We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel so far”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed 15th Aug for 1 week. Will try and keep this review short. Hotel Excellent.Staff Superb. Food Fantastic. Entertainment Good.Thomson staff worked hard especially Richard Steph & Chas. People friendly at hotel which included different nations and had a good laugh with a young couple from Austria. The atmosphere very relaxed. Whenever we come home from a holiday my wife says she will not go back to the same place again there is a big world out there but this hotel she said she would. Enough said i think.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colindavies_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,425 - 2,431 of 3,404 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

Hotel does not live up to the standards of an A Delux quoted Hotel. Geared more towards all inclusive rather than half board guests. If your stay here is not all inclusive, then be prepared to take a lot of money with you. E.g. A bottle of water costs 4.4 euros in the restaurant & you're not allowed to take in your own. Also, 2 alcoholic drinks cost 17.9 euros. Beware also, although the beach has a blue flag status, it has more shingle than sand & if you cannot swim, there is a sharp dip close to shore.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaImperial, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Dear William W,

Thank you for taking time to leave a review.

I am sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your recent holiday with us. The hotel is rated extremely highly by our customers and i am sorry you didn't find the opportunity to enjoy your stay like the majority of our guests.

With regards to your feedback about the drinks we do offer a beverage package that offers excellent value rather than buying individual drinks.

We appreciate your feedback and offer our apologies that your holiday was not as you expected.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

just arrived back from a week at atlantica imperial, overall a good hotel with a lovely pool and grounds. as others have said, a few of the sunloungers are looking tired and i felt that the entire hotel could do with a little spruce up.
lets be honest folks, the entertainment IS rather butlins-esque, but it seemed to serve the clientelle well.
food and service was good all round, although, if this place is claiming to be 5 star, a stricter dress policy for evening dinner should be enforced, still saw jeans, trainers and shorts being worn in the evening.
i am not being snobby or anything and i am a proud blue-collar worker but i think my problem is that last year, my partner and i went to premier le reve hotel in hurghada, egypt, (thomson couples range) and even though the prices there are cheaper than atlantica imperial, the hotel and every single thing about it is far, far superior, and i mean WOW!
no charging for use of safe, no charging for towels, no charge for filled mini-bar, constant waiter service, more uses of different a-la-carte restaurants, no wrist bands, bigger rooms, bigger and better bathrooms, walk-in wardrobes, the list goes on.
would i go back to atlantica? possibly.
would i go back to premier reve? absolutely definitely .

(this review is from 'john smith', to the other members of the famous five afternoon quiz team, you know who i am)
have you worked out the card trick yet??

Room Tip: i emailed before to ask for a quiet room. had no. 202 which was far enough away from bar area , so w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnsmith4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My new husband and I both agreed as we left to go home - the Atlantica Imperial is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. I was a bit anxious when we first set about booking our honeymoon - I wanted it to be so special and there are so many resorts and locations to choose from. This hotel stood out though in the brochure and after reading some of the other reviews on Tripadvisor we went ahead and booked it - and we're so glad we did.

The whole hotel experience was flawless - we had a fantastic reception on arrival, with a calm, efficient check-in. The reception staff were smiling and friendly and couldn't do enough to help us and answer our questions. And no kids. Not that I have got anything against children, but being adults only did give the check-in, and indeed the whole holiday, a much more laid-back vibe.

The room was BEAUTIFUL - we had booked a superior room with sea view, and were pleasantly surprised by how spacious, stylish and spotless it was. As we were a honeymooning couple there was a personal message with a bottle of iced sparkling wine and a platter of fruit waiting in the room for us, a really nice touch that made us feel very special. There was a massive four-poster bed with voile drapes, a lounge area with a sofa and TV, and a balcony with a table and chairs which looked out onto the crystal waters of Kolimbia beach. The room was also fully air conditioned - a necessity in the 35 degree plus heat - and had a spacious, and again spotless, en suite bathroom.

The facilities in the hotel were great - a little touristy shop, a hairdressers, a spa, a gym, and a relaxing cool pool with sunloungers and umbrellas all around - despite the 400+ guests this never felt crowded and we could usually get a pair of sunloungers under an umbrella or a tree. There are watersports available right on the beach, a couple of which are included for an hour in the all inclusive package.

The food was astounding - different buffets of delicious foods every night which were of a very high quality. I have a garlic allergy and I am vegetarian and every meal time the head chef or sous chef would go round the whole buffet and tell me what I could eat. If there was a limited choice that day they would offer to make me something different, but every day there was a choice of several things I could have anyway. The pool bar was great - with drinks, snacks and ice-creams available all day, and just a few steps from your sunlounger. Although not included in the All Inclusive after from one meal per stay, the A La Carte restaurant was out of this world - the most mouth-watering food we have ever had. On our last night we also had a meal in the 'secret lounges' on the beach. It was a set menu for 'his and hers' but was just outstanding food and service - highly recommended for any romantic couple wanting a special night.

I would recommend taking the All-Inclusive option here - this includes all buffet food, drinks, local alcoholic drinks, ice-creams, snacks - as we were drinking bottled water and soft drinks pretty much constantly throughout the day, which would have been very expensive had we not been all-inclusive. Also if you are All-Inclusive the restaurant will make you a packed lunch of your choice when you go out on an excursion, which we did a few times, and this saves you money in some of the touristy spots where food and drink can be expensive. The All-Inclusive even lasts until midnight on the day you check out, so if you have a late flight, like we did, you can still have meals, snacks and drinks until you leave without incurring an additional expense.

I cannot go any further without talking about the staff. Every member of staff - from management down to service staff - were unfailingly polite, happy and helpful. They could not do enough to make our stay relaxing and flawless. The restaurant manager and restaurant staff were particularly helpful and friendly - even to the point that the head chef recognised me at a day-time Greek cooking class (out of 400+ guests remember) and deliberately omitted garlic from two of the three recipes we would be preparing. Also, the restaurant manager helped my husband to arrange the surprise of the secret lounge dinner, and one of the waiters, Stephanos, waited on us all night with a real enthusiasm for his job, for the food and for us as guests. Amazing, just astonishing.

The entertainment had two sides: the day-time activities had some real high points - Greek cooking I have mentioned, there was also a wine tasting session we went to, as well as lots of other things on offer like a scuba diving taster, jewellry making, taster of spa treatments, and lots more. There were also daily wellness activities, quizzes, sports activities and music performances by the pool, most of which were fun and / or relaxing. The entertainment staff weren't too pushy to get you involved either, you could if you wanted to or just do your own thing. The evening entertainment however was... well, let's just say my husband and I felt 40 years too young, and the hotel 2 stars to high, for the type of entertainment on offer. The Thomson team were very enthusiastic and very talented, but the programme was all a little bit Butlinsesque. It also took place right by the pool, outside, so you couldn't really escape it unless you went to the inside part of the Lobby Bar, which is a shame if you want to enjoy the balmy evenings and the sounds of the sea. Upstairs in the lobby bar, on the terrace, drowned it out quite a lot though. It wasn't awful awful, just not to our taste I guess. Some of the UK cultural acts were good, and a little bit more quality in the content, but I would have preferred a really good pianist or string player in the background rather than some of the 'party cabaret' and 'gameshows'.

All in all though the hotel was simply outstanding, and we would definitely go back. If you are erring, just do it. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Catherine Street rooms are quieter - away from the main pool area, and many look out on to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaImperial, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for leaving your feedback and for the most amazing comments about your recent stay.

We are pleased to read that you had an amazing honeymoon and we wish you all the very best for the future.

Thank you for choosing the Atlantica Imperial Resort for your holidays and we hope to welcome you back in the future, maybe as an anniversary celebration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We have been here 3 times now - and love it! The staff are so friendly and helpful, the food was great and the rooms are excellent.

The setting is lovely so close to the beach. There is a good local bus servcie which stops right outside so no need to rent a car if you don't want to and to be honest we didn't want to stray far away.

We were so impressed that even though we've managed to tear ourselves away from here we are staying at another Atlantica group hotel in Crete this year so fingers crossed it's as good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is the 10th time we have all stayed at this hotel and every year we enjoy it more than the last. The Management and ALL of the staff cannot do enough for you, they become an important part of you enjoying your holiday and I would thank them all for their services.
The bedrooms are spacious and spotless, the restaurant offers you a varied cuisine all of which is wonderfully presented and very delicious. The bar is a fun place to be both during the day and at night, the service is first class and always with a smile. The pool area is very clean, the pool is to die for and the gardens are well maintained. Myself and all of my friends will be returning again in 2013 for what I am sure will be yet another spectacular holiday. I would think thank anybody that does not have a great holiday here is extremely hard to please.
Thanks Atlantica and all that work there, see you in 2013.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but if you are not happy mention it to reception and they will do their best to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaImperial, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Hi MikeMersyside,

Thank you for your great review, it is so nice to read.

The fact that you return year after year really does show us your trust to our work and we are extremely greatful for you loyalty. We are all pleased that you and your friends enjoyed another holiday with us, it was a pleasure to see you.

We look forward to welcoming you all back next year.

Best wishes,

Damian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My husband and I stayed in room 419 last week June 1st week July. I have been reading the reviews ever since and just had to comment on Lonegroover from Birkenhead. Please! . Red fire hydrants! Lamposts in front of the room! could he not see past this? what about the little bay ahead? and it was only a service road, for heavens sake, people have to work while we enjoy their climate and facilities, its all a part of being in Greece. As for the DJ's noise, well, with the doors closed, drapes closed and air con on, we did'nt hear a thing. We are both in our 50's and also needed a break to chill from some pretty awful things going on this year. We did chill, and it was thanks to this hotel and all the staff that we did. Sadly there are some people who cannot be pleased because they are too busy looking for things to complain about. This was our second stay and we will be back. Thanks to everyone for making it a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: If you are not happy,ask to change, it will be sorted for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sophiecatHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.3 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.5 mi away
Atlantica Aegean Blue
Atlantica Aegean Blue
#3 of 34 in Kolimbia
1,865 reviews
9.1 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,939 reviews
9 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Casa Cook Rhodes
Casa Cook Rhodes
#4 of 34 in Kolimbia
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa

Address: Kolimbia 85103, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range: £117 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Bookgreece.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Imperial Hotel Kolimbia
Atlantica Imperial Resort Rhodes
Hotel Atlantica Imperial
Atlantica Imperial Rhodes
Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing