We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Kolimbia
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester
Level Contributor
398 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 613 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Did not start well when offered a window seat on plane which did not have a window! Flight very bumpy.
Once at hotel we were given a double room although had asked for a twin. Since this could not be sorted quickly we stayed in double. The room large and comfortable. We had a leaking cistern in bathroom which took 3 visits and 2 days to sort.
The hotel is right on the beach and a short stroll to another by the small harbour.
As end of season everything was closing down, less than half of shops/restaurants seemed to be open which given the Greek economy and the number of tourists around was a surprise at the start of the week.
Only major gripe is that most of the hot food in restaurant seemed to be cold.
The drinks expensive but they did not sem to be much cheaper in few bars still open in resort.
The ballroom where entertainment took place large but the seating somewhat uncomfortable unless you got one of the few cane chairs along wall. The entertainment was acceptable but as all quizzes music based could not get into them.

Room Tip: A lot of rooms do not have a sea view as buildings terraced back from sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorcesterMoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaImperial, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry to hear that you had problems with the your room.I hope this does not affect your disposal during your stay here.

You mentioned that the food in the restaurant was cold.We must say that the general feedback from the majority of our guests is excellent regarding food variety and quality. We are sorry that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations. .

We would like to thank you for your feedback and hope that you will visit our hotel sometime again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,936 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,122
    607
    151
    42
    14
See reviews for
153
2,402
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,004)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was a lovely low key couples hotel. If you want to spend quiet days by the pool or you want to use the hotel as a base to travel around the island, want to get involved with the daytime activities or enjoy some spa treatments, then this hotel can offer you all of the above. Clean rooms with TV, hairdryer, tea and coffee facilities, fridge. Air con was not on as we stayed after October when it is turned off, which was a bit unpleasant for us during the night as we like it cool. The food was excellent, we were half board and there was a different menu every night of our 7 night stay. The entertainment was good and always well supported in the evenings. The pool was freezing so it was hardly used during our sty, which wasn't a problem for me as the temperature wasn't boiling. Reps were fab very helpful and friendly. Transfer was well organised and we checked in near midnight and it was all very smooth. We undertook a day trip to Lindos and Rhodes Old Town which was super. We were the last plane out to Rhodes for the season and you would never have known this, the hotel catered for us right up until we got on the coach to go to the airport. A really enjoyable break for us- apart from the mosquito bites!!! Take some protection! And the beds which were like lying on a rock!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElizabethOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaImperial, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to leave your holiday review.

It is great to read that you enjoyed the hotel service and facilities.We will pass your comments on to the relevant departments.

We would be glad to serve you again as best as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Arrived in Rhodes on the 12/10/13,9.30pm.customs, checking points,straight to Thompson rep ,very polite extremely helpful.straight to coach transfere,with ease I must say.we were the second drop so got to our hotel around 10pm,wow, what can I say breath taking,greeted with glass of champaign , or orange,passports were givern to hotel tompson reps ,suitcases were left with a sticker that we were givern to put on the cases, in which they were taken straight to our rooms.hot meal and sweets were awaiting our arrival amazing gorgeous food.room outstanding, every box was ticked for its, spotlessly clean,tea coffee facilities the best we have seen. Bed,exceptional.bathroom towels changed daily. Cleaning daily.food was excellent , different theme daily Asian,Italian,etc.although it is a all inclusive we were half board, down fall expensive drinks, but you can pay daily for al inclusive for a 30/35 euro charge,we thought was an excellent choice if you don't drink which I don't my partner does.all drinks are charged to your room so be careful. As are most hotels.the staff here are amazing, I had a nasty accident down the road from the hotel , they looked after me, food to room, couldn't do enough for me all the rest of our hols, the staff remember you quickly so the are very polite, helpful, nothing is a problem for any of them.best hotel manager ever,he was my saver when I broke my wrist. Thankyou if you read this. You collect towels from spa area, small deposit get back at end of hol. Pool gorgeous , spotlessly clean, fresh water , cleaned all the time. Very quit round the pool , that's what we like.the lagoon style is breath taking,reminds us of Mexican hols for us the year before. Beach not owned by hotel but you use small charge for sun loungers. Entertainment, ok could be better but everyone enjoys it. Reps, Thomson couples . Rachel , Rebecca , faultless. Tours, did dint go on any because of my accident. We will be going back here again loved it. Hope this helps you all

Room Tip: Ask for pool and sea view the best.2nd floor.also sea views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaImperial, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Dear guest,

It is a real pleasure to be able to read your review and we are so greatful for your complimentary comments on our food, location, service and facilities These are much appreciated and will be passed on to the teams in the relevant departments.

We are really proud of the service we offer and we really are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your holiday experience.

I am sure you have many great memories to last until your next visit.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Just back from an 11 night stay. Plenty already been said but from our point of view only main criticism was stony beach with a cool sea ( warmer in Cyprus at same time of year) and the swimming pool was not heated so very few people used it . We had superior double with the sun coming up every morning over the balcony. Could not fault the room apart from it being hot during the night whether balcony door left open or not ( and a few mosquitoes to contend with once again whether door open or shut!!)as the aircon was too noisy to have on . Fruit and wine upon arrival and tea/coffee facilities replenished everyday. Rooms below also had a 'secret' sun lounger in front but no one was using them and we could see them anyway so probably not worth paying the extra. The swim-up rooms were at far end of hotel overlooking the roadway so would not have thought very good value or view . Although hotel was full it was always very quiet when we walked back to the room during the day or at night. No problem finding a sunbed at any time of day as they were spread round both pool area and overlooking the sea. Took part in some of the daily entertainment- exercise classes and afternoon quizzes by pool bar. Evening entertainment lasted an hour and half each night . Teri and Martine were great singers . The Twinz nightly singing was spoiled by bad sound system and you could not hear was they were saying . Outside acts brought in , some from the UK also added to evening. John's musical quiz every night also went down well.
All staff very courteous and friendly despite being told they only earned 4 euros an hour. Well worth anyone paying the extra 28euros a day to upgrade to 'all inclusive ' as dinks alone were around the 6 euro mark. We were quite disappointed you could not buy bottles of the brandy used at the hotel as apparently it made especially for the hotels and clubs ( presumably the other 'local' spirits also were as did not appear to be so strong as the imported ones.
Plenty of variety in the restaurant ( we always entered from the pool end so got a table straightaway) so you could always find something you liked . Went to the a la carte restaurant one night but was very disappointed with the limited choice on the standard menu. There should have been at least one more option for each of the courses without having to pay silly money to pick from 'stone grill' option.
Hired a car for three days - drove round the island in 1 day . Visited Lindos and Rhodes - you can get lost in both !

Room Tip: Worth paying for superior double just so you have sea view and no- one in front of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaImperial, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving your holiday review on Trip Advisor.

It is great for us to read your comments and we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday .
I have noted your comments about the a la carte restaurant and I have passed this on to our Food & Beverage manager.
It can always be difficult to eat abroad when people have specific dietary requirements so we really focus on this to make sure everyone can enjoy our food .Thank you for sharing your experience, I am sure readers will find this useful.

Hopefully you will be back some time to enjoy our hospitality once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Very nice hotel, excellent staff who remain remarkably cheerful and friendly in spite of Greece's dire economic situation (one of the charming drinks waitresses in the main bar was a lawyer from Romania), good choice of food and plenty of variety and specials.
Yes, the bagging of sun loungers was a bit irritating, but we usually found some without much trouble. And we can't blame the Germans this time. What I found particularly galling was one day when around five sun loungers were reserved overlooking the beach, and the people (English) who had reserved them did not turn up until quarter to five.
Secret sun loungers were nice for a special occasion. We went on a couple of Thomson trips. Lindos excursion was good, as we arrived early before the main influx, followed by Rhodes town. Also enjoyed the trip to the island of Simi. The guide on both, Daphne, was excellent. Very knowledgeable and interesting, and with a nice sense of humour.
Also enjoyed the Land Rover excursion.
Thought the food was fine, no problem of it not being hot enough. Drinks on all inclusive were perfectly acceptable. A la carte food was excellent - we did not pay extra as standard choice was good. I can't understand why so many people moan about the buffet - if the meals were all waiter service there would be far less choice and the costs would be significantly more.Agree smoking should not be allowed in outside dining area. Enjoyed most of the evening entertainment - didn't partake during the day. Twinz were ok but should scrap the request session, as spent most of the time searching for songs on their laptops. Some of the guest acts were excellent. Nice to have entertainment aimed at British clientele, as opposed to the Canaries where it all seems for the benefit of the Germans. Would probably go back some time...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swanseaexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaImperial, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip advisor and sharing your experience with other readers.
Thank you so much for your kind comments on our food, staff and hotel facilities. We will be delighted to pass these on to the team.
We are so pleased you enjoyed visiting some of the lovely places on our wonderful island. We hope you will have many happy memories of your visit to Rhodes.

Thank you again for your recommendation of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We often stay at the sister hotels in Cyprus but decided a change would not go a miss but kept with the Atlantica label as we know what to expect in standards etc.
This is a beautiful hotel in a lovely setting, we stayed in the main building on the first floor overlooking the pool and sea, just perfect.
The room was quite large and comfortable with a nice shower and bathroom, and had a table and chairs out on the balcony.
We were on an all inclusive package which made things easy as the food is brilliant as are the drinks.
Staff really nice and helpful, nothing seems to much trouble to them, typical of the "Atlantica" way.
Just a stunning hotel and experience ....enjoy !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank almagettum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaImperial, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear guest,

It is a real pleasure to be able to read your review and we are so greatful for your complimentary comments.

We are really proud of the service we offer and we really are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your holiday experience.

I am sure you have many great memories to last until your next visit.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The layout and general areas are all excellently maintained with great pools and large landscaped gardens, good setting and backdrop, plenty of sun beds and no difficulty at any time finding a couple.

Swim up suites are large with good furniture, coffee / tea facilities, espresso maker, decent wardrobes / drawers and a safe, though the air-con is centrally controlled and was switched off. Bottle of wine and fruit platter on arrival etc. Swim up suite 409 is probably the best as it is on the corner and holds the sun for longer in the day, but most will give you a good few hours of sunbathing before it moves behind the buildings. Junior suites have a 'private' pool with allocated sunbeds at the end of the block and to the side of the main hotel area and rooms.

The main ballroom (where most of the evening 'entertainment' takes place) is a little tired and reminiscent of the local working mens clubs (as they were) and the entertainment is ok if you like fairly amateurish talent with one or two exceptions (though it was end of season!).

One big issue you may have is that Greece has not improved its sewerage system since Achilles defeated Hector (or in the last 20 years!) - small signs in the loo require you to put toilet paper in the bin not down the loo! The maid empties the bin every day and there really isn't any smell though it just doesn't feel right in a 5 star hotel.

The food and dining arrangements do leave a lot to be desired though. It's always a problem to provide 5 star quality in All Inclusive hotels which only have a buffet dining option (the A La Carte option is at a much greater cost). Unfortunately this makes for both poor quality and luke warm food. The variety was there but it was all rather bland and tasteless - I can understand the need for frozen food rather than fresh when dealing with so many guests, but this does not help with quality - motto is if you want decent quality food don't eat at buffets - it just doesn't work.

We also found ourselves having to queue for both breakfast and dinner on a number of occasions. This situation was not helped by the fact that there were 2 entrances to the main dining area - outer (pool side) and central atrium area and only one member of staff trying her hardest to run both - poorly organised by the management. On one occasion we were queuing to enter, while other guests who had obtained a table in the atrium area, were collecting their meals from the buffet in the main dining area and then had to squeeze past the queue at the door with their full dinner plates in their hands - this really is not 5 star quality.

Drinks outside the All Inclusive deals are expensive and of poor quality.

One place which was to our liking was the A La Carte restaurant. It is rated at 2 Michelin stars and fully deserves this. Although it is located near the main bar it does provide the quality of food and service you would expect, but at a price of course. (with a bottle of basic local bubbly you should expect to pay around 60 euros per head which is reasonable).

To summarise, the Hotel should not be regarded as a true 5 star - you will have great difficulty in finding a true 5 star Hotel anywhere in the world if they have only one main evening restaurant that is based on buffet style dining (you wouldn't normally look to eat in the A La Carte every night). The Hotel has all the plastic, the embellishments, facilities and staff of a 5 star Hotel and it probably ticks all the boxes needed for its rating, but despite a decent selection of food, the buffet got messy (as they always do!), the food was rather tasteless and never really hot and in those areas its falls well short of a 5 star rating.

It needs a good eye to sort out these issues, which are not insurmountable, and to add at least a couple of waiter service restaurants before we would return.

From a profitability angle its easy to see where the Hotel's energies lie, (the discount for eating in the A La Carte and not taking the buffet meal was 7euros per head - sort of says it all really?) but from the aspect of a guest expecting a true 5 star hotel experience we will look elsewhere next time.

Plus points - good location, excellent staff, great rooms, pools, gardens, layout and facilities as well as a great A La Carte restaurant.

Negatives - badly organised dining area, luke warm and largely tasteless food, expensive drinks, lack of table service restaurants, too focussed on all-inclusive deals.

If you regard yourself as a discerning traveller and you decide to go then perhaps try B&B, rent a car with the cost saving and eat out.

Room Tip: swim up suites - room 409 one of the better ones for longer sunbathing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobnotthebuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaImperial, Υπεύθυνος Δημοσίων Σχέσεων at Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review.

Unfortunately in Greece and in many other countries you are still unable to flush toilet tissue. This is not a reflection on the hotel itself this is due to the plumbing systems in Greece.

We are sorry that your restaurant experience was not satisfactory for you, unfortunately the restaurant gets very busy between the times you have mentioned. However the restaurant department are trying their best to resolve this issue.

I am sorry you felt the food did not live up to your personal expectations. We are proud to be one of the highest rated hotels within our category and our gastronomy is rated as excellent from the high majority of our guests.

I hope you have taken away some happy memories of your time in Atlantica Imperial and i would like to offer my apologies that some of your expectaions were not met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.3 mi away
SENTIDO Port Royal Villas & Spa
12.4 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#4 of 129 in Rhodes Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
11.4 mi away
Lindos Blu
Lindos Blu
#2 of 33 in Lindos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Princess Andriana Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 15 in Kallithea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,484 reviews
12.9 mi away
AquaGrand Exclusive Deluxe Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa

Property: Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa
Address: Kolimbia 85103, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolimbia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kolimbia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kolimbia
#3 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Imperial Hotel Kolimbia
Atlantica Imperial Resort Rhodes
Hotel Atlantica Imperial
Atlantica Imperial Rhodes
Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing