes .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just returned from a 2 week family holiday which included my daughter's wedding. Firstly the wedding, a sensational day lasting nine or ten hours, ceremony, drinks, food, disco, dance, cocktails,bbq, music, greek dancers...just great.
I reckon three areas of this HV could not be bettered.
Food...large range and top quality
Staff..always friendly and genuinely nice. The Management welcome with a glass of Champaign is a nice touch.
Cleanliness...spot on
The lay out of this resort has been well planned. Although full to capacity you dont feel overcrowded. Plenty of space and sun loungers at the pools.
We stayed in the activity area where the entertainment for families with kids is also very good. A group of four or five do a show every night. Rory, Hannah, Page, Talkie Techie and co get the adults laughing and along with scores of kids.
Plenty to do and the water park flumes are scarey
All in all a great holiday and will definitely go back.

Oh and the pool party was big fun for adults and kids.

Best holiday I can remember.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abell67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Operations Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your 5 star review, We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you again and best wishes to you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from here today & am depressed at being back, usually I am happy to be home. Resort is lovely, so immaculately clean! Food so nice! And I'm a fussy eater!! Ate in the main restaurant breakfast, most lunches & dinners, snack bar nice if you just want some chips/pizza/kebab/baguette but restaurant has a lot more choice to offer, lovely fresh salads, fresh bread, lots of pasta, meats etc & they do show cooking Some of my family & friends had the curry's they were cooking & said they were amazing! Kids section for food also as most kids are fussy! They do beans, chips, sausages etc, fresh fruit! You will not go hungry that's for sure!!!

Staff very friendly & polite, could not fault them! Rooms nice, cleaned quite a few times in the week we were there with fresh towels. TV channels are foreign apart from BBC news, we thought for 5 star we'd have a bit more English but you don't spend much time in room so can't moan but if your children like tv for bed then I think the tvs have a DVD slot in the side so maybe worth taking a few.

Pools stunning! We were on relax side, amazing slush's & Ice creams as many as you want! Hardly no time queuing at all. About a 5-10 minute stroll to the activity side where the pirate ship & slides plus lazy river are! Great for the kids!! Also a little park near kids club. We only used kids club once but it was always busy & looked like the kids loved it!

Entertainment the usual holiday thing, nothing special but you tend to entertain yourselves or if your like us we were so tired from the sun that we'd have a few drinks after dinner then go bed!

Weather was fantastic for us! Not a cloud in sight! If your thinking about booking this resort then I would Defo recommend! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CharlieRogers44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Operations Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for rating us with a 5 star review, We are very pleased you had a FANTASTIC holiday, we only hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed for 11 days in the Relax section of The Resort. The facilities were great. Our Swim Up Room weas perfect. The food was of a High Standard for a Mass Catering Resort. The Staff were welcoming and could not do enough for you. Its a great Resort in a spectacular Location.

We will be retuning next year.

Room Tip: If in the Swim up section of the Relax part of the Hotel try to for a room in that gets the Sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank westhammick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Operations Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your 5 star review, We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us, we hope to welcome you all again soon.

Beat wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from HV Rhodes with my husband & 3 year old daughter. The resort was lovely, very clean & tidy. We stayed in Activity in room 2173 & everything was really close by.
My daughter especially loved the pirate ship & slides & the lazy river. I notice many people have said the pools were cold but I didn't find them a problem. In fact the warmest of any resorts I've stayed at before.
The room was clean and spacious. The only downside was my daughters bed was very hard & sloped down slightly. Very handy to have 2 showers in the bathroom.
The food was lovely & we have a wide variety every day. The staff were very friendly & helpful.
The entertainment was great. Kids club staff were amazing. My daughter especially loved Amber. The club is open from 10am - 11pm each day so the kids are kept busy. Also many family activities to take part in together. The evening entertainment could be a bit samey for example I5live but the kids loved it.
The only problems we encountered were lots of mosquito bites so take repellent with you. Also be sure to check the info given to you for your return coach trip. Our letter gave us the wrong coach number so we waited for one that never turned up & missed the one we should have been on. Luckily Luke was on hand to sort it out & quickly got us transferred to the relax side of resort to get us on there coach so a crisis was averted. Well done Luke. All in all a great holiday and we would definitely return!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Operations Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your 5 star review, All the team here at the Holiday village are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us, We only hope to welcome you all again soon.

Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.7 mi away
SENTIDO Port Royal Villas & Spa
12.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#12 of 33 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
11.1 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.3 mi away
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
#6 of 33 in Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Rhodes

Property: Holiday Village Rhodes
Address: Kolymbia, Kolimbia 851 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Spa Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kolimbia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 274
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Rhodes Hotel Kolimbia
Holiday Village Rhodes Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing