We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been back less than a week and booked for next year already!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Village Rhodes
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We travelled from 18th-25th June and it want long enough!

I work for first choice and have been fortunate over the years to experience some amazing holidays............ But this place was absolutely fantastic!

The best holiday we've had!

Food was excellent! Buffet and a la cartes both plenty of choice and great quality.

The staff here are wonderful..... Service exceptional throughout our stay!

We stayed in family room in activity area overlooking pool and it was fab! Plenty of space and spotless!

My 4 year old loved the widgets and Rory and Paige doing i5live!

Overall brilliant holiday and we've been back 6 days and already booked for next year! Roll on June 2015 :)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kimh1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Operations Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your 5 star review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to welcome you all again soon.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,130 - 1,136 of 2,406 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Village Rhodes from 11th June for one week. We (couple with one year old) had a fantastic holiday and loved every minute. We stayed in a villa in the relax area and can only describe our stay as super and luxurious. The villa was beautiful and we had our own pool which was brilliant as we were able to use this every day. Our son loved the water park and the pirate ship so much. The food was excellent and so much variety. All staff we encountered were lovely and very helpful. We really could not fault anything. The First Choice team were super. Special mention to Rory and Paige who were both great with both kids and adults and ensured that everyone had a great time. Overall we had a fantastic holiday and would definitley return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Operations Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest.

We would like to thank you for your 5 star review, We thank you for your review and we hope to see you all again soon.

Best Wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed at HV Rhodes from 17th may 2014 for a week with my partner & 14yr old son. We stayed in double swim up room in relax area . On arrival we were given room 5206 opposite the wedding chapel. The room was lovely , clean & modern but by day 2 we realised that our balcony was in the shade , so my partner asked if we could be moved to block 5600 & later on that day reception rang our room to say that swim up room 5603 had become available so we packed up & moved. What a difference , we had the sun from 12pm everyday till about 7pm , we were directly opposite the swim up bar & we were very grateful to have such a fantastic spot. The hotel itself is lovely , with plenty to do for the kids although not a lot for my teenage son, but he still enjoyed himself. Main dining room was a 2 min walk via an underpass , certain times were busy but we always got a table straight away . The food choice was fantastic , Something for everyone & always really nice . We had a Mexican one night over at the Tropical which is one of the al a carte restaurants & that was delicious. Evening entertainment was great for the little ones & then some entertainment for the adults ( child friendly ) Staff were amazing , always polite & helpful.The maids cleaned our room daily to a good standard & they were friendly & polite. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday , it was relaxing & our swim up room made it even more special , we would love to return next year.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms in relax block 5600, 5700 had the sun most of the day .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank noo1331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Operations Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to welcome you all again soon,

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We'd originally booked to go to the Sensatori at Sharm, however after unrest in the area, we decided we'd be happier with our young children somewhere less volatile, so we changed our booking to Holiday Village Rhodes. After a poor experience with the Thomson holiday shop and their total lack of customer service, we didn't know what to expect when we arrived. They must have a had a problem with their phones for many months, because they never ever called us back!

We arrived in the early hours, tired and ready for bed. As we had our reservations about how this holiday would go we weren't so impressed with what we found. We've previously stayed at the Cornelia Deluxe hotel in Belek Turkey, which is a truly lovely 5 star 24 hour all inclusive hotel, and couldn't help making comparisons and finding this place lacking. However this hotel really grows on you. Mainly because of the staff, both the hotels own and first choice. If you don't like it at first, give it a few days with an open mind.

We chose this hotel for one reason only the crèche/kids club. What we actually experienced was second to none. I cannot recommend highly enough the kids club at this particular hotel. The staff worked non-stop to ensure the children had a fabulous time. My baby boy of 15months loved the crèche. He smiled and reached for the staff when we arrived and was always still smiling when we went back to collect him. To say my 6 year old daughter loved the kids club would be an understatement. She wanted to do everything for the full two weeks. At one point we had to ask her to stay by the pool and spend some time with us, otherwise we'd never have seen her. She did archery, water walkers, snorkelling, canoeing and aeroball to name just a few! We felt totally secure leaving her with the staff. They were both signed in and out and this was strictly adhered to. We didn't get chance to fill in a comments card before we left, but we'd especially like to thank Claire, Alistair, Donna and Amber who worked incredibly hard to ensure our children had the best holiday ever.
The evening entertainment on face value was a little on the Butlins side. However, again I'd say give it some time and before you know it you'll be dancing with everyone else. The most important thing is that the kids LOVE it. The team work so hard and such long hours its quite amazing they all keep going. They really are very talented and Rory is truly hilarious. I fully expect to see him on TV in the future. He even managed to make grumpy daddy laugh.

Now onto the HOTEL. Well its a tale of two halves. The outside areas are lovely. What you'd expect to find in a 5 star resort. The pool areas are great, the splash park is brilliant for all ages and the playgound is adequate for the needs.
We stayed in the relax area, which was a godsend as we could get away from the madness of the main pool area, but dip into it when we wanted. It also meant that my baby could sleep in his buggy by the pool without being disturbed by loud music or competitions etc. We'd tried to book into the deluxe area, but it was full. In hindsight, I'm not sure it would have been worth the extra money, as we were perfectly happy in the relax area, although it might have been nice to have the option of the extra restaurant.
We were in a family room in the relax area with sliding doors between the sleeping areas. The room was just what we needed. Modern and spacious enough. However there were a few niggles. The maid service was a bit hit and miss. Sometimes thorough other times just pulling the sheets back. There were a couple of days when the bin by the loo wasn't emptied, which was awful, especially with a little one crawling around and into everything.
There was a fridge in the room but no drinks in it, except one bottle of water that was never replenished. Not what we'd expect in a 5 star all inclusive resort. We'd previously had the mini bar replenished daily & bottles of water available at every bar in Turkey. There was a kettle and cups, which was great. However the tea and coffee was chargeable. We had to go to the shop to buy water, milk, tea bags and drinks for the room.
The safe in the room was chargeable and not cheap. Again not what we expected for 5 star. The TV was impressive, but no British channels. Not that we watched it anyway. Lastly the room was very light very early so didn't allow for much of a lie in. The bathroom has a large window looking into the bedroom which is covered by venetian blinds, but they don't close tightly and the light streams in, in the morning.
The communal hotel areas were quite worn and tired looking. The reception seating, lounge and lobby & sports bars were dated and uncomfortable. There was only one set of toilets in the main hotel. The ladies was very dark and dingy and there was only two cubicles and one baby change table stuck in the middle of the too small hand wash area. It felt dark and unhygienic and was very difficult to change a dirty nappy and wash your hands as the table had no straps and I really didn't want to put him on the floor in there. Far from standard for a 5 star family orientated hotel.

The main restaurant décor was ok, not great. however the staff and the food were brilliant. Even my very picky daughter ate well every day. The choice was excellent. Most especially the breakfasts which were unbelievably good. You could have something local and greek orientated or there was plenty of british food and roast meats for the kids. There were a few nights when the seafood was the speciality. The quality was superb. Piles of beautiful prawns and calamari. The staff in the buffet restaurant were fabulous. Especially the lady and two gentlemen that seated us every day. they worked tirelessly and were great with the kids.

The drinks really let the place down. Really poor quality wine and beer and the cocktails whilst pleasant enough were made with sub standard spirits and were more mocktails than anything else. Without wanting to sound like I've a problem, I think you'd have to drink constantly for 24hours before you felt remotely tipsy at this hotel. We did pay for a bottle of wine when we went to the a la carte restaurants which was very nice, but also very expensive for Greek wine.
The a la carte restaurants were mostly excellent. The Mexican and Italian were just lovely and felt like a real treat. the Greek one was just an extension of the food served in the main buffet. Worth a visit, but we didn't bother going back to that one.
Tip: book into the restaurants at the main reception as soon as you can.

Overall a great family holiday. Reign in your expectations of 5 star and you'll love it. I've been to better more luxurious hotels, but the kids didn't enjoy it half as much. What's more important for a family holiday, plush décor or a two very, very happy smiling children?

Room Tip: If you're less mobile you'll have to stay in the activity area as the other areas are quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Libbyandwillsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Operations Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are pleased to learn you had a lovely family holiday, we hope to see you all again soon.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We've just returned from the Holiday Village Rhodes we had a fabulous time and wouldn't hesitate to book a return visit. Our ten year old daughter joined in with loads of the children's club activities and had a ball
The accommodation, facilities,and food we're all fantastic ....can't praise it enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raymond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Operations Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your 5 star review, i am very pleased that you had a Fantastic holiday. we hope to see you all again soon.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I am sitting outside our room on our final night at the Holiday Village, Rhodes. We've now been here three times which is unheard of for us. We are even considering coming back next year as we just feel so comfortable here, as does our daughter Olivia.

This year we opted for a Villa with private pool in the Deluxe area, although expensive, it's been fantastic with our 5 year old daughter to have the extra space and our own pool to play in. we noticed that room 4701 has a huge garden so if you are booking a Villa maybe request that one. Having said that, the swim up rooms in Deluxe are also great. We tend to go for Deluxe as the Activity area is too noisy for us and the Relax area does not allow access to the Deluxe restaurant, we like this one for breakfast as it's quieter than the main buffet restaurant - you can also have lunch and dinner away from the masses if you choose. I should say that in our opinion the food in the main buffet restaurant is great with masses of choice and always options freshly cooked in front of you. We ate at the Italian restaurant on site last night and it was exceptional, in terms of both food and service. We can't comment on the Mexican or Greek restaurant as we didn't get round to trying them.

The key highlights of this place are the array of activities for kids - the clubs have varied activities and the staff seem very nice, the great food and the lovely service. In particular we have to mention the reception staff in the Deluxe who do all they can to help, in particular Julie who has been here for all of our visits. Next George who runs the breakfast service in Deluxe is lovely, as is his colleague Alex - my daughter even sat on George's motorbike today which she loved. The biggest mention, as per our two previous visits, goes to 'young George' who I believe is the assistant F&B Manager. He obviously works extremely hard as he seems to be in every restaurant we go to, but he always makes the time to make a fuss of our daughter, Olivia. This guy has made a real difference to our holiday again, and this is saying something as we keep ourselves to ourselves and generally don't get very involved with the staff like some people do. Whatever he is paid it's not enough as he is a major plus of this hotel.

There isn't much near the hotel so you to be prepared to either stay on site or travel to the interesting parts of the Island.

in summary, no gripes from us at all, of course nothing is perfect but this is so good any complaints would just be nit-picky in the extreme.

Room Tip: swim up rooms are amazing, if you have young children don't worry as you can easily block the do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marqueec34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Operations Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

we are very pleased you chose to return to our Hotel, it was our pleasure to welcome you back, thank you very much for your 5 star review, and we hope to see you all again soon.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed here as my friend was getting married at the resort chapel. We didn't take kids so stayed at the RELAX side.
Had a fabulous week. The staff work so very hard. Food was amazing. No complaints other than.....not enough ashtrays but I guess that's because of all the small children. The wedding was beautiful. The bar staff at the swim up pool worked hard non stop all day long & were friendly and helpful.
I would say...a swim up room looks good but a lot of them were in the shade all day long.
We ate at the Italian restaurant which was delightful.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Siddydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Operations Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your 5 star review, We are very pleased you enjoyed your holiday.
We look forward to welcome you back again soon,

est wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.6 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.2 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#13 of 34 in Kolimbia
397 reviews
12.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 mi away
Atrium Prestige Thalasso Spa Resort and Villas
0.2 mi away
Kolymbia Beach Hotel
Kolymbia Beach Hotel
#9 of 34 in Kolimbia
784 reviews
0.3 mi away
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
#6 of 34 in Kolimbia
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Rhodes

Address: Kolymbia, Kolimbia 851 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kolimbia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range: £81 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Village Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Rhodes Hotel Kolimbia
Holiday Village Rhodes Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing