We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Kolimbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A fabulous holiday at the Atlantica. Although this is billed as a Couples hotel, my friend and I booked to avoid children (she's a teacher, so we have to holiday in the school holidays)!

It's a fantastic hotel with brilliant facilities, and service that is second-to-none throughout the bars, restaurants, reception etc. Food is wonderful in both the main restaurant and the a la carte, with masses of choice each night. After the first evening, Viron our waiter remembered our drink preferences and looked after us for the rest of the holiday - he really was "Viron Spot On"!

The pool and hotel grounds are immaculate and the loungers complete with comfy mattresses a real treat. The little ice-cream treats and ice-cold face towels that are brought round to guests each day are also a really great touch. I'd recommend taking up one of the water sport options included in the AI package - the afternoon spent sea-kayaking was fab, and the people running the beach water-sports were helpful and really friendly and knowledgeable.

The only thing that slightly lets this hotel down is the evening entertainment. It is a little bit "holiday camp" (Abba tribute night, a dance show etc). However, this did not spoil our holiday in any way - we ended up giggling through most parts and still had a great evening! I do appreciate it's difficult to please everyone all of the time, but perhaps a little less of the cheesy shows and hire a couple of quality bands/singers for a few of the evenings. The gala night entertainment was great though, with fireworks and all the staff on stage for a well-deserved thank you. This was a lovely touch, especially as they mingled with guests over champagne and nibbles afterwards. Equally impressive was the fact the hotel's owner ensured that he was waving guests off at each departure time, every day, checking they'd had a great stay - what a fantastic guy who clearly cares about his customers.

A fantastic holiday, and I'd definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SalM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaImperial, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving your review and for sharing your experience with our readers.

It is great to read your comments on our food, service and hotel facilities. We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your holidays.

We are sorry that the entertainment wasn’t to your personal taste. This is something that we will be reviewing for the next season.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,712 - 1,718 of 3,404 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Me and my fiancée stayed here for 10 days in August on half board, although we did upgrade to all inclusive for the last 5 days of our stay just to experience it. There are pros and cons to the hotel and I'll start with the good bits first! We had a basic double room and when we walked in we were amazed, so clean and spacious! Lovely bathroom/shower, a huge, comfy bed, fresh fruit, water and a bottle of wine left out for us. Air con was amazing, you really need it after the Rhodes sun. Free safe key (which it should be!) and toiletries and towels topped up each day. We didn't have any sea view (we weren't bothered) and were ground floor so had a lovely patio and mini lawn instead. The best thing about the hotel is the food, it's brilliant. 'Buffet' doesn't do it justice. There's simply a hundred different food items to choose from every meal time and it's different every day. There's several cooking stations where chefs cook food to your liking such as fillet beef, roast turkey, beef Wellington, belly pork, stir fry, omelettes at breakfast etc. The hot food in trays is replaced so often you rarely notice, I once saw a member of staff take away an almost full tray of boiled rice and replace it with a completely full, fresh tray just because it had been out too long, wow. The staff are mostly nice, as you can imagine some are amazing, polite, helpful and can't do enough for you, some members of staff are the opposite.... After a few days we'd picked up on this and always tried to seat ourselves where the better staff where waiting on. The negatives aren't huge problems, there's the sun lounger dilemma, do you get up early on your holiday to try to get a nice sun bed or risk it until after breakfast when you could be walking around trying to find some that haven't been taken? I know people say they're taken early but we arrived at the hotel at 6am and all the poolside (around 20?) sun beds had already been taken with towels! It's a stress you just don't need on holiday. On half board drinks are expensive, although they are better quality then the all inclusive drinks. They're loads of great bars in Kolimbia, the closest being 1 min walk around the corner. Kolimbia is actually quite a large(ish) village, they're loads of shops and bars and restaurants just 2-3mins walk up from the hotel, on half board it's worth a look. When we upgraded to all inclusive we got a different perspective on the hotel and the staff. The waiting on staff in the bars were brilliant, all bringing you drinks without having to ask them, even bringing drinks they think you'll enjoy if you fancy a change but don't know what to have, the bar staff actually made us cocktails that weren't on the menus, just what they fancied making, and of course it was free! On half board the staff can't do any of that for obvious reasons, you'd need to pay for it, on all inclusive they made the service more personal, we ended up leaving some bar staff good tips simply because they deserved it.

We enjoyed our stay here, but there wasn't anything that made it special, that made it stand out from the crowd, yes it was nice, but you'd expect that for the price, but where were the extra touches? If we had lots of money and went on several holidays a year, yes we'd probably come back (but not with Thomsons, they're terrible), but next time we go away we'll still be on the look out for that "special" destination that just ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaImperial, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience with other readers. We truly value feedback from our guests.

Thank you for your comments on our staff, food and hotel facilities, we will be delighted to pass these on to the teams in the relevant departments.

We were concerned to read that you found our bar prices to be expensive however we would like to assure you that our hotel’s pricing policy is aligned to what other five star hotels charge and we feel sorry if this was perceived to be out of the norm. Additionally, we strongly believe that our prices reflect to the high standards of service and product that we provide for all our hotel guests during their holidays.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Sincerely yours,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have just come back and found the staff, rooms, swimming facilities, wonderful food and super evening entertainment all first class.Beautifully situated, this resort hotel is like a cruise ship moored on the beach. The rooms are great (we booked a superior double with sea view). The table dote restaurants are outstanding - every meal has amazing choices as well as special themed evenings e.g. Greek, Italian, Mexican etc. There was no need, in our view, to try the two a la carte restaurants! (though many did). Neither did we go all inclusive as half board is more than enough unless you can drink a lot in the heat! The entertainment in the evenings was great and included quizzes followed by Beatles, Abba and Drifters tribute bands amongst others as well as the resident entertainment manager Anna who is awesome! The gala nights are also brilliant! A special mention also for "spot on" Viron the outside head waiter whose service was outstanding.Our only tiny criticisms are that we (and most everyone else!) found it necessary to usually reserve a sunbed(contrary to hotel policy),and we feel if men must wear long trousers in the evenings at dinner then women should not be wearing beach shorts! (albeit a minority who did) . We will definitely return and would like to thank Christos the Manager and all his staff for helping us have such a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Book a superior double in the main building as there are currently no lifts in some parts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaImperial, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear guest,

It is a real pleasure to be able to read your review and we are so greatful for your complimentary comments.

We are really proud of the service we offer and we really are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your holiday experience.

I am sure you have many great memories to last until your next visit.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We just got back form a relaxing stay. The hotel overall is very good. The rooms are clean and very roomy. Food is great and the choice is excellent. The pool area is a lovely with great views of the sea. The gym was good and the spa was to high standard very relaxing.

Take up the offer of the water sports the canoeing is fun.

The only downside for me were the drinks which are to a poor standard, especially the spirits. Although service was always ok.

Trousers are required in the evening so make sure you take some.

The Hotel overall is a great place for stay. I recommend all inclusive as the area around the hotel is nothing to shout about and could do with an upgrade.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors as you don't get much of a view on -1. Also ask which room h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Yeti O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaImperial, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We greatly appreciate all feedback from our guests.

We are sorry you feel disappointed with your drinking experience as the general feedback from the majority of our guests is excellent regarding drinks variety and quality.

We hope that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope we may welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was the second time we have stayed at this hotel within the last few years. As mentioned in previous reviews, cold flannels and a glass of wine greet you on arrival, together with a speedy check in and being personally shown to your room. The hotel is excellent with large rooms which are cleaned along with towel changes every day, although the air conditioning is not the best but it does it's job. The restaurant buffet offers an excellent choice which you would find very hard not to find something to enjoy. We stayed on a half board basis, as we like to hire a car and explore the island, which is very beautiful with some excellent beaches and clear warm water. The hotel all inclusive option we thought a bit expensive and not worth purchasing,when you are away from the hotel during the day. The only thing we were a bit disappointed was the restaurant manager, who didn't make himself known to everybody, only a few, which all appealed to be all inclusive ones. These he laughed and joked with and seated them at there table every night. Also the strict dress code did not appear to include everybody, as some women were allowed to wear inappropriate shorts and tops, the men on the other hand were more scrutinised and not allowed into the restaurant if not wearing long trousers. This did not spoil our time here, as we enjoyed every minute. All the other staff were impeccable and bent over backwards to help you. The Thomson reps were in my opinion not effective and were more interested in selling you tours rather than helping you. There was one time we had an issue and when asking the rep to help sort out, was told to sort it ourselves with the reception. I'm sure if I wanted to book an excursion they would have bent over backwards to help. But all in all we had an excellent holiday and will return again in the future.

Room Tip: Superior sea view are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank 849DouglasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaImperial, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your great feedback and for returning to the hotel for a second time.

It seems you had a great time and we hope you have some great holiday memories.
We are sorry you felt uncomfortable at some time. No employee in our hotel does not behaves differently to customers and always behaves in the same way for all.

We hope to see you sometime again in the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We visited the superb Atlantica Imperial for the 3rd time to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary and once again, we had the most amazing holiday. On arrival we're greeted with cold flannels and a chilled glass of bubbly. The check in process is very slick and by the time we got to our room our luggage had already been delivered and we were thrilled that our room had a panoramic view over the pretty bay and beach - well worth the extra.

Unlike some other couples hotels the main buffet restaurant is great with the option to eat either in or outside and the food is of an incredibly high standard (and I'm fussy!) There are two A la Carte restaurants and both are as good, if not better, that some London restaurants I've visited (take note Mr Pierre-White!). We particularly like to eat breakfast in the Atrium which is very stylish, as is the rest of the hotel, rooms and communal areas alike. The staff are charming and cannot do enough for you and it is quite obvious that the work incredibly hard to make sure every guest has the best holiday possible. We would like to say a particular thank you to Christos, Ivan and his team at the pool bar, Viron (our favourite waiter) and the lovely young man who is the assistant restaurant manager (Georgios I think?!) who went out of his way to make our anniversary really special (thank you for educating us about Greek wine!) A real highlight is Gala night which takes place on a Tuesday. The guests are treated to a fantastic night of sparklers, fireworks, music and dancing and Christos Georganas (the excellent hotel manager) brings all his staff out and sings their praises which gives us, the guests, a chance to show our appreciation. This hotel manages to do a very difficult thing and that is provide a grown up, stylish environment, coupled with a element of fun, and my husband and I love it, which is no mean feat as we're very hard to please. A testament to this is the enormous number of people we recognise from previous years, which is pretty unusual, and almost everyone we met and got chatting too have also booked to come back - enough said frankly. We have already booked to return in 2015 and are counting the days until we return to our little Greek paradise. Thank you and well done once again.

Room Tip: Opt for a Superior Sea View - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Girlfromthehill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaImperial, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving your review on Trip Advisor.

It is great for us to read your comments and we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday. We are pleased you liked our welcome and the gala evening.

We are glad that you found our food excellent and our staff so helpful.

Hopefully you will be back some time to enjoy our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Have been looking at this hotel in thomsons brochure for awhile so decided to book glad we did great position on the beach 5. Mins from kolymbia centre enough bars restraints shops small harbour 2 mins away with boat trips to Lindos we went on the fast speed boat "matola" only took 30 mins 15 euros per person well worth it. All staff in all areas cannot be falted Alexandros the waiter very helpful. Food.very good with a varied menu every night plenty of room sunbathing around thegrounds we stayed half board enough for us All in all a 5 star experience well recommended

Room Tip: Stayed in room 434 overlooking swim up rooms and small harbour nice quite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AtlanticaImperial, Υπεύθυνος Σχέσεων με Πελάτες at Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and for sharing your comments with other readers.

We will pass on your kind comments to all of the team, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kolimbia
0.3 mi away
Sentido Port Royal Villas & Spa
0.5 mi away
Atlantica Aegean Blue
Atlantica Aegean Blue
#3 of 34 in Kolimbia
1,865 reviews
9.1 mi away
Elysium Resort & Spa
Elysium Resort & Spa
#1 of 20 in Kallithea
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Atrium Platinum Hotel
Atrium Platinum Hotel
#5 of 126 in Rhodes Town
2,939 reviews
9 mi away
Mitsis Alila Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Casa Cook Rhodes
Casa Cook Rhodes
#4 of 34 in Kolimbia
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa

Address: Kolimbia 85103, Greece
Region: Greece > South Aegean > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kolimbia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range: £117 - £328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adults only resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Bookgreece.com so you can book your Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantica Imperial Hotel Kolimbia
Atlantica Imperial Resort Rhodes
Hotel Atlantica Imperial
Atlantica Imperial Rhodes
Atlantica Imperial Resort & Spa Rhodes, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing