We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good holiday but not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Village Rhodes
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We have just returned from our holiday here and we had a great time. We travelled as a party of 6 with 2 children . We booked into the activity area but on arrival was told we were in the delux area. Great we thought, but all the entertainment for the children was in the activity area which was a walk through Subway from our room and the delux room was really small. The air con in our room did not work properly and our shower leaked. The entertainment team were fantastic, daytime and evening activities left us with plenty to do. The staff were so friendly and welcoming and engage with the children brilliantly. The food too was lovely however the cleanliness of the tables and floors needs attention. We had to return our drinks on 3 separate occassions because of lipstick on them. We made lots of friends on this holiday everyone was happy to interact and engage with each other which added to the overall atmosphere of the holiday. I would definitely recommend a visit here but please do not expect 5 star because you will be left disappointed and wanting more and most people we spoke to felt the same.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Operations Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2014

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are very pleased that you had a very good holiday, we will continue to improve our hotel for 2015 and wish you all the best for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,059 - 1,065 of 2,439 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Me and my family and friends have just returned from HVR 10/8/14. There are 3 parts of the complex, Activity, Relaxed and Deluxe. We stayed in the relaxed side which just meant that there was no activity from the First Choice Reps or loud music. Activity side was impossible to get a sun bed and towels were even laid out at 645am. We did make a complaint but FC don't have enough staff to go round and remove the towels, but if you ask they will get you a sunbed. However, we would stay in the activity side round the heated pool which you were guaranteed to get a bed for the morning and then return to the relaxed side for the afternoon to chill.

The flumes were a little disappointing for my son whos 8 wasn't allowed on the 3 bigger flumes due to height restrictions, you had to be 1m20 shoulder height to go on them. Although safety has to come first it would be great if there were more than one flume for him to go on. He did have 3 slides for the younger kids to go on.

I have to say that the FC Reps work extremely hard day and night to keep everyone entertained and even when you come home you will be singing High Five Live and £1 fish, be warned :-)

I must also thank Moffat Thomas Operations Manager who made sure everything and everyone was happy at all times in the restaurant, and to be presented with smoked salmon and caviar with champagne was awesome. I had to keep returning to tell him how impressed I was with the food, even the Head Chef put a recipe through our door as I wanted to make it at home. Food is fresh, tasty and a wide variety to satisfy all. There is even joints of lamb, gammon, turkey pork to name a few, spoilt for choice.

I would also advise to book early in the themed restaurants as these get booked up pretty early, there is a choice of Greek, Italian and Mexican, Italian was my favourite, but don't be disappointed as the main restaurant is still just as excellent.

Rooms are cleaned daily and beds are very comfortable. There is a mini fridge in the room with a small selection of drinks and a kettle with tea/coffee. It did say these were chargeable but I could be wrong as we had a bottle of water and used a couple of the sugars and a milk but didn't get charged on departure. We did take our own tea/coffee anyway and you can purchase milk from the supermarket on site.

Overall a fantastic hotel and staff definitely worth the 5*. My son said when he's 18 he wants to work there next to Rory on stage, so I think I can safely say he had an awesome holiday and wants to return again next year with his friends.

Thank you First Choice xxx

Room Tip: We were in Activity side Room 5111. As the room was on the end we had sun all day/night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MandyM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Operations Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,

First i would like to thank you for rating us with 5 stars, We are very pleased to learn that you had a Great Holiday with us. I hope to see you all again soon.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We had a swim up room in the activity area block 2100 and it was well worth paying the extra drachma for it. Ours was room 2104 . Rooms 2101-2104 had the sun almost all day but 2105 was in a terrible position stuck right in the corner . This hotel was excellent and food amazing . The i5live entertainment on a night time was really good although we saw the exact same panto as holiday village majorca last year . The uk entertainment flown in was terrible kylie minoge , lady gaga and magician were all awful .
The staff here were great except for the miserable bar staff in the sports bar . Especially the lady with the red t shirt working during the day . I felt a little sorry for her as she clearly hated her job.
The trips to rhodes town can be expensive but if you get a few families together the girls at reception can arrange a minibus . We got an 18 seater for 120 eruros . We really enjoyed doing the poolside quiz but found it quite difficult although on the second week we discovered that from using google we could actually win and got two t shirts by doing so .
A special thanks must also go to zelda the oldish lady with the glasses who did the tables in the greek restaurant during the day , she was hilarious and kept us entertained as we did the quiz.
We had a fantastic time here and made some great friends who we hope to meet again on another holiday somewhere else in the future .
That is all

Thank you.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank tommyfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Operation Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to start by thanking you for your 5 star review, we are very pleased to learn that you had a Great holiday with us and we hope to see you all again soon.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel in the October half term holiday. Two adults and two children in the executive area with swim up room. The executive part of the hotel has its own reception and restaurant but you still get the benefits of the wider complex. The hotel is divided by a quiet road but you still have to go under an underpass which can be annoying although obviously there for safety reasons. It was still warm enough to swim in the sea although the pools were a little too cold! Trips were great and at this time of year cooler and quieter. Excellent entertainment team (Managed to coincide with Halloween and fireworks night. Great). Can definitely recommend this experience at this time of year.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms in the more expensive part of the hotel are preferable in my view. These are well away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrevorB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Operation Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to start by thanking you for your 5 star review, we are very pleased to learn that you had a Great holiday with us and we hope to see you all again soon.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed a week in June last year with my wife and two kids. Had a swim up room in the deluxe side which was awesome. Lovely comfortable room with air conditioning that stayed on all the time with really comfortable beds. Ate every day in the deluxe side restaurant which was lovely. I took the kids over to the waterpark for an hour or so every day while the wife sunbathed which they really enjoyed. We loved this hotel. When we left the kids cried. Holiday was so good we are going back for two weeks in a couple of days time, again in the deluxe side. Kids can NOT wait to go back. Would recommend this hotel. If you do not mind a little noise then activity side is fine. If you have little kids that can not swim the deluxe side may be for you as the pool slopes into the water like a beach was is fantastic as you do not need to have eyes in the back of your head wondering if your child has fallen into 3 feet of water like a regular pool. They can splash around to their hearts content. A simple thing that can make a massive difference to a family holiday. Kids happy and safe therefore Mum & Dad happy too. The staff are great and the Manager was always high fiving the kids.

Room Tip: Deluxe side best if you like things a little quieter or have really little kids due to sloping pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Operation Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

we look forward to welcome you back.

best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have just returned from HVR. We stayed in the deluxe side and could not fault it. The food was fantastic, we booked all the themed restaurants. We loved them all, but the Mexican was the best for us. Book early though as many people did not get in. Our daughter did not use the kids club, but did razzamattazz and rookie lifeguard training. She loved them both, Charlotte and Emily. Guy and becky all did a fantastic job. She also loved the high ropes and the water park. We went into rhodes town on the bus, it was a bit of a trek but nice to get out of the resort for a day. The staff here work so hard to give you the best service, we can not fault there enthusiasm. From the cleaners, restaurant staff, reception, first choice reps, swim school, razzamattazz and the entertainment team.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leight278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Operation Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to start by thanking you for your 5 star review, we are very pleased to learn that you had a Great holiday with us and we hope to see you all again soon.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Returned from this hotel just over a week ago and already booked to go back next year. All the staff, whether hotel or First Choice make a big effort to ensure all goes well. Difficult to single out individuals as all are fantastic, but special mention to Jimmie James (so so funny - Jimmy Jimmy), Lee (from Warsaw), plus Katerina behind the bar (kept me topped up with G&T all day), and Rachel on front desk.
We had a room at the back of the Activity area, so very handy for all activities and kids clubs, but quiet in the evenings. Our room was a very high standard, housemaid was there every day. We went across to the deluxe area in the afternoon for the swim-up bar, got very busy but the staff were once again on the ball.
Big thanks to everyone who made this one of the best holidays we have had.

Beware of undertaking unsupervised water polo in the Activity Pool, as injuries can arise...!!!

Small tip for those with young kids - outside the Activity reception turn left and there is a launderette just a couple or hundred yards on your right - full load just four euros.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank Baggy_Boy_II
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas M, Operation Manager at Holiday Village Rhodes, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to start by thanking you for your 5 star review, we are very pleased to learn that you had a Great holiday with us and we hope to see you all again soon.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.6 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.2 mi away
Delfinia Resort Hotel
Delfinia Resort Hotel
#13 of 34 in Kolimbia
410 reviews
11.1 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 30 in Lindos
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,738 reviews
0.3 mi away
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
SunConnect Kolymbia Star
#7 of 34 in Kolimbia
964 reviews
12.7 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Village Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Rhodes

Address: Kolymbia, Kolimbia 851 02, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range: £143 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Village Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Rhodes Hotel Kolimbia
Holiday Village Rhodes Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing